A Section A Section Amateur Football

Was down there today also and Diablo, your wrap was spot on mate. SBMT did very well and thought they did very well in the first half but the second half looked like they just played catchup footy, but the most obvious factor was the size difference. Other than that, SBMT will still do well, need to improve lots to challenge Xavs and blues but they have the pace but not the size, so those smaller sized teams will truggle against this outfit. Good to see SBMT do a bit of work on the ground over the summer to bring it up to scratch, was a pitifull ground last year and it looks the goods now. Well done to your commitee and both sides for a great days footy.

Seeing that next year ANZAC Day falls on a Saturday,and under the ANZAC Day Act says that no sport can be played until after 1pm, I'm just wondering will the VAFA allow seniors games only but no reserves games due to that law?

Great win for Scotch and it's even better to be able to say......

STBMT haven't lost at home since............ TODAY!!! Eagerly awaiting the vitriol of the Tigers big footy faithul..

All eyes on Toorak Park tomorrow......... Will be a belter!!

Seeing that next year ANZAC Day falls on a Saturday,and under the ANZAC Day Act says that no sport can be played until after 1pm, I'm just wondering will the VAFA allow seniors games only but no reserves games due to that law?

I'm guessing they will do whatever it was that they did today to allow the reserves to play next year ;)

Lads, I was there today and was impressed with Scotch BUT St Bedes had 6 changes through injury from last week, which made it 12 walk up firsts players not available and then had Groves break his arm or similar and lost Kinsella in the first 10 mins of the match. St Bedes were very young, and it looked like boys vs men physically, which of course it mostly was.
Lawrence wasnt sent off, it was Thompson for Old Scotch.
Doherty was very good with 6 majors, Lawrence was excellent and BOG in my book, followed closely by Quaill.
Fly McCrae made his debut for Scotch also and worked his way into the game, will be a great player for them. They had no Houlihan who is obviously a great talent.
All in all a great day with both teams lots to look forward to this year.

Great win for Scotch and it's even better to be able to say......

STBMT haven't lost at home since............ TODAY!!! Eagerly awaiting the vitriol of the Tigers big footy faithul..

All eyes on Toorak Park tomorrow......... Will be a belter!!

Wait for nothing. We were beaten by a better team and am happy to admit it so f$ck off back to B Grade idiot.

There were 1200 people at the Mentone ground and it's the best place to watch good footy, up close and personal with the best service.

collegians got up by 12 points over OX. Collegians 70 over OX 58. Great game, Watts came home with 4 OX did well to block up the hole to stop him.

Was down there today also and Diablo, your wrap was spot on mate. SBMT did very well and thought they did very well in the first half but the second half looked like they just played catchup footy, but the most obvious factor was the size difference. Other than that, SBMT will still do well, need to improve lots to challenge Xavs and blues but they have the pace but not the size, so those smaller sized teams will truggle against this outfit. Good to see SBMT do a bit of work on the ground over the summer to bring it up to scratch, was a pitifull ground last year and it looks the goods now. Well done to your commitee and both sides for a great days footy.
Yes I agree, St Bedes need a few more taller players to survive in A Grade. Out marked for most of the day.

Lads, I was there today and was impressed with Scotch BUT St Bedes had 6 changes through injury from last week, which made it 12 walk up firsts players not available and then had Groves break his arm or similar and lost Kinsella in the first 10 mins of the match. St Bedes were very young, and it looked like boys vs men physically, which of course it mostly was.
Lawrence wasnt sent off, it was Thompson for Old Scotch.
Doherty was very good with 6 majors, Lawrence was excellent and BOG in my book, followed closely by Quaill.
Fly McCrae made his debut for Scotch also and worked his way into the game, will be a great player for them. They had no Houlihan who is obviously a great talent.
All in all a great day with both teams lots to look forward to this year.
agree brian. the omission of rat wintle alone is a big out. apparently was up at byron sucking pina colada's and praying for huey whilst the boys got a workover. Add in poynton Groves (When fit) and i think the large fields of sportscover arena will suit the tigers as have proved in the past. Beware st bedes who are well coached and would not write them off!

Old Scotch 2008.We all wrote them of but gee i was impressed with their ball movement and how hard they were at ball.

Went to the game thinking St Bedes would win but Scotch were good.Their New Coach was impressive,had great matchups and speaking to a bloke on the hill,he said they had a couple out which would make their side even better.

St Bedes had 7 changes this week, all due to injury. This win proves the depth of the club. They were up by 50 points mid way through the last quarter, ran out of legs. Were far to hard at the ball, and really did "smash" the blues.

I had a feeling STBM would feel the effect of missing players due to injuries etc... not too many clubs can afford to miss up to 7 players as Spitz pointed out last week and remain 'un-affected'... I see the STBM ressies won easily this week... were the injured players from last week back in the 2's??

By the way, for the first time this year I picked STBM for a win and they get rolled! This tipping caper is tricky business... I love it!

Have to agree with Brian Speaking having Lawrence as BOG, still scratching my head as to why he was left alone so often. Doherty was a fantastic target up forward and has a seriously high leap. Thought Lorenzini was stiff not to pick up any votes.

a0803.gif

I predicted Blacks in a close one over Trinity, result went the other way. Very good game, only a couple of kicks in it throughout.

Tipping has not been easy this year.

The question is, have we found some form lines for the rest of the season? or is it all yet to settle down?

is anyone going to ever get near collegians? another easy win for the boys from the trott on the weekend... the train keeps rolling.

Arnold misses a sitter from 20 out to put OX 3 points up with 8 mins to go.
Anyones game half way through the last. So your "easy win" probably wasn't.

Arnold misses a sitter from 20 out to put OX 3 points up with 8 mins to go.
Anyones game half way through the last. So your "easy win" probably wasn't.

I think he looked up and saw a look a like of "Strawny" standing between the big sticks and it might have put him off!

SBMT have used 32 players so far this year, roughly 4 more than any other side in A grade...

how'd the SBMT boys go on the heart rate monitors on the weekend? GPS, how many interchanges, did the coach operate from the sidelines or up in the box? what about ice vests this week? might get above 22 degrees. any plans for some bonding sessions at the movies in the coming weeks, might be worth thinking about just to get that extra edge. what about breakdown on injury types: hamstrings vs knees vs shoulders, that type of thing. perhaps the ground surface down there predisposes certain injuries. that would be worth having a look at. do you guys train tuesday, thursday nights, or 2pm in the afternoon to simulate match day conditions?

is anyone going to ever get near collegians? another easy win for the boys from the trott on the weekend... the train keeps rolling.

Was there on the weekend and wouldn't say Collegians are as good as people like you think they are! Xavs played some pretty average footy and skill errors. I think Collegians played as well as they could have and Xavs way below par.

On Fergus Watts, does this bloke think that just because he played a few AFL games that he get's special treatment from the boys in white?

TOOOOOL

Was there on the weekend and wouldn't say Collegians are as good as people like you think they are! Xavs played some pretty average footy and skill errors. I think Collegians played as well as they could have and Xavs way below par.

On Fergus Watts, does this bloke think that just because he played a few AFL games that he get's special treatment from the boys in white?

Not only that, Everytime he didn't get hit on the tit, he seemed to kick and scream at his "TEAM MATES"

Grow up Furgy you Sook.

I think he looked up and saw a look a like of "Strawny" standing between the big sticks and it might have put him off!

Lions won fair and square but not easy. And yes jogger I saw strauchnie there too. Good paddock that bloke. At one stage I heard him yelling at the umpires and using unsavoury language.

Not only that, Everytime he didn't get hit on the tit, he seemed to kick and scream at his "TEAM MATES"

Grow up Furgy you Sook.[/QUOTE]

I think you'll find he was telling his teamates "NOT" to kick it to him when he had 3 blokes sitting on him...