Player Watch #43 Jacob Bauer

Sure was but im not seeing elite speed there but definately needs to put on a bit more size

Must be given a game against Sydney and if not sack Mini

Rubbish, his size is fine, he just needs to improve his nuos and craft as well as smarts which hopefully improve with experience.

he is more likely to be a swingman than a key forward anyway but versatility will be one of his main assets probably as the team looks for the most potent combinations at different times

Rubbish, his size is fine, he just needs to improve his nuos and craft as well as smarts which hopefully improve with experience.

he is more likely to be a swingman than a key forward anyway but versatility will be one of his main assets probably as the team looks for the most potent combinations at different times

Top class post Magic. :thumbsu:

However Bauer will flll out a bit over the next couple of years and he should only benefit from that. Will be good to have two swingmen, one hybrid sized and one L Baker sized. :)

Rubbish 192cm 87kgs for a key foward is too light

You are assuming you know how he is going to play.

Every player is different and does it their own way to succeed

Bauer probably is a third/4th back/forward and very successful because he is his own uniqueness

One of his traits is kicking 55 metre bomb goals so he does not need to hold packs deep near the goal line.

The obsession with big tall forwards and RFC has probably cost us heavily over the years.

Then Dusty arrives.

We just need to kick a winning score

He is not Samson Ryan, I cannot see us putting Bauer in the ruck

Bauer virtually won the game off his own boot, if you have a bone to pick maybe you should talk about some of the other players.

It looks like Bauer is doing a lot right

He’s not a traditional big key forward mould though mate. He’s that athletic mobile type HFF that can play tall or small.
You stack muscle on him and weight and he may become slower. It will be interesting whether he goes down your path or not , but I can’t see it.

No doubt he isn’t going to have the best win rate in 1v1 situations where he will be giving away some height and KG’s but just means how he plays would be different to the bigger guys

If he is isolated in a 1v1 our players can’t try and kick it onto his head like we would with Lynch and Dusty who are fantastic 1v1 marking targets

We need to try and identify space for him to lead into so he can use his speed and jumping ability to give him the advantage

I haven't seen much of him, but I wonder if the pace of the AFL actually suits him more?
Interesting point rfcta,
I currently see him too good for VFL so tonight will be an eye opener with a faster paced game and better skilled and stronger teammates beside him. I want to see him doing a lot of leads or running off work rather than playing the defensive forward role. It’s about time we had another forward that’s a creator and not a spectator.

Interesting point rfcta,
I currently see him too good for VFL so tonight will be an eye opener with a faster paced game and better skilled and stronger teammates beside him. I want to see him doing a lot of leads or running off work rather than playing the defensive forward role. It’s about time we had another forward that’s a creator and not a spectator.

I think his current role in the VFL is perfect for us in the AFL.

First reason is it is a point of difference and less laborious from a player run perspective

Second it allows him to kick long bomb goals from outside fifty that oppositions will have to worry about opening up the forward line. He can even drift in high half forward becoming a option.

Finally and most of all it helps release Balta. If he is intercepting back it allows Balta off the reign more running forward kicking long bombs. Furthermore if Bauer drifts up the ground Balta can kick it too him allowing kicker transition by foot helping us get better scoring options for our forward line from quicker ball movement through the air

This could also let our forwards play deeper stretching the ground for more potent forward thrusts enablng us to break down opposition defences easier

I think his current role in the VFL is perfect for us in the AFL.

First reason is it is a point of difference.

Second it allows him to kick long bomb goals from outside fifty that oppositions will have to worry about opening up the forward line. He can even drift in high half forward becoming a option.

Finally and most of all it helps release Balta. If he is intercepting back it allows Balta off the reign more running forward kicking long bombs. Furthermore if Bauer drifts up the ground Balta can kick it too him allowing kicker transition by foot helping us get better scoring options for our forward line from quicker ball movement through the air

This could also let our forwards play deeper stretching the ground for more potent forward thrusts enablng us to break down opposition defences easier
Yeah I'm looking for a more mobile FL . Clarke, Mansell, Coulthard will be handy in the future.

Has shown he has footy smarts to play both end and plenty of athleticism to compliment that.

Have had a concern over attitude and his confidence levels can drop quickly. But he’s really worked hard this year and deserves his shot.

He’s played a tough roll at VFL level and if he can find a way to work with how we’ve been delivering the footy this year he may just stick in the senior team. Personally I don’t see him as a key position player as he isn’t physical enough aerially at times. But he has potential to be a very nice 3rd tall and swing man.

Fingers crossed for the kid as he’s come from a fair way back to get this opportunity.

He’s not a traditional big key forward mould though mate. He’s that athletic mobile type HFF that can play tall or small.
You stack muscle on him and weight and he may become slower. It will be interesting whether he goes down your path or not , but I can’t see it.
I get that but also see him playing a similar game to Bailey Fritsch but with more leap and more body on body

Jacob is 4 cm taller and weighs the same and whilst he can get away with being a lighter frame on VFL defenders playing against AFL defenders will be harder and need more strength imo and at min should be Jack Riewoldt weight. 192cm 87kgs is too light imo for AFL

Gives me a Jack Gunston vibe

lol if hes 19 of course he's gonna be light, if he's 86kg when he's 22 i'll eat a shoe.
Was watching a freo game with a mate and we actually noticed his build and mentioned he will be a unit in 2-3 years time
Jye was 86kgs when drafted and looks like he is easily 5-6kgs bigger now so i would be surprised if he is not 90kg+ now

Was watching a freo game with a mate and we actually noticed his build and mentioned he will be a unit in 2-3 years time
Jye was 86kgs when drafted and looks like he is easily 5-6kgs bigger now so i would be surprised if he is not 90kg+ now
He'd be ideally looking to land at the Kmac sort of size I reckon who's 92kgs. Strong enough to win contests but still mobile.

I get that but also see him playing a similar game to Bailey Fritsch but with more leap and more body on body

Jacob is 4 cm taller and weighs the same and whilst he can get away with being a lighter frame on VFL defenders playing against AFL defenders will be harder and need more strength imo and at min should be Jack Riewoldt weight. 192cm 87kgs is too light imo for AFL

I think you lack vision.

Fritsch does not play as a defender

Bauer does. Bauer kicks long 55 plus metre bomb goals, Fritsch does not. They are not the same.

Moreover Bauer is the type of mismatch player which can give opposition teams nightmares because they do not have a equivalent. When he is forward we can shift him to defence, when he is in defence, we can shift him forward, deep and up the field. The point is we can create a combination that suits our team causing a problem for the opposition and making our combination against a set opponent group better. He can mark anywhere on the ground and he can kick and kick long from anywhere in the ground making him useful and creating opportunities for his and our teammates. We could have a extra in the backline or a extra somewhere else, it helps our setup immensely. The thing is he can float around and make obscure areas threatening from his marking and penetration as well as intercepting the other way

Player Watch #43 Jacob Bauer