Past #29: Brent Harvey - drafted w/ #47 in '95 ND - 432 games/518 goals for NM - AFL games record holder

Did he confirm it? Sounded more like a hypothetical "we will cross that bridge when it comes to it" scenario.

Said if they did go down that path it would probably allow Boomer to go on alot longer.

I don't see any reason to change what he's doing any time soon. Still an elite player of the comp.
Agree. I think he'd be wasted as the sub, given they are typically only activated in the second half of games.

Could be a moot point though if they abolish the sub altogether as there is no evidence to support that it has reduced injuries as it was intended to do.

Interesting prospect. Imagine the players over the years who could have extended their careers as subs. Tuck would have played 500!

Surely Boomer couldn't do it as captain, though.

I suspect we will see this evolve during the next season. This could push his career in to 2013.

Opposition clubs will start naming straight up taggers as subs.

Agree. I think he'd be wasted as the sub, given they are typically only activated in the second half of games.

Could be a moot point though if they abolish the sub altogether as there is no evidence to support that it has reduced injuries as it was intended to do.
If the AFL's survey they've got going is anything to go by, the main reasons for the rule seems to be:

"a better style of football late in matches when the game opens up"
"reduce congestion around the ball"
"removing the disadvantage of losing a player through injury"
and
"an element of suspense regarding who the sub will be and when it will be used"

Bon never said we even considered this for Boomer. He simply said that we shouldn't be judging Melbourne's decision on Green as we don't know all the inside logic from the club. He was then asked would we do this to Boomer, to which he simply replied that if we thought it was a good idea, we'd do it, and Boomer being professional, would be ok with it.

Thanks for confirming. Was suRe the op was being a but premature

I had another listen to see if I was imagining things. He said:

"As Brent gets older he may very well start as a sub. I think he shapes as a pretty dangerous sub. There might come a point where he has to start as a sub. We've had that conversation."

would rather play him in the forward pocket for the whole game and watch him kick 2-3 goals a game.

Agree. He's too dangerous to be a sub. Why would we want to keep him off the park for a forced x% of game time? Just put him somewhere where he can be dangerous and not be caning his body every minute i.e. fwd pocket. There's your two extra years of service right there I would have thought.

I don't see any reason to change what he's doing any time soon. Still an elite player of the comp.
Exactly. Expecially if he is still Captain. Your Captain is there to lead. Seeing Brad Green in the "Green" vest showed me how much Melbourne value his leadership.

F***, that was embarrassing. I would be ashamed to follow that bloke out onto the footy field.

Well you are correct. Melbourne haven't been the same since them olden days when one trained with Kettlebells and Indian Clubs. Therefore if Lyon had any sense left in him he would make this guy Captain of Melbourne. Stiff upper lip and all that.

strongman1.jpg

Thoughts?

I reckon this is 137 on a list of 138 important issues that North need to review.

Time to hand it ove Boomer.

You may be providing a great example on the training track, but your onfield leadership has been questionable at times this year.

Seemed Boomer was too busy sooking it up last night rather than trying to lead his teamates. I blame a lot of last night's capitulation on his body language last night, as soon as he lost the plot it seems the whole team followed suit.

Yes he was being scragged and and the ****wits in yellow were doing their usual 3 blind mice routine, but with such a young list he really needs to stand up and lead, not run around like a spoilt brat who isn't getting his way.

All he did last night was prove to the outside world that he may be a selfish, as he wasmore worried about himself than setting a positive tone for his team.

Keep things simple and give the captain's armband to Hansen mate?

It would make about as much difference to last nights result.

DF inanity at its finest.

My personal view is that the time has come for Boomer and the captaincy.

I'd prefer him to just go out next year and enjoy his footy without the extra burden of being captain. Still should be part of the leadership group though.

I'd hand it to Dish for a couple of years as I'm not sure how the younger blokes (Swallow/Ziebell) would cope with being skipper whilst Boomer is still around the club.