List Mgmt. Ablett to move to Gold Coast

What a load of palpable nonsense d_h. Bomber made his intentions clear well in advance so the club can plan for his probable departure. He has no need or responsibility to do anymore. What a pity not everyone is so open and honest. You really are clutching at straws. A suggestion - deal with your denial issues re Gaz before drawing ludicrous comparisons.

Here's an interesting decision that Bomber needs to make. Brenton Sanderson has been appointed as Bomber's successor. But he is also favourite for the Port Adelaide job. Now, I think Sando will stay at Geelong if Bomber definitley leaves after 2011 as touted. However, Bomber may be having second thoughts and staying, meaning that Thommo needs to make a decision, stay or go, before next season, so Sando knows what he is doing. Maybe Thommo should be pressured into a decision, like Ablett is by him. It is just as unfair if Thommo stuffs Sando around as he claims that Ablett stuffs him around.

He already has announced his decision,so I don't see how you can compare him to sooky boy Ablett.

Gaz needs to take a good hard look at his team mates before sooking like he did..
Jimmy Bartel - Played across half back last year, instead of the midfield where he won a brownlow..
James Kelly - Played in back pocket last year, instead of his preferred midfield..
Boris - Playing in the back line when he could easily hold down a midfield spot..
Chappy - Playing mostly in the forward line, when he is dying to get in the midfield...

What do the players mentioned above have in common? They are happy to play their role for the team, even if it means sacrificing their own game.

If Gaz goes, in 10 years he will regret it. The short term money would be well and truly outweighed in the long term by Geelong people if he stayed, so money isn't that big of a difference. Gaz's apparent short sightedness at this is stupid.
Seems the Ablett selfishness gene still runs strong.. As well as the bad business decisions one!

If a player started his career at a club and has played a specific period of time at the club (say 150-200 games), a salary cap concession should exist so the club can keep them if they wish to stay. The Lebron case is different, money was not the issue - he wanted success. With Ablett money is the key issue. I do know the NBA has a similar idea.

:thumbsu: Top post.

If Gaz goes, in 10 years he will regret it. The short term money would be well and truly outweighed in the long term by Geelong people if he stayed, so money isn't that big of a difference. Gaz's apparent short sightedness at this is stupid.
Seems the Ablett selfishness gene still runs strong.. As well as the bad business decisions one!
100% agree.

Mate, you want to talk about socialism, free agency is the very epitome of capitalism in action ;)

It is, but Vlad wants Premiership Socialism where each side wins a premiership every 16-18 years. A dominant side is not good for business, unless it's an expansion team like GC.

He does have a role and he plays it pretty damn well. It's only since Bomber has become bitter and changing Ablett's role that his performance has gone down hill.

Ablett is playing the same way he has been playing for the last 3 years. Call me a conspiracy theorist but I think Bomber only seems to have a problem with it now and is punishing him because of his contract situation.

Of course winning a flag is the top priority, but Ablett spending as much time in the forward line as he currently is could be the reason we don't win it this year.

Its not about punishing him, it's about coaching a team to win. Don't get caught up in media hype and believe Bomber would risk winning a premiership to "punish" a player.

For over 3 years I've heard senior players talking about everyone playing their role being the reason we're succesful. That doesn't instantly change because Gaj may leave.

Look at it from the angle of Enright playing in the middle being more important for the team long term. Look at it as top opposition where we had no clean hands up forward all day so Chapman and Gaj are moved forward.

But don't look at it as punishment because a player acts like a schoolgirl who didn't get to play Goal Attack at netball....

Is this thing still going??? ;)

Gaz _________ __________ going _____, ______ ____ Pickering, _____ money___________ ____ whinging ____ selfish. Gold Coast _____ _______ ______. Can't blame ___ _______, ____ after football .

Bomber ______ _____ __ Selwood, ___ _______ career player.

But maybe ______ ____ __ pressure ____ ___, ___ not fair. Gaz __ _____ bleeds blue and white ____ __________. ______ frustration ____ ________ damage the club ____ __.

Gaz _________ __________ going _____, ______ ____ Pickering, _____ money___________ ____ whinging ____ selfish. Gold Coast _____ _______ ______. Can't blame ___ _______, ____ after football .

Bomber ______ _____ __ Selwood, ___ _______ career player.

But maybe ______ ____ __ pressure ____ ___, ___ not fair. Gaz __ _____ bleeds blue and white ____ __________. ______ frustration ____ ________ damage the club ____ __.

I was never good at filling in the blank exercises in primary school. Perhaps if I had a list of words to choose from, I could do it through a process of elimination.

It's a shame that we see the telltale signs of coach-player relationship degradation on a weekly basis now.

Thompson trying to show Ablett who's boss and Ablett shaking his head in dissent.

And then Thompson routinely avoiding Ablett for AFLCA Player of the Year votes. Ablett wasn't amazing, but he was better than Selwood.

I really wish Ablett and Thompson would have a mature discussion about seeing the year out with respect and dignity.

Here are the coaches' votes
6. Selwood
5. Bartel
4. Stokes
4. Gilham
4. Franklin
4. Rioli
3. Chapman

I reckon Clarkson would have been more aware of the damage Bartel was doing so I reckon it was Thompson who gave Selwood five.

Is his voting affected by his own wish-thinking that committed-reliable-signed-up-Selwood is more valuable than Ablett? (Or Bartel in this instance...wtf?)

Please say it ain't so. You guys are paid professionals. Don't play favourites. Work it out.

It's a shame that we see the telltale signs of coach-player relationship degradation on a weekly basis now.

Thompson trying to show Ablett who's boss and Ablett shaking his head in dissent.

And then Thompson routinely avoiding Ablett for AFLCA Player of the Year votes. Ablett wasn't amazing, but he was better than Selwood.

I really wish Ablett and Thompson would have a mature discussion about seeing the year out with respect and dignity.

Here are the coaches' votes
6. Selwood
5. Bartel
4. Stokes
4. Gilham
4. Franklin
4. Rioli
3. Chapman

I reckon Clarkson would have been more aware of the damage Bartel was doing so I reckon it was Thompson who gave Selwood five.

Is his voting affected by his own wish-thinking that committed-reliable-signed-up-Selwood is more valuable than Ablett? (Or Bartel in this instance...wtf?)

Please say it ain't so. You guys are paid professionals. Don't play favourites. Work it out.

Going by that are you also saying that Clarkson has it in for Ablett as well? He didn't give him any votes either - maybe he wasn't in the top 5 for the day?..

Bomber is paid to win games of football. Ablett, as with all other players, is paid to play according to the coaches instructions. In an earlier post someone listed the other players who have been played in unaccustomed positions in the interests of the team and done so without sooking. Chappy was asked to perform a similar role to Ablett on Saturday and did it without blinking an eye – as he always does.

Garry Lyon said on Footy Classified last night Bomber's moves re Ablett were more than justified. Unfortunately I think Gaz, like his father, wants to do do things his way. I just wish we could inculcate Jimmehs team ethos into him.

Interesting, not surprised Ablett didnt get any votes. His disposal was pretty inevective. I put that down to the pressure applied by Hawthorn (Bateman)

Im not sure who would have given Selwood 5 and who would have given Bartel 5 but it means someone didnt give Bartel a vote. Which is ridiculous! Surely Thompson would have given him a vote?

I would have thought it would have panned out like this;

Thompson
5 Bartel
4 Stokes
3 Rioli
2 Franklin
1 Selwood

Clarkson
5 Selwood
4 Gilham
3 Chapman
2 Franklin
1 Rioli

Going by that are you also saying that Clarkson has it in for Ablett as well? He didn't give him any votes either - maybe he wasn't in the top 5 for the day?..

Fair point about Ablett. I wasn't surprised by his omission.

Merely wondering out loud about Thompson's overestimation of Selwood's performance in the context of habitual omission of Ablett.

Thompson gave Selly 1. !!
You can't knock that.

Im not sure who would have given Selwood 5 and who would have given Bartel 5 but it means someone didnt give Bartel a vote. Which is ridiculous! Surely Thompson would have given him a vote?

Of course we're all guessing. You might be right.

Selwood was typical Selwood. Bartel was dangerous from the outset though and you can imagine the feedback coming through Clarkson's headset: four shots on goal, eight marks, eight tackles, seventeen kicks...

Fair point about Ablett. I wasn't surprised by his omission.

Merely wondering out loud about Thompson's overestimation of Selwood's performance in the context of habitual omission of Ablett.

Yeah, but it is entirely possible they gave him 3 and 3. or a 4 and 2 or as the other guy posted it might of been Clarkson who gave him a 5.

EDIT: Below posts straightens this out.

Actually its impossible. Looking at the total votes the only scenario is one coach gave Bartel 5 and the other gave Selwood 5.

Granted. It still is possible that Clarkson gave Selwood the 5 thou (as you mentioned).

In any case, Ablett wasn't in the top 5 for either coach and this is fair enough.

This discussion is getting about as relevant as the Miami Lebron one.

I don't pay attention to anything the media says.

On the weekend it was not about Ablett playing the role the team needed at all. Did you hear Chapman's interview on Footy Classified last night?

He said that Bomber said to the midfield group, "If you're not going to respect your opponents in the middle then I'll find someone who will". After that break, Ablett went forward and Enright started in the middle.

It's not the first time Bomber has brought up criticism of Ablett not paying any respect to his opponents this year, either, so it's definitely not about Ablett playing a different role for the better of the team.

It's about Bomber cracking the shits and finding a reason to get angry at Ablett when in reality, had Ablett signed a contract Bomber wouldn't be on his case about the way he plays and has been playing for the last 3 years.

There is a clear rift between the two. It's as plain as day.

Rubberducky nailed this earlier today - anyone who thinks Bomber's happy to cruel our chances of 2010 premiership glory to 'punish' Junior is completely delusional.

According to your own post, Bomber delivered his message to the ENTIRE midfield group - he then put GAJ and Chappy on the forward line at the start of the last. Why are you not on here outlining Bomber's irrational hatred for Gaz AND Chappy?

#35 has been sensational for us through the midfield this year, but he's happy (like at least 20 other blokes on the team) to play where he's instructed to help the team succeed.

Can only hope that Gaz feels the same way (sadly, all indications from the huddle on Saturday suggest that's not always the case).

All these suggestions of how much Bomber has 'lost it' seem to conveniently ignore the amount of vitriol that's poured out here by those who feel strongly either way.

Many people have strong feelings about this issue - to suggest that the supporters here are keeping it together better than the man in charge at the Cattery doesn't square with the facts at all.

The team is improving, and building with purpose towards another massive finals series. That's the reality. There's also been great signs this year of the club building towards the next generation of long-term players for the hoops.

In the midst of the way the club is delivering on the field, the insinuation that Bomber is working to bring down Junior (and doesn't care how it damages the clus as he does so) deserves derision.

Well said, sir!!
Bomber has way too much class and nous to wreck our chances over a childish vendetta. If he is singling out Gaz I would say it would be because he is not fulfilling his role within the team. Let's not forget that one thing we desperately need to do is re-invent ourselves and also not give too much away.
No doubt in my mind that it was a conscious decision not to play Enright on Rioli and Scarlo on Franklin full-time.
They had a short burst and proved yet again that if required they can take them out of the game, but didn't give the Hawks any opportunity to learn how to break the shackles.
Gaz got his Brownlow, as did Bartel. There are a number of players in our team who may be good enough to win that honour if allowed the space by outr other mid-fielders, but Gary cannot expect that we are gonna offer a free ride if he refuses to commit to the team or adhere to team rules.

Well said, sir!!
Bomber has way too much class and nous to wreck our chances over a childish vendetta. If he is singling out Gaz I would say it would be because he is not fulfilling his role within the team. Let's not forget that one thing we desperately need to do is re-invent ourselves and also not give too much away.
No doubt in my mind that it was a conscious decision not to play Enright on Rioli and Scarlo on Franklin full-time.
They had a short burst and proved yet again that if required they can take them out of the game, but didn't give the Hawks any opportunity to learn how to break the shackles.
Gaz got his Brownlow, as did Bartel. There are a number of players in our team who may be good enough to win that honour if allowed the space by outr other mid-fielders, but Gary cannot expect that we are gonna offer a free ride if he refuses to commit to the team or adhere to team rules.

I think you're totally right about this. It achieves two things:

(1) Reinforces our belief that we have killer match-ups for these gamebreaking players.
(2) Gives our developing players a chance to try and match it with some of the game's best - massive for their development. Tommy has come so far this season down back because he's getting repeat exposure to playing on really damaging players.

Our coaching staff get an A+ from me for their consistent desire to do this - even if it makes circumstances in games harder to control. The development that it's producing in our players is easy to see.

How Gary's being treated this season fits in with this philosophy - if he wants to stay ;), he needs to get used to it.

Keep the faith,
S.

Sorry, just had to add...found it hilarious to see how easily Buddy was totally frustrated when Scarlo blanketed him in the third. And the complete non-reaction to Buddy's histrionics from Scarlo...gold!