ABC doco: 3 boys dreaming

His comments regarding the Young and Jackson pub were " stand outside the Young and Jackson pub at 5 pm and have a look ...and then you ask yourself why would you want to live here ? " and you know what ..i totally agreed with him on that point of view....some people are not cut out for the hustle and bustle (see rat race) and thats their perogative..i for one would never trade the fresh air and greenery of Tassie for the City life.

But i agree that his old man and Grand father were possibly drinkers ..i don't think you can attach blame on them for the young blokes lack of drive and common sense regarding life style.

I'm not sure anyone would want to live outside Y&J's at 5pm. It's a bloody stupid comment from a narrow minded individual. If he wanted to make it he had to move. Simple as that.

Jago looks to have been surrounded by these kind of influences, people full of advice but no experiences to draw from themselves. The kid had the talent, but no one to push him.

I'm not sure anyone would want to live outside Y&J's at 5pm. It's a bloody stupid comment from a narrow minded individual. If he wanted to make it he had to move. Simple as that.

Jago looks to have been surrounded by these kind of influences, people full of advice but no experiences to draw from themselves. The kid had the talent, but no one to push him.

Sorry that you don't have the comprehension levels to understand what he meant :eek:

Yes the Father should have up rooted himself and taken the boy to a major city to further his footy career...but if the young bloke didn't have the drive to succeed then you can't instill that in them ....when you get a bit older and have kids of your own you may understand .

The whole College is a wonderful concept ..and should be recognized for the great work they do . :thumbsu:

The concept is way bigger than just Clontarf itself:
Since opening its first Academy for 25 boys on the campus of the Clontarf Aboriginal College in Perth, Western Australia in 2000, the Foundation has grown rapidly and has been consistently successful.

We now cater for over 2,200 boys in 36 schools across Western Australia, Northern Territory and Victoria.
There are broad social benefits resulting from the programs, with statistical and anecdotal evidence of improved educational attendance and outcomes.

In particular, students involved in our programs achieve the following outcomes
• Attendance at school greater than 80%
• Re-enter education after prolonged absences
• Year on year retention at school – not less than 90% (well above state averages)
• Enhanced self-esteem and self awareness
• Knowledge and experience gained to make healthy lifestyle decisions
• Set goals and persevere to achieve them
• Reduced cases of criminal re-offending
• Improved academic results (basic literacy and numeracy through to high school graduation)
• A greater understanding of, and access to, the employment opportunities available to them
• More than 75% of Clontarf graduates engaged in employment

http://www.clontarffootball.com/

There are lessons to be learned from the doco.

Watching Daen's mother talk on the Bullying posy his withdrawal from the U16 I just thought it was "the thin end of the wedge". If only , I thought , he could have been in another environment , perhaps like Clontarf he would have received better guidance. Then within seconds I realized I was starting down the path of a Stolen Generation type mind set. No doubt the kid was a cocky, brash kid but plenty with that attitude have become champion AFL players. Its a tragedy that he missed his chance.

Jago reminded me of so many kids that do it easy thru juniors. No training , bad habits tolerated and laughed at because of his ability yet as he progressed he lacked the resolve that less talented players learn to develop. Its why IMO some kids fail as early picks yet other become champs from Rookies. The level of natural advantage runs out somewhere and for him it was U16. Its just so much easier being the big fish in the little pond dreaming about what it would have been like but never willing to pay the price.

The unfortunate part is these two are probably only a very small part of the collateral damage our system causes. There's probably plenty that make it and get burned just as bad. The Ezra Bray story I read once was one that I found sad and a degree of guilt as he was drafted to our club.

Heres a link i found about the ezra bray story
http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=1435

I watched the 3 boys dreaming documentary a few nights ago and i found it very insightful. Daniel Jago seemed to have the world at his feet as a junior but the downfall came for him when he had the bad U16 tournament when he was playing as a 2nd year. Also playing in the country environment he got distracted by the social pressures of just playing for mates and to have a beer/smoke/party after the game. In hindsight he should've taken the opportunity to move over to Vic but the distractions of girls/friends/country lifestyle swayed him from the AFL dream. Ultimately i think in his head he knew that he needed to move but he took his natural ability for granted and forgot that time is of the essence and by the time he realized this it was already 2 late.

Similarly with Lomas instead of going over to Brisbane he backed out and tried to assure himself that 'theres plenty of time there'll be other chances' etc. kind of attitude. He just needed someone to force him to go or at least give him some strong advice instead of leaving the choice entirely up to him. You could tell he had a better work ethic then Jago though since he was lifting weights and doing endurance work everyday. After staying in Sydney he fell victim to bad circumstances with his dads reunion/death and all the issues that arose from that, which led him to neglecting football.

With Yarren he could've succumbed to all the distractions that the others did but he was more focussed/motivated and seemed to have better support structures/environments in place then the others. He also listened to advice from his dad of 'not getting distracted by girls' and stuff like that so end of the day he's in AFL while others still reminiscing about their lost dreams.

Guess like every1 else said it just shows that it's not just about being physically gifted and football talented but also about being strong mentally in order to crack pro sports.

Sorry that you don't have the comprehension levels to understand what he meant :eek:

Yes the Father should have up rooted himself and taken the boy to a major city to further his footy career...but if the young bloke didn't have the drive to succeed then you can't instill that in them ....when you get a bit older and have kids of your own you may understand .

I'm old enough and have been around enough to comprehend the issues involved thank you very much.

The comment reflects an attitude that was supported by other aspects of the young fella's family, such as comments regarding him not training over summer becauase it would burn him out when it was obvious that all the other kids were doing it, and the attitude towards the kid after he fell off the radar, almost to the point of his father turning on him.

The kid needed positive support to help instill the drive in him. The comment regarding Flinders St is a reflection of a small town, small outlook attitude in his primary support group which assisted in stymying his delvelopment as a person and a footballer. It was obvious that there were others that wanted to help him, from the Saints (?) senior coach to the U/16 Tas coach, but without the support of his family and with his already laisse fair attitude he stood no chance of making it.

It is a contrast in comparison to Yarran, who had a very grounded mother supporting him and the Clontarf academy which provided him with both footballing and life mentors.

Awesome doco which should be shown to all junior rep teams. Had to feel sympathetic towards Daen. Obviously a lovely kid with heaps of talent who really needed a strong father figure.

Note that I am a Carlton supporter, but gee the job they've done with Yarran is exceptional.
When you listen to his CFCTV interview, he is so confident and so much more polished.
To see where he has come from to now, it really is a success story for all involved with him from 14yo and beyond.

Here's hoping 2011 is a genuine 'breakout' year in the vein of Dale Thomas 2010.

If only , I thought , he could have been in another environment , perhaps like Clontarf he would have received better guidance. Then within seconds I realized I was starting down the path of a Stolen Generation type mind set.

That black armband is cutting off the circulation to your brain.

If going to Clontarf would of led to a better life, thats all that should matter.

That black armband is cutting off the circulation to your brain.

If going to Clontarf would of led to a better life, thats all that should matter.

Mate , I have no idea what that means. Perhaps I didn't explain myself properly. I felt myself think if only someone could have steped in and moved the kid for his long term betterment and all I was alluding to was that even when attempting to do what's in his best interest of someone , (setting up a better life) it can all come a gutsa and when looked at with 20/20 rearvision one looks to contributed to a problem rather than eliminate it.If the kid was moved and then went of the rails , it would be easy to say then say then move contributed etc. One may think , if his mother had pushed it may have been good for him but I doubt every kid that goes to Contarf ends up a benchmark for their society.

ABC doco: 3 boys dreaming