Past #36: Shannon Watt - drafted at #14 in '97 ND - 155 games - 0 Brownlow votes - original whipping boy

Do you agree with the 'Watt' decision?

• Yes

Votes: 23 53.5%
  • No

Votes: 20 46.5%

Originally posted by Moti
I have not said anything viscious about him, just stating facts. And it has something to do with Watt, as we bag Watt for poor performances, why don't we look at our premiership players.

Moti, there are more people than you posting in this thread and some of them are resorting to some fairly unreasonable comments to put it rather mildly. Poor old Moomba is working overtime to try to answer them all in his rather more reasonable manner.

Originally posted by Horace
As for Kingy, lay off him, he is still very worthy of his spot, still does some very good things and is a source of great enthusiasm and inspiration to the younger players. He is also a dual premiership player and does not deserve the vicious vitriol that some people level at him.

But how can you OVERLOOK the mindless errors for a dual premiership player ??? Is a dual premiership player exempt from vicious vitriol ??? pfff.....*shake of head*
These guys need to show competence and composure at the same time, last week he did exactly that !!! But this week it was something a first gamer wouldn't have been that mindless to do.
(I'm not just talking about his last minute rush kick, but his continual clanker-happy efforts ;) very unusual for Kingy)
No Excuses IMO. He deserves the finger being pointed at him on this occasion.

Originally posted by Woodson
But how can you OVERLOOK the mindless errors for a dual premiership player ??? Is a dual premiership player exempt from vicious vitriol ??? pfff.....*shake of head*

He deserves the finger being pointed at him on this occasion.

I am not opposed to constructuve criticism, by all means point the finger at him if thats how you see it. At the end of the day we are all only voicing opinions.

What I am opposed to is the use of destructive "vicious" vitriol to voice an opinion. It does not provide any value to anything or anyone. Some of the stuff that some posters write is a disgrace.

For what it is worth when I see that sort of material, I automatically reject the views of the poster as having any intellectual credibility whatsoever.

Originally posted by Darky
Show some aggression dammit!

He works in real estate and is not a brickie's labourer :(

and Archer gives away more inches then Ron Jeremy.

:D wonder if Tashi understands this one ;)

Lace Watt's Coco Pops with amphetamines and tell him Gehrig rooted his sister?

He prefers Weat Bix and doesn't have a sister.

I'd probably give Watt a 6.5 out of 10 this year, but would be able to handle the pastings a bit better if he was getting visibly angered by them too.

here here.... burn his house down....that may make him angry.
;)

In my view, Watt has been quite serviceable at Fullback and my reading of the situation is that Laidley has recognised that he has the attributes to make it in the long term. He has had a few too many goals kicked on him but that can only be expected while he is learning the caper.

He is a far different player this year to last year when his confidence was rock bottom. Every time he got his 5 minutes on the ground and went near the pill he attacked it like it had the plague, because he was scared he would muck up and get dragged. That of course became a self fulfilling prophecy last year.

This year he keeps his head up attacks the footy when it is at ground level, is prepared to take risks and genuinely looks to be enjoying himself. He is still not quite reading the play well enough and gets out bodied a little too easily on occasions.

Today was his worst for the year, but we should not forget that Gehrig is a pretty good footballer, with heaps of experience now and would be tough for anyone to have held today

Originally posted by moomba
Very surprising. They were saying he only had 6 effective kicks out of his first twelve, and I don't think it got a heap better from there. There were a dozen better than Stevo on the day IMO.

Moomba
Ok go ahead and name me 12 better players then Anthony Stevens.
I enjoy reading your posts but this is absolute rubbish.

I would say Petrie, Motlop and maybe Grant would be better but no one else. Name me 12 better players then Anthony stevens.

What the hell do you people look at when you are at the footy. Who the hell do you think it was who was getting the ball out in the 2nd and 3rd quarter. A quick kick out of the pack may not go to a North player but it clears it away from a danger zone and it gets things moving our way.
Have any of you people ever played football before FFS?
This isn't directed entirely at you Moomba. I just get pretty freaking pi$$ed off when people start slagging Stevo. He isn't as good as he used to be and everyone has to except that. He still can play some good footy and he does the hard things which not many others on our team will do.

How can anyone support Watt yet bag Stevens????
Watt is just an average footballer trying his best who will never be any good. He got killed today as he has so many times in the past. It's not his fault, it's the fault of the recruiters who still have yet to find a decent fullback.
Watt is playing as well as he can. He just will never be a great player. I think we all know that.

There is nothing wrong with Watt's size or speed, if anything he has the perfect physical attributes for a footballer. The thing wrong with Watt is he just isn't a natural footballer. He is still learning how to play the game. He is playing fullback because we do not have one other person who can do it. Not one.
Why we didn't recruit a fullback in the last draft is a mystery. Early in the year they were saying Brown but hell if Brown played at fullback we would be on the bottom of the ladder. He is far too slow. No people, Watt gets the job because no one else can do it. Colbert is more effective as a CHB where his lack of pace wont find him out and now he is out injured it is really causing some problems.
Watt is a very average player who gets a game because no one else can play what is in my view one of if not the hardest positions on the ground.

If you are going to blame someone for the loss it wasnt Kingy it was whoever was supposed to be manning Jones who was a mile clear and delivered the ball to Gerhig one out which made it near impossible for Watt to spoil.The game was lost in the first quarter and for that the coach must take some responsibility.

Originally posted by Angus1
Ok go ahead and name me 12 better players then Anthony Stevens.

OK, I reckon Petrie, Motlop, Wells, Simmo, Robbins, Porter, Brown, Grant all had better games. OK 12 is a bit much but IMO he was far from one of our better players on the day.

Have any of you people ever played football before FFS?

Yep.

This isn't directed entirely at you Moomba. I just get pretty freaking pi$$ed off when people start slagging Stevo. He isn't as good as he used to be and everyone has to except that. He still can play some good footy and he does the hard things which not many others on our team will do.

My only concern is that we are running him into the ground when he doesn't look fit, and I think his career will benefit from carrying a lighter load. This might mean a week off here and there, maybe a bit more time out of the cut and thrust of the midfield, allowing him to pick up his kicks without the impact on the body. Maybe this could prolong his career another year. He was and is one of my all time favourite players at the club, and is on a par with Arch, and Simmo (as well as the odd non-North person) as my most respected individuals in footy.

How can anyone support Watt yet bag Stevens????
Watt is just an average footballer trying his best who will never be any good. He got killed today as he has so many times in the past. It's not his fault, it's the fault of the recruiters who still have yet to find a decent fullback.

I'm certainly not slagging Stevo, I think he had one of his worst games in a long while. He got plenty of it, but his disposal was poor (I'll cite his 6 effective possessions out his first 12), and I think he was well below what we know he can do. If there is one person at the club entitled to have the odd off day it is Stevo, and I still think he has a huge amount to offer football-wise.

Watt is playing as well as he can. He just will never be a great player. I think we all know that.

Think the jury is still out on this one.

Moomba

Originally posted by Angus1
There is nothing wrong with Watt's size or speed, if anything he has the perfect physical attributes for a footballer. The thing wrong with Watt is he just isn't a natural footballer. He is still learning how to play the game. He is playing fullback because we do not have one other person who can do it. Not one.
Why we didn't recruit a fullback in the last draft is a mystery. Early in the year they were saying Brown but hell if Brown played at fullback we would be on the bottom of the ladder. He is far too slow. No people, Watt gets the job because no one else can do it. Colbert is more effective as a CHB where his lack of pace wont find him out and now he is out injured it is really causing some problems.
Watt is a very average player who gets a game because no one else can play what is in my view one of if not the hardest positions on the ground.

This post sums it up.
Watt is playing because their is no alternative player on the list to play FB.

there are a few people on this thread that should go to another club.

it would be no great loss to our club.
be disappointed, but be fair and watch the game.

watt was beaten as was most of the side, we came from 40 points down and were 5 points off the 4 points.

All this bagging Watt, who was on Harvey that carried the ball 40mts thru the center?? I would have kicked 9 with the ball coming in that easy to a open forwardline
No bag Watt it was his bloke....... :rolleyes: watch the game or go to another club

Gehrig had Archer for 3 minutes. He kicked two.

He had Baird for 1 minute, and kicked one.

Watt was rubbish.

Honestly, that is how I look at it. He had a bad game, he made stupid mistakes, and was soft on more than a few occasions. This also describes the games of King, Harvey, Harding etc.

He was crap, and Gehrig won them the game, but bloody hell. Gehrig was on the end of a side that kicked 10 goals in a quarter, leading to a side that had 9 tackles laid on it in that quarter. 9. That was the pressure on the ball carrier.

I am not defending him outright, but stuff me, blokes have kicked lots of goals before, some on our tough, hard hero who is now recieving his pention up the road, and made our TOC.

Watt needs to be an arshole. IMO, he needs to be get reported, break someones nose, lose the plot and hit and umpire. After Gehrig gave away that 50, he just stood there beside him.

Mick would have been calling him an ugly homo who needs a kick in the head, and will get it in a couple of seconds. It needs to be done.

Originally posted by NorthBhoy

I am not defending him outright, but stuff me, blokes have kicked lots of goals before, some on our tough, hard hero who is now recieving his pention up the road, and made our TOC.

I'm not a fan of this comparison. The blokes kicking goals on Martyn were all 120+ goalkickers like Lockett, Dunstall, Ablett, Modra.

Lloyd aside, there is nobody in that class currently playing, and even he is not as good as those first three.

Your point is valid, young FBs get a few kicke on them, but the Martyn comparison is misleading, and as I stated in another thread its not how many get kicked on Watt, it's "how" they get kicked on him.

Originally posted by NorthBhoy

Watt needs to be an arshole. IMO, he needs to be get reported, break someones nose, lose the plot and hit and umpire. After Gehrig gave away that 50, he just stood there beside him.

Mick would have been calling him an ugly homo who needs a kick in the head, and will get it in a couple of seconds. It needs to be done.

Agree 85% (not the bit about hitting the umpire :D). If a bloke gets a few kicked on him but is busting a gut, then so be it. But he seems to accepting of his fate when it happens - for f***s sake, show us that it hurts!

I didn't go to the game, but for a side to kick 10.1 in a quarter usually means that their midfield has been left to run amok.

It was the same in the Carlton game. How many times did we see Fevola one-out with Watt in the goal square with the Carlton midfielders streaming through the middle with no pressure being applied by our midfield.

AFL forwards are all gun players. You give them room and allow their midfield to get uncontested possessions, and you will get cut up every time.

Blame Watt every time (and I admit his body on body positioning is weak, but is something that can be improved), but you pick someone else on our list who is quick, big and over 190cm to play at fullback.

I am with Laidley on this one. You pick him first every time at FB and let him learn the caper.

Originally posted by Horace
I am not opposed to constructuve criticism, by all means point the finger at him if thats how you see it. At the end of the day we are all only voicing opinions.

What I am opposed to is the use of destructive "vicious" vitriol to voice an opinion. It does not provide any value to anything or anyone. Some of the stuff that some posters write is a disgrace.

Well said Horace. These are my feelings exactly, and the amount of destructive, and vitriolic comment on this board this year, has astounded me.

Woodson, you ask if a dual premiership player should be exempt from vicious vitriol, I would say absolutely. By all means criticise, but we seem to be a message board full of people that have forgotten what some of our players, coaches and administrators have actually done for this club. I started following North in the 80's and could not have even dreamed up what North achieved in the 90's, and is still achieving today. IMO we should never forget the people responsible for that.
Moomba

Moomba

What a complete load of sh1t!

Footy is about the people! All varieties of people.

People are allowed to express whatever opinions they want to, good or bad.

Differnet people have completely different ways of coping with situations and expressing their passions.

People can continue to voice their opinions, grievances etc as they see fit to do so.

You are not the "good comment/bad comment" judges.

How dare you criticise other people because of the manner in which they post?

What makes people like you so goddamn righteous?

Originally posted by year of the roo
i been bagging him all year!! i keep hearing that he has pace yet gehrig lead watt to the contest everytime and made him look terribly slow. i think watt would have conceded more goals than any other fullback in the comp this year!! he lacks agression, he lacks physical presence, he lacks strength and despite popular assessment of him, i think he lacks pace!! i will stand by these calls, watt is hopeless and in conjuction with king, lost us the game!!

You have been bagging all year...well done...you were right...Did you come out last week and bag him when he help keep Neitz to 3 or 4????

so all the time trials at the club are wrong! he lacks pace!!Isn't it funny how the bloke that is leading to where his teammate is kicking the ball looks faster!! Dunstall & Lockett were two of the fastest blokes at there club!!!......not...

He may have conceded more goals last time i looked his bloke didn't kick the whole score for the other side!!!as has been stated he didn't have 9 kicked on him this week 4 or 5, yes, he was beaten, yes,
lets throw away the baby with the bath water

Originally posted by Melly017
You have been bagging all year...well done...you were right...Did you come out last week and bag him when he help keep Neitz to 3 or 4????

Ssome others where he has done ok for a rookie FB:

1. Lloyd, after the first qtr.
2. Richo, except for the last qtr;
3. Tarrant.

Originally posted by SoggyBoy
What a complete load of sh1t!

Footy is about the people! All varieties of people.

People are allowed to express whatever opinions they want to, good or bad.

Differnet people have completely different ways of coping with situations and expressing their passions.

People can continue to voice their opinions, grievances etc as they see fit to do so.

It's hard enuff being a north supporter with out supporters saying that your own players are ******* duds.

I'll criticise you everytime soggyboy, be prepared to get some back when you bag anyone in my team. Not just Watt, even S.Clayton without knowing what the whole story is.

I too was disappointed with players on Sunday, but i will not cop them being called duds by you or anyone! If that righteous you learn to cop it sweet as well.

Originally posted by SoggyBoy

Interesting when you don't seem to be willing to give me (and others) the opportunity to state our opinions on other peoples posts. You have ago about criticisms, yet your post is nothing but a criticism of other peoples posting style.

Love the hypocrisy

Moomba

Past #36: Shannon Watt - drafted at #14 in '97 ND - 155 games - 0 Brownlow votes - original whipping boy