Past #36: Shannon Watt - drafted at #14 in '97 ND - 155 games - 0 Brownlow votes - original whipping boy

Do you agree with the 'Watt' decision?

• Yes

Votes: 23 53.5%
  • No

Votes: 20 46.5%

my general opinion, is the guy could sprint the hundred in 10 seconds, jump 3 feet in the air is built like hercules and is only lacking match time....he was on the ground for no more than a quarter and what was he expected to show in the forward line?!?! i mean seriously? you try and turn him into our next fullback in the ressies then put him in the forwardline in the seniors? i mean what was pagan on seriously? that's a 2nd rate mistake, watt needs to develop into a player, he can't do that in a quarter of playing time, it's hard to impress as a backman of all things, where it takes significant talent and balls to be creative from in your first game back after so long out of the 1sts

In my view the very first thing we should acknowledge about yesterday, is that the Bulldogs played a sensational brand of football and I very much doubt if anyone would have beaten them, on their first quarter form at least.

Remember that they were also playing for Libba's last game and this probably turned out to be a greater motivating factor to the Bulldogs than did Stevo' 250th to us.

Throw into that mix some umpiring decisions that clearly went the bulldogs way early in the game, and you have a recipe for what could have been a disaster.

As it turned out the rest of the game after quarter time, once the boys settled down, was evenly matched.

This is not actually the end of the world or for that matter the end of our year. Football now is so much played between the ears that a 1 % difference in aggression at the footy and all of the team orientated things can make the difference between winning and losing.

Irrespective of that we were still in with a chance midway through the last term when Harding marked and tried to run around a bulldogs player and turned the ball over. That became almost like a 2 goal turnaround and the cause was lost after that.

We can't be too harsh on Harding for that, the guy was trying to create and if he had have been successful who knows what.

In so far as Watt is concerned, while I was one who expressed disappointment at his inclusion before the game, my impression from sitting behind the interchange bench was that the bloke is hopelessly lacking confidence. He was on and off the bench more times than the umpires pinged us (incorrectly) on the day and he was asked to play everywhere. The poor bugger could not have been selected for a harder game than yesterday.

What he needed was a full game down back where he belongs if he is ever going to make it. In todays mad merry go round of on and off the bench, he will never get that opportunity I am afraid and I suspect that his career is never going to blossom.

And with the bulldogs in the scintillating form they were in yesterday, the coaching staff just had to try everything they could to bring about a turnaround.

When you look at Watt off the park, he looks like a footballer. But when the ball was coming into the forward line on Sunday, he just really seemed to be struggling to judge it. He dropped a couple of easy marks, and didn't seem to be able to read it like the more "footy" talented, but less athletic guys like Digby.

I hope we persist with Shannon and I hope he makes it, but if he does, it will take some time. I'm sure Windsock would agree that if he was given the one position and 98% of match time, and two full seasons to establish himself like other players on our list, he could be anything. :)

Originally posted by roobear
When you look at Watt off the park, he looks like a footballer. But when the ball was coming into the forward line on Sunday, he just really seemed to be struggling to judge it. He dropped a couple of easy marks, and didn't seem to be able to read it like the more "footy" talented, but less athletic guys like Digby.
The thing is i dunno if its a footy ability thing or just a confidence thing. In the MK's he takes those grabs and reads those balls that he misses in the seniors. The guy looks shot to bits half the time cause he's on and off the ground so much.

Jason McCartney is an example of someone who took ages to come to terms with senior footy and it was only when he came to North and spent a couple of seasons under Pagan who had obviously told him he'd be getting a game in the same position every week that he gained the necessary confidence and self belief that he could be a good player.

Love to see Watt given the same kind of opportunity that Jase was given in 98 or Colbert has been given despite some very ordinary form until recently where they just get a go regardless. Baird is a more recent example of someone who has benefited froma bit of confidence instilled by those above him. I reckon Watt might just flourish with the same kind of belief shown in him.

Dont think we'll ever see it though.

I'm all for giving a bloke a go to see if he's up to it :eek: but not if he goes into contests half-arsed, with all the aggression of an old woman washing her dentures.

If a bloke is quick he should either play from in front or fair dinkum pole-axe whoever is in his path to the ball...

Watt has a reasonable amount of football ability, but I don't think it's enough to get him anywhere if he doesn't put his body on the line. Built like a gorilla, plays like a friggen rabbit. Craig Bradley can get away with it, but his skills and pace are/were something else... if you're "about average" as a footballer, soft efforts do your cause no good.

Originally posted by roobear

I hope we persist with Shannon and I hope he makes it, but if he does, it will take some time. I'm sure Windsock would agree that if he was given the one position and 98% of match time, and two full seasons to establish himself like other players on our list, he could be anything. :)

Hey I hope youre not insinuating that I'm bagging Shannon by suggesting he's not a forward. I just reckon he has the attributes of being a defender rather than a forward. I'm a Watt fan and I reckon he will develop into a handy footballer for us if given the chance.

Originally posted by windsock

Hey I hope youre not insinuating that I'm bagging Shannon by suggesting he's not a forward. I just reckon he has the attributes of being a defender rather than a forward. I'm a Watt fan and I reckon he will develop into a handy footballer for us if given the chance.
Far be it for me to speak on behalf of roobear, but i think he was referring to your boy Troy with the "...if he was given the one position and 98% of match time, and two full seasons to establish himself like other players on our list..." comments.

Originally posted by Carlos

Far be it for me to speak on behalf of roobear, but i think he was referring to your boy Troy with the "...if he was given the one position and 98% of match time, and two full seasons to establish himself like other players on our list..." comments.

Just wasn't sure. I just wanted to make sure I wasn't lumped in with the people who bag a bloke who hasn't been given the opportunity to develop properly.

Let me bring all of you up to speed with what is going to happen with Shannon next year (you should already know if you follow the Roos really closely).

Watty is a project player who is being groomed to take over from Mick.

Now believe it or not, he is one of the fastest players at the club, along with the fact that he is a little over 6 foot 3`, along with the fact that he can bench press Toyota's. How many guys do we have that can keep up with the Lloyd's and Tredrea's of this world, as well as compete with height and strength? None at the moment (hopefully Crowey very soon).

So no matter what all of you say and think, he will be given a couple more years to prove that he is/isn't up to it.

So it really is pointless bagging the guy when he's going to be at the Club, like it or not. Let's support our players who are still learning the game. I know Watt has been around a long time, but he was picked up as an athlete that we were going to have to teach how to play footy.

Up until now he hasn't had the opportunity to get up to speed at the senior level. He has either been injured or not getting enough game time. There is a massive difference between the Scoobies and the Seniors in tactics and the speed of the game (without stating the obvious). Shannon has to get a handle on this. Which Denis believe's he will.

I know for a fact that Denis has been bringing him along slowly but surely for next season. If Mick didn't play this year, Shannon would have got a lot more game time in the Seniors. However, I know this extra year of devloping his footy, along with getting over his shoulder injury, will see him play some great footy next year in the Seniors.

I am sick of reading posts about players that are at the Club to develop, who get constantly bagged. Too many posters forget that most players don't start playing good footy until they have played about 60 - 80 SENIOR games. Ask any of the recruiting staff or senior coach's and they will support this statement 100%.

Good luck Shannon Watt, I look forward to you learning how to be grumpy and hard at it like Mick had to learn, when he was your age.

Go Roos!

great post goroos.
finally some sense.
why should anyone have to tell supporters to support their players, especially those players who haven't been given a go is beyond me.

most carlton supporters thought kouta was the worst footballer on their list until he was about 23 or 24 and yes when he didn't have confidence he did look soft sometimes watt is 21 i'm not saying he will be another kouta but it is something to think about.

he might prosprt into a great defender but do we have the time to wait

mick and blakey could be gone by next yr we need a solution now and not a pet project who may take a while to get anywhere with or without game time on the field.

wake up and smell the flowers hes been at the club for a while and the grooming aint working, and with macca out of form we need new backmen lets see what crowe can turn into;)

Shannon Watt has been replaced in the side by......

Shane Clayton:eek:

Should have been S.Motlop..

Clayton has done ok {Pretty Good actually} this year, but S.Motlop has more pace, could have gone into defence and provided some run, has pretty good skills, if given a chance to be creative, he can be very good.. and really deserves aa go, he also has a long kick..

Go Roos

Hes tall and therefore he will get a shot..

Pagan has a fascination with Tall players..

I said it when the final team was selected.. SHANNON WATT SHOULD HAVE BEEN PLAYING IN HTE MAGOOS.. AND D.MOTLOP SHOULD HAVE BEEN IN THE SNR SIDE..

Jnr could have played in hte midfield ..

GO ROOS
Watt is a useless prik

Darkrider{CIK}:

You should be somewhere else shouldnt u.. like the Adelaide board.. isnt that where Carey is going, Adelaide? Or did u get over Carey?

And I know how much you love Carey.

Makepeace: He wasnt the only one who cost us goals
Martyn: No one else on our list could have done ne better
Cochrane: Yes.. but he rarely has an effect..

All 3 of the above are still a class above Watt..

Go Roos

Originally posted by DarkRider
Ask yourself the same question about:-
Martyn - Totally inept.

Agreed, one of the worst games I have seen Mick play, but he is a club champion

Makepeace - cost North the usual 3 goals.
Did some ok things but was a poor game from Troy

Cochrane - was he playing ?

He is in teh same company as Watt now, they should both be gone at the end of the year. I don't mind a bad game here and there from some guys but when Watt and Cochrane have NEVER shown anything they have to go.

Does anyone remember seeing Shannon Grant? At least Troy still keeps having a red hot go even when he is completely outplayed. Mick was never going to beat the strength of Troy Wilson and yes Jason should have been there. Maybe Pagan is holding him back to have an impact next week against Neitz.

The people usually defending Watt and Rawlings always cite "game time" as being an influence. Once again both had fairly full games (don't recall Watt being benched at all) and zero influence. Time to clear out the dead wood.

I thought Martyn did a good job on Wilson for the first two and a half quarters, struggled towards the end and ended up conceding a few. If Wilson can outmuscle Martyn for five goals, he would have kicked 8-10 on any of the other options.

Makepeace had a shocker and is still being played out of position, would still rather see him played on a #3 or #4 midfielder in a close checking role. Matera cut him up today but S.Motlop and Sinclair also had spells on Matera and fared no better. Maybe this points to the need for drafting or recruiting a decent small defender next year.

Colbert on McDougall. Jeez we missed McCartney at CHB in the second half.

Cochrane had another disappointing week, probably his last chance for the year (if not his las game for the club). Sooner or later it has to sink in that he's not up to it.

S.Motlop's disposal lets him down.

Burton had a poor game, I guess that's excuseable once in a while, just picked a bad week.

Positives :

Morrell's footy smarts being used to nullify Jakovich's effect. Digby didn't have many touches but he shut out WC's primary defensive playmaker and kicked three goals. Handy game.

King and Sinclair were superb in the first half, did less in the second half but were clearly our best two today.

Harding looked lively at times, Petrie tackled hard, Blakey and Simpson were solid. Archer and Pickett back next week so maybe it's not all bad.

Originally posted by Sinkers_9

I can think of one, unfortunately the coach now thinks he is a forward and is playing in the reserves.

Good Point..

I wonder if Pagan can work it out:
J.A.S.O.N..M.C.A.R.T.N.E.Y
Should be in the snrs..

Not
S.H.A.N.N.O.N..W.A.T.T

Go Roos

Yes, lets delist Watt now and then watch him go to another club and become a very good player.
They don't seem to give the youngsters at North the opportunity to get game time, be prepared to take risks, to make mistakes and to learn from these mistakes without the pressure ofbeing continually dragged and sent back to the VFL which unfortunately, the standard is so far behind that the good players in that comp. really aren't going to take the 'next step' just playing there. At the same time several more senior players continually get games with minimal contribution.
With a number of senior players nearing the end we cannot afford to delist too many middle rung players, so unless we can replace him in a trade of sorts, I'm in favour of him staying and be given every opportunity to establish himself.

Originally posted by croode
Yes, lets delist Watt now and then watch him go to another club and become a very good player.
They don't seem to give the youngsters at North the opportunity to get game time, be prepared to take risks, to make mistakes and to learn from these mistakes without the pressure ofbeing continually dragged and sent back to the VFL which unfortunately, the standard is so far behind that the good players in that comp. really aren't going to take the 'next step' just playing there. At the same time several more senior players continually get games with minimal contribution.
With a number of senior players nearing the end we cannot afford to delist too many middle rung players, so unless we can replace him in a trade of sorts, I'm in favour of him staying and be given every opportunity to establish himself.

How many oppurtunities can you give a bloke??

I'd rather have a guy ilke Crowe or Foott come in and play down back than have Watt in there. He has had chance after chance after chance and shown nothing.

Past #36: Shannon Watt - drafted at #14 in '97 ND - 155 games - 0 Brownlow votes - original whipping boy