Past #36: Shannon Watt - drafted at #14 in '97 ND - 155 games - 0 Brownlow votes - original whipping boy

Do you agree with the 'Watt' decision?

• Yes

Votes: 23 53.5%
  • No

Votes: 20 46.5%

Oh by the way im calling an early shot for the club to come out mid year to say that Dean Laidley will not be given another contract.. Thank god..

If that is the case, and most on here would agree, they won't say it mid year unless they sack him then. They will say "we have agreed not to discuss the coaching position until the end of the year" and then they'll sack him. You never give a coach notice.

Re: Dean Laidley future?

If that is the case, and most on here would agree, they won't say it mid year unless they sack him then. They will say "we have agreed not to discuss the coaching position until the end of the year" and then they'll sack him. You never give a coach notice.

Don't forget the 'we're right behind the coach' support comment when things become shakey. ;)

Personally I think JYD can extract the best from the team and get us back in finals contention. We all know he is a dead man walking otherwise so lets get behind JYD for the team's sake. Some ppl here expect a PF to save him from getting the flick, I think that it depends on many things including staying in the Top 8 for all / most of the season and of course winning couple matches in September at least. Can't dismiss him otherwise.

would love to get rid of him, sainsbury and maybe brown. Surely they have all had there chance. But where would hat leave us up back?

sainsbury & watt both look good on paper & probably train well, but both are hopeless under pressure Not up to the AFL.

lets go down to the key position shop in collins st and get 4 more. You same people would then bag the club for turning over the list to fast.

Lets throw out the baby with the bath water, one loss and it's all over, pea hearted supporters, you don't win every week.

Re: Dean Laidley future?

Don't forget the 'we're right behind the coach' support comment when things become shakey. ;)

Personally I think JYD can extract the best from the team and get us back in finals contention. We all know he is a dead man walking otherwise so lets get behind JYD for the team's sake. Some ppl here expect a PF to save him from getting the flick, I think that it depends on many things including staying in the Top 8 for all / most of the season and of course winning couple matches in September at least. Can't dismiss him otherwise.

The vote of confidence from the CEO and Pres is the absolute sign you are screwed. ;)

lets go down to the key position shop in collins st and get 4 more. You same people would then bag the club for turning over the list to fast.

Lets throw out the baby with the bath water, one loss and it's all over, pea hearted supporters, you don't win every week.

Nice to see Deni$ is still taking an interest in the fortunes of the Roos.

:mad: If we are fair dinkum this year, he cannot start round 1. He plays no role for us at all and turns the ball over constantly. He's not even playing fullback now.. what is the point of him!?! :mad: :mad:

Yep. He is about as useless as the dcik on my body. I could re-direct you to 7-8 threads I have started on this topic & I am at my absolute wits end. Who cares if he is a top bloke??????
PS. Love the title of this thread.

Why is everyone getting stuck into Watt for?? He'll never be a great player but he does his job (without much support i might add). Don't just point the finger at the vulnerable because your upset after a loss.

Well if the last 3 weeks are anything to go by, it isn't looking good. How a professional footballer can fail to make even half decent contact with a football (admittedly under pressure) for almost every disposal is beyond me.

But I wouldn't be discarding him just yet. We are lacking in talls. Simple as that.

His biggest problem so far this year is the instructions he has obviously been given and how he is trying to adapt to these. It's quite obvious that he is under instruction to run the footy, which in theory is fine. The problem arises when he has p1ss bolted and then has to decide what to do with the thing. It's blind, dumb running. Straight into traffic, more often than not.

And he can't kick it. Or handball it. If he doesn't have a match up defensively (and he still will have this year), he shouldn't play.

Im sorry mate, but most including myself have been on this blokes back ever since we realised he can't play (circa 2003 - im being friendly here, remember being absolutely heart broken when he was included int he 2001 AFL cards...)....

He was a good contributor in the "we don't have a clue what to do with the ball stakes", and was helped at large by Eddie Sansbury.....

Can name four players all with a stack of ability (well maybe only 3 have ability but the other one is just mean) that could easily be the run with the ball and look good until you have nothing to do with it type like Shannon Watt, them being Riggio, Smith, Urch and Trotter - atleast they will hit a target.... WIth no direct tall opponent to play on Watt is un-needed..... Maybe he should swap some of the so called speed he posseses and try practising not ****ting himself and actually disposing of the ball atleast in a semi-reasonable manner.... Eddie ill let you off easy in this post...

FWIW both great blokes.... but so is my under 18 captain from last year who isnt playing AFL football due to the simple fact that he aint good enough....

I think Dean should be less worried about a settled backline this year and picking the right defensive match-ups. Watt in when it suits (Lloyd, Johnson). We are lacking quality talls. Brown is inconsistent and looks more dangerous up forward. Someone suggested that Hansen be used down back. Not sure if he has the body yet. I can't see who else to put down there if we are playing against a tall team.

Brown is inconsistent and looks more dangerous up forward.

Brown looks more dangerous to a box of doughnuts buddy. Either he gets some vigour or he's GAWN this year. I actually dont mind playing Swatter at fullback, just as long as he is played in a position and not a pointless loose backman as loose backman actually have to have football ability. Play Watt at fullback if he fails, try Brown. Fact is thats about all we have at the moment and that in itself is depressing!

He is fighting proudly against Sansbury for the worst player to pull on a jumper at Arden street in 10 years , since the good old days of Michael Passmore and the man who started it all Stephen McCann

You're pretty harsh on both players.

Sanbury was amongst our top possession getters for the preseason, but still lacks confidence.

IMO Watt was a better option at full back on Fevola than Firrito. Watt's much better over head and quicker over 10 meters. Still, Watt like many other senior players did not do enough for the team on Saturday night.

I agree that Watt we pretty average last week and has been very dissapointing so far in the preseason. Mind you, I thought he had been good the last couple of years, but think that it is an indication of the quality of our best 22 if he is in it.

With Hay and Perry gone I think he will have to go back a fair bit this year. Hansen will take some time to get the body for playing a key backman.

Past #36: Shannon Watt - drafted at #14 in '97 ND - 155 games - 0 Brownlow votes - original whipping boy