A Section 2010

Mal from Malvern posts and then Bruce from Balnarring posts, what's the chance of two usernames so similar posting after each other defending the other, about 1,000,000:1?

What's next Mal/Bruce, are you going to be Pete from Portsea or Basil from Behind?

Weatherley kicked around 300 goals in 2 years for Silvan in 08 and 09, and has played 4 games this year....is a BEAST.

No connection - you and Max don't seem to get it - I am not critical of Weatherley - I actually haven't said anything about him specifically - all I am saying is that once taking into account form and standard, Ramsden would be number 1, followed by Arnold 2. Weatherley would be 3. I say this as someone who has no affiliation to OT, OX or OI, something that Max cannot claim.

I wouldn't dismiss St Bedes just yet, Mal. They are a very good club with still a strong list despite the loss of a couple key players in successive years.

I think St Bedes style of play will counter the 'play on at all costs' and excessive numbers around the ball style of De La, and there wouldn't be a huge difference in the size of the two grounds.

I think it will come right down to the wire for these two proud and competitive clubs.

I wouldn't write then off either - I think they are a fantastic club and I think they have one of the most underrated coaches going around in Owen Lalor - the other one is the bloke from OM with the funny first name, Eldon? Leyden - I have heard very good things about him too. (I think his background is STBM too)

No connection - you and Max don't seem to get it - I am not critical of Weatherley - I actually haven't said anything about him specifically - all I am saying is that once taking into account form and standard, Ramsden would be number 1, followed by Arnold 2. Weatherley would be 3. I say this as someone who has no affiliation to OT, OX or OI, something that Max cannot claim.

Mal,

My issue isn't around the full forwards, there all big enough to look after themselves.

It was your dismissing of Paul Florance (I'm not related). Basic research would have unfolded a quality player who has the ability to player a higher grade. Simarily, I know nothing about Werribbee, but I still knew about Mr. Lee and his ability, and his suitablity for higher duties.

If newbie gets of Bigfooty and wants to disrespect champion footballers, albeit from lower grades, I tend to get testy.

The best teams are in A Grade, but the best players are filtered throughout the whole competition.

I am not going to waste any more time on this one Max - I made my position clear - I asked who he was - twice I think - I am not sure how that can equate to disrespecting someone - anyway, you've gone from criticising me for allegedly having a go at Weatherley (wrong) to now having a go at Florance (wrong again) - you're essentially dismissing my point of view (because I am not a Big Footy Member (only a newbie) yet at the same time seeking to criticise me for allegedly dismissing blokes playing at a level lower than Premier - do you see the problem here Max? - I am glad you have heaps of time to hang out on chat rooms talking about the minutiae on a number of sections in the VAFA to qualify you as a 'Big Footy Member' - good for you - I am satisfied with what I know about Premier football and don't need to prove it, unlike you.

I wouldn't write then off either - I think they are a fantastic club and I think they have one of the most underrated coaches going around in Owen Lalor - the other one is the bloke from OM with the funny first name, Eldon? Leyden - I have heard very good things about him too. (I think his background is STBM too)

I thinks it is Erwin (still funny name though) - also still perplexed as why Gilligan gave up the gig.

Cannot believe no one has picked up that this guy has taken 2 sides into higher grades and then resigns the next year...uuummm, nice for the CV but no good for the club,players or reputation to consolidate a team.

As BS said, great to have Mal from Malvern etc, can't wait for "Happy from Pakenham Upper" signing on.

2 questions Maxene.

1) Why wasn't Nicholson included in the squad.
2) Why is the VAFA Website so poor this year?

Mrs. Leader's response to the above.

1) Why wasn't the security guard watching Carl Williams, Who
Knows/Who cares. Why not pick an initial squad of 245, there would
still be a debate on who missed out!!!
2) The Website like everyone else is still having trouble with the name:
Premier A, Premier B etc.

No I haven't, but apparently he and Leyden ran 2009 as a joint effort - not sure why he/they didn't continue with that format this year and further, why he decided to take up coaching 19's. Time/work committment perhaps?

Was the other place he won a flag at Beauy?

Nice tin-foil hat there, Brian, but you have it wrong. I've been floating around these parts for about 3 years now, as my profile will attest. Don't really follow the Ammos, because I think it's pretty elitist. I did wander past the Junction on the weekend though and was interested to drop by and read any reaction to one of the greatest capitulations I have ever seen in football.

My name is not Bruce, and I am not from Balnarring. It was a name I invented when my family members begged me not to use my real name when ringing up radio stations.

The alliteration thing in names is not unusual and was made famous by the Coodabeen Champions. You'll find quite a few people use it. I can only assume Mal is a Coodabeen's fan, as I am. That said, I'll take your million to one if it's on offer.

As for Mal, if he has an interest in local footy at it's true grass roots level, and if he's really from Malvern, can I suggest he drop down to his local suburban club where he would be made most welcome, can suck on a cold beer whilst he watches a pretty good brand of footy, and where if you sling a good player a few bucks for playing you don't have to employ a team of accountants to bury that fact in the books.

My defence of Mal has less to do with Mal (he appears to be able to hold his own for a "newbie") and more to do with a growing distaste for online bullies. Who in real life goes around calling someone he doesn't know a moron and a pin head for expressing an opinion? It's spineless and wherever I see it I call it.

Early days. but here is a prediction.

1. Old Xavs - Most likely. Already shown they are there abouts. Always perform at seasons end.
2. De La - Have the game to blow teams away quickly. Burning desire from 09.
3. Uni Blues - Im liking what i see.
4. Collegians - Impossible to fault, but on paper i dont see them taking it out.
5. SBMT - Have a few to come back, but still tipping to just miss finals
6. OM's - Like what i have seen. Unlucky not to have won more.
7. Old Scotch - Thought they would do better. Seems they wont.
8 Old Trinity - Early wins will be important. Not strong.
9. OB's - I thought these guys would be better. Fail.
10. Marcellin.

a1005.gif

Still hanging on to my lead... just.

Firstly Sach is a top bloke and great umpire - very much undeserved abuse.

thats crap trott, he is a germ on the fine umpiring fraternity the VAFA have. i know wayno feels the same way too.
There has been an issue with SBMT and sacha since the 2006 grand final, which has never been dealt with by the Vafa and as such has been festering ever since.
incidents over the journey have included Benny Goodman personally coming down to 2006 SBMT mad monday to apoligise for sacha's performence (in light of the fact that sacha lived a couple of doors down from the AJAX president and had a good friendship with him)
also off field dramas where sacha had some drama with a player from SBMT extended family. numerous reports and on field issues culminating in last year's DLS game where sach was abusing SBMT players with comments along the lines of i hope i get you guys next week, ill make sure you lose. obviously there is an issue between club, supporters, players and umpire. the smartest thing the VAFA should have done is just schedule sacha to other games to avoid the situation that ocurred.
the umpires of the vafa are the best going around in suburban footy.
The penalty handed to matt is absurd especially the $1000 fine to the club. this is a club that won an award for their treatment of the umpires from the VAFAUA. The very ceremony that Sholly couldn't keep himself awake for the entirity of. overall the vafa have let this situation occur by sitting on their hands and doing nothing for 4 years and are now taking a tough stance against SBMT.

Yar!!!

My tips for this week are

Old Scotch - I swore I would not tip them again but surley they will beat Marc?
Coll - Should account for OT
OX - JUST over UB
DLS over SBMT going with the home team
OM's to beat OB

good luck bitches

Firstly Sach is a top bloke and great umpire - very much undeserved abuse.

thats crap trott, he is a germ on the fine umpiring fraternity the VAFA have. i know wayno feels the same way too.
There has been an issue with SBMT and sacha since the 2006 grand final, which has never been dealt with by the Vafa and as such has been festering ever since.
incidents over the journey have included Benny Goodman personally coming down to 2006 SBMT mad monday to apoligise for sacha's performence (in light of the fact that sacha lived a couple of doors down from the AJAX president and had a good friendship with him)
also off field dramas where sacha had some drama with a player from SBMT extended family. numerous reports and on field issues culminating in last year's DLS game where sach was abusing SBMT players with comments along the lines of i hope i get you guys next week, ill make sure you lose. obviously there is an issue between club, supporters, players and umpire. the smartest thing the VAFA should have done is just schedule sacha to other games to avoid the situation that ocurred.
the umpires of the vafa are the best going around in suburban footy.
The penalty handed to matt is absurd especially the $1000 fine to the club. this is a club that won an award for their treatment of the umpires from the VAFAUA. The very ceremony that Sholly couldn't keep himself awake for the entirity of. overall the vafa have let this situation occur by sitting on their hands and doing nothing for 4 years and are now taking a tough stance against SBMT.

well said son.
If all detail is true, youd think after the initial problem the VAFA would recognise the issue and make the simple decision that Sach doesnt umpire Bedes games?

1. Old Xavs - Most likely. Already shown they are there abouts. Always perform at seasons end.
4. Collegians - Impossible to fault, but on paper i dont see them taking it out.
10. Marcellin.

sounds close to the mark I reckon - watch UB though. I think they will make the GF.

How have you made this assumption?? Granted UB are a good team and they are always in the thick of it come sept, but saying that they have played OS, SBMT, OM, OB and OT. All of these bar SBMT and possibly OM are no good! This week will determine where UB are at as they are playing the class act of OX.

fair point but UB tend to start slowly (read somehow losing to OS rd 1 @ Uni) and warm up as the season goes - I think they have a good set up and the personnel to go ok. This week is indeed a test as it will be when they play DLS.

Jury still out on Collegians despite 5 - 0 and I am not sure why I feel that way.

Heading into rehab for a few weeks to dry out before the ski season schnapps onslaught so I'm putting in my tips for the next three rounds.

Round 6. winners: Scotch, Collegians, Uni Blues, DLS and OM's.

Round 7 winners: SBMT, Collegians, OM's, Uni Blues & OX

Round 8 winners: DLS, OX, OT, SBMT, Uni Blues.

The Whale.

10. Marcellin.

Reckon you've got the top four about right. Xavs haven't really hit their straps yet and DeLa still have a few who haven't taken the field yet. Duggan isn't far off I believe. If they were at decent odds I have a wager on the Blues for the flag at this point. Long way to go tho.

I recall sharing a beer or twenty with some of the Uni Blacks boys on their trip away back in 2007 after they had lost the B Section GF, and them talking about this umpire called Sacha that he had been injured prior to the GF but kept it quiet.... until he told his fellow umpire at half time that he was lame. From half time onwards he basically left his mate to umpire the game with him staying in the back third of the ground!

Wonder if he bought his partner a beer afterwards?

Anyway being umpire appreciation weekend..can I suggest if you run into the VAFA Umpires doyen 'Benny' that everyone give him a Dougie Bollinger type hair ruffling!!

5.00pm Happy Hour...woohooo

The Whale.