Past #4: Daniel Harris - 149 games for NMFC - delisted end '09 - 11 games for GCFC

Daniel Harris was pretty ordinary last week and sometimes you've got to listen to your assistant coaches and I'm glad I did this week because I don't think I would have played him," Laidley said.

maybe a few words from our moderator carlos may not of gone astray either:D

Does anyone think that he will actually turn into a legit player? He seems to play 2-3 good games a year, then he's back in the vfl.

Originally posted by lukecarter
Does anyone think that he will actually turn into a legit player? He seems to play 2-3 good games a year, then he's back in the vfl.

Just waiting for a genuine crack at Stevo's spot I reckon. When he has had a good run in the middle (or on the park for that matter) he generally equiped himself very well.

The Adelaide game (with Stevo and Simmo missing) was THE game that showed he can take a role in the middle and really influence a result.

He has had to wait, but it gives him time to work on some rough edges he has. He will be a sensational footballer IMO, but he may have to wait a little while longer for Stevo to give it up.

JYD always seems to have less patience with Harro than perhaps others, but he has the brain and all the tool to be an extremely good footballer. That game against Adelaide was great, but I thought he was also absolutely sensational against Essendon too, and kicked a couple of crucial goals. I remember there was a period of 4 or 5 games during the middle of 2003 where he was getting 7 tackles a game, very strong through the chest and hips.

This guy will become a household name like the best of them. Make no doubt about it.

He has all the aggression and determination.

Expect a big year in '04.

Originally posted by myee8
He'd better not dissapoint given the praise he has been given.

You're so right myee8.

We should all shut up, not only about Harris, but also about all our other players with potential.

myee8 - Homophobe AND Crusher of hope. Wow, you must be great fun to be around!

Originally posted by Yianni
You're so right myee8.

We should all shut up, not only about Harris, but also about all our other players with potential.

Myee8s comment was a fair one. But what else is there to do, praise him as much as you want I say.

Whats the story with myee8? Why does he cop so much? I must have missed something... I havent posted for ages.

Originally posted by Yianni
You're so right myee8.

:rolleyes:

Did i say to shut up or imply to? All i am saying is that given all the praise given to the guy that he better live up to our expectations. Many players from North and other clubs have been given big wraps, were number one picks, etc and have now dissappeared and dissapointed. You yourself should know that. Great post by the way moron.

Originally posted by myee8
Great post by the way moron.

Yeah Yianni, you moron.........

I have had a go at Stam in recent times re his attitude towards you, but I concede I made a mistake.

You are a rare ****head.

Originally posted by Petrie Dish
JYD always seems to have less patience with Harro than perhaps others

Treat 'em mean, keep 'em keen. You don't want him resting on his laurels, or thinking that he has made it already. You will often find that the young kids with good potential are pushed a bit harder than those that are so-so.

I see Harris getting a harder run than your "average" player as an indication of the high hopes the club has for him.

Moomba

PS - Or it could just be that Laids hates his guts ;)

Originally posted by NorthBhoy
Yeah Yianni, you moron.........

I have had a go at Stam in recent times re his attitude towards you, but I concede I made a mistake.

You are a rare ****head.

Hmm, now why don't you tell me what was wrong with my post that Yianni replied to? That is why we are here now. You have a go at Stam for his attitute towards me? Why the f*ck did you even bother? I don't need your help. Besides Stam himself isn't a bad poster.

Boring now.

Lets keep the discussion to Daniel Harris can we?

Myee, there is no need to respond to that, so dont.

Anyway...
Originally posted by moomba
Treat 'em mean, keep 'em keen. You don't want him resting on his laurels, or thinking that he has made it already. You will often find that the young kids with good potential are pushed a bit harder than those that are so-so.

I see Harris getting a harder run than your "average" player as an indication of the high hopes the club has for him.
Spot on.

Harro is a great kid. I've had the pleasure of chatting to him numerous times and even had the chance to have a few drinks with him during the off-season by chance one night. Great fella.

But i think he is the type of player that can get a little ahead of himself at times and sometimes needs to be reigned in a bit.

The kid has huge talent. We can all see that. Hence, if getting him to achieve the absolute best he can means riding him that bit harder, then so be it. Some blokes respond to moddy coddling, others need no motivation and are just naturally focused, and some need the tough love approach. Harro falls into the latter category in many regards.

But as frustrating as it can be, i think the approach is often the right one. I chatted to him after our narrow win to Melbourne this year. Our midfield were getting carved in that second half, particularly at stoppages and in the clinches which is where we all know Harro is at his best, and it had me buggered as to why he spent most of it on the bench. I asked him, and he said with no hint of petulance or resentment that Laidley simply couldn't find the right match up for him, which had been the case for a few weeks seeing him getting less and less game time.

This was a Tuesday night when i spoke to him (member's cocktail party) and he'd already been told he'd be sent back to the 2's to get his hands on the footy, get some game time under his bealt and iron out a few problems (mainly defensive) that were making Dean feel a bit apprehensive about playing him against some highly rated midfields (West Coast and Collingwood) that preceded the Melbourne game.

Its a reflection of the kid's attitude that he then went back and strung together some outstanding VFL form and did everything required to force his way back into the team.
Originally posted by moomba
PS - Or it could just be that Laids hates his guts ;)
I know you jest, and i dont think Dean ever "hated his guts", but i'd say around mid-season Harro's future was by no means assured at North. The doubts on his ability to be concious of his man and resist the urge to go kick chasing lingered, and i recall when i had that chat to Dean that he said the only way Harris was going to play regular senior footy in the near future was if he developed himself into a tagger. This was after a 1 point loss that had just blown our final's aspirations to the sh*thouse so perhaps he was just a touch angry though...

Originally posted by Carlos

But i think he is the type of player that can get a little ahead of himself at times and sometimes needs to be reigned in a bit.

The kid has huge talent. We can all see that. Hence, if getting him to achieve the absolute best he can means riding him that bit harder, then so be it. Some blokes respond to moddy coddling, others need no motivation and are just naturally focused, and some need the tough love approach. Harro falls into the latter category in many regards.

But as frustrating as it can be, i think the approach is often the right one. I chatted to him after our narrow win to Melbourne this year. Our midfield were getting carved in that second half, particularly at stoppages and in the clinches which is where we all know Harro is at his best, and it had me buggered as to why he spent most of it on the bench. I asked him, and he said with no hint of petulance or resentment that Laidley simply couldn't find the right match up for him, which had been the case for a few weeks seeing him getting less and less game time.

Well said mate, and I don't think many would disagree with your analysis. I've often noted about Harro is a game situation that if he does something big or important, he doesn't always follow up at the next contest with the same intensity, as if he is still on a high in a sense. That said, he does seem the mentally strong type that will thrive, rather than collapse, under criticism and this is a great quality to have when you have Harro's type of talent.

A good example for me was his performance in the Adelaide game. Had a shocker against Hawthorn, Laidley wanted to drop him but was convinced by the coaching staff to keep him in the team. Obviously JYD would've had a few words in Harro's ear, and he came out and played an absolute ripper, was under every pack and attacked every contest with such ferocity that the crowd of Crows fans sitting around me kept saying "Who the hell is this bloke?!"

I should have replied with "Wayne Carey, you don't recognise him from his North days?" but we were already dominating so I kept it in :)

GO HARRO

What a great little machine he is.. he will make inroads- he is definetely in our best 22- and you could put up a good argument saying he is in our best 18 (I would have him in there)

Go Roos

Past #4: Daniel Harris - 149 games for NMFC - delisted end '09 - 11 games for GCFC