• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

A Section A Section Amateur Football

brian speaking said:
Big news Slayer, they will be joined by Old Ivanhoe if that is the case. I heard from my spies at Scotch that Ivanhoes president was complaing about the fact that they have lost their forward line this year, as well as George Haros. I also believe Scotch had 15 players not playing on the weekend(may be not true) and that the G traiin palyed CHF for a half for some exercise. DAG could probably fill us in but the odds of De La staying up are improving daily.

Brannigan broke his ankle last week and is out for the season. That won't help OI chances!

brian speaking said:
Big news Slayer, they will be joined by Old Ivanhoe if that is the case. I heard from my spies at Scotch that Ivanhoes president was complaing about the fact that they have lost their forward line this year, as well as George Haros. I also believe Scotch had 15 players not playing on the weekend(may be not true) and that the G traiin palyed CHF for a half for some exercise. DAG could probably fill us in but the odds of De La staying up are improving daily.

The best thing about De La staying in A-Grade is the club's proximity to Dairy Bell. I'm sure all A-Section people would be happy to take an easy 4 points and a chocolate sundae home from them on a more regular basis.

Slay Master G said:
Big rumour for the VAFA forum.

The Big Cat Brent Walsh may have walked out on Old Trinity.

He was spotted running around with UNSW-ES down in Wollongong on Saturday and was quoted as saying that OT's had burnt him like a greasy sausage, especially the club's VAFA delegate and known Big Footy pest, who he said is the biggest rooster going around.

Surely OTs can't cover the loss of the Cat and Champ up forward. Could find themselves in B section next year....

Check your sources SMG, that alleged VAFA delegate and BF pest is certainly a rooster, but the remains of your post are of dubious authenticity. The only sausages getting burnt at Bulleen this week will be those at the post-Old Ivanhoe PM sizzle and jumper presentation. ;)

Scribe said:
Check your sources SMG, that alleged VAFA delegate and BF pest is certainly a rooster, but the remains of your post are of dubious authenticity. The only sausages getting burnt at Bulleen this week will be those at the post-Old Ivanhoe PM sizzle and jumper presentation. ;)
Scribe,

I was back in the harbour city last weekend so sent a text to the BC for an Extraordinary Big Footy General Meeting at Cargo Bar. He replied that he was in Wollongong so would not be able to make it.

Sounds like there might be more fact in this story than first thought.

brian speaking said:

Oh how quickly news spreads. Branigan will be out for the first part of the season but should be right by finals time. We were pretty close to full strength on the weekend and have one injury concern from the game.

Nobody can replace the great George Haros. A legendary career for the Brown and White and we all wish him the best in the future. I'm sure there are some G Haros haters out there, but deep down they know that they would have loved there own 'Disco'. 221 games, 4 time premiership player, 1990's OIGFC Team of the Decade and OIGFC Team of the Century. Truely a great Old Ivanhoe Person and great Amateur Footballer.

I believe the G Train played CHF because he was concerned about a slight quad strain. The explosive movements out of FF would have caused him some worry.

Destination A Grade said:
Oh how quickly news spreads. Branigan will be out for the first part of the season but should be right by finals time. We were pretty close to full strength on the weekend and have one injury concern from the game.

Nobody can replace the great George Haros. A legendary career for the Brown and White and we all wish him the best in the future. I'm sure there are some G Haros haters out there, but deep down they know that they would have loved there own 'Disco'. 221 games, 4 time premiership player, 1990's OIGFC Team of the Decade and OIGFC Team of the Century. Truely a great Old Ivanhoe Person and great Amateur Footballer.

I believe the G Train played CHF because he was concerned about a slight quad strain. The explosive movements out of FF would have caused him some worry.

I suppose if you call the first 15 games the "first part of the season", then your right!

I'nm sure you were shattered that big James played CHF on the weekend DAG, and yes, Haros was liked Rombotis, opposition sides and supporters hated him but would have had him in their side in a heartbeat. Is it true that he is playing soccer this year?

Brian, I heard he might have a crack at soccer, but I'm not sure. He was down on Saturday, but didn't get to have a long chat with him.

I'd never played a Scotch team with the G Train in it, so at the start I thought I was playing on him. Soon learnt I wasn't, but looks like he can play a bit.

Brian, I heard he might have a crack at soccer, but I'm not sure. He was down on Saturday, but didn't get to have a long chat with him.

I'd never played a Scotch team with the G Train in it, so at the start I thought I was playing on him. Soon learnt I wasn't, but looks like he can play a bit.

He is a freak, kicked 12 and 11 against us last year, winning margins were 70 points and 64 points.

I'd never played a Scotch team with the G Train in it, so at the start I thought I was playing on him. Soon learnt I wasn't, but looks like he can play a bit.[/quote]

DAG, in all your years of being the backbone of the Poo Browns defence, who has been the toughest forward you've had to play on?

peter__andre said:
DAG, in all your years of being the backbone of the Poo Browns defence, who has been the toughest forward you've had to play on?

Hard to say. I probably looked forward to playing on Hawkins the most. He was quick, damaging when shooting at goal and you could play anywhere from inside the goal square to the wing. Had some ding-dong battles too. He is the bloke i've probably played on the most.

Lowcock (Uni) is pretty handy.

Played on Greig (OT) only once and was going OK until Johnny Stevens (who was injured and running water) ran out and gave him a bake. Well, i've never seen a man fire up more. He kept leading towards our bench and marking everything. Ten minutes later he had 4 shots on goal and had kicked three. Everytime he got it he would spin around, look for Johnny and return the bake.

Last time we were in A Grade there seemed to be a gun every week, and no two were ever the same. I guess it will be much the same this year. Lucas and Garvey (St K) when going were hard to stop.

As a forward the hardest defender would have to be that Bret Thornton lookalike from OI who is featured at the top of the VAFA website homepage.

Always manages to get those sausage arms in the way to spoil.

Hard to say. I probably looked forward to playing on Hawkins the most. He was quick, damaging when shooting at goal and you could play anywhere from inside the goal square to the wing. Had some ding-dong battles too. He is the bloke i've probably played on the most.

Lowcock (Uni) is pretty handy.

Played on Greig (OT) only once and was going OK until Johnny Stevens (who was injured and running water) ran out and gave him a bake. Well, i've never seen a man fire up more. He kept leading towards our bench and marking everything. Ten minutes later he had 4 shots on goal and had kicked three. Everytime he got it he would spin around, look for Johnny and return the bake.

Last time we were in A Grade there seemed to be a gun every week, and no two were ever the same. I guess it will be much the same this year. Lucas and Garvey (St K) when going were hard to stop.

DAG, was it you or Toovey who played on Chard 3 years ago in round 17 and he kicked 6 in the last quarter from FF to snatch the win out at Pine Lodge?
Garvey will be solid at FF in B this year, can play.

Not sure who it was. Doubt it was Toovey, so i guess that makes it me.

Is Garvey still kicking around?? He kicked about 2.5 in a quarter on me at Righetti last time we played there.

Not sure who it was. Doubt it was Toovey, so i guess that makes it me.

Is Garvey still kicking around?? He kicked about 2.5 in a quarter on me at Righetti last time we played there.
yeah, Garv has just hit the big 30, claims he has another 5 yrs in him.

Lachy Ford last night stood down as Xav's skipper. Any tips on who will be his replacement?

My money is on Ruygy. Not an old boy, but an excellent player, strong leader and a ripper of a bloke.

barrybogan said:
Lachy Ford last night stood down as Xav's skipper. Any tips on who will be his replacement?

My money is on Ruygy. Not an old boy, but an excellent player, strong leader and a ripper of a bloke.

Word is they lured that spanner Fleming with the captaincy. Is he playing? Ruygy would be a better proposition.

froggie6 said:
Word is they lured that spanner Fleming with the captaincy. Is he playing? Ruygy would be a better proposition.

Fleming is not playing at OX, McDonald has gone to Caulfied in SFL, Purss to Werribee and Graham may not be playing at OX either as he has not got the job he was promised. Is it all cloak and daggers down at TP?

brian speaking said:
Fleming is not playing at OX, McDonald has gone to Caulfied in SFL, Purss to Werribee and Graham may not be playing at OX either as he has not got the job he was promised. Is it all cloak and daggers down at TP?

BS - What makes you think Fleming is not playing at OX?

brian speaking said:

I'm surprised you're still posting here. Those lawyers must have shaken you a bit!

Haven't you got w*nkers cramp yet? Do actually think before you type and then read it before you hit the "submit reply" button?

You have too much to say for someone with zero credibility.

OXFC said:
I'm surprised you're still posting here. Those lawyers must have shaken you a bit!

Haven't you got w*nkers cramp yet? Do actually think before you type and then read it before you hit the "submit reply" button?

You have too much to say for someone with zero credibility.
Gee, strong reaction. So you are saying none of the above is true? Me thinks you protest to much. I suppose we will see round one wont we.

brian speaking said:
Gee, strong reaction. So you are saying none of the above is true? Me thinks you protest to much. I suppose we will see round one wont we.

No protestations, just a statement of fact and some rhetorical questions.

If you have any credibility, why did your Old Camb post get removed and you were forced to apologise?

brian speaking said:
He is a freak, kicked 12 and 11 against us last year, winning margins were 70 points and 64 points.

A freak? Hardly. Measure the quality of opposition, and there apparently wasn't much down at Monga Road last year.