Past #31: David Hale - drafted at #7 in the Superdraft - 129 games for NM - traded to HFC in 2010

I say give him one more chance against The Hawks. Their rucks and tall defenders are basically non-existent. If he doesn't kick at least four against them then time to give Josh Smith another shot in the 1s.

If he kicks three against Hawthorn, what makes you think Josh Smith would have done a better job? :confused:

u2 eh? NEVER have I been sucked in to believe the 'New age' game being better whatsoever with more speed. :rolleyes: Hale is just emphasising the point that the rapid increasing pace and restrictions is obviously hindering the 'overall output' right across the board. Even Bombers' coach has made a valid point of teams under siege ought to slow it down.. Who wants to see blow-outs every week??
:thumbsdown:

Hale may make a truckload of $$$$$ more than the heyday legends of the club/ league but has the standard really improved... F*** NO!! Metro footy is just as entertaining (better??) to kill a couple hours watching than most AFL games these days.

The standard has improved light years.

yeah right... 30m out directly in front... MISSED AGAIN!! (did you cheer???) How much are these supposable A graders getting paid to convert like complete amateurs? Exactly. :rolleyes:

The standard has improved dramatically in so many areas.

But if we had a time machine, I'd back Hudson, Wade or McKenna to convert more effectively, from anywhere inside 50, than any 3 current forwards.

The standard has improved dramatically in so many areas.

But if we had a time machine, I'd back Hudson, Wade or McKenna to convert more effectively, from anywhere inside 50, than any 3 current forwards.

I'd back Peter McKenna to outdo any drop punt kicker in history. He was the master!

Doug Wades and Peter Hudsons wobbly punt kicks weren't too bad either.

That's true.......ugly but damned effective, and often with a waterlogged pill the size of a watermelon, and kicking out of clag like mud.

I used to think Carey was pretty awesome from outside 50.

He'd almost always nail "the Captain's goal" when we needed it. Sav was better than him from outside 50 though IMO. Geez I miss 'em both, with the lack of long distance goal kickers we seem to have ATM.

Sure Sav roosted it longer, but from memory* Duck was remarkably accurate from that distance with beautifully spinning drop punts. Much moreso than Sav. Is there stats for conversion rate beyond the 50?

BTW, what do you call goals that he kicked as Captain, that weren't "Captain's goals"?

*not entirely reliable

Sure Sav roosted it longer, but from memory* Duck was remarkably accurate from that distance with beautifully spinning drop punts. Much moreso than Sav. Is there stats for conversion rate beyond the 50?

*not entirely reliable

Nup, not in my opinion, BUT that may be different if The Duck had been at his peek with us playing regularly at Jihad Dome (once they'd sorted out the surface issues). You're only remembering Sav in his twilight Blighty, when he could still bang 'em in from way out with aplomb, but by then his efficiency had diminished ever so slightly. At HIS peak he was without peer from outside the arc.

EDIT: I reckon Bernie Quinlan was better from distance than both of them, pre the installation of the 50m arc.

stuff goal kicking practice. He needs to spend all his time in the gym. weakest player over 6 foot to ever play the game
exactly he plays from behind and is weak in a contest a recipe for failure .
He needs to beef up heaps and lead more to the front eg : mooney ,
if you look at geelong their big blokes are more often than not on a lead.

Hale really needs to develop his lower centre of gravity. In the game against Syd, he went to the ground way too often. We need him to take make a contest, use his size to shield others in the traffic and allow the smaller blokes to get the ball.

It's not going to happen because he has stick legs and there's nothing he can do about it.

And yes he would have hit the turf about a dozen times.

Nup, not in my opinion, BUT that may be different if The Duck had been at his peek with us playing regularly at Jihad Dome (once they'd sorted out the surface issues). You're only remembering Sav in his twilight Blighty, when he could still bang 'em in from way out with aplomb, but by then his efficiency had diminished ever so slightly. At HIS peak he was without peer from outside the arc.

EDIT: I reckon Bernie Quinlan was better from distance than both of them, pre the installation of the 50m arc.

Well I thought Duck was peerless from outside that range, so unless some stats are produced I will choose to believe it is you with the slightly inaccurate recollection. That was one of my favourite aspects of Duck's game and you're not taking it away from me.

I couldn't comment on Superboot except on a superficial kid level where at the time I had accepted the legend that he was the best kick ever, but only really saw a few highlights on the TV.

Lets get really creative, what can we call him?

His last name is Scott, so Bon would be really amazing, because Bon Scott's last name was Scott too.

Oh yeah, that's so inspired, and I though Scotty was clever!

Past #31: David Hale - drafted at #7 in the Superdraft - 129 games for NM - traded to HFC in 2010