5 things you want to see from the Crows/Footy this coming off-season?

1. Significant coaching group change, including Buckley & Montgomery. Nicks replaces Kelly as Football Manager, with Burns & Godden moved on.

2. Major Board & senior management changes, including Roo out & Balme in.

3. Increase depth of our playing squad with Cumming, ANB & another ruckman.

4. Draft quality midfielder with pick #4, Welsh & someone else by keeping pick #25.

5. Cut deadwood - Burgess, Strachan & Smith... even if it means paying them out.

I don't see certain improvement swapping Nicks into FM role. Him and Kelly are perfectly aligned and Nicks is already aligned with existing philosophies. If 2. was to go ahead, I'd have Balme involved in selecting the Kelly replacement. Which might end up being Nicks, but I'd definitely try the open market first.

My thinking is it would save us with the soft cap for any Nicks termination... & reckon it would be a role he would be more suited to.

Either that or we blow the soft cap.

1. Refreshed coaching box.
2. New logo features the old swooping raven/crow with no titles. Just the raven/crow, that is it. If titles, use the 1990's font from the shield logo.
3. Recruit a decent midfielder in the age 23-26 bracket. Luko and deny Port getting Cumming.
4. Reintroduce the 1999-2005 away jumper as a third option (for games in Geelong, Sydney, Gold Coast etc), keep the current standard and clash. Also the gather round jumper as well.
5. Aim for 5 more wins than 2024.

Port winning the flag would be another nail in the coffin for my love of footy.. 2017 was bad enough, 2020 wooden spoon and the non Keays goal against Sydney last year are just reasons why i am not as passionate as i once was. Port not winning the flag would make for some fun and bring some joy to the season and off season lol
youre not really making renewing my foundation gold membership very appealing

can you try harder

1. Delist Lachie Murphy
2. Conduct a Royal Commission investigating how Lachie Murphy played 100+ games.
3. Give the number 4 jumper to our 2024 first round draft pick.
4. Never ever draft or trade for a defensive forward with zero footballing ability ever again.
5. Pick a leadership group from players with actual football ability.

1. Delist Lachie Murphy
2. Conduct a Royal Commission investigating how Lachie Murphy played 100+ games.
3. Give the number 4 jumper to our 2024 first round draft pick.
4. Never ever draft or trade for a defensive forward with zero footballing ability ever again.
5. Pick a leadership group from players with actual football ability.
I'm sensing a theme

1 Wayne loses Mod status
2 Mostyn keeps the same opinion pre and post trade
3 Mutineer criticises the club
4 The club takes 119 up on his offer to provide discounted share advice to win over new recruits
5 BACCS returns
5 has come true.

1) basic kicking training. We were woeful this year. Couldn’t hit up a team mate from 15 metres.

2) goalkicking training. As above.

3) change the f*****g gameplan. Handpassing everytime to a player already under pressure is borderline r******d. Kick the bloody ball.

4) stop being so stubborn, Nicksy. Don’t wait until late in the third quarter to make some moves. It’s gotten to the point I can predict what and when you are going to do it.

5) new logo.

My thinking is it would save us with the soft cap for any Nicks termination... & reckon it would be a role he would be more suited to.

Either that or we blow the soft cap.

We definitely don't have the $ to blow the soft cap. Although, it's highly unlikely we spend the full amount as it is. If a flag cost us $1m of ebitda, we choose no flag every time. We're a soulless corporation.

Some degree of off-field accountability would be a very positive sign, particularly if they sack Nicks next year.

In the event that happens there needs to be a clear-out of people who've been involved in the club for the last 7 years of failure and anyone involved in the re-signing in early 2024 should resign at about the same time.

Of course there's no chance of that happening, the sort of people employed in these roles can't conceive of holding themselves accountable and there will be absolutely no stomach in the media to do so.

At this stage anything will do. We finished 15th and haven't delisted any players or made any off-field changes at all.

Surely there are obvious delists at the club that don't need to wait for the trade period to finish so we can see who we get?

Why are none of our off-field team being held responsible for the past few seasons?

Why? Because we're a mediocre sporting organisation, and as much as I want to remove all emotional ties with them, I just cannot. As it is due to other commitments on a Saturday arvo I don't get to see many games, but I just cannot just shrug my shoulders and so "oh well".

Damn you AFC!

5 things you want to see from the Crows/Footy this coming off-season?