Traded Adam Cerra traded to Carlton for pick #6 and F3

If he leaves (as widely reported), what will Freo get in return?

• Two good 1st round picks

• Top 10 pick and change

• A 1st & a 2nd

• Later 1st rounder

• Two 2nd rounders

• Early 2nd rounder

• Other 2nd round pick

• Less than a 2nd rounder

Results are only viewable after voting.

Although the Saad deal was clearly overs, it does show to opposition clubs, players and their agents that Carlton (rightly or wrongly) are prepared to get the deal done.

Anyhow Cerra does not want to play for Melbourne, he wants to play for Carlton.

It is what it is.

Jon Ralph in the Hun.

The Herald Sun understands Cerra is yet to officially choose Carlton as his home given his interest in the Demons.

If he had his way he would be more likely to want to join best mate Ed Langdon at the Demons but they have no first-round pick so could not get a trade done.

The Dockers would only have interest in off-limits stars like ruckman Luke Jackson, so Cerra will have to choose the Blues.

Hawthorn had some preliminary interest in Cerra but it has cooled, with Cerra told early on the priority was to return home rather than pick a club of choice.

Carlton’s No.6 draft pick will help and with Sydney free agent George Hewett a strong chance to join him at the Blues the midfield suddenly has a strong defensive focus.

I don't think Cerra to Carton is as certain as you think.
Jon ralph is reporting that he would prefer to go to the dees

Melbourne went from a prelim to second last 2 years ago. I wouldn't be putting them in the stable basket just yet.

We have been pretty stable in terms of coaching and the board since 2014. Stability and consistent performance are different things. Hawthorn have had two down years and they were also included in Jibroni’s list.

I think Melbourne are definitely on the right track, but I'm wary after the last 20 years. 2019 came out of absolutely nowhere.

Jon Ralph in the Hun.

The Herald Sun understands Cerra is yet to officially choose Carlton as his home given his interest in the Demons.

If he had his way he would be more likely to want to join best mate Ed Langdon at the Demons but they have no first-round pick so could not get a trade done.

The Dockers would only have interest in off-limits stars like ruckman Luke Jackson, so Cerra will have to choose the Blues.

Hawthorn had some preliminary interest in Cerra but it has cooled, with Cerra told early on the priority was to return home rather than pick a club of choice.

Carlton’s No.6 draft pick will help and with Sydney free agent George Hewett a strong chance to join him at the Blues the midfield suddenly has a strong defensive focus.

Plus there is no certainty Carlton are prepared to offer pick 6. Not if you go on the Saad deal, one minute they are in, next day they are out, then they are back in again. I would much rather deal with MFC who have proven time after time to be more reliable at getting their man 1st time around.

As I said earlier I think Melbourne is much further down the track than the media give them credit for - not that I was aware of JR's comments. This is not a done deal. I think Melbourne will reignite a few conversations from last year.

If Mitchell goes elsewhere Hawks would be in the frame, we can more than afford Cerra with Mitchell staying

It's not just a matter of SC space, it's draft capital, Hawthorn are not prepared to trade this or next year's first round picks for Cerra (nor should you either)

Jon Ralph in the Hun.

Best mate Ed Langdon?

Wot?

Best mate Ed Langdon?

Wot?
Also hilarious that he suggests it’s not a done deal yet in that same article they mention that it’s hard to see how Demons would broker a trade without looking at WA products who are both critical to Melbourne moving forward.

I think it’s to Carlton, I think we pay slightly overs, I think Freo pay slightly overs for Neale and everyone is happy.

Why wouldn’t you pay overs for a kid who has shown he can get 25+ consistently, kick goals and is silky smooth? Who has 10+ years of footy left?

Why wouldn’t Freo pay overs for a Brownlow medalist especially given the incoming draft capital?

And no, Carltons SPS will not be involved, I hate that people suggest he will be. He’s worth a 3rd rounder and at that price you’d rather give him a one year, minimum chips deal and an ultimatum - improve or delist. Not worth trading, not worth enough to Freo anyway.

Also hilarious that he suggests it’s not a done deal yet in that same article they mention that it’s hard to see how Demons would broker a trade without looking at WA products who are both critical to Melbourne moving forward.

I think it’s to Carlton, I think we pay slightly overs, I think Freo pay slightly overs for Neale and everyone is happy.

Why wouldn’t you pay overs for a kid who has shown he can get 25+ consistently, kick goals and is silky smooth? Who has 10+ years of footy left?

Why wouldn’t Freo pay overs for a Brownlow medalist especially given the incoming draft capital?

And no, Carltons SPS will not be involved, I hate that people suggest he will be. He’s worth a 3rd rounder and at that price you’d rather give him a one year, minimum chips deal and an ultimatum - improve or delist. Not worth trading, not worth enough to Freo anyway.

I think alot of Freo fans are ambivalent about bringing Neale in. Some of us are dead against it. It just seems stupid considering where our list is at and what he would cost.

We have tried bringing in mature aged players at significant draft capital cost and it has blown up in our faces. We need to just accept the Cerra loss and draft until we are challenging for finals. Then fill spots with mature agers.

If Fremantle flips Cerra for Neale it is a loss in my opinion.

Reckon North can too!

North, pies and crows should all be out there saying they'll take him in the PSD if it goes that way.

The Pies have been public in that they will once again be looking to shed players so that they can ease their salary cap constraints. I don't think they would be in the market to lure a player who reportedly wants $750k/4 years.

Plus there is no certainty Carlton are prepared to offer pick 6. Not if you go on the Saad deal, one minute they are in, next day they are out, then they are back in again. I would much rather deal with MFC who have proven time after time to be more reliable at getting their man 1st time around.

I think you place too much stock into what is reported in the 'click bait' media.

I think alot of Freo fans are ambivalent about bringing Neale in. Some of us are dead against it. It just seems stupid considering where our list is at and what he would cost.

We have tried bringing in mature aged players at significant draft capital cost and it has blown up in our faces. We need to just accept the Cerra loss and draft until we are challenging for finals. Then fill spots with mature agers.

If Fremantle flips Cerra for Neale it is a loss in my opinion.
Fair enough, using your analogy I wouldn't trade Walsh for Fyfe - pretty equitable example too I would've thought given Walsh is better than Cerra and Fyfe is better than Neale.

Whatever the case, I really hope that nuffs stop suggesting that SPS + a 2nd round is a fair trade. It's not. I've been big on this, 1st and 2nd for Cerra is fair value IMO and would even be happy with that extending out a little.

Freo fans are saying they want draft picks to secure a good young key forward... What if Melbourne throw in Sam Weideman as part of the deal, would Melbourne's first or a future 1st and Weideman be close to getting it done?

Because we want a GOOD young key forward.

That's not him.

I am no draft expert, but looking at the phantoms they have Jye Amiss at 17 & Jack Williams at 21 as the best key forwards in the draft, both WA prospects. But as late draft picks they must come with huge risk, would not be many key forwards that are drafted outside of the top 10. Weideman comes with far less risk and would be able to impact immediately. Its also feasible that you would be able to get both.

Hard pass for me.

And we need forwards, not just key forwards. I know nothing about the draft or potential players so can't comment on who would be available but I fully expect us to ignore all the forwards and draft defenders instead.

Maybe another inside mid or 3.

Weideman isn’t proven. Lobb & Tabs are better at the moment while he went backwards this year and can no longer get a game. As much risk as a draftee but you probably cut him after 2 years instead of waiting for 4.

Traded Adam Cerra traded to Carlton for pick #6 and F3