Player Watch #21: Noah Balta - Signed Until 2032

If Balta was played all season at FF as Richo did in his 1st year Balta would go close to 50 goals
Big call. I reckon we should just temper our expectations a bit and see how it plays out. Naughton showed us what a real natural forward looks like last week, Cameron did it at much the same age. They don't come along that often. Balta will be a player, no doubt.

Naughton got his dream scenario last week. His midfield on top, playing indoor conditions and stood mainly by hybrid defenders Vlastuin, Grimes, Broad, who are all clearly shorter than him, and none are heavier than him. The only variation was Balta for a short time and he didn't have much idea to be honest, and this is understandable given he is not training the role. What Naughton did show was that he can exploit this type of scenario ruthlessly, but he won't see all those things line up too often. Still, given he is second year he will only get better.

It may be true that Balta would kick a good share of goals if played all year at full forward but a tall forward's role is much more than that these days, especially in our team, and I don't think he has the team craft yet to play the role properly. Astbury's presence this week will do wonders for our backline, and Balta can go back to the role he is training, some time forward and second ruck wrecking ball.

Cracking me up all this Naughton talk this week. He's had one outstanding game last week, and one very good game, also against us late last year, the rest were average to moderate.
Reminds me of Shultz when he tore the Lions a new one, he was going to be the next big thing only to go on and become a half decent journeyman.

Cracking me up all this Naughton talk this week. He's had one outstanding game last week, and one very good game, also against us late last year, the rest were average to moderate.
Reminds me of Shultz when he tore the Lions a new one, he was going to be the next big thing only to go on and become a half decent journeyman.
Shultz should have been a gun, had all the tools, something went wrong. (Should have continued with playing him at CHB I thought.)
Of course Naughton got a dream run, but he is 19 years old and reads the ball in the air so well and is very mobile and played all his junior footy as a back. You can just tell, a bit like us with Balta. Watch Naughton's draft highlights, they are amazing.

Shultz should have been a gun, had all the tools, something went wrong. (Should have continued with playing him at CHB I thought.)
Of course Naughton got a dream run, but he is 19 years old and reads the ball in the air so well and is very mobile and played all his junior footy as a back. You can just tell, a bit like us with Balta. Watch Naughton's draft highlights, they are amazing.
All the reports on Shulz he was mega lazy, last to training first to leave, and apparently the players were not unhappy when he left.

I don’t want to be overly critical of him but one aspect we all know he can do better is his marking. If you watch his under 18 highlights and his VFL highlights from last year he’s capable of taking some big marks. Even in the first preseason game against Melbourne he took several good marks.

Freo have some fantastic talls and will be deadly in the air, we need Balta to start clunking marks and this week would be a damn good week to do so.

He can get himself to the contest and in many times he’ll get his hands on the ball but just cannot complete the marks.

I don’t want to be overly critical of him but one aspect we all know he can do better is his marking. If you watch his under 18 highlights and his VFL highlights from last year he’s capable of taking some big marks. Even in the first preseason game against Melbourne he took several good marks.

Freo have some fantastic calls and will be deadly in the air, we need Balta to start clunking marks and this week would be a damn good week to do so.

He can get himself to the contest and in many times he’ll get his hands on the ball but just cannot complete the marks.
Yes. Considering he was such a good a mark at u18 level, I've been surprised how poorly his marking has been at AFL. He showed what he can do in that one quarter in JLT. I'm sure it's going click soon though with it and he'll be clucking some good pack marks, because he has the ability to do it.

Our marking (especially contested)
Has been very poor across the board this year
I wonder if our bigger forwards have had it drummed into their heads that bringing it to ground for smalls is always a good option and it’s making them more hesitant to follow through with a big mark when they have the option

And what would everybody say , Paying Tim Lunch a million dollars and the Kid is played FF

Balta can kick 2 goals a game i have no doubt if played FF

Pretty sure the
Club would gladly move lynch to CHF if that was the case

Come on man. Be realistic.

Balta can't even mark opposed to a defender yet

Pretty sure the
Club would gladly move lynch to CHF if that was the case

Come on man. Be realistic.

Balta can't even mark opposed to a defender yet

Having a bit each way here aren't you by saying yet !!

Balta has not been played foward for any duration of time and he certainly has not played their whilst we have played decent football

Lets see if you feel the same way in 2 years time as im confident he will be a handful for many defenders in the not too long future

Having a bit each way here aren't you by saying yet !!

Balta has not been played foward for any duration of time and he certainly has not played their whilst we have played decent football

Lets see if you feel the same way in 2 years time as im confident he will be a handful for many defenders in the not too long future

How is that a bet each way?

And now you are saying in 2 years, yet our debate is that he would kick 50 goals a season now.

Make up your mind mate. Is he an elite FF right now who would kick 50 goals (50 goals these days is elite) or is he 2 years away from being a good player?

For mine, there are two things to consider: one is current team balance and the second is Balta's best position going forward.

For team balance, I think he is clearly best used as a second ruck. Nank desperately needs the chop out and Balta has shown the ability and athleticism to be able to compete. Limit his TOG if necessary and use him as a forward when one of the keys/Caddy need a rest. With Riewoldt out this is even more doable. I don't think he quite has the defensive instinct or smarts yet to play as a permanent defender.

Long term, I honestly have no idea, and I don't think the coaching staff do either. This is not a problem - he is 19, and the careers of athletic 195+cm talls at 19 are rarely defined at this point. It takes them time. The most important thing is that we keep playing him in the 1s and he keeps getting a chance to improve his football nous. As a ruck/forward he will get the chance to do most things. Fill the hole in the backline when rucking if necessary and go on a few galloping runs off HB.

I could see him developing into a permanent forward, I could also see him being a wingman in the Blicavs mould or even an intercept/attacking tall HB in the Stewart/Hurley/Keath mould. He just needs to play in the 1s and develop that football brain and his favoured position will become evident eventually. He has the raw athleticism to play anywhere.

How is that a bet each way?

And now you are saying in 2 years, yet our debate is that he would kick 50 goals a season now.

Make up your mind mate. Is he an elite FF right now who would kick 50 goals (50 goals these days is elite) or is he 2 years away from being a good player?

Mate he is not an elite FF right now as you put it but if he was played FF for a full season he would go close to if not kick 50 goals i a season, He is being played all over the ground and in the ruck running around playing 50% game time. If he was played FF and not having to run around as he is where he is currently averaging .7 goals a game he could kick 2 goals a game playing as a perm FF.

The 2 years comment is exactly what it is and thats with an estimation of a 19 year old KPF developing, But you know that already

Year each way bet is where you make a comment but sit on the fence and say 'Yet'
I want whatever you're having.
Kebab from Hoppers Kebabs - Have to try it ;)

Mate he is not an elite FF right now as you put it but if he was played FF for a full season he would go close to if not kick 50 goals i a season, He is being played all over the ground and in the ruck running around playing 50% game time. If he was played FF and not having to run around as he is where he is currently averaging .7 goals a game he could kick 2 goals a game playing as a perm FF.

The 2 years comment is exactly what it is and thats with an estimation of a 19 year old KPF developing, But you know that already

Year each way bet is where you make a comment but sit on the fence and say 'Yet'

Kebab from Hoppers Kebabs - Have to try it ;)
Bolta right now not even close to getting 50 a season. But he has time. he is still lost a little as a defender.

Player Watch #21: Noah Balta - Signed Until 2032