Player Watch #27 Thomson Dow Re-Signed until 2025

Watching Rowell monster and embarrass Dow yesterday made me ponder. Both taken in 1st round 2019. Rowell after his initial 5 game blitzkrieg was injured for remainder of season and needed surgery on his shoulder. It was deemed so bad Gary Ablett offered to mentor him through recovery even though he left GC 3 years prior.

You need a functioning shoulder to pick up weights and time, effort, sweat and grunt. WTF has Dow been doing in 5 years. He must have panic attacks or break out in hives in the weight room because he still looks like an undeveloped 15 yo. I'm assuming he's lazy because what other excuse is there? Watching him yesterday after going in with hopes he's a big part of our future. At 1/2 time my mate said he's another Cale Morton. Gave me flashbacks to this....

View attachment 1924412
Have you ever asked why Dow would end up starting against Rowell. We have two expensive bulls in the midfield and yet we put our lightest player against their most dynamic and powerful mid. When Bolton went into the midfield he didn't get Rowell. There is more to this than just Dow hasn't big enough. We went after Hopper or Toranto to cover for Prestia. We got both of then and now we are trying to fit all three in the misfield. Dow is in the midfield to try to add some speed he is not meant to be a bull.

Again, the point is, why is everyone having a go at Dow when the midfield leaders of the club should have led by example?

People are having a go because the club has been hyping him up more than Taylor Swift all off season. The midfield leaders have the points on the board. Taranto won our BnF last year and for a couple of months was as good as anyone comp wide. It just came out Hopper could barely train last year because he was carrying several injuries including an Achilles. Hopper was the best of our mids including kicking 2 crucial goals.

Prestia is ancient and has had an interrupted pre season due to injuries. Again he's been a warrior and has the points on the board. Dow was taken as a 1st rounder. He was rated generally to be taken at 40-50 mark but Matt Clarke said we rate him higher than that so pounced. Midpoint of last season it was flip a coin if he stays or goes. He teased something. As a 1st rounder he'd be getting paid WAY more than a proven workhorse like Ross on potential alone.

He had a full uninterrupted preseason and is in his 5th year. He literally tanked and 💩 the bed and couldn't even get involved in anyway. Ross matched his stats in 10mins and was playing gung ho desperately trying to impact the game. Dow shrunk and looked like he wanted the earth to swallow him up. He attended 17 out of 27 centre bounces and never looked like winning one clearance much lest nullifying any opposition player. He was on the ball majority of the game and couldn't get involved in any way, shape or form.

Against the Dee's we watched Graham play a similar game attending 18 centre bounces and get 0 also. Our older senior players are allowed to have off days as we know Taranto and Prestia will bounce back. Dow has kicked 1 goal in 18 games so we can't even hide him as a small forward. It's midfield or bust.

Agree the senior players are on huge pay packets and let us down badly. They're supposed to be leading the way for our kids and were s**t even when they won the footy they butchered it. So based on important stats we should drop them all???
Do we crucify a kid who had six disposals at 100% or two highly paid individuals who had a combined 38 disposals at 52.3% DE? I would love to have a stat for goals conceded to opposition in turnovers / poor disposal by a player as Taranto and Hopper would be high up in this stat.

This is the typical bullsh1t why everyone shouldn't get a medal. You and I both know he wasn't Rowells direct opponent. We don't tag, the 3 mids stand wherever mixing it up spreading out he wasn't glued to Rowell. My mention of Rowell was because he was magnificent and was comparing them because they're same draft and was stating that Rowells shoulder was so bad he would be excused if he was a scrawny weed.

If you honestly think Rowell and Dow were directly matched the whole game you either didn't watch the game at all or have NFI. The Dee's at full strength will often have Gawn, Petracca, Viney and Oliver. Might as well ban him from attending those contests as he was completely ineffective. God help us if Dow looked that bad against lowly GC with Rowell, Miller, Anderson and their other spuds. He wasnt even trying to shepherd, tackle or dive for smothers any 1% desperation that showed he was trying to contribute.

This is the typical bullsh1t why everyone shouldn't get a medal. You and I both know he wasn't Rowells direct opponent. We don't tag, the 3 mids stand wherever mixing it up spreading out he wasn't glued to Rowell. My mention of Rowell was because he was magnificent and was comparing them because they're same draft and was stating that Rowells shoulder was so bad he would be excused if he was a scrawny weed.

If you honestly think Rowell and Dow were directly matched the whole game you either didn't watch the game at all or have NFI. The Dee's at full strength will often have Gawn, Petracca, Viney and Oliver. Might as well ban him from attending those contests as he was completely ineffective. God help us if Dow looked that bad against lowly GC with Rowell, Miller, Anderson and their other spuds. He wasnt even trying to shepherd, tackle or dive for smothers any 1% desperation that showed he was trying to contribute.

I tend to agree with this, you can't hide full time mids. They need to be able to play on a Rowell, Anderson, Miller, Petracca, Oliver, Viney, Dangerfield, Selwood, Pendlebury, De Goey or whoever is thrown at them and

1. not get trounced, and

2. throw some problems back at them going the other way.

Players that are highly effective in other positions like Martin and Bolton you can afford to look for the right matchups in the middle for them. Dow is not in that situation and needs to be able to deal with whatever is thrown at him. Hopefully it is the case he acquits himself better but it might be a concern if you ever got to a final and he produces a gutter ball there.

Don’t disagree, but, coaches and players play to win and they will always select the tried and true to give them that best winning chance. Sonsie, who I love as a player, and Brown didn’t really warrant selection last year on form. They’ll get their chance this current season without doubt, as will Clarke, your opinion on whom I totally agree.

You're attempting to rewrite history there. I watch a lot of reserves footy. This site above lists the best 3 players from each team for each game. If you start in the last round and work your way back you'll note that Sonsie was listed in the Tigers top 3 players in 5/6 games alone..... I cbf'd scrolling further back but I'd say that's form that justifies selection...

As for Brown he came back from a broken hand and missed start of year. His first game was quiet but after that was always listed in the best (impressive as hbf isn't often regarded highly) and had massive wraps from Steve Morris for the remaining 9 games. That's why the vitriol of why did we take Brown over Van Rooyen switched to wtf will watered down hardwick pick the kids who are killing it in magoos over Grimes, Graham, McIntosh.

Literally everything you just wrote was completely false. And Mini mouse would've been better served actually playing the kids as we had so many premiership boys club serving up slop week in week out without fear of losing their spots. I guarantee if Sonsie and Brown came in for Graham and Grimes, others like McIntosh and Pickett would've lifted or been replaced by kids who easily matched their output. No one would've begrudged Mini getting the gig if he got same results whilst pumping games into the kids.

People are having a go because the club has been hyping him up more than Taylor Swift all off season. The midfield leaders have the points on the board. Taranto won our BnF last year and for a couple of months was as good as anyone comp wide. It just came out Hopper could barely train last year because he was carrying several injuries including an Achilles. Hopper was the best of our mids including kicking 2 crucial goals.

Prestia is ancient and has had an interrupted pre season due to injuries. Again he's been a warrior and has the points on the board. Dow was taken as a 1st rounder. He was rated generally to be taken at 40-50 mark but Matt Clarke said we rate him higher than that so pounced. Midpoint of last season it was flip a coin if he stays or goes. He teased something. As a 1st rounder he'd be getting paid WAY more than a proven workhorse like Ross on potential alone.

He had a full uninterrupted preseason and is in his 5th year. He literally tanked and 💩 the bed and couldn't even get involved in anyway. Ross matched his stats in 10mins and was playing gung ho desperately trying to impact the game. Dow shrunk and looked like he wanted the earth to swallow him up. He attended 17 out of 27 centre bounces and never looked like winning one clearance much lest nullifying any opposition player. He was on the ball majority of the game and couldn't get involved in any way, shape or form.

Against the Dee's we watched Graham play a similar game attending 18 centre bounces and get 0 also. Our older senior players are allowed to have off days as we know Taranto and Prestia will bounce back. Dow has kicked 1 goal in 18 games so we can't even hide him as a small forward. It's midfield or bust.
Really? Can you cite the multiple articles on him from the club's website? There is one from March 9th and that's it and it just says he is confident he can step up. It hardly is hyping him up. So stop the BS and stick to facts.

Taranto said Thomson Dow could take the league by storm and shock the competition less than a week ago lol

rinse. repeat. For 8 weeks. Then make a final decision.

We are paying the cost of the past on him. It might be too late to save. But this is what a player looks like when they play no more than 5 games a year for half a decade, mostly as a sub or on 70% Game time

He might be no good, but we have no other genuine options worth trying

Thank you for emphasising my point. Dow did not start on Rowell yet multiple people on here are complaining how Rowell easily pushed Dow aside. From what I saw Dow was starting on the defensive side of the bounce. Our other mids were positioned against Rowell and were meant to be first to the contest. The fact that Rowell was getting the ball and busting clear of our other mids is not Dows fault Dows man then immediately dropped of Dow and moved forward. Really what is Dow meant to do. With Rowell running rampant our coaches should have maybe put Hopper and Toranto on the defensive side and Dow forward. Or better still replace one of Hopper and Toranto in the centre with jack Ross or Marlion Picket to add a bit more agility. But no we just kept doing the same thing for a half and people on here now what to drop Dow.

Anyone with 2 brain cells knows the clubs websites are complete dog 💩. Because of some ancient deal that gave telstra a monopoly. All 18 club websites are inferior to something majority of teenagers could've slapped together on MySpace back in the day. I cbfd looking up 💩 for you. If you had any clue you'd be looking at many avenues for Tigers news, articles and interviews. The club website barely drip feeds 3 articles a week over preseason and majority are straight off the AFL website.

ALL REPORTS AND INTERVIEWS HAVE SAID DOW AND MANSELL ALSO TO A LESSER EXTENT DUSTY AND MCCAULIFFE WERE PRESEASON STANDOUTS. Straight from Yze, Newman's, Teagues, Ziebells, Tarantos, Hoppers, Richos, Gales, Manfred, Greener's mouths. The hype has been non stop. I guess you get ALL your world news from the 20 second soundbite during MAFS ad breaks 🤣🤣🤣🤣

I have never cared about flogs having a go at me and people who know me well know that ill just smack them on their asses and give them a hand to get back up just so i do it again

Celebrity Family Feud Reaction GIF by ABC Network

True, I just think there will be more cohesion this week which will result in a better display all round for all our players
It’s going to be our setup in the midfield and wings. I will wait until I see team selection before I commit to believing there will be a change . All the three games I’ve watched under Yze have all been very similar at some point with the three tractor midfield setup. I don’t think it’s player commitmen or cohesiveness, but more about player ability and pace.

Thank you for emphasising my point. Dow did not start on Rowell yet multiple people on here are complaining how Rowell easily pushed Dow aside. From what I saw Dow was starting on the defensive side of the bounce. Our other mids were positioned against Rowell and were meant to be first to the contest. The fact that Rowell was getting the ball and busting clear of our other mids is not Dows fault Dows man then immediately dropped of Dow and moved forward. Really what is Dow meant to do. With Rowell running rampant our coaches should have maybe put Hopper and Toranto on the defensive side and Dow forward. Or better still replace one of Hopper and Toranto in the centre with jack Ross or Marlion Picket to add a bit more agility. But no we just kept doing the same thing for a half and people on here now what to drop Dow.

Centre clearances account for maybe 5% total game time. Maybe 5% of the game is chewed up by people taking 30 seconds to have a shot on goal. Remaining 90% of game is either we've got it and help link up or they've got it and help get it back or it's in dispute and fight to win it. He wasn't hidden at starvation corner, nor tagging a small forward he was in the guts or part of the rolling maul practically the entire game and was completely ineffective doing zilch. The legendary Dusty comes back, Ross deserves to be promoted. So what do you suggest: drop BnF winner Taranto or our leading possession getter who kicked 2 goals in Hopper??? It's a f@cken no brainer Dow is sub at best. Or dropped.

Player Watch #27 Thomson Dow Re-Signed until 2025