Past #4: Daniel Harris - 149 games for NMFC - delisted end '09 - 11 games for GCFC

Mamamia- please let Harro come up this week... PLEASE..

This is his chance to show Laidley exactly what he's got (as if the last qtr v Carlton, or the Adelaide Match in rd 21 last year weren't enough.. not to mention multiple other performances..)

And we need him.

Go Roos

Good News.

Love to see Tunnel play Harris and Wells for a large portion of the game this week. I know you have to protect Wells' body, but 1 game won't hurt!

Show the Saints that despite being such pathetic jokes for the last 7 years, and getting a ridiculous amount of picks, they don't have all the young talent in the land.

Show them it is still possible to build a list of good youngsters without flushing your dignity down the toilet.

I ****ing hate the Saints.

Originally posted by kelman
Good News.

Love to see Tunnel play Harris and Wells for a large portion of the game this week. I know you have to protect Wells' body, but 1 game won't hurt!

With Stevo missing, you'd think Harris stands a better go now...surely !! Understatement !! Deano ?? unleash !!! I still doubt Wells will get a full game yet.

Originally posted by kelman
Good News.

Show the Saints that despite being such pathetic jokes for the last 7 years, and getting a ridiculous amount of picks, they don't have all the young talent in the land.

Show them it is still possible to build a list of good youngsters without flushing your dignity down the toilet.

I ****ing hate the Saints.
Stuff it, chuck Grima and Watson in there as well.

I'd love to see Watson get a go, but I think JYD will go with Robbins instead.

If Harro is fit then that gives us one change - Harro in Stevo out

But to bring Robbins or Watson or anyone else we need to drop King I would think. Is Laids ready for that?

Originally posted by vlad76
But to bring Robbins or Watson or anyone else we need to drop King I would think. Is Laids ready for that?
If he'd not, then he's not fair dinkum.

I think King won't play this week, but we'll be told that he's out "injured" on the Footy Show, not "omitted".

NO DOUBT URCH SHOULD COME INTO THE SIDE FOR KING...... HE SHOULD HAVE PLAYED BEFOR GRIMA... IVE WATCHED PORT 3 TIMES THIS YEAR AND URCH HAS BEEN BETTER IN ALL THREE.... HARD, COMMITED AND THE BEST LEFT FOOT GOIN ROUND

Having suffered from quad problems before, I hope Harris isnt going to be rushed in before he is ready.

With Stevo out there is plenty of incentive for him to play, and with quad injuries you can go through a week thinking you are alright only for it to flare up in the intensity of a match situation.

Originally posted by scottywiper
Why, with Stevens out, did Harris not start in the middle.
When he came on he got just about our only centre clearance in the first quarter.

Of course, Daniel started on the bench.

I was really proud of his effort today. The amount of times he put his head into a pack, got smashed and tackled, stood up and absorbed it with the footy in his hands only to find 6 St Kilda players stnding there waiting to belt him again was embarrasing. Poor bugger had stuff all help.

Just should not be considered as anything but a regular fixture in the 22.

But, I said that about three times last year.....

I love that guy, always wears his heart on his sleeve and put his head over the footy on so many occasions today, when no one else would. Could be as good as Sam Mitchell IMO if he got the chance to be.

He just has to play. I don't care who he replaces in the middle.

I reckon it's mental that he doesn't start in more centre bounces than anyone in the side. Every game I watch I feel I am slipping into a state of mental ilness because there is a bloke in the box who doesn't see it, yet it seems so bloody obvious to every supporter in the crowd and even some players I have spoken to.

I love the kid, because he hates losing a contest and looks shattered when we lose a game. The same can't be said for our "marquee players" ATM IMHO.

Originally posted by scottywiper
Why, with Stevens out, did Harris not start in the middle.
When he came on he got just about our only centre clearance in the first quarter.
Yeah he should always start in the middle in my view but having Stevo out wouldn't make any difference to the decision as Stevo no longer starts in the middle.
Stevo has started on the wing every game this year so they are not competing for the same spot as much as everyone seems to think.

I was very impressed by Harris today, but it did show that he can't play out the full match in the middle IMO, and has to go on the bench at some stage for a rest. There is no shame in that, and I suspect that someone that plays his style of game will never be able to run out 120 minutes.

Today, I think we could obviously have used him from the start (I missed the first 10 minutes and it seemed like 20 goals) but there is no point having him in from the start if it is going to mean he is not an option to finish out the game.

Originally posted by TheGreatCoranzo
Looked in the mirror lately?

yes, thanks for asking tool.

Back to the topic, Laidley is a hypocrite and playing favourites. Harris has to be an angel and do everything and more right to get half a game here and there maybe, and yet Grima a second year player (who mind you i'm a total fan of, but he's still green) coming off an injury riddled year comes in no probs and gets just as much gametime.........hello?

The signs are positive for Harro. Don't forget he was coming back from a strained quad last week - straight back into the seniors. Last year, he would've had to come back via Port.

He doesn't have the ticker to run out a full game, simple as that. Needs to work on his fitness, was lead a merry dance on occassions. All right in close, but when it gets out into space different story.

He should be part of the A grade rotation, that is, start the quarters and rest after 20 minutes or so. Grima and Spud are also good clearance players so mixing with those 2 should be positive.

Originally posted by choppy
He doesn't have the ticker to run out a full game, simple as that. Needs to work on his fitness, was lead a merry dance on occassions. All right in close, but when it gets out into space different story.

its a bit hard to build up match fitness when you're coming back from an injury and your only used to playing in scrap time when the coach is in a good mood

Past #4: Daniel Harris - 149 games for NMFC - delisted end '09 - 11 games for GCFC