Past #29: Brent Harvey - drafted w/ #47 in '95 ND - 432 games/518 goals for NM - AFL games record holder

Teff, Maj's chasing and pressure don't affect stats (supercoach factor) but are a pretty good team thing. Do you think the hype factor some ways might obstruct his positive attributes?

This!

Majak has attracted much hype.

But over compensating the way is artificial too.

His game against port was as much as you could expect of a third game kpf.

I think the hype factor affects the way that people should view him and that is as just another player. Majak is currently the number 2 KPF and must be judged by that criteria.

Majak busts his guts and does a lot of team oriented things. Lachie also busts his guts doing a lot of team oriented things. So does Robbie.

He's not ready yet.

Robbie and Lachie are better players at this point in time and they WILL replace him.
Majak provides ruck support for Goldie. That's what really keeps him in the side IMO. I still reckon we could afford him and Tarrant in the same side for that reason

I can't see Drew/Black/Majak and another KPF working until the midfield fully matures.

Majak will be a very worthy and dangerous inclusion when this occurs (another 12 -24 months)

Brad said Gibbo went to Boak in the 2nd half and did a very good job - but wow wee, his disposal goes from bad to worse.
Brad's coaching has been sensational in the last 2 weeks, he is coming along nicely.

Our best team for the year:

McMahon - Thompson - Firitto
MacMillan - Grima - Mullet
Bastinac - Atley - Wright
Ziebell - Petrie - Harvey
Thomas - Daw - Black
Goldstein - Swallow - Wells
Cunnington - Adams - Greenwood -Hine

Em: McKenzie - Garner - Harper
Kennedy- Tarrant - Currie
Anthony - Gibson - Hansen
Sierakowski - Delaneys - Curran
Gysberts - Jacobs - Wood

We are flying now, so much talent and depth.

I can't see Drew/Black/Majak and another KPF working until the midfield fully matures.

Majak will be a very worthy and dangerous inclusion when this occurs (another 12 -24 months)

He needs to learn at the top level IMO.

If there is one guy I am prepared to carry for an apprenticeship it's Majak, we have done it previously for many players who don't have near the amount of upside.

He needs to learn at the top level IMO.

This is one of the greatest myths in football development.

The top level isn't for learning, it's for performing.

This isn't 2010 any more. No more free rides.

There's a reason Brad differentiates between Black and Daw in the post match conference.

Black took time and was developed in the VFL to the point where he was ready to take the next step as a good AFL standard player. This is how it's done properly. Majak isn't there yet.

This is one of the greatest myths in football development.

The top level isn't for learning, it's for performing.

This isn't 2010 any more. No more free rides.

It's not a myth. For some they don't develop and instead go backwards and are found out, for other's they need better players around them to show their best and continue to improve.

I think Majak falls under the latter category, as did Mullett based on his skill-set for example.

I couldn't agree more about no more "free rides", been ridiculous as times how we have carried underperforming players - but I think Majak is doing enough to keep his spot for now. That may change if he drops off.

I'm sure Goldy loves having Majak in the side. Will save him from burning out by Round 10. Only chance Maj will be dropped is if Taz is fit and favoured by the match committee.

Otherwise Boomer in for Sirra and not much else is my guess.

It's not a myth. For some they don't develop and instead go backwards and are found out, for other's they need better players around them to show their best and continue to improve.

Rubbish!

VFL is much slower, and as such some AFL players go back and hardly set the world on fire - yet they are suited at the higher level. It is wrong to suggest all players need VFL development to realise their best footy.

Cunners is the type to murder VFL level, Mullett is the type to thrive in space which he otherwise wouldn't in the VFL. I venture to say McKenzie may well fit the mould of a player who just may show more at the higher level, but happy to be proven wrong if he doesn't cut it.

No it isn't! :p VFL is much slower and as such some AFL players go back and hardly set the world on fire - yet they are suited at the higher level.

Cunners is the type to murder VFL level, Mullett is the type to thrive in space which he otherwise wouldn't in the VFL. I venture to say McKenzie may well fit the mould of a player who just may show more at the higher level, but happy to be proven wrong if he doesn't cut it.

Mullet toweled it up in the VFL and is another brilliant example of the "develop them in the AFL" myth.

Same goes for B. Cunnington.

Same goes for A. Swallow

McMahon, Firrito, Thompson, Grima.........................ad infinitum

Mullet toweled it up in the VFL and is another brilliant example of the "develop them in the AFL" myth.

Same goes for B. Cunnington.

Same goes for A. Swallow

McMahon, Firrito, Thompson, Grima.........................ad infinitum

I still disagree (Mullett didn't get huge wraps in the reports I read?). Yes it is the usual way to develop a player, but it isn't the only way - especially players who need space and faster pace footy.

In any case, Majak has shown as much or more than Taz and Lachie this year so regardless of development, he should stay IMO.

This is of course utter, utter, utter crap.

Well, it actually isn't.

Hansen has been simply woeful this year, Tarrant a combo of good and bad - still looks very slow which is a concern. Majak is hardly dominating and looks lost at times, but is around the mark - the fact he can ruck and brings the ball to ground in a contest means he is slightly more valuable at this stage IMO unless the other two step it right up.

He is a gun, a champ of the comp.

Who is Boomer's direct long term replacement? I see no one with the foot or footy smarts who slip into his role.

Nobody, Boomer is irreplacable.

Well, it actually isn't.

Hansen has been simply woeful this year, Tarrant a combo of good and bad - still looks very slow which is a concern. Majak is hardly dominating and looks lost at times, but is around the mark - the fact he can ruck and brings the ball to ground in a contest means he is slightly more valuable at this stage IMO unless the other two step it right up.

tumblr_inline_mg823jVzIu1rbjfcb.gif

Whatever mate.

I'm personally not one for gimmicks.

Majak's ruckwork offers us something that Taz/Hansen can't offer.

It is a tough one.

Majak's ruckwork offers us something that Taz/Hansen can't offer.

It is a tough one.

You represent international socialism and your views should be dismissed accordingly.