Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received

Another bang average game. Put this list clogger on the trade table!

To describe your comment here as outrageous would be to deprive the term “preposterous” of its golden opportunity to be gainfully employed.

Give yourself a severe nipple grip and multiple uppercuts. With intent. 😡

boak and wines have often blitzed us in the past as ports best prime movers, but 2nite JG and cotch waxed them and held their own. a win for us.
Yes TT , you took the words out of my mouth. IMHO Cotchin was the best player on the ground and JGTI was about 8th top Tiger. They played on A grade opponents and beat them both. Take Graham or Cotchin out of the game and we lose another close one.

Another bang average game. Put this list clogger on the trade table!
Hey Goshka I like your work on here, but there's actually probably nobody in our senior side and definitely no one in the seconds that can actually do his role to his standard. You need to realize that he probably gets the best oppo midfielder every week and yeah they may make him look average at times, but he still holds his head high up bc he makes them earn every possession and can hurt them as well. This is why the coaches put their trust in him every week as they know he won't shirk any task and will give 110%. If you think RCD, Ross, Mansell, Martyn or any other kid can replace him then I'm sorry you're out of aces and stuck with a pair of deuces.

Goshka won’t be happy until we have 22 Dustin Martin’s and Leigh Matthews on the park

Fair enough too Jack Graham only had 10 tackles last night, should’ve had 20 and kicked 5

He wouldn’t have been in the best three tigers on the ground on Saturday, so no it wouldn’t.

Graham has played these games before. He plays two or three a season. For the rest of the time (which is about 90% of it), he is a bloody ordinary footballer. You know a 12 possession game is right round the corner.

I’m still of the opinion we should cash in but I don’t think anyone is giving up more than a pick in the 40s for him. Should’ve let him go to Carlton and it would’ve opened up space to sign someone like Cerra. Really missed an opportunity there.

There were 3 clubs not 1 not 2 but 3 clubs that were after his signature , But he decided to stay with Richmond who also value his work highly

Jesus these football club list managers must be stupid

Yes TT , you took the words out of my mouth. IMHO Cotchin was the best player on the ground and JGTI was about 8th top Tiger. They played on A grade opponents and beat them both. Take Graham or Cotchin out of the game and we lose another close one.
Yet with no replacements people want cotchin to retire so we can tank to get a top 3 pick
trade out Graham as he is useless apparently
Let Bolton walk out the door to save cap space and get a good pick
Allow Jack to retire so Samson's development doesn't get blocked

They must really envy Norf

This bloke has completely stagnated and has all the hallmarks of just being an average player. Can't believe Bloose offered him 5 x $600k last year and many hailed him as our next captain. What he did in the 2017 GF on Sloane after half time is, sadly, still the peak of his career. The club should go back to that and start using him as a tagger as we've got some danger games where the opposition's best mids will tear our weakened midfield apart unless we start planning for it now. Touk Miller, Brayshaw, Neale, Parish etc.. keep getting ahold of us and before ya know it have racked up 20 odd before half time, so i'd assign fatarse the wombat the task of shutting them down. If we're any chance to win the flag we need to be able to take your Bont's, Fatracca's etc out of the equation. Graham will plod and get his 15-20 a game without really influencing the game. I'd rather him sacrifice his game and only get 10-12 and actually affect the game by taking the opposition's biggest weapon out the game. Our backlines holding up OK but come finals we need to really chop them out by putting real pressure on the f50 delivery. Our midfield is old, injury prone and as thin as Karen Carpenter's thighs. We need this added weapon sharpened up now, by finals it's too late.

I don't agree with much of that, but can't be bothered typing a rebuttal to someone who calls a Richmond man fatarse the wombat ffs

Weird melt, felt he has been playing some great footy this year
The most consistent he has been and starting to find that mix between offensive and defensive play

Hey Goshka I like your work on here, but there's actually probably nobody in our senior side and definitely no one in the seconds that can actually do his role to his standard. You need to realize that he probably gets the best oppo midfielder every week and yeah they may make him look average at times, but he still holds his head high up bc he makes them earn every possession and can hurt them as well. This is why the coaches put their trust in him every week as they know he won't shirk any task and will give 110%. If you think RCD, Ross, Mansell, Martyn or any other kid can replace him then I'm sorry you're out of aces and stuck with a pair of deuces.
Clearly the guy has tools and is rated extremely highly by not only our coaches but also other clubs
Jack had 3 clubs lining up to sign him when he was out of contract apart from Richmond. Carlton , Essendon & Adelaide were all right into him

Too bad our bigfooty supporters cant see his value

He is slow, and his clearance work isn't great, but he knows our game plan and his role within it, runs hard all game and transitions well between defence and attack. When his defensive pressure drops he becomes a liability but is professional enough that it doesn't happen very often.
The trick with Graham imo is to get him into the midfield without having him at center bounces.

Had the perfect opportunity to step up today with all our midfield outs. I think my assessment of him was on the money.... If anything I think I was generous. Fair dinkum I'm 43 haven't played in over 10 years and I bet money if I was playing against him I'd burst clear of him and vice versa I'd run him down. I'm not sure I've seen a slower mid since Relton Roberts left for a job at Burger King!!!! Can anyone provide footage of him breaking a tackle or cleanly dishing it off mid tackle? He always takes em on and after a few failed attempts at shrugging he's either pinged or just completely fluffs it. He has 16kg's on Liam Baker but I'd bet anything Baker would flog him in a game of mercy. First option Fatboy FFS!!!!!

Show some respect

Led the midfield for disposals, contested possessions, score involvements and pressure acts but didn't step up apparently. Take the agenda elsewhere.

The problem is once players get a reputation it’s hard to shake. They can do 25 great things, but if they do 1 poor thing that relates to their ‘reputation’ it’s all they are remembered for that game.

Don’t worry, I’m guilty of it big time …. Marlion Pickett has 2 x inexplicable braid fades a game and I want him dropped - often forgetting his other 20 great things. Nathan Broad commits 2-3 really poor turnovers a game and I think he can’t play - he did it today …. but he also provided great drive and overall was terrific. Nank will give away a couple of stupid free kicks by being over zealous and I hate him for it …. forgetting it’s that aggression that drives his game. Bolton has multiple brain farts every game …. but it’s his flair and instinctive play that makes him great, so why try to change it even though it’s infuriating..??

And Jack Graham now has a reputation for being ‘slow’ and not able to break a tackle. Happened three times today and it’s how his game will be remembered. But other than those errors his game overall was very good. Hopefully he plays more within his limitations and doesn’t try to break tackles constantly, but we also need to look at the overall performance and Graham has 8 SI’s and overall had a very solid day at the office.

I think the phrase you're looking for is "know your limitations" or "play to your strengths".

He brings a lot to the table but I understand that the 3 x HTB were painful to watch as each one of them was avoidable was he tried too much.

Jack Graham is at his best when he keeps it simple.

Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received