Past #35: Aaron Black - 50 NM games - 64 goals - traded to Geelong for pick 92 in '16 trade period

The good thing is that he's contacted and we don't necessarily have to trade him. We hold all the power.

I'd be asking for a first rounder. He's definitely not worth that but we can tell Freo (or whoever else wants him) that's it's a first round pick or he stays.

FWIW I'd like a trade, however unrealistic it is, to be something along the lines of Black + 2015 2nd rounder for Weller and 2016 2nd rounder.

The good thing is that he's contacted and we don't necessarily have to trade him. We hold all the power.

I'd be asking for a first rounder. He's definitely not worth that but we can tell Freo (or whoever else wants him) that's it's a first round pick or he stays.

FWIW I'd like a trade, however unrealistic it is, to be something along the lines of Black + 2015 2nd rounder for Weller and 2016 2nd rounder.

Pretty confident that no one in their right mind would do that deal. You'll probably get a 3rd rounder. Free up some cap space and chase Redden or Selwood.

Yep. Like I said, we hold all the power so I'd *hope* we demand something similar to what I suggested. He's contracted, we don't actually have to trade him.

This I think is a mistake. His had ongoing niggling injuries that his tried to manage but hasn't allowed him to play to his true potential.
His reduced impact on games has often also been exaggerated by the unwillingness of some of our players at times to give him the footy even when clear of his opponent. I can see him ending up at freo and carving us a new one when we go over there in a couple years minus Petrie and waite.

How many of you claiming he didn't even put in for NB saw him live in the VFL?

It's like he's the only bloke ever to struggle coming off a shoulder reco. Hold out for a good deal, let him know he won't walk for peanuts and the club will back him to come good if he stays.

Lol at his manager being disappointed on the game time provided to black in 2015. Even a sneaky blame on Waite and Higgins coming in

Oh turn it up mate. He didnt even have a decent game in the VFL to PUSH for a recall.

What a sook. I am disappointed as I had high hopes for black and wanted him to succeed this year but he has actually not improved at all from 2014 (probably got worse). Maybe actually perform and you may push for a spot?

Good luck to him as I reckon he could fizzle out to a nothing player

I'd like to see him get a good crack at it in the gym over the preseason, however I think his goose is cooked with us.

He could still be a very good AFL player if things work out for him.

All Jokes aside, i'm not sure if his trade value could get any lower than it currently is.... we might be better just holding onto him... unless we want the cap space.... not sure who will be willing to take on his contract at the moment...

Pretty poor form from Blacky's manager. Spruking club 'loyalty' makes it sound like their stroppy that Waite was recruited and is getting a game ahead of Aaron.

Fact of the matter, Aaron, is that you should have improved enough over the last two years to make the recruitment of Waite avoidable. When Waite, Wood, Maj, Turner, Garner & Nahas are getting games ahead of you, perhaps it's time to take an inward look?

This I think is a mistake. His had ongoing niggling injuries that his tried to manage but hasn't allowed him to play to his true potential.
His reduced impact on games has often also been exaggerated by the unwillingness of some of our players at times to give him the footy even when clear of his opponent. I can see him ending up at freo and carving us a new one when we go over there in a couple years minus Petrie and waite.

Even when Petrie puts in stinkers, he still has a solid crack and puts in.

Black has been on the list for almost 7 years and has hardly fired a shot. While you can forgive him for the shortfalls in his skills due to injuries, his application to his football has been found wanting many a time.

While our team selection at the best of times has been head scratching, he hasn't really put the selectors in a 'no choice' situation.

Coupled with the above and the fact he's decided to go public with his manager despite being a contracted player, think that shows where his head is at. Don't think he has the drive to become an AFL footballer.

Personally hope for his sake he has a successful career, but I think its best for him and the club to part ways and if a reasonable trade can get done where no party is getting massively stiffed, then it should be done.

I find it kind of interesting why so many people are even upset and venting after many posters who are doing their nut were the same ones that have been calling for him to be traded. Isn't this what you wanted?

Black hasn't even made a statement so attributing the statements on loyalty and the like directly to him is in itself incorrect. It was a manager trying to drum up attention for his charge.

It was a manager trying to drum up attention for his charge.

If your manager is going to represent you in a public forum, you have to take responsibility for what he says. If he's talking about loyalty, perhaps his manager should be 'drumming up attention' about how hard Black wants to work over the Summer to regain his place in the starting 22 at North?

Happy to give up rd1 pick and black for Weller. Our rd1 pick is worth a late second rd in any normal draft.

I would prefer a smokie, well not so smokie but a player that has not been mentioned in any top 20s yet with our first, so if he is going and we don't want to play hard ball either a low 20s pick or a player of similar age that would fill our requirements or we play hard ball and he stays and puts the work in.

yeah we all want to pick up a skinny half forward flank like Fyfe for pick 20. Those blokes are pretty hard to spot mate. Weller is the real deal....if he doesn't look like getting a spot in freo's midfield next season, we should go after him hard and if Freo still like Black, we should include him in the deal.

Watching Aaron run around against Richmond said it all for mine. He's clearly got serious confidence issues. Whether that is worth persisting with, who am I to answer that? But I backed him very early to be a good player, and for a while, I looked like I was on the money. Unfortunately for the club, his issue have inhibited his ability to become a decent AFL player.

It is not the clubs fault for him not playing games in 2015. The games he did play he was poor, and he never really slammed the door down in the VFL, which for his money, you'd expect him to be doing.

Absolute must trade for mine.

Losing his salary whilst getting an opportunity to improve our list is a dual benefit of moving him on.

Whilst like some suggest it is possible he goes elsewhere and produces, the likelihood of that is far less than him fizzling out as an AFL player so the time is now to pull the trigger.

Only if we get something pretty damn decent though Saintly. If we only get a late 2nd rounder then I think there's a bigger chance of Black coming right rather than that draft pick becoming something. Same goes if we get someone else's discarded player

Even when Petrie puts in stinkers, he still has a solid crack and puts in.

Black has been on the list for almost 7 years and has hardly fired a shot. While you can forgive him for the shortfalls in his skills due to injuries, his application to his football has been found wanting many a time.

While our team selection at the best of times has been head scratching, he hasn't really put the selectors in a 'no choice' situation.

Coupled with the above and the fact he's decided to go public with his manager despite being a contracted player, think that shows where his head is at. Don't think he has the drive to become an AFL footballer.

Personally hope for his sake he has a successful career, but I think its best for him and the club to part ways and if a reasonable trade can get done where no party is getting massively stiffed, then it should be done.

Not even going to try and debunk your argument cause im not sure you aren't right about Aaron. Only thing ill say is the similar things have been said about lauchie H and then robbie T before we found there niche spot in the team.

Past #35: Aaron Black - 50 NM games - 64 goals - traded to Geelong for pick 92 in '16 trade period