We must be looking at different pictures.Looking at pics, Clarry looks in decent shape. Seems in a good space. Hopefully that equates to a good season.
100%. Anyone else saying otherwise clearly just wants to hate on the guy.
The private schools need to probably develop some sort of indigenous pathway program, if they havnt already.Tend to agree with such low indigenous numbers that having like a rookie list purely for indigenous talent could be a good idea. Have a couple of list spots available. I'm not sure every club has the same support though and having done some counselling up in the NT, footy doesn't seem to be as big anymore within the communities as it used to be. There clearly isn't the talent coming through anymore.
The private school sector owns the draft pretty much unfortunately. My partners son is part of the Brighton Grammar football team and the program in place and the resources available is unbelievable..the gap is only widening. I know there's some good pathways in place for young indigenous kids, but most include moving away from their families to go to these private schools. And with footy being less of an interest these days, it's no surprise the talent pool has dried up. Not sure we'll see too many more of those out of the blue pure talent types from remote Australia anymore. But a rookie listed for indigenous talent could help if the support is there.
100%. Anyone else saying otherwise clearly just wants to hate on the guy.
No one is saying he's as fit as a few years ago..He's definitely fitter than this time last year but not at the same level from a couple years back.
Still, a great sign that he's getting a good preseason in so far.
Oliver amongst the best trainers. How dare you be so complimentary of Clarry around here lolTraining Report: Monday 9th Dec
Not much new to report. All the players are looking in pretty good shape.
- There was next to no tackling in today's training. It was basically all about transitioning the ball today. Often the playing group was divided into 2 groups with half of them on one wing and half on the other. With players switching between groups and also switching bibs it's always a bit hard to keep track, especially with new draftees still not given guernseys with playing numbers yet which I personally find unnecessary. How long does it take? Is it a big deal? No. Is it annoying? A little bit. Not to mention not getting an updated players list on the Dees website. It would literally take 1 hour to do that. But for whatever reason, there's always a massive delay. Anyway, rant over
- Xavier Lindsay is increasing his running load. Running at higher intensities and running further. So he is progressing.
- Shane McAdam is still doing his boundary thing. Did some set shots at the end of training. Spent some time doing some inside torps. As you do.
- Steven May did most of the drills but also did about 30 minutes of boundary line running away from the group. Whatever it is, it isn't serious.
- There was a random training with us. No idea what his name was or who he was. Looked about 30 (he probably wasn't), was short-ish, say 180cm. Had neat skills. Just not sure who he was.
- That Sinnema kid wasn't training today.
- Kynan Brown is recovering from something, but his boundary line running is basically 100% so also not serious and he looks in great shape.
- Lever on the sidelines. Running at good intensity. He'll be fine.
- Tholstrup left the training about 30 minutes before the others. Not sure why.
- Bowey returned. (he wasn't at training last time). He looked totally fine. Trained well. Took Sestan (who is a friggin unit) down in a tackle.
- Melksham was doing some boundary line running. Not sure if he's recovering from something. But it doesn't look serious. He is in ripping shape.
- Rivers trained fully and trained well. Had taping, or something around one of his lower legs. Seemed just like a preventative thing. No issues and he was in good spirits.
- Mentha: Not to pick on the young fella but he needs to lift his intensity when training. In all drills he isn't putting in half the effort of others. Think Jefferson but half the intensity. He was running with Aiden Johnson on the boundary line at one stage, and on the jog back AJ turned around and told Mentha to 'come on mate'. There's laconic and then there's lazy and I believe Mentha is both.
- AJ. Big fan. Love everything he does. Good mark, good kick for goal (at least from what I saw), trains well and he covers the ground well. So I see him as a versatile player that could even play down back if needed. Couldn't have been more impressed.
- Oliver is soldiering on. In good spirits. Got a lot of cheap ball in the drills so it's good to see him get his hands on it.
- Petracca is in great shape. He's ready for Round 1 right now. Absolutely no issues with his conditioning or readiness to return. On a personal note, I still don't forget or forgive easily so I simply don't trust him not to ask for a trade at the end of the season. I hope he plays well for us, but he's not in my good books.
- Viney is in fantastic shape. Strong as always but not too big. For his role as an inside mid, I think he's ready to go right now. Trained well and is still setting standards with running back quickly when the whistle blows for drinks.
- Sestan: geez he just looks good. His skills on left and right foot are elite. And his legs are like tree trunks. I see him as a guy who has high potential. just needs to to work on finding more of the footy.
- Langford: Don't shoot me down but my main concern with Langford is his repeat efforts and his speed. This will be his main issues to work on but I really want to see him in the match sims/practice matches because at this stage of training, its all about running which is not his forte. At least not the shorter stuff. His kicking isn't elite, not is it bad. it's just fine. Think of say, Marty Hore's kicking But it does have penetration.
- Kalani White: Trained well. Got a nice spoil in at one stage of the training. He moves well and showed to have great kicking penetration when having shots on goal. He kicks them really high but was kicking 55m. I think people are underrating him on general draft boards. Just his size and frame coupled with his agility and his foot skills alone, I'd be surprised if he isn't a first rounder.
- Every time I go to training there's a guy hassling everyone because he's trying to be voted onto the board. I love the enthusiasm but mate, I just want to be left alone to watch the training. I'm not a social butterfly so I always stay clear and have to purposely avoid him. If you're reading this, sorry, but also, I'm sure I'm the only track watcher that feels like this.
- Oh, I also noticed infamous 2021 covid boarder breacher Hayden Burbank who served time in a WA prison in attendance for the 2nd time. At least I think it was him! So if you're reading this, hey!
- Windsor is getting plenty of the ball in the backline. But often the ball starts with a coach hand balling it to a backman so it's no surprise that guys like Bowey, Windsor and Petty are getting a lot of the ball but in a backline role I see Windsor having multiple 10+ mark games this year.
- Best trainers for the day (totally subjective) : Viney, Laurie, Petracca, Kentfield did some nice thing, Windsor, Turner, Rivers, Gawn and Oliver but really , everyone trained well.
The random trainer was Mitch Hardie who was delisted by Geelong this year.Training Report: Monday 9th Dec
- There was next to no tackling in today's training. It was basically all about transitioning the ball today. Often the playing group was divided into 2 groups with half of them on one wing and half on the other. With players switching between groups and also switching bibs it's always a bit hard to keep track, especially with new draftees still not given guernseys with playing numbers yet which I personally find unnecessary. How long does it take? Is it a big deal? No. Is it annoying? A little bit. Not to mention not getting an updated players list on the Dees website. It would literally take 1 hour to do that. But for whatever reason, there's always a massive delay. Anyway, rant over
- Xavier Lindsay is increasing his running load. Running at higher intensities and running further. So he is progressing.
- Shane McAdam is still doing his boundary thing. Did some set shots at the end of training. Spent some time doing some inside torps. As you do.
- Steven May did most of the drills but also did about 30 minutes of boundary line running away from the group. Whatever it is, it isn't serious.
- There was a random training with us. No idea what his name was or who he was. Looked about 30 (he probably wasn't), was short-ish, say 180cm. Had neat skills. Just not sure who he was.
- Kynan Brown is recovering from something, but his boundary line running is basically 100% so also not serious and he looks in great shape.
- Bowey returned. (he wasn't at training last time). He looked totally fine. Trained well. Took Sestan (who is a friggin unit) down in a tackle.
- Melksham was doing some boundary line running. Not sure if he's recovering from something. But it doesn't look serious. He is in ripping shape.
- Rivers trained fully and trained well. Had taping, or something around one of his lower legs. Seemed just like a preventative thing. No issues and he was in good spirits.
- Mentha: Not to pick on the young fella but he needs to lift his intensity when training. In all drills he isn't putting in half the effort of others. Think Jefferson but half the intensity. He was running with Aiden Johnson on the boundary line at one stage, and on the jog back AJ turned around and told Mentha to 'come on mate'. There's laconic and then there's lazy and I believe Mentha is both.
- AJ. Big fan. Love everything he does. Good mark, good kick for goal (at least from what I saw), trains well and he covers the ground well. So I see him as a versatile player that could even play down back if needed. Couldn't have been more impressed.
- Oliver is soldiering on. In good spirits. Got a lot of cheap ball in the drills so it's good to see him get his hands on it.
- Petracca is in great shape. He's ready for Round 1 right now. Absolutely no issues with his conditioning or readiness to return. On a personal note, I still don't forget or forgive easily so I simply don't trust him not to ask for a trade at the end of the season. I hope he plays well for us, but he's not in my good books.
- Viney is in fantastic shape. Strong as always but not too big. For his role as an inside mid, I think he's ready to go right now. Trained well and is still setting standards with running back quickly when the whistle blows for drinks.
- Sestan: geez he just looks good. His skills on left and right foot are elite. And his legs are like tree trunks. I see him as a guy who has high potential. just needs to to work on finding more of the footy.
- Langford: Don't shoot me down but my main concern with Langford is his repeat efforts and his speed. This will be his main issues to work on but I really want to see him in the match sims/practice matches because at this stage of training, its all about running which is not his forte. At least not the shorter stuff. His kicking isn't elite, not is it bad. it's just fine. Think of say, Marty Hore's kicking But it does have penetration.
- Kalani White: Trained well. Got a nice spoil in at one stage of the training. He moves well and showed to have great kicking penetration when having shots on goal. He kicks them really high but was kicking 55m. I think people are underrating him on general draft boards. Just his size and frame coupled with his agility and his foot skills alone, I'd be surprised if he isn't a first rounder.
- Every time I go to training there's a guy hassling everyone because he's trying to be voted onto the board. I love the enthusiasm but mate, I just want to be left alone to watch the training. I'm not a social butterfly so I always stay clear and have to purposely avoid him. If you're reading this, sorry, but also, I'm sure I'm not the only track watcher that feels like this.
- Oh, I also noticed infamous 2021 covid boarder breacher Hayden Burbank who served time in a WA prison in attendance for the 2nd time. At least I think it was him! So if you're reading this, hey!
- Windsor is getting plenty of the ball in the backline. But often the ball starts with a coach handballing it to a backman so it's no surprise that guys like Bowey, Windsor and Petty are getting a lot of the ball but in a backline role I see Windsor having multiple 10+ mark games this year.
- Best trainers for the day (totally subjective) : Viney, Laurie, Petracca, Kentfield did some nice things, Windsor, Turner, Rivers, Gawn and Oliver but really , everyone trained well.
GREAT to see you on the Dees board Dan. Welcome back!Training Report: Monday 9th Dec
- Every time I go to training there's a guy hassling everyone because he's trying to be voted onto the board. I love the enthusiasm but mate, I just want to be left alone to watch the training. I'm not a social butterfly so I always stay clear and have to purposely avoid him. If you're reading this, sorry, but also, I'm sure I'm not the only track watcher that feels like this.
- Windsor is getting plenty of the ball in the backline. But often the ball starts with a coach handballing it to a backman so it's no surprise that guys like Bowey, Windsor and Petty are getting a lot of the ball but in a backline role I see Windsor having multiple 10+ mark games this year.
- Best trainers for the day (totally subjective) : Viney, Laurie, Petracca, Kentfield did some nice things, Windsor, Turner, Rivers, Gawn and Oliver but really , everyone trained well.
I feel as though technological advancement - tested by pandemic lockdowns - should be considered. A scholarship might provide for indigenous kids to be given access to technology for school participation that might mean the kid would have more time at home in their family environment, maybe with trips to Melbourne incorporated, ideally this would be a group of students and not just one, which would be daunting.The private schools need to probably develop some sort of indigenous pathway program, if they havnt already.
They basically go handing out scholarships to kids who are decent at footy which are worth a fortune these days with school fees up north of $40k per year for some schools.
It would be a very big leap for a 15 year old indigenous kid from Alice or Darwin or a remote community, to come to Melbourne and attend a college in Toorak though, so I’m not sure exactly what the model could look like.
I reckon he looks a bit fitter than he did a few months ago, around July.
Sounding good so far.Xavier Lindsay is increasing his running load. Running at higher intensities and running further. So he is progressing.\
Old man needs to take care of body at this time of year.Melksham was doing some boundary line running. Not sure if he's recovering from something. But it doesn't look serious. He is in ripping shape.
Old man needs to take care of body at this time of year.Steven May did most of the drills but also did about 30 minutes of boundary line running away from the group. Whatever it is, it isn't serious.
Tholstrup is a worry with his endurance training, imv. I'm not very convinced with this kid yet.Tholstrup left the training about 30 minutes before the others. Not sure why.
One fella seems to have worked it out to work rrrase off... and another seems to just wish it will happen maybe. Doesn't sound good at all from the young fella.
This fella sounds like he is going to give it one hell-of-a shake.
No denying he isn’t at his peak. But he’s at least positioned to get himself in a better position come round 1.I reckon he looks a bit fitter than he did a few months ago, around July.
But he looks way off what he was 3Yrs ago.
Bigger news than the report itself.GREAT to see you on the Dees board Dan. Welcome back!
I’m looking forward to observing the outcome.Bigger news than the report itself.
Now the next question - can Micho and Dan coexist on the one board or will the universe implode?
If he's not running as hard as what he should be, if Goody is fn serious, then Clarry can't be carried next season. Clearly not looking at his peak, but at least he's looking fitter and training hard. Good signs. The few weeks off at Xmas will be crucial I reckon.No denying he isn’t at his peak. But he’s at least positioned to get himself in a better position come round 1.