Past #24: Levi Greenwood - officially traded to Collingwood FC for pick 25 (2014) - retires rd16 2021 due to concussion symptoms - go well Pig

So? Who cares about posessions, its almost meaningless in todays game

He'll come good, just needs to build on awareness and think a bit clearer when giving off the ball

If you read my posts clearly, you'll understand that it is what I'm trying to say.

Not everyone bursts onto the scene, and guys like Ziebell make it harder for the late bloomers who are immediately touted as 'no good', because they don't perform very well in their first 5 games.

I've just been to Aurora stadium to watch Tassie and Qld U18's and was talking to a recruiter about scope for improvement. He said that not until a kid had played at least 40 games could you begin to see if they are the real deal, particularly if they are skinny or bottom aged.

Totally agree with that, that's why for the remainder of the year we need to inject games into:

Adams
Greenwood
Wundke
Jo.Smith

To see where they are at. But as you said, not being too harsh on them as we can't gauge their development for quite a while.

From a Port perspective, Levi was a Port Magpies boy who was linked heavily to the Power before the draft and would almost certainly have come to us at 33 had you guys not taken him at 32. If he walked out on the Roos I imagine we'd be interested. Now we just need to convince McIntosh that he loves South Australia ...

McIntosh and Greenwood were both at the Port vs Norwood game today.

I like this kid, how's he coming along? what role is he playing, the Josh Drummond type or what? thanks in advance

I always had a theory that great players often don't make great coaches due to how talented they were as players. It's gotta be hard to coach a work horse like Petrie if you are Wayne Carey for example, as you could do things on pure instinct and often with apparent ease in your playing days, while others could not get to that level if they tried.

There are exceptions of course (eg Mathews), and I was one who really wanted Bucks to come to North non the less. More than anything though, I'd say that I felt Buckley would be a great "win" for the club and would show the football world that we can land a big fish...I also hoped that he could coach of course. The jury is still out on that one...

But I have heard a comment from him during post match review on Friday night which, although insignificant to some, IMO points to the issues he may have coaching blokes who have less natural talent than he himself posessed.

He was describing how Greenwood has done a great negating job on Judd in the first half and then Judd came up with some key plays in the second half etc, which is fine. Followed by a comment along the lines of, that in the end Levi will NEVER be good enough to clean Judd's boots through out his career, but he did well on the night...

Now you may say this was just a figure of speech, but I reckon it was at best a silly thing to say, as nobody really knows how good Levi could become in the future. But ultimately, even if Levi is to play 200 games he is probably more likely to become a Simmo type player than a Judd/Buckley type. And if that's how Buckley thinks of kids with less natural talent than the elite, the players will pick that up in a flash, and he won't be a good coach because of it.

Just my thoughts...

An excellent attitude to have if you're a gun player who's being tagged.

A not-so-good attituded to have if you're coaching (i.e. meant to be developing a sound rapport with) the tagger.

He'll be fine at Collingwood though, because he'll have so many assistants that he'll never actually have to talk to any players, his minions will do that dirty work for him.

A big assumption based on a small quote, but lets be honest, the guy never really showed any humilty did he?

Good post EH, I concur entirely with your position on Bucks as we pursued him, and while not wishing to appear bitter, I do think we may have dodged a bullet on a number of grounds. For one thing, the point you raised about humility and the ability to coach less talented players. Secondly, he apparently praised Sam Power as an elite user of the ball. But mostly, I have a suspicion that all those things we expected of Buckley in terms of extra curricular activities would have completely worn him down and destroyed him.

Sorry for a moment there i thought someone had Buckley in the same league as Judd. Completely different creatures one has tasted the ultimate success and the other well they shall have not ... not now not ever

I think what he is expressing is that while Levi did a great negative job, you don't really make a name for yourself being only a negative player. Rawlings has been like that and has got zero recognition.

He has a point.

I would rather Levi played on him and be told to be accountable but to still be creative offensively and to hurt him going the other way. He focused his whole game on being negative which is great, did what the coach wanted but we basically just nullified a spot in eachother's midfield.

It is that ultra defensive mindframe that stops us from being the kind of side that puts side to the sword. I can see the defensive efforts there and I was pleased, but I would want to see him not be so restrictive and to also focus on the creative and damaging elements that will help us kick some goals when we have momentum and when we have the ball.

But mostly, I have a suspicion that all those things we expected of Buckley in terms of extra curricular activities would have completely worn him down and destroyed him.

Good point snrub. I have thought about that as well. All these "extra curricular" activities have to come naturally to a bloke (as they did to Wallace at Footscray) and we don't know if Buckley is that sort of bloke. And secondly it's hard to do these things when you're also learning the caper at the same time. I think it's much easier to be a salesman/coach when you are on top if it in football sense, than when you're sweating trying to win a game.

Bitter_is_the_New_Black__Confessions_of_a_Condescending_Egomaniacal_SelfCentered_SmartassOr_Why_You_Should_Never_Carry_A_Prada_Bag_to_the_Unemployment_Office-119187112622862.jpg

He did praise Sam but he also berated him for taking the soft option kicking it 20m to the wing rather than up the guts to Drew 40m away.

I can see what the OP is saying but I don't think his commentating should be any indication of his coaching ability. I mean Voss said some inane crap during his time with the media but he's turned out to be a handy coach (so far)

Good point snrub. I have thought about that as well. All these "extra curricular" activities have to come naturally to a bloke (as they did to Wallace at Footscray) and we don't know if Buckley is that sort of bloke. And secondly it's hard to do these things when you're also learning the caper at the same time. I think it's much easier to be a salesman/coach when you are on top if it in football sense, than when you're sweating trying to win a game.

Yeah I think Sheedy is probably the bench mark (given that Wallace never even reached a GF as coach) but Sheedy grew into that role after succeeding. He didn't hit the ground running.

Buckley = FIGJAM. Simple as that. Would have loved him as coach but I would never forgive the fact that he reneged on a deal. Going on what Eugene said quoted in another thread that is twice now. He can go to hell as far as I am concerned!

I think what Eugene said is just bollox from a bitter man. Euge had his heart set on getting Bux to the Roos, to spite Eddie who shafted him for the CEO role at Collingwood. Bux said no, so Euge is now suggesting that Bux renegged on his word. Puts NM in a better light and makes Euge feel better.

Well what you think means shit.

What we have been told by a person involved in all the negotiations means more then what you think.

I don't think your sources are any more reliable than mine.

It's understandable that Euge would be bitter about losing his "prize" and would be seeking to soften the blow with a tall tale about Bux reneging...it would sit well with his audience after all. However, I understand that Eddie may have got wind of it and will be seeking a retraction. Something about libel laws I think?

That a person involved in the "private" conversation leaks information said at the "private" conversation says more I think.

A lot of North supporters are searching for any information or comments said by or about Buckley to make themselves feel better. I'm pretty sure Buckley will be made to pay for the "sin" of not going to North every time Collingwood loses in the next 5 years and every time North wins in that time.

Like Buckleys ridiculous error in not knowing what was going to happen to Brisbane eight years from when he left them he'll be forever tainted with this decision as well - at least according to some North supporters anyway.

That a person involved in the "private" conversation leaks information said at the "private" conversation says more I think.

A lot of North supporters are searching for any information or comments said by or about Buckley to make themselves feel better. I'm pretty sure Buckley will be made to pay for the "sin" of not going to North every time Collingwood loses in the next 5 years and every time North wins in that time.

Like Buckleys ridiculous error in not knowing what was going to happen to Brisbane eight years from when he left them he'll be forever tainted with this decision as well - at least according to some North supporters anyway.

Mate, the guy was a very good player individually but it takes a certain type of player, to be a premiership player and an even more select player to be a premiership captain.
Guys like Hird,Carey,Judd,Voss,Bomber Thompson lead premiership sides.
Buckley just wasnt made of this stuff.
The comparisons of Voss and Buckley as coaches are laughable. One bloke breathes premierships, the other has never had one and was the best player in crap sides for most of his career.
Hardwick and Longmire would have far more credibilty when guiding the young guys as a team to the ultimate success.
If you want guys to win brownlows, Buckley will be your man, because that was the kind of selfish player he was.
The McGuire,Malthouse,Buckley team, will just be another extension of a couple of generations of failures to win a flag.

Lets not forget that he also gave back a $10,000 cheque to not play in two premierships at North.

Admit it. The roo supporters on this thread wouldn't be talking down Bux at all - quite the reverse in fact - if he had said "yes" to coach you. You all sound a little peeved.

WesternRoo said: "Mate, the guy was a very good player individually but it takes a certain type of player, to be a premiership player and an even more select player to be a premiership captain." What a crock! So Bob Skilton say, or Gary Dempsey weren't up to the lofty standards of such premiership heroes as say, Ken Billing (1966 premiership player for the Saints). :D

Past #24: Levi Greenwood - officially traded to Collingwood FC for pick 25 (2014) - retires rd16 2021 due to concussion symptoms - go well Pig