Player Watch #21: Noah Balta - Signed Until 2032

Importantly for Prestia, he played the last 7 games of 2024. Any late season injury probably would have ended his career. Given all our walk outs, I am happy to give him the one year extension.
If he plays 20 games this season he gets to 150….im taking bets

Was trying to think of any recent precedents , if his name was Steven may nothing would come of it , how many times has he knocked someone’s block off , best case is club imposed sanction which will be min 3 , shai copped a ban and he was the one clobbered
May doesn’t wear a yellow sash

would not suprise me if this is the way...
plus we don't have a Dangerfield to tell the AFL and the public 'nothing to see here,move along all'
If the afl steps in and suspends him I will lose my shit after what that druggie stenglein did saying his drink was spiked cmon he has form once a druggie always a druggie one rules for the handbaggers and one rules for Richmond

Totally agree that footy players certainly get targeted by drunk idiots but suggesting it’s the same for all big guys is a bit much

I’m around six five and can think of only once in my life someone clearly thought I was big and therefore wanted to fight. And that was outside the Swanson st maccas at like 3am so it was at least 20% my fault just based on being there

And even in that situation I just told the guy to F off and it was all good
A friend of mine was 6ft 7 and a giant with fists the size of a house bricks and he was challenged by drunks all the time just for standing there. Every time we went out some bozo wanted to take him on, it was almost suicide for them though :cool:

A mate of mine (same bloke in the hospital emergency rooms involving other celebrities) was at the police station and reckons the contact from Balta was:
1. High
2. Careless
3. Not part of a football act
4. Medium impact.

Will get 2-3 years but can accept one year prison sentence with guilty plea. Or 6 months if he agrees to play for Gold Coast in 2026.

Common assault is a bit of a nothing charge. He'll have a good lawyer, will please guilty and will get a s10 dismissal (no conviction recorded). He just needs to demonstrate good character, extenuating circumstances, remorse and low probability of reoffending.

Will all be done and dusted before the season starts. I imagine the AFL will give him a 2 week holiday.

A friend of mine was 6ft 7 and a giant with fists the size of a house bricks and he was challenged by drunks all the time just for standing there. Every time we went out some bozo wanted to take him on, it was almost suicide for them though :cool:
yep, good mate of mine top bloke... 170cm and a very stocky 90kg.... occasionally was an angry drunk and his philosophy was "the bigger they are, the harder they fall". same bloke when pumped up for a big local footy game would screech out when running on to the ground. "king hit or be king hit".

Noah might have been just stretching his legs
Jim Kelly Kick GIF by Warner Archive

Let’s not get Lynch and Prestia mixed up in this. Isn’t their only ‘crime’ that they were out at 2am and trouble broke out around them which they had zero involvement in?

Stengle was hospitalised after a nightclub incident ‘in-season’ and copped zero penalty and played the next week. 2am in the off-season having some drinks is not even worthy of comment - they’ve been largely model citizens so don’t deserve to be lumped with Balta.

Nowhere did I say all 3 players were on par for exact same incidents. My point is after the Prestia/ Lynch incident 100% there would've been a group (whatsapp??) Communication wishing the players a happy NYE with a reminder to watch out for potential incidents and to remember they're representatives of the RFC to have fun & be on best behaviour..... if their wasn't Nank/ Yze all leaders are a f@cken deadset disgrace for not doing so. Having worked construction my whole life the trigger may well have been some innocent dude in a Serbian soccer top probably inadvertently crossed his line of sight 🤣

Any reason the media are not all over this??!?

Surely the bottom of the barrel scrapers like Barrett and McClure, it would be easy to track down some joker who'd spent a couple of hours in casualty with a cut to his head or 100 or so punters/loose lipped security from the country club.

Just a wild guess that it was a quick push and shove and Noah sent some loud mouthed flog sprawling.

Common assault is a bit of a nothing charge. He'll have a good lawyer, will please guilty and will get a s10 dismissal (no conviction recorded). He just needs to demonstrate good character, extenuating circumstances, remorse and low probability of reoffending.

Will all be done and dusted before the season starts. I imagine the AFL will give him a 2 week holiday.

Community work problem

Player Watch #21: Noah Balta - Signed Until 2032