List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

All the posters whinging about losing Battle are right about one thing. We were happy to lose him for first round compensation (why we dangled him) and guess what, we got what we wanted. The article trying to make Hawthorn out to be geniuses by them predicting we would come in at the 11th hour with an increased contract to guarantee a first round selection, guess what, we got it. They clearly paid him enough to trigger it. If Higgins goal is touched on the line and we get two top ten midfielders it would be unanimous on here it was a fantastic process.

The article also confirms that we are trying to learn from losing him and put in place a more family friendly environment. Also is this a standard industry wide practice? Did all clubs have this except for us? Doubt it. Seems like Hawthorn are well out ahead in this space and we are learning from it. Good on them.

If Tauru even scratches the surface of his potential the whole thing is an enormous triumph. Have we had a culture of losing lots of players we didn’t want to recently? Battle is the only one, so it isn’t some ingrained problem that we need to solve.
Tend to agree, but I never think losing a required player is an enormous triumph. It 'may' turn out that we lucked out with Tauru, but we don't know yet. He could go down tomorrow and be an injury bust. We never know what tomorrow brings.

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

NAS staying. TDK is coming.

Get everyone. Get them all.
Is there an “imo” missing in that statement?

Or better yet, an ITK?

3 little letters can make a difference to the mood you know. 🤣

Tauru will be in our best 10 players by the end of this season let alone best 23 next year.
Yep he is a star.
Was at Gippsland power training a few months back after he had been drafted and spoke to his under 18s coach
  • said he was the best contested mark he had seen at the Gippsland Power ever.
  • played him through the midfield and dominated the highly rated mids from stingrays
  • still needs to learn how to play fwd and utalise running patterns to make the game easier for him, elite down back, no one could out mark him
The coach was also a north fan and was dirty he didn’t go pick 3

Excuse the venture into your board. It seems you guys are in the box seat re Leek Aleer …. If he is to leave I hope you guys get him. Shame we don’t have a spot for him as he seems an absolute ripper bloke
Can you avoid playing him for the rest of the year. We need that draft asking price to be cheap.

I see where Cornes is coming from, an inclusive coach, a club aspiring to be the best place for indigenous players etc, but maybe the problems he has at the WB and in Melbourne would be manifest. Probably better interstate.

However if WB would take a 3rd rounder for him, I would have a crack. Or we walk him to the PSD, after all the WB got him for free as an NGA.

Just keep that 1st rounder warm for us … if you’re offering 900k you gotta cough up ;)
Will walk him to the PSD, you parasite clubs get NGA's for free, the legups you lot get is corrupt and appalling.

It was interesting to read that Adrian Cole after doing a preseason with the NM VFL side, is lining up to play with the Dandenong Stingrays as an over ager. I wonder if he wasnt offerred a position in Norths VFL roster. Cole was also listed as a likely prospect for the MSD?

"Adrian Cole has joined the Stingrays after being overlooked at Sandringham Dragons last season but remains tied to St Kilda’s NGA, as is bottom-ager Kaie Sullivan."

Plus the number of NGA's playing for Sandringham Dragons -

"There are also a stack of St Kilda NGA prospects on the Dragons’ list, headlined by Vic Metro member Kye Fincher.

Fellow top-age players James Mikhael, Rio Barry and Keanu Nadji are also linked to the Saints, along with bottom-age prospects Rowan Mackenzie and Quentin Hofmann."

If battle was a required player, we’d still have him. It’d be good to still have him, but it’s a temporary problem.

Would have been happy for him to stay, I’m happy he’s gone. Different story if we got a second round draft pick for him, of course.
Yeah its funny how people forget its a professional sport where the players have demanded more capacity to pick and choose how their careers develop.

Clubs know it, players know it.

The only surprising thing is that anybody would believe that Hawthorn is actually a "Family Club" and is only interested in the welfare of its players.

Naive to think that Hawthorn (like any other club) wouldn't jump at the chance of trading Battle (or any other player) if they believed it was in the best interests in the club.

My read of the article is that we hadn't fully adjusted to how soft modern players are. Like this:

"Some of them are very concerned about signing on (in this) social media age we’re in — they don’t want to be ‘the man’."

What that's suggesting to me is that we were probably promoting the club as "come here and make history" and all the snowflake modern players were like "that sounds scary what if I fail".

I think the club were building a high performance environment but without enough cuddles. That means we lose out to coaches like Mitchell and McRae who do all the cuddles all the time, and who say "we'll just have fun, it's just a game at the end of the day".

Got to adjust to the modern attitude, agreed, but it's not surprising to me that it takes a few years. I don't see it as particularly pathetic, just that our people were from a different generation.

I wouldn't want to go to a small club and be the one everyone pins hopes on while taking mega money. I remember how hard we were on Brad Hill. He didn't do anything wrong, he was a terrible fit for the side he was playing in and wore the anger for our disappointment.

Even Dougal Howard, people get shitty with him but if he was just some guy drafted and playing every game he probably has a completely different image with fans.

Imagine being a 21 year old mid playing in an ordinary side getting paid the most money in the AFL and unable to make a big difference to the side's fortunes. You'd have to be crazy to want that.

The kind of fame that spotlights your every move and has you under constant critical observation wouldn't appeal to many well adjusted people.

"As a child, Tom De Koning supported Carlton, following in his father Terry's footsteps, who was a "mad Carlton" fan.
Here's a more detailed look at Tom's connection to the Blues:
Family Tradition:
Tom's father, Terry, was a big Carlton supporter, and Tom followed his father on delivery runs, even visiting Sergio Silvagni's shop, where he would get drinks.
Boyhood Dream:
Tom's father's passion for Carlton clearly rubbed off on him, as he even wrote down his dream of becoming an AFL Brownlow Medallist for Carlton when he finished school.
Playing for Carlton:
Tom now plays for Carlton in the Australian Football League (AFL), fulfilling his childhood dream".

That's not what he said on radio, unless it was Sam that was following the Saints.

I think you see what you want to see. What a hot take on an overall positive article.

It starts with us stuffing up, acknowledging and taking ownership of that mistake, and putting things in place to make sure it doesn't happen again.
Did you not see the rooms after the game, past players, families of players, kids etc, all mingling together. Ross made sure the barriers came down and everyone was together. He was going from family group to family group. I have never seen a Saints dressing room like it.
Did you not read the embracing of First nations, or see our indigenous players exchange gifts every game. Do you think we retain our interstate indigenous players if not for such inclusive initiatives?

Did you not read the kids love RTB and the two top 10 draftees are just about to extend beyond the three years, and NAZ loves the place and is working out his contract on his terms, either short or long?

Did you not read that apart from all of the above we are likely to recruit three needs to fill holes?
The article is all about solutions ,but all you see is confirmation bias on how 'bad' we are.
People rightly critisise the club for losing Battle and not recruiting well. Solutions are rarely given. This tine the club has given solutions but somehow this is all glossed over.

Still a hard read. Having to come to terms with being a bit of a unlovable hopeless case is embarrassing. It's at least been recognised and actioned now. We were like a bus with no brakes heading down a steep hill 5 years ago. They've done a mountain of work to get shit moving in the right direction and are now impatient for success. I'd rather be where we are now that about to sign Lethlean and Rath up to be the most powerful people in the footy department.

What I did find curious was this supposed fear by this current generation of not wanting to be the messiah and failing? What ever happened to wanting to challenge yourself and be the best.

Phillipou gets called weird and was questioned and called arrogant when he said he wanted to be the best player in the comp and told Essendon they had made a mistake not taking him.
Is someone like Cripps at Carlton not their messiah? His club is failing, does he look like running away to Brisbane?

It is a rubbish theory in my opinion. Players have always changed clubs for money. And the SM angle is BS. As Bill Burr says, don't look at it and everything is the same. If you do, turn off your insta comments, don't use X.
It is a totally false narrative used to pad out the article.

Cripps hates being the guy who wears the pressure by the look of it. He seems like someone with the weight of the world on his shoulders. He's a gun but has a vibe like someone who has been crushed under the weight of expectation.

All the posters whinging about losing Battle are right about one thing. We were happy to lose him for first round compensation (why we dangled him) and guess what, we got what we wanted. The article trying to make Hawthorn out to be geniuses by them predicting we would come in at the 11th hour with an increased contract to guarantee a first round selection, guess what, we got it. They clearly paid him enough to trigger it. If Higgins goal is touched on the line and we get two top ten midfielders it would be unanimous on here it was a fantastic process.

The article also confirms that we are trying to learn from losing him and put in place a more family friendly environment. Also is this a standard industry wide practice? Did all clubs have this except for us? Doubt it. Seems like Hawthorn are well out ahead in this space and we are learning from it. Good on them.

If Tauru even scratches the surface of his potential the whole thing is an enormous triumph. Have we had a culture of losing lots of players we didn’t want to recently? Battle is the only one, so it isn’t some ingrained problem that we need to solve.

It's only a triumph if we get Battle plus out of Tauru. We also need to make sure we challenge before losing Sincs, Wilkie, Marshall, Macrae, Steele, Wood, Hill etc. Also have guys like Webster, Jones, Howard, Butler etc all coming into the twilight of their careers.

If we get a gun in Tauru but it takes 5 years and the older crew are all gone we are probably struggling to hold on to him as we drop down for another rebuild.

It's a massive gamble. I don't think I would have taken it if I was in list management. We still would have had a high pick and probably still taken him though.

It also needs to be remembered that the 'indigenous' are not one homogeneous mass, they come from vastly different nations and culture. A Kimberley first nations player would have a totally different experience to a southern Victorian first nations player or a capital city urban player ( not using their nation name because I am ignorant of them all).

So while they are bonded in their aboriginality they are as different as any culture.
The challenge for a football club and one who wants to be the no.1 for indigenous inclusiveness is to recognise who is on the list, where they come from, and what individual needs they have.
I have absolutely no evidence apart from anecdotal but perhaps NAZ first contract and Lance Collards 3 years extension would not have happened without this initiative.

We have two tribes in Mount Isa, one local and one from the territory that can’t even bump into each other in the street without a blue occurring.
Then there are the peaceful gulf tribes that come to town and another quite violent tribe from the territory that everyone is shit scared of.
You can’t make the mistake of lumping all the aboriginal people into one basket.
Plus you need to be a bit careful how you refer to them, I was speaking to an aboriginal lady I know down at the pub and she said to me, what’s this indigenous and First Nations shit, I’m aboriginal.
Just because some do gooder uni grad on work release at a government department decides the aboriginal people of Australia need to be called First Nations doesn’t mean they like it.
Aboriginal welfare is very complex.

I wouldn't want to go to a small club and be the one everyone pins hopes on while taking mega money. I remember how hard we were on Brad Hill. He didn't do anything wrong, he was a terrible fit for the side he was playing in and wore the anger for our disappointment.

Even Dougal Howard, people get shitty with him but if he was just some guy drafted and playing every game he probably has a completely different image with fans.

Imagine being a 21 year old mid playing in an ordinary side getting paid the most money in the AFL and unable to make a big difference to the side's fortunes. You'd have to be crazy to want that.

The kind of fame that spotlights your every move and has you under constant critical observation wouldn't appeal to many well adjusted people.
Ben McKay right now at Essendon.

All the Nas shit (certainly from me) is purely about if he decides to go home (which i hope and pray he doesnt) I dont think its the worst thing in the world for people to consider what wed want if he says hes out.

JUH no thanks. Has always looked like a very good 2nd or 3rd tall forward (and Max doesnt look like ever being a true KPF either). I dont think were quite mature enough as an orginisation to try that and have it fail, Geelong can and have a record of misses and hits and it doesnt impact them that badly when it doesnt work. We dont.

No thanks

We have Sharman forward and Tauru/Barrat as like-for-likes

A waste of money and list space when we can just get another kid via draft

Knowing SOS he’ll probably go for it tho

He's a bit better than that. I reckon he's one of those super underrated players. He's a genuine B grade swingman and could play as a third tall defender to take Battle's spot. If a forward goes down he can drift forward and take their spot. If it wasn't an obscene contract he'd be worth a look.

I recall saying something pretty similar last year about the rumors the Hawks had free child care as an incentive and getting howled down about it with some misogynistic backwards thinking.

If thats the way of the future we all better get on board.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

Write your reply...