Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

this one week old post has aged well
1) I stand by it. The WAFL program isn’t there to piss through the league and win finals, it’s a development spot for our players. The breakdown of where we were pre injuries to where we are now shows that, getting pumped on the weekend doesn’t prove it’s broken just as the 10 goal wins don’t prove it’s a success.

2) If you want to go on a date you can just ask me mate, you don’t need to follow me around the board acting coy.

Great fight back after quarter time - showed that we can do it (which makes it more frustrating). Shows as well that a couple of obvious selection changes we've all been baying for could've been the difference for us.

The bigger PROBLEM is the inclusion of Sheed and Vardy in the 22 this week when the season was on the line. This bizzare defensive pass that Sheed gets given (and to a lesser extent Gaff) is truly beyond a joke.

I get that we want a 2nd ruck option in Vardy for our weapon NicNat - but surely there are other options rather than being a man down from the start of the game.
We are not short of talls and have already shown that Darling or McGov can handle rucking duties in the 50 arcs.
Brander would have added much needed run whilst also being one of the 'tall's that Simmo is obsessed with having a certain number of.

And Sheed - It was poetic justice that an unfinished Sheed tackle lead to Serong's goal that buried us in the end.
I don't know how to find the exact right words - but its like he thinks all he has to do is show he 'tried'. Gaff too.

After the unpressurized crap we have been serving up most weeks how can Simmo stand to watch Sheed's infamous defensive JOG any longer.
Priddis was too slow for the game once the game sped up post Hawthorn era. Sheed doesn't have this excuse.
Sheed simply chooses to not to put in the defensive effort. And it surely that has a draining effect on the team.
Perhaps West and Hutchings are ball butchers but when pressure and effort are THE biggest factor letting our team down currently surely they are better options because at least they will chase, tackle and give an F.
The biggest ball butcherer is Yeo. Bloke just kicks mongrels 95%+ of the time. He’s very happy to criticise others though.
Team is an absolute basket case.

I get it, but we've played much worse in many other games this year. We're you really that surprised on what we dished up?
Yes I’m surprised that this list produces that effort when a final is on the line. Massive miss when you consider the finals will now likely be played at Perth Stadium. With the season as open as it is it’s a huge missed opportunity.

Adam Simpsons Strategy is to let the opposition have as much space to take uncontested possessions and let them walk the ball into the attacking 50 with no pressure. I see a familiar theme happening here, just like John Worsfold when he was the coach.

Wooshas men made the GF twice and won 1 of them, along with Adam Simpson.

Now Adam Simpson is showing the same type of body language Woosha Showed during his final year in charge .

I have low expectations for 2022, given that a number of the senior players will be moved on and a rebuild commencing. Shuey, Kennedy, Nic Nat, Sheppard, Hurn will soon be off the roster.

Duggan hasn't signed a contract yet so I expect him to return to Victoria and Dom Sheed I believe should be put up for trade, if not him then Gaff should be put on the trade table too.

I think a rebuild should start now before the team falls off a cliff

Ive never seen the group so flat before. Its obvious that they don't want to be there - so what the hell is going on behind the scenes? Someone on here must know.

Simmo looks really disinterested - burnt out? - right now. Seems bored of the team and no doubt the feeling is mutual with the players. They need some spark to get going again and Simmo looks drier than a dingos tit.

Is he repeating his mistakes over and over because he's dug himself into a hole he doesn't want to get out of?

Did he go too far into 'favourites/mate' territory after 2018 and is now trapped by a resulting pecking order that the players have made for themselves?

Actually, if you go back and read what I posted, I'm anti some of your ridiculous posts but have never defended Simpson. Its probably not surprising that you can't tell the difference.

Since you asked though, I think Simpson and the entire coaching team has had a bad couple of years both in terms of match day selections and game plan. Add to that our players mindset just doesn't seem right which is ultimately Simmo's responsibility.

However, I also don't think the Eagles are likely to sack him, it's just not the way they have operated over the years and Simpsons record has been pretty good despite underperforming the last few years. I think it is more likely they will look to bolster the assistant coaches. You're welcome to disagree with me.

View attachment 1207465

Nothing ridiculous about posting that Simpson is not up to it, our assistant coaches and development coaches are mediocre, and combined lack, flexibility and tactical nouse and have made consistent poor match player selections, our fitness and conditioning is below average and our current culture in terms of work ethic, dedication and leadership at the club is poor. Can’t see enough people at the club leading by example. Also nothing wrong posting that our recruitment and list management is bad. None of the departments listed deserve job for life. You can’t bolster assistants without saying change is needed. Sack, replace, evolve… semantics

1) I stand by it. The WAFL program isn’t there to piss through the league and win finals, it’s a development spot for our players. The breakdown of where we were pre injuries to where we are now shows that, getting pumped on the weekend doesn’t prove it’s broken just as the 10 goal wins don’t prove it’s a success.

2) If you want to go on a date you can just ask me mate, you don’t need to follow me around the board acting coy.

which player(s) have developed in the WAFL then this year? I could name a dozen that have gone backwards. Which are playing in the position they were drafted?

the WAFL team is as broken as the AFL team. 12 players with AFL experience this year and they barely kick a goal between them? Last weekend should be considered a disgrace, no pride for the jumper or themselves.

not following you across the board, but if you like to bag anyone with a different opinion and post shit what do you expect?

This season was the biggest waste of our time. I still haven't figured out how it all went wrong, besides some heavy defeats to Geelong and Sydney for instance.

Would this have something to do with the team not adjusting to the man on the mark rule? Or is it that some of the players on the team have outlived their usefulness?

The competition is so even that if you're even 5% off on the day or your game plan and setup is not optimal you will get trounced.

And we've been more than 5% off in a fair few games and the game plan and setup is suboptimal at the moment.

Things can change quickly, but you cannot expect to keep doing the same thing and expect different results.

Nothing ridiculous about posting that Simpson is not up to it, our assistant coaches and development coaches are mediocre, and combined lack, flexibility and tactical nouse and have made consistent poor match player selections, our fitness and conditioning is below average and our current culture in terms of work ethic, dedication and leadership at the club is poor. Can’t see enough people at the club leading by example. Also nothing wrong posting that our recruitment and list management is bad. None of the departments listed deserve job for life. You can’t bolster assistants without saying change is needed. Sack, replace, evolve… semantics

Do you even read posts before you quote them? When did I say change wasn't needed? It absolutely is. I can agree with part of what you say while still thinking your posts generally suck.

I think a rebuild should start now before the team falls off a cliff

Too late. We began driving towards it in 2019, when we capitulated in our final home game for the season against a team that didn't even make the 8. That cost us top 4 and any hope of going all the way.

In 2020 we behaved like petulant children in the hub, resulting in a dismal win loss record. When the players decided to actually try again, the damage was already done. Once again, top 4 was lost and we were bundled out of finals in the first week. Once again, lapses in effort throughout the season cost us any hope of a flag. We were slightly closer to the proverbial cliff, but alarm bells were not ringing yet. It was a COVID year after all and the players had been through a lot. At least that is what we told ourselves.

In 2021, there was optimism. We started the season in so-so form but then went on a promising run, culminating in an epic win against who we thought was a fellow premiership rival. We had a favourable run home and a host of premiership heroes were returning. A top 4 charge appeared to be our destiny. We had steered the car away from the cliff and back towards the mountain.

After the Richmond win, we fitted the car with nitrous oxide, performed a u-turn and accelerated towards the cliff at breakneck speed. The screams of warning from the fans were ignored. The coach, doubling down on his failing game plan and selections, stamped down on the accelerator even harder. In the blink of an eye, the cliff's edge had been cleared and the car was in freefall. Any hope of playing finals was gone.

The cliff has already been cleared. The only question is, how long will this freefall last?

Posted in the other thread but is relevant for here too:

Sheed needs to go.

For those who think kicking the winner in 2018 invalidates the criticism, you don't grasp the thread - and yes even I get how stupid that sounds ...

With him playing the role he plays we won't win anything. Ever. When he moves on we'll be better.

But congratulations to him on that kick. It has most certainly enhanced his reputation well beyond his ability and undoubtedly earned him a few dollars in the process.

I'm just annoyed it has further entrenched him in the side. Which just delays our improvemen

If you want to see passion, watch Sydney and GWS who have not only bonded on the road, but positively thrived whilst having no hope of playing in their home state again this year.

Want to see the opposite, watch our leaderless, dispirited, soft rabble of a team.

I run a pretty successful medium sized business and the cuddle approach has its time and place.

However despite what HR tells you, it cannot be implemented forever unless you want standards to become compromised and a disconnect between those that want to move forward and those that are comfortable.

Simmo in error, has stuck thick with his 2018 hero's and they have burn't him like an Eagles beanie on a Freo supporters barbie.

This just compounds his now flawed game plan.

P.S. fantastic gamemanship by Freo stalwarts to come out and say its a line in the sand game.

Never happended but Cripps, Sheed, Darling etc sh#t themselves.

Sheed and Gaff should never play in the same side again. Sheed only got his chance in 2018 after Gaff assaulted a defenceless teenager. Since they’ve both been playing, it’s just twice the amount of blind kicks around the corner to nobody, and weak one armed tackling efforts. Gaff can be traded, and Sheed should just step away. He will never better that kick. He should just go on a pub tour every September and get paid to relive that kick, and accept the fact his career has peaked (most would kill to have a moment like that in their career, just accept it, and move on)

No, when I post what I think I get skewered by people who want a coach to punch our players and send them to the mines. See above.

What I think about the path forward is very clear at this point.

I was just making the point that this isn’t opinion, this is factual news. Head coach next season: Adam Simpson. Offer on the desk of Robert Harvey as an assistant. That’s the big change that will come, if Harvey accepts the move.
Bullshit.

No one else has asked for a coach to punch our players. They are asking for them to be held accountable.

When you post what you think, you defend Simpson. On the podcast you unabashedly admit that you are a fan of this failing game plan. I'm more than happy to provide soundbites if you wish.

You talk like an elderly school teacher. An annoying one. You are clueless about football; you are clearly out of your depth and yet you talk like we are all small children who should sit at your feet and imbibe your wisdom.

Your numerous comments in which you reckon we should keep Simmo based on some notion of us scraping into the 8 and maybe getting a finals win are scary. We should be building a premiership contender.

2020's attitude flowed directly into this year which was disappointing. We at least played some pretty good footy last year.

Look at least the club as a whole from top to bottom will be under pressure so i am excited to see how we change it up as WC dont fu** around too long.

Being under pressure and responding with the appropriate changes and corrections, are two completely different things.

We all are keen to see what changes, if any, are implemented as we lead into season 2022.

IMO the following as a minimum need urgent attention and a rejigg.

1. Game Plan.
2. Coaching staff ( assistants ).
3. Fitness S & C team.
4. Those in charge of development
5. Recruitment model and personnel.
6. Playing list refresh.
7. Team leadership group.

Lots of change and work to do and the question is are our leaders at every level of the Club up to it.

We need to refocus on ON FIELD performances as the Clubs # 1 priority,
as from the outside looking in it seems to take a distant third to:

1. Club Profitability.
2. Membership Drive / Numbers.

Take care of on field performance and the task of the Clubs profitability and membership become at hell of a lot easier to successfully mange and implement.

Over to you:

Gibbs
Nisbitt
Vozo
Simpson

If you leadership is not aware of the Clubs problems then the leadership becomes the problem.

History suggests, we will make the changes necessary, as we have been a Club that has never tolerated mediocrity.

How quickly we turn it around will be the interesting question.

A lot of Sheed and Gaff hate hereabouts. Gaff was among our best yesterday and Sheed has had a pretty good year by and large. They are both solid players. Problem is coaching and not understanding players strengths and weaknesses imo. For example Sheed is deadly around goals but is somehow hardly ever around them whereas Gaff is a pure linkman who we had playing an inside mid role half the year. A lot of it is down to injuries as well.

Sheed and Gaff should never play in the same side again. Sheed only got his chance in 2018 after Gaff assaulted a defenceless teenager. Since they’ve both been playing, it’s just twice the amount of blind kicks around the corner to nobody, and weak one armed tackling efforts. Gaff can be traded, and Sheed should just step away. He will never better that kick. He should just go on a pub tour every September and get paid to relive that kick, and accept the fact his career has peaked (most would kill to have a moment like that in their career, just accept it, and move on)

Maybe if Sheed was cut though he would actually get the message and go away and work on his two way running and tackling efforts.
This is 100% on Simmo - not on Sheed.
Same goes with Gaff.

Being under pressure and responding with the appropriate changes and corrections, are two completely different things.

We all are keen to see what changes, if any, are implemented as we lead into season 2022.

IMO the following as a minimum need urgent attention and a rejigg.

1. Game Plan.
2. Coaching staff ( assistants ).
3. Fitness S & C team.
4. Those in charge of development
5. Recruitment model and personnel.
6. Playing list refresh.
7. Team leadership group.

Lots of change and work to do and the question is are our leaders at every level of turn Club up to it.

We need to refocus on ON FIELD performances as the Clubs # 1 priority,
as from the outside looking in it seems to take a distant third to:

1. Club Profitability.
2. Membership Drive / Numbers.

Take care of on field performance and the task of the Clubs profitability and membership become at hell of a lot easier to successfully mange and implement.

Over to you:

Gibbs
Nisbitt
Vozo
Simpson

If you leadership is not aware of the Clubs problems then the leadership becomes the problem.

History suggests, we will make the changes necessary, as we have been a Club that has never tolerated mediocrity.

How quickly we turn it around will be the interesting question.

I feel a bit the opposite on the bolded piece, I think we do tolerate mediocrity. With the lists we have had at our disposal to not go back to back or ever have a dynasty team to me reeks of mediocrity.
It has not mattered who has been the coach the club once success greets them generally fall away and can't back it up. Whether that is them reading their own press or whatever the reality is that with our lists I think 4 flags in 34 years is not that good.
It might look good compared to St Kilda or some other clubs but If we compare ourselves with those types of clubs then that is part of the problem.

All the rest i completely agree with, footy is a sound third in line and as it is our core business then I think mediocrity is very much accepted in regards to football.
Cheers

A lot of Sheed and Gaff hate hereabouts. Gaff was among our best yesterday and Sheed has had a pretty good year by and large. They are both solid players. Problem is coaching and not understanding players strengths and weaknesses imo. For example Sheed is deadly around goals but is somehow hardly ever around them whereas Gaff is a pure linkman who we had playing an inside mid role half the year. A lot of it is down to injuries as well.

Apparantly it is Vardy's fault these blokes have not been play as well as they should.

Gaff and Sheed are being coached poorly. Gaff was elite in his role for 70% of the games he has played and its only been this year where he has looked completely terrible. Her manages to rack them up but his insistence of charging in to get the hardball is probably tiring him out so when he does have the ball he is cooked. That should never be his role and it could well be that Shuey, Kelly and Yeo are not throwing their weight around in there like they should.

Sheed oddly over the 2019-2021 seasons has started the seasons well racking up numbers and kicking goals but seems to finish the year ever so spuddly.

Who is our midfield coach? IF the talk of Harvey coming over is true then i hope he gets to assist with the midfield and really get the talent in there functioning.

Anyone listen to Schoey pod from last week? He mentioned in 2018 they had an MMA tackling coach who helped with the tackling aspect for that year and 2019 but once covid hit they didn't have a tackling coach.

Gaff and Sheed are being coached poorly. Gaff was elite in his role for 70% of the games he has played and its only been this year where he has looked completely terrible. Her manages to rack them up but his insistence of charging in to get the hardball is probably tiring him out so when he does have the ball he is cooked. That should never be his role and it could well be that Shuey, Kelly and Yeo are not throwing their weight around in there like they should.

Sheed oddly over the 2019-2021 seasons has started the seasons well racking up numbers and kicking goals but seems to finish the year ever so spuddly.

Who is our midfield coach? IF the talk of Harvey coming over is true then i hope he gets to assist with the midfield and really get the talent in there functioning.

Anyone listen to Schoey pod from last week? He mentioned in 2018 they had an MMA tackling coach who helped with the tackling aspect for that year and 2019 but once covid hit they didn't have a tackling coach.

I learnt to tackle in juniors, why are AFL players in need of being taught the most basic skills of the game?