Past #6: Jason Horne-Francis - NM have been informed by JHF's management that he will seek a trade to SA [contracted for 2023]

Haven't read all the comments, so might have been mentioned, but I'd tell Port pick 2 from the Eagles is the starting point. Don't care how you do it, but don't bother calling till that's on the table, then we'll negotiate.

If they can't, he can sook in Melbourne for another 12 months. Don't have any sympathy for either JHF or Port if no deal done.
Yeah I totally agree.

Take all the emotion out of it and think long term.

If we can get pick 2 and 2023 first (predicted bumper crop) along with a player say Bergman we sign straight away.

Wardlaw, Cadman, Logue, Tucker, *Bergman, Clark and Harvey, along with two first rounders in 2023 is a fair draft haul.

Ive moved on already and feel great because nothing surprises me anymore.

If it's Port or North Melbourne, I'd hold him to his contract and back ourselves to turn it around under Clarko.

Things change over a year, similar to Papley.

That is unless Port comes up with a trade which is too good to refuse.
Yeah, but at least Sydney fans have been able to like Papley. Horne was difficult to love even before now

I'm taking a leaf from Chadwiko, and looking forward to how this request will subsequently turbo charge our rebuild with additions to our playing list and removal of a petulant self entitled kid who wants no part in our march up the ladder. Sure, would have liked to keep him and have his attitude adjusted, but good riddance. Looking forward to this trade period with some optimism about attracting good senior footballers which will lead to more wins next year

Two firsts and a piece that allows us to unlock Hunter Clark and I say cut our losses with JHF and move on.

Clarko to give JHF the treatment he got Lewis to give Goldy all those years ago please.

I'm taking a leaf from Chadwiko, and looking forward to how this request will subsequently turbo charge our rebuild with additions to our playing list and removal of a petulant self entitled kid who wants no part in our march up the ladder. Sure, would have liked to keep him and have his attitude adjusted, but good riddance. Looking forward to this trade period with some optimism about attracting good senior footballers which will lead to more wins next year

If he don’t want to be here, rid ourselves of him and the circus that would have gone on all year, get some picks/players in and off we go.

JHF is the anti Cripps....
yeah thinking about it a bit more....and I'm no psychologist nor do I know the kid, but publicly stating "I want to go number 1 in the draft" was always about him, and getting acknowledgement that he is thought of as the best kid in the draft without any regard for what it actually entails ie/ you go to the worst team wherever it is in the country. And his actions and behavior ever since indicate a selfishness and arrogance rarely seen in a first year player. Seems the sort of kid who is looking for positive affirmation all the time. The "hates being beaten" thing I think is really he is too immature to handle not being the best and lashes out rather than trying to listen and learn and work on his deficiencies. I hope the kid is mentally prepared for what is to come because the scrutiny from 2022 will pale into insignificance.

Yeah it seems like it. Talked a big talk about wanting to be the #1 pick in a national competition. Could have realistically had a lengthy career here, forged a legacy for himself and tested himself outside of his home state, become a legend and a big fish

Instead it will be 10-15 years of being 15 minutes from mum, playing in a two-team town where he'll never have to buy a beer in any number of s**t tin pot pubs. Small fish big pond s**t. So disappointing but if that's the decision he's made then so be it

I personally think Francis has been in his ear since day one and would have a fair bit of responsibility here. Nah nah young fella it's all good, play your first year out then come back home to your mother and me, we'll get you a bunch of speaking gigs at the Murray Bridge RSL on sportsman's nights, I'll waive my usual fee and just take 20% of your appearance cost instead, it'll be sweet

Onto Port - #8 & 2023 1st doesn't get it done if the Pear finish anywhere outside of bottom 4. Turn that #8 into a top 5 pick, or tack Sinn/Butters onto the deal. JHF is a 19yo #1 a year removed from being drafted. You'll get 10-15 years of high level footy out of him now that he can see his mum whenever he likes, this is not Ben Jacobs or Jared Polec. He's also contracted & they've offered him 3.2m over four years. They want him and you've gotta give something good to get something good. If Brady *s this up, he's gone
You won’t be getting butters. How do you possibly think we would give him up?

Gee I don't know mate. You're trying to prise a contracted 19 year old #1 draft pick out of his club and offering him $3.2m? What a stupid ****ing thing to come and post in here

This is the thing Port fans aren't getting. You can't do what they've done then get stingy at the trade table.

That's bullshit. And it makes him even more of a campaigner to use Clarko's situation, and those who fell aggrieved by it, for his own advantage. He never bought in. His body language all year was of a Primadonna who never wanted to do the hard yards.
Did Port offer us anything for pick 1 last year?
I'm starting to think its been the plan all along between him and Port. It would be the easiest way for him to find his way to Port. Says he wants to commit to us rather the alternative of us trading pick 1 and him ending up with the crows or Richmond?
I believe you are right on this. He likely fully committed to North during pre draft interviews in order to avoid being draft swapped over to Adelaide. Deceitful. Huge pressure is going to come on him now.

How would the players at the club feel about the club taking nothing and setting themselves back 2-3 years?

Projecting your wishful thinking once again. Setting us back 2-3 years is just laughable, an amateurish scare tactic from you that I'm sure your club wouldn't subscribe to.

If it's a choice between taking unders from Port, or us waiting a year and risking getting unders, then it's the latter every time as it comes with the added bonus of telling Port (and the rest of the competition) to GAGF if they're not dealing in good faith. Also, a year is a long time in footy - it's pretty likely that Port wouldn't be the only player if he's back on the market in a year.

So, how would you feel if your club offers a crap deal and misses out?

At least be realistic. Next you will say Rozee, Butters, Dursma and two first rounders for a 19y/o.

Your hurting I get it. he’s a 19 year old kid with homesickness. But jeez, worse than eagle supporters.

You’ll get two first rounders and Bergman, is honestly what I see happening. But JHF ain’t going to get you someone like Butters or Rozee and two first rounders.

North dogged Port for Ben Jacobs, refused to come to the table and knew what they were doing to get him basically free.

Don't play the victim here.
Huh? His value was clearly established as pick 37, that's what he went for in an open draft. And that's what we offered for him.