Player Watch #22 Nick Blakey: 2024 All Australian

tXbJBXbU.jpg

Nick Blakey
Nick Blakey is a prodigious talent with a laser-sharp left boot, an outstanding overhead ability and searing pace. The QBE Sydney Swans Academy product booted 21 goals in 19 games in a brilliant debut season en route to winning the club’s 2019 Rising Star award, and while he added a lively element to the forward line last year, he’s likely to play on a wing or in the midfield in 2020. Nick is the son of former Fitzroy and North Melbourne champion John Blakey, who’s had a variety of roles on the Swans’ coaching panel since 2006.

Nick Blakey
DOB: 27 February 2000
DEBUT: 2019
DRAFT: #10, 2018 National Draft
RECRUITED FROM: University Of NSW-Eastern Suburbs (NSW)

Last edited by a moderator:
Nice story. As one who grew up in Victoria and Tassie everyone I knew just played Aussie Rules so the supply of talent was huge. It's good to see the encouragement in NSW though the AFL is doing a poor job of looking after its grass roots (see TFL). Funny that in NSW many of those coming new to the game refer to "playing AFL" which sounds weird to a southerner. It's like playing soccer and saying you play FIFA. Sure, you can play for the AFL or an AFL affiliated club under rules governed by the AFL but as a footy player at any level the name of the game is Aussie Rules.
Condescending much. I'm not new to the game, played in the late 70s and 80s in surburan Sydney. And AFL is what they call it at school level in Sydney these days so their branding has worked. It's almost like some people don't wish to grow the game and keep it to those down south who grew up with aussie rules. Glad you found my story nice.

I find it hilarious how Melbourne folk depict all Sydney siders as Chardonnay swilling snobs heading off to the opera. Apparently all of us have rich relatives with SCG memberships we can borrow and watch the game from the ladies and members stands. Little brother complex rife on the norf board, hilarious.
So true, I just stoke their fires by playing into it, them blowing up is amusing.

I find it hilarious how Melbourne folk depict all Sydney siders as Chardonnay swilling snobs heading off to the opera.

They get us confused with Roosters supporters in the NRL (Wait until they are in the bar in paddington):

I cringe when I hear people say "AFL" instead of "footy" or "Aussie Rules". It's akin to people saying NRL instead of league or BBL instead of T20 Cricket. Annoys the hell out of me.

The game is Australian Rules Football. The AFL are merely a league that is (at this point in time) the most popular & largest league in that code.
I’ve said this a hundred times but...

If we said “footy” in Sydney we’d almost certainly get into a ten minute conversation about what footy code we were actually talking about, and then an argument about why we’re right/wrong to call it that. It’s just quicker and easier to say “AFL”!

They get us confused with Roosters supporters in the NRL (Wait until they are in the bar in paddington):

I remember when Bondi was full of working and middle class folk and Paddington when no one wanted to live there. Gold.

I’ve said this a hundred times but...

If we said “footy” in Sydney we’d almost certainly get into a ten minute conversation about what footy code we were actually talking about, and then an argument about why we’re right/wrong to call it that. It’s just quicker and easier to say “AFL”!
Oh god that's a huge landmine saying "footy" or "football". "AFL isn't footy! That pansy sport they play south of the border? You don't play that shit do you?"

These people do exist! As you are walking past the posh seats,on your way to general admission,or whatever you can afford. You will see people in Armani suits etc,with the wife/ girlfriend/ mistress.
There is usally a token Swans scarf, or something red and white. You can just tell that these people dont really give a toss about the game,they are there to be seen and drink piss!!
I hate to be the one to tell you, but there heaps better places to drink piss and be seen than SCG in Sydney. Plenty of people pay there money, wear a scarf and scream like banshees for the swans. They are no less swans supporters because they have nice clothes and wear a suit!

Yep. I've been the suit wearing & "token" scarf guy before.

I'm also slighly obsessed with the club & bleed red & white....

Haha. Except I was talking about the G :p

You really stand out on the hill at Adel Oval though. I'd highly recommend it!! :D
Lol, I haven't been to the oval since its been redeveloped, saw a day's play in a an ashes match about ten years ago, it's on the bucket list. And for the record, never worn a suit to the footy.

Come sit where I sit. 80% of the section have been there for as long as I have (20+ years). Every week we collectively lose it

I cringe when I hear people say "AFL" instead of "footy" or "Aussie Rules". It's akin to people saying NRL instead of league or BBL instead of T20 Cricket. Annoys the hell out of me.

The game is Australian Rules Football. The AFL are merely a league that is (at this point in time) the most popular & largest league in that code.
Lol! Cringe away... depending on whom I'm talking to I call Aussie Rules AFL and league NRL. Saves on explanations, when footy can refer to soccer, rugby union, rugby league or Australian Rules. :)

Condescending much. I'm not new to the game, played in the late 70s and 80s in surburan Sydney. And AFL is what they call it at school level in Sydney these days so their branding has worked. It's almost like some people don't wish to grow the game and keep it to those down south who grew up with aussie rules. Glad you found my story nice.

My apologies that you found it condescending but you're being over-sensitive. I thought it was a genuinely nice story to read that the game was doing so well at grass roots in NSW as the AFL are not doing Aussie Rules any favours in the heartland. I think it's irrelevant what you or I call the game. It's still a shame that people new to the game in NSW are calling it AFL as that's not the name of the game, it's the governing body, like FIFA. As you say, AFL are branding it. Allow a guy to have some pride in the game of Aussie Rules he grew up with, before some greedy pigs took it, rebranded it and sold it for TV rights.

No worries

Suppose it's just like Sydney siders calling league footy, what do Victorians call it, rugby, rugby league or NRL? Not trying to be condescending btw.

On our current list the following players have come through on the academy:
-Heeney
-Foote
-Robinson
-Naismith
-Bell
-Brown
-Mills

I don't remember any outcry from anyone when we drafted Foote

Some of us were annoyed

Lol! Cringe away... depending on whom I'm talking to I call Aussie Rules AFL and league NRL. Saves on explanations, when footy can refer to soccer, rugby union, rugby league or Australian Rules. :)
It's not a cringe. I love the national nature of the comp. It's resentment towards what the AFL rebranding the game in their own image while TFL can't field teams and the AFL pumps money into AFLX and the like.

Anyway, it's off topic. Read more here https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...e-in-the-afl-in-tasmania-20180412-p4z9as.html

Player Watch #22 Nick Blakey: 2024 All Australian