2025 Ladder Predictions

You make is sound so easy as if it's just going to happen like that.
What if Hawthorn cop significant injuries?
Control the things you can. We had injuries last year to Mitch Lewis and Day and to a lesser degree CJ, Blank and a few others. I did mention bringing in a couple of really good players and not losing any has improved our depth significantly. One the two extra players and two the injured players returning and three the organic growth of our kids. Hopefully they lessen the impact of injuries.

If we have significant WCE like injuries from a couple of years back then we have a very good reason for failing. All Hawthorn can do is prepare itself for the upcoming season. Hit the ground running round 1

The Magpies dropped from the #1 side in 2023 for scores produced from the back 50 down to 15th in 2024. No doubt a significant occurrence due to Nick Daicos' move to the midfield. Adding Houston will be like having two Nicks - one in the guts and one creating opportunities from the back half.
Yep that's exactly how I see it. I think Membrey and Perryman will prove useful too, but Houston opens up those slingshots again.

The Pies will almost certainly be fitter and healthier in 2025. Compare Geelong 2024 to 2023. I could easily see a similar scenario playing out with Collingwood.

Like Geelong, the number 2-6 midfielder output may be the ceiling. They need a bunch to have at least reasonable seasons in supporting Daicos.

Yep that's exactly how I see it. I think Membrey and Perryman will prove useful too, but Houston opens up those slingshots again.

The Pies will almost certainly be fitter and healthier in 2025. Compare Geelong 2024 to 2023. I could easily see a similar scenario playing out with Collingwood.

Like Geelong, the number 2-6 midfielder output may be the ceiling. They need a bunch to have at least reasonable seasons in supporting Daicos.
In regards to the above Hawks poster, there are plenty of reasons why Collingwood may or may not succeed in 2025, but I'm positive that if we don't succeed, it won't be because we recruited Houston, Perryman and Membrey.

The Magpies dropped from the #1 side in 2023 for scores produced from the back 50 down to 15th in 2024. No doubt a significant occurrence due to Nick Daicos' move to the midfield. Adding Houston will be like having two Nicks - one in the guts and one creating opportunities from the back half.
100% correct - Houston is a pefect fit for Collingwood game style Houston to Naicos to whoever is going to be a 'thing' in 2025 - very fast transition capability all going well.

Hawks putting lots of pressure on Hawks. Will be an interesting year.

How was Newcombe going early when Hoks couldn’t win a chook raffle?

What is the point of that question exactly?

He came storming home, much like the team did.

Was it meant to be questioning Hawthorn's chances, Newcombe's ability or both?

Why is Houston's age relevant exactly? He's 27, not 34. He's also the only defender to make the last 2 AA sides. How is Houston responsible for Port Adelaide's midfield not winning a premiership? Premierships aren't only won and lost in the midfield. Elite kicking defenders who kick over the midfield and through zones have never been more valuable. He's an outstanding player.

Word mash in the second paragraph. Perryman was an unwise investment because he's injury prone but the also injury prone Barrass who was traded hugely for you can somehow justify with hyperbole. Your list is middle-aged, not incredibly young. But but the yoof!!!

Membrey doesn't need to transform our forward line. McStay and Mihocek have played a total of 17 games together in two years. The Pies were using Frampton and Schultz as their key forwards some weeks this year. Adding for free a player who has kicked 30+ goals in 7/8 non injury plagued seasons to boost depth in an important position is obviously astute list management. The alternative was re-contracting Nathan Kreuger or playing Ash Johnson.
Age is relevant as you have an incredibly aging list, and refuse to hit the draft bar Daicos (When you have 4+ players retiring at the end of the year, you are in massive strife), but spend draft capital on back flankers, will go well

Understand how balanced list builds work, drafting hard for the last 4 years allows you scope to trade for players and not worry about list drop off, list is young, plain to see, unless you can only read footy tables, not even close to their prime yet

Membrey is a crack filler, might be ok for a game or two, but lessens your athletic profile in a FWD line that already lacks fwd. pressure outside of Hill

The number of arrogant Hawks fans that have climbed out of their holes since May last year is unreal. they automatically think they're going to be dominant in 2025 LOL!
I haven't posted yeet but what's wrong with optimism, I guess a fine line between optimism/arrogance.

It's a shift from the previous 4 years where hawks were widely tipped for bottom 2. Hawks fans of course said no chance of us finishing that low and we were called arrogant then as well. 🤷‍♂️

I reckon North will jump pretty significantly next year.

7 to 9 wins should be the mark.

Finish higher than Essendon, Saints, Crows and obviously west coast and Richmond.

Clarkos second full year and third at the club. should get it together now
I don't see it. Seven would be a huge leap. Six is an absolute stretch.
Two to five wins depending on luck and injury. Richmond might save North from a spoon, or might not.

Surprised to see a lot of people pencil in the Swans for a top 4 finish.

Think the mental demons from the GF and all the noise around Chad leaving might mean they don’t regain their mojo. Think they’ll miss the 8

Age is relevant as you have an incredibly aging list, and refuse to hit the draft bar Daicos (When you have 4+ players retiring at the end of the year, you are in massive strife), but spend draft capital on back flankers, will go well

Understand how balanced list builds work, drafting hard for the last 4 years allows you scope to trade for players and not worry about list drop off, list is young, plain to see, unless you can only read footy tables, not even close to their prime yet

Membrey is a crack filler, might be ok for a game or two, but lessens your athletic profile in a FWD line that already lacks fwd. pressure outside of Hill
I'm pretty sure Collingwood know how balanced lists work, having contended for 9 of the last 23 premierships, and finished top 4 in 10 of those seasons.

You've already been embarrassed by a number of posters re: your Houston comments, but do you realise which Collingwood player was awarded the best defensive pressure player for 2024 by those who watch the game the closest and know the Collingwood game plan better than anyone?

I'll give you a clue - it was a forward and it wasn't Hill...

The number of arrogant Hawks fans that have climbed out of their holes since May last year is unreal. they automatically think they're going to be dominant in 2025 LOL!
Every post you’ve made in this thread is about the big bad Hawks. 😂

Houston is statistically significantly more likely to play great footy than any prospective draftee outside of the top five. Once again, he’s 27, not mid-30’s.

Hawthorn’s list management has been very impressive. We’ll see whether it pays off come September, much like Collingwood’s has recently.

I’m surprised at how many people need the Membrey acquisition explained to them. Look at how many games McStay and Mihocek have been able to play together in two years. The alternative to not picking up Membrey for nothing is playing Ash Johnson or Nathan Krueger to cover injury. Membrey is not only huge upgrade on either of them, he could be an upgrade on Cox too which could strengthen an already strong Collingwood forward line. The Magpies’ forward pressure is amongst the league’s best.

The last three GF replays were won by the reigning premier
True! It's a ridiculous stat though...go back through the years and the amount of times a runner up has saved their best early game for the rematch...! The derby and Anzac Day too...the TAB must brace themselves on those weekends...!

So they have a depth issue?

After Richmond, Carlton had the most games missed due to injury, but still made finals.

Everyone has a depth issue when it comes to losing their best KPD, KPF and ruck at the same time.

I think GWS (barring some last quarter chokes) and Brisbane were the best two teams at the end of 2024. How would they have gone without all of Taylor, Briggs and Hogan, or Andrews, McInerney and Daniher?

Still don't get why so many have Freo in their top 4. I don't see it..

They have a good list, but I don't think it's enough to get them to at least a prelim.

We were 3rd on the ladder after Round 20, then with those injuries to our key talls, we lost our last 4 games by 1, 11, 9, 20 points. The last one we should have won based on expected score (but burned shots on goal). The 1 point loss should never have happened (up by 4 goals at 3/4 time), and the other 3 were against top 4 sides.

We would be expecting to finish top 4, especially with Bolton who can be a legitimate top 10 offensive player in the competition in a strong side.

Hope it doesn’t happen but I can see Lions missing top 8. Tough draw and I don’t think people realise what a big loss Joe is. Also, there are a lot of contenders this year. The only teams I don’t think can make the top 8 are:
North
Tigers
Bombers
Saints
Port Adelaide

Hope it doesn’t happen but I can see Lions missing top 8. Tough draw and I don’t think people realise what a big loss Joe is. Also, there are a lot of contenders this year. The only teams I don’t think can make the top 8 are:
North
Tigers
Bombers
Saints
Port Adelaide

Adelaide, Saints and Port absolutely can IMO.

Personally I only feel like 1 will though.

Adelaide, Saints and Port absolutely can IMO.

Personally I only feel like 1 will though.
Even the Bombers as well as long as they don't fall apart in July & August like usual. They were sitting 2nd half way through the year

I'm pretty sure Collingwood know how balanced lists work, having contended for 9 of the last 23 premierships, and finished top 4 in 10 of those seasons.

You've already been embarrassed by a number of posters re: your Houston comments, but do you realise which Collingwood player was awarded the best defensive pressure player for 2024 by those who watch the game the closest and know the Collingwood game plan better than anyone?

I'll give you a clue - it was a forward and it wasn't Hill...
And yet

How many wins?

Embarassed by what?

The consistent ramblings of a fan base that call themselves the 19th man, a fan base spouting off youtube channels each week, with the delusional takes of "Ed Allen and Will Parker will take us to the next level", or "Lachie Schulz was a good trade"

Collingwood's list is terribly unbalanced and has ZERO Under 21 talent to bank on

A Daicos injury puts you bottom 6

And yet

How many wins?

Embarassed by what?

The consistent ramblings of a fan base that call themselves the 19th man, a fan base spouting off youtube channels each week, with the delusional takes of "Ed Allen and Will Parker will take us to the next level", or "Lachie Schulz was a good trade"

Collingwood's list is terribly unbalanced and has ZERO Under 21 talent to bank on

A Daicos injury puts you bottom 6
Jeepers.

Someone's got a chip on their shoulder now that Hawthorn have won their first final in nearly a decade...

Let's see if they can back it up in 2025.

But I'm glad you appreciate the GOATness of Nick Daicos.

Think he meant the horrendous depth of the Pies list and lack of best 22 midfield talents if Daicos goes down.

Pies have a WCE type cliff coming, could be 2025 that we see it comes to fruition with the age of their list.

Oldest team in AFL history by a long way.

2025 Ladder Predictions