Past #4: Daniel Harris - 149 games for NMFC - delisted end '09 - 11 games for GCFC

Re: Harro on SEN now

gees , could do worse than give him JWS's spot on the list.

Have lists been finalised yet? What is stopping the club from renewing Harris's contract (essentially) in JWS spot for say 1 year?

Had him touted as a future captain about 2 years ago.

I guess it was more North's decline than anything that really squeezed him out, forcing us to start giving the younger blokes opportunities. Similar story with CJ.

I think Pickering made comment that he tried to convince Jesse to stay and he wouldn't have a bar of it?

In reference to Harro, while he may have run his race as a footballer at North, you can't do antyhing but applaud the bloke for the class he has shown on handling his exit.

If he gets another gig at an AFL club, you couldn't do anything wish him well and clap and cheer the bloke, for the character and integrity he has shown.

A guy like this makes Jesse look like a complete and utter flog!

I think Pickering made comment that he tried to convince Jesse to stay and he wouldn't have a bar of it?

In reference to Harro, while he may have run his race as a footballer at North, you can't do antyhing but applaud the bloke for the class he has shown on handling his exit.

If he gets another gig at an AFL club, you couldn't do anything wish him well and clap and cheer the bloke, for the character and integrity he has shown.

A guy like this makes Jesse look like a complete and utter flog!

That's how I heard it, and you're spot on about Harro.........a champion bloke who'll remain welcome at North forever more.

Remember seeing Harro the kid and think this kid will be a better extractor of the ball then Greg Williams... well maybe that never happens but at least when the chips are down we see what Harro is made of... well done and all the best for your future... :D:D:D as long as it aint at Hawthorn...

Would have been interesting to see what Harro would have been under a different coach to Laidley?

He was on the verge of great things under Pagan, but never kicked on when Laidley took the reigns.

I must admit I'm not a fan of Harro the footballer anymore, but the quality he has shown in handling his exit, makes me hope he gets another shot and makes it really work.

And I wouldn't mind if he tears us a new one every time we play against him, as long as well still win:D

But people, NM is partially to blame because we never had a full time medical team due to the financial restrictriants. Ironically, when we do have one in 2010, Jesse opts out.

Still doesn't explain why he has come out and publically bagged the club and thrown a tantrum.

Some people have enough class just to thank the club and move on, like Harro has. While others usually self consumed knob jockeys, come out and blame everyone else for problems and wanting to leave.

If Ball can't get through to the pies at pick 30 in the ND, then Harris is the one I reckon we should punt on with our last pick. Probably a poor mans Luke Ball but he could be a replacement for O'Bree and a change of scenery might give him a spark.

Would be a handy pick up for Collingwood. Malthouse would probably be the type of guy who could extract the best out him as well.

As for Ball lasting to Pick 30, even a stoned optomist wouldn't think that is a realistic possibility:D

Great bloke, shame his career went off the rails. Never really had the tank but I'm not sure why he declined so much in form over the last few years... the guy was once a deadset gun.

He may be serviceable in a new environment. Given the 'success' of Leigh Brown this year it would surprise me to see him at Collingwood next year.

If Ball can't get through to the pies at pick 30 in the ND, then Harris is the one I reckon we should punt on with our last pick. Probably a poor mans Luke Ball but he could be a replacement for O'Bree and a change of scenery might give him a spark.

He'll do a job for you lot and become a fan favourite pretty quickly. He goes where others don't have the kohunas to go, and will win you guys plenty of ball out of contests. You could do alot worse.

You don't need a club medical team, you need trauma rehab. His injury was like the kind you get in a car accident with multiple breaks with bone, ligament and nerve damage. Club medical staff are not qualified to oversee rehab of that type. His specialist would have put him on a rehab program which the club would have been informed about but ultimately, you get through rehab based on the effort you put into it. You can't force someone to get through rehab.

Look at Harvey, when he got chicken winged he also damaged his hand, a lot of serious damage, whenever he was sitting down at home he carried a hand exercise unit which he constantly used, he was totally focused on doing everything possible.

Did Jesse do everything possible? If not then you can't lay the blame with others.

Of all our players that did well getting through serious injuries how many complained because of a lack of facilities or medical staff? If your hand or leg or foot is rooted then the only way you get it right is to put 100% effort into your rehab and take responsibility. If the club is lacking in anything it doesn't mean you sit in front of an xbox, you go out and make up for what is lacking with your own initiative, even if he needs to call his manager and say, "book me into some facility to help me with my rehab."

Gee, with the weak draft and JWS walking out, would it be beyond the realms of possibilty that we could redraft him if one or two others that we were looking at from the draft are gone and we have a spot on the list is there?

Please no, while he says that he still has 3 or 4 years left in him, he's finished as a footballer and it was very evident the last 2 years really. Yes he's a good person to have around the footy club but i wouldn't waste a pick on him.

Totally agree with this post. He never realised his potential because he never worked hard enough. Small tank caused by his laziness. Nice enough bloke though.

I wouldn't go as far to call him lazy. I think the whole Laidley business may have really hurt his commitment and mindset.

I just think the game has passed him by a bit and he hasn't be able to adapt as well as others. But put him in a different club and he may provide some handy back up and some good service.

At the end of the day the club is investing in youth at the moment and opportunites would be few and far between for Harro, so best to move on.

But I will give the guy one thing, at least he has the class and decency to respect the club and the opportunity he was given. Also big props for taking ownership for his situation.

I wouldn't go as far to call him lazy. I think the whole Laidley business may have really hurt his commitment and mindset.

I just think the game has passed him by a bit and he hasn't be able to adapt as well as others. But put him in a different club and he may provide some handy back up and some good service.

At the end of the day the club is investing in youth at the moment and opportunites would be few and far between for Harro, so best to move on.

But I will give the guy one thing, at least he has the class and decency to respect the club and the opportunity he was given. Also big props for taking ownership for his situation.

I agree Harro has class but he was very lazy. Always came back for preseason looking more like a pud than an AFL player. Not dedicated enough to the game, that's why it passed him by.

Sounds very classy from Harro, and very smart as he's selling his character as well as his footy potential.

I was interested to hear Doran later relating the discussion to Mark Robinson, paraphrasing that Daniel had no issues with North Melbourne, although he did with some people at North Melbourne. Not the Chief again?

Daniel Harris and Shannon Watt are two players that were a bit maligned here on BigFooty (Harris by me, Watt by everyone), but there can be no denying that both of these boys bled blue and white for this club.

Wish them nothing but luck going forward. :thumbsu:

Daniel Harris and Shannon Watt are two players that were a bit maligned here on BigFooty (Harris by me, Watt by everyone), but there can be no denying that both of these boys bled blue and white for this club.

Wish them nothing but luck going forward. :thumbsu:

Could not have said it better CHADWIKO

Past #4: Daniel Harris - 149 games for NMFC - delisted end '09 - 11 games for GCFC