Player Watch #27 Thomson Dow Re-Signed until 2025

It's about the future and although I like KMac as a team player, he is not the future. We need to somehow get games into Clarke, Coultard, McAuliffe, Sonsie (when back), Brown as well as Banks. Out go premiership heroes Grimes, Kmac, Pickett, Prestia and a couple of others.
So you saying get the kids into the team with no experience or leadership etc only to have them bashed pillar to post like NORF and finish bottom for 6 years then have the kids burnt then rinse repeat ?

The entire Richmond board will be pilling on bagging the kids for not being competitive

This is ridiculous. Yesterday means nothing. if it did, it means Taranto should never ever have won our B&F!

How about looking at our midfield leaders such as Taranto, Hopper and Prestia who were all comprehensively beaten before looking at the most junior of that quartet?
Fair enough. Let's revisit in R10. Plenty of time to prove me wrong.

Or will it then be he needs more development time- more senior games because he's in the VFL - then, another preseason. Heard it all before.

Hey hey hey, be careful, those with the blinkers on about Kmac aren’t gonna like this post
I have never cared about flogs having a go at me and people who know me well know that ill just smack them on their asses and give them a hand to get back up just so i do it again

So you saying get the kids into the team with no experience or leadership etc only to have them bashed pillar to post like NORF and finish bottom for 6 years then have the kids burnt then rinse repeat ?

The entire Richmond board will be pilling on bagging the kids for not being competitive
How do you think we won 3 flags? We played Cotchin, Martin, Grimes, Rance, Edwards, and others in the seniors from day 1. Yes, they got murdered but they ended up gaining valuable experience which ultimately meant we won those flags. Also finishing bottom 3 or 4 will be better for us than finishing 9th to 14th going forward.

Personally id rather they bring nank back via vfl to manage his workload.

Hate for him to be over loaded and miss most of the year.
nank would have been handy to slow down that scrapper rowell, a lot of rowell ball is dirty and bustling.... nank would have crunched him a few times and landed on him as well...rowell got 4 free kicks by ramming head first and bullocking thru traffic he wouldn't have got thu nank the way he pinballed dow and prestia out the way to his 16 clearances a 4 frees on top from the sympathetic umps.

How do you think we won 3 flags? We played Cotchin, Martin, Grimes, Rance, Edwards, and others in the seniors from day 1. Yes, they got murdered but they ended up gaining valuable experience which ultimately meant we won those flags. Also finishing bottom 3 or 4 will be better for us than finishing 9th to 14th going forward.
Not too sure you can compare players like Martin , Cotchin , Rance , Riewoldt with any of the players we currently have in the reserves
Picks #2 , #4 are always playing in their 1st year and players like Cotchin, Riewoldt and Martin dont grow on tree's

finishing bottom is never good , Carlton have been doing that for years and Richmond also never benefitted after 30 years the only 2 players we got were cotch and martin in that entire period

Not too sure you can compare players like Martin , Cotchin , Rance , Riewoldt with any of the players we currently have in the reserves
Picks #2 , #4 are always playing in their 1st year and players like Cotchin, Riewoldt and Martin dont grow on tree's

finishing bottom is never good , Carlton have been doing that for years and Richmond also never benefitted after 30 years the only 2 players we got were cotch and martin in that entire period
Where they are picked has nothing to do with your original point you made regarding experience/ kids. KMac2 is the only first year player on our list that would get a game. There are no excuses for not playing Brown, Trezise, Miller, HRS, Cumberland, Clarke , Coulthard etc as they’ve been on list for awhile now or mature aged recruits. We’ve now lost over a season of putting games into kids bc we’ve been favouring champs passed their use by date. We’ve messed it all up and even worse we didn’t go to the draft to pick up our possible Cotchin, Martin or Jack, instead we gave picks away for two average skilled plodders.
The club has made these mistakes bc they thought they had another chance of winning a premiership , but had no vision of where the list was truly at as a dozen of our senior players from 2020 were done and some had totally gone off the boil form wise. They also ran them into the ground by not managing them better by expecting to win another flag and look at our injuries to senior players. Lambert and Astbury even retired early bc of this, so the reality is games should’ve been given to kids to eliminate the risks of injuries to senior players and to prolong their careers. Instead we went all in for Hardwick and when he realised we were cooked he fxxked us over and went to a younger list full of potential.

FWIW you don’t need to finish last to get players of top shelf as your first paragraph tells us this with the players mentioned. It still does help as talent scouts are more professional nowadays with their research. Also our failure to pick wisely early on was due to Casino Jackson so it can be the quality of your recruitment / list management staff.

1 week in and calling for Dow's head. Had a shocking first half, it happens. He was no worse than Taranto. It looked obvious to me that he was given a job in the second half, to have a crack defensively, which he did.

Dow was very good all preseason, was our best mid against a very strong Port midfield late last year, but came out thinking Round 0 was still a practice match. Let's see how he responds before the boots come out, everyone has a howler, the first game of the season is a pretty normal time to have one, half our side did. Drop Dow now and all the good work of the last year is gone, you have to back young players in.

1 week in and calling for Dow's head. Had a shocking first half, it happens. He was no worse than Taranto. It looked obvious to me that he was given a job in the second half, to have a crack defensively, which he did.

Dow was very good all preseason, was our best mid against a very strong Port midfield late last year, but came out thinking Round 0 was still a practice match. Let's see how he responds before the boots come out, everyone has a howler, the first game of the season is a pretty normal time to have one, half our side did. Drop Dow now and all the good work of the last year is gone, you have to back young players in.

I am going to have a look at the replay but I remain bearish on Dow, as I have been all the way through. He is improving as he matures as you would expect, but the number 1 trait you need in a mid is to not be dominated by the opposition guns, and he doesn't have that for mine. Even in the late games last year, the defensive side to his game was weak. His brother has I think always been similar in this regard.

I think we are compelled to give him a good run of games here but he needs to get a lot tougher to beat, otherwise, Sonsie, McAuliffe, whoever, but if there is one place you cannot afford umcompetitive players it is in the mid section.

I am going to have a look at the replay but I remain bearish on Dow, as I have been all the way through. He is improving as he matures as you would expect, but the number 1 trait you need in a mid is to not be dominated by the opposition guns, and he doesn't have that for mine. Even in the late games last year, the defensive side to his game was weak. His brother has I think always been similar in this regard.

I think we are compelled to give him a good run of games here but he needs to get a lot tougher to beat, otherwise, Sonsie, McAuliffe, whoever, but if there is one place you cannot afford umcompetitive players it is in the mid section.
First half he was pushed under the ball, standing on the wrong side of Rowell at the contest, ball watching, every thing you can't do as a mid. Second half he went much harder at the contest and made it harder for their mids to get the easy loose ball, which contributed to use getting back into the game. I'm pretty sure that would have been after a spray from the coaches, or his team mates. It's a learning thing and I doubt we will see that first half again. Only got 6 possessions but did not waste any of them, so that side of his game is a positive, a bit like Ross in that he holds the ball and gives it to a teammate in a better position. I hate hot potato footballers.

It will be interesting to watch Dow. Part of me wants to say you are either a mean sonofabitch to play against or you aren't. I always thought that in my sport playing days in both footy and cricket, just try to make yourself traumatic to play against.

It is good Dow made the adjustment at HT, it would be a huge bonus for us if he makes the grade.

Where they are picked has nothing to do with your original point you made regarding experience/ kids. KMac2 is the only first year player
Well it kind of does and doesnt !

The point i was trying to make with Cotchin / Martin was that they are elite talents that were automatically best 18 the moment they walked through the door both in talent and attitude and footy I,Q

We currently dont have too many kids of that level of talent apart from maybe 2-3
The others need development.

We throw kids like banks into replace and this board will crucify him the next day
Shiney & New is not always better straight away

Well it kind of does and doesnt !

The point i was trying to make with Cotchin / Martin was that they are elite talents that were automatically best 18 the moment they walked through the door both in talent and attitude and footy I,Q

We currently dont have too many kids of that level of talent apart from maybe 2-3
The others need development.

We throw kids like banks into replace and this board will crucify him the next day
Shiney & New is not always better straight away
I agree , but We don’t have any real first rounders apart from kmac2 that will get a game now We have a more mature list of kids that just need to be played. Have you read the Grimes, Kmac, Kosi, Hopper and Taranto threads of late? They all suggest we have senior player issues and need to start looking at kids.

I think you may be taking the opinions of posters on this forum a little too seriously TI. Looking at threads and saying we need to start playing kids because that’s what posters are saying? Seriously?
We have lost to GCS, where we were truly awful for the first half of the game. But, it was the first serious game under a new coach, with two new assistants, and trying to implement a slightly different game plan. You and other posters could very well be right in calling for big changes but I think it’s far too early under a new regime to make that call.
Yze seems like a very switched on and observant coach, who’s been involved at flag winning clubs. I’m sure he and his coaching staff will make changes when they deem it essential, but making judgements after one game seems premature to me. I’m sure he (Yze) will be making judgement calls on players as the season progresses.
I’m as pi55ed off as anyone that we lost to the Suns (& Hardwick as he was pretty smug after the game), but I won’t start paying out on the coaches and their team selections until I’ve seen a decent number of games to make a proper judgement.
Oh and I’d add, I agree with you regarding young McAuliffe , I’d play him this week, Clarke too if they can find a spot for him in the forward line and his fitness is up to it.

The Hopper , Taranto & Kmac threads are over the top
They had bad game against the suns but are reliable good players that we dont have better to replace them right now

Kosi cost a packet of chips and there is a reason for that , Grimes is past it and will be put to pasture this year and Kmac most likely as well soon as 1 of the younger players shows he is a better option.

After 1 game these ferals are already wanting Banks blood and 2 games later they will probably come for Campbell after 1 bad game

This is bigfooty

I think you may be taking the opinions of posters on this forum a little too seriously TI. Looking at threads and saying we need to start playing kids because that’s what posters are saying? Seriously?
We have lost to GCS, where we were truly awful for the first half of the game. But, it was the first serious game under a new coach, with two new assistants, and trying to implement a slightly different game plan. You and other posters could very well be right in calling for big changes but I think it’s far too early under a new regime to make that call.
Yze seems like a very switched on and observant coach, who’s been involved at flag winning clubs. I’m sure he and his coaching staff will make changes when they deem it essential, but making judgements after one game seems premature to me. I’m sure he (Yze) will be making judgement calls on players as the season progresses.
I’m as pi55ed off as anyone that we lost to the Suns (& Hardwick as he was pretty smug after the game), but I won’t start paying out on the coaches and their team selections until I’ve seen a decent number of games to make a proper judgement.
Oh and I’d add, I agree with you regarding young McAuliffe , I’d play him this week, Clarke too if they can find a spot for him in the forward line and his fitness is up to it.
I’m not going on by one game or Yze , but on one to two seasons of under performing senior players. As you say time will tell with where our list is at. Now you’re a Dimma apologist and think light shines from his orifice and if the great Dimma couldn’t get them up and running, as well as Mini then based on that how is Yze going to make a differenc?

I’m a Dimma apologist? Really? I certainly supported the guy when he was our coach, as even you can’t deny it was a highly successful era. Was I sad he left? You bet, as he brought us something that I truly never ever thought I’d see. But life goes on and I’m 100% behind Yze and his team.
Now Hardwick is at GCS, good luck to him but I ain’t gonna be cheering him on Mate. I want us to kick their asses every single time we play them, and I’d hate to see that plastic AFL favoured club to win anything. They’ve been given so much, that it borders on cheating and manipulation by HQ. Cannot stand them, Sydney and Norf for that reason. At least the Giants have been smart, and have my respect as they have not been handed everything on a golden platter when things go awry through poor decision making.

The Hopper , Taranto & Kmac threads are over the top
They had bad game against the suns but are reliable good players that we dont have better to replace them right now

Kosi cost a packet of chips and there is a reason for that , Grimes is past it and will be put to pasture this year and Kmac most likely as well soon as 1 of the younger players shows he is a better option.

After 1 game these ferals are already wanting Banks blood and 2 games later they will probably come for Campbell after 1 bad game

This is bigfooty
All the lesser lights in the names mentioned should not be playing and that’s the point people are missing and why games need to be put into the kids.

I’m a Dimma apologist? Really? I certainly supported the guy when he was our coach, as even you can’t deny it was a highly successful era. Was I sad he left? You bet, as he brought us something that I truly never ever thought I’d see. But life goes on and I’m 100% behind Yze and his team.
Now Hardwick is at GCS, good luck to him but I ain’t gonna be cheering him on Mate. I want us to kick their asses every single time we play them, and I’d hate to see that plastic AFL favoured club to win anything. They’ve been given so much, that it borders on cheating and manipulation by HQ. Cannot stand them, Sydney and Norf for that reason. At least the Giants have been smart, and have my respect as they have not been handed everything on a golden platter when things go awry through poor decision making.
Yeah good honest post and straight from the heart.

LMAO. You just can't admit you are wrong! You cannot compare our recruiting team back in the days of Francis Jackson who was our sole recruiter at one point while still being a bloody full time teacher to what we have today. Guys like Sonsie and Brown should have been played last year far more than they were. It was a disgrace they weren't given more senior experience. Watching Juddy Clarke running around for the VFL and kicking 60m goals on the run made me wonder why he isn't in the seniors. And yes, Carlton have been doing it for years and finally got it right and are now challenging for the flag. Finishing mid table will not give us a chance to get the next Cotchin and Martin and that is bloody obvious. So we give games to the juniors which may see us lose a few more but ultimately that will give us a better draft hand and then back our well-researched recruiting team to make the right decisions. Losing so many experienced players in two to three years calls for drastic measures.

Don’t disagree, but, coaches and players play to win and they will always select the tried and true to give them that best winning chance. Sonsie, who I love as a player, and Brown didn’t really warrant selection last year on form. They’ll get their chance this current season without doubt, as will Clarke, your opinion on whom I totally agree.

Player Watch #27 Thomson Dow Re-Signed until 2025