Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

Maybe thats more to do with the junior system than it is on recent players. If junior clubs and coaches are not teaching basics like tackling then that is a problem. That they don't score is bad enough, not teaching the basics is even worse.
Look at Richmond’s tackling over the past few years. Most of their players are brutal and effective tacklers. It’s not like they only picked the few juniors who were taught properly. I guarantee that if some them played for WC, they would be just as rubbish at corralling tackling as our current players are.

Either our coaches don’t instruct them to tackle as well or they don’t have the motivation to tackle as well. Either way it’s a coaching thing, I very much doubt it’s inherent in the players themselves.

I’d hope the club keeps Simpson around for any rebuild. Getting rid of him serves no purpose when it’s clear this group of players is done and dusted.

I personally think that he has to go. It hurts to have to tell someone to go, especially since he was a big part of what brought us to the big W in 2018.

The way I see it, it's akin to crappy management causing large turnover in the corporate world. Crappy managers, leading to staff burnout and loss of lots of corporate knowledge, toxic environments in teams. This perpetuates itself until the most of the toxicity is removed and there's only a little of it left that a fresh start, with motivated staff can happen.

There's just too much baggage. The options put forward are:
1) (If we keep the head coach) The same issues around lack of accountability occurs at the coaching staff level, and these expectations are normalised for whatever new recruits come in, or
2) (If we sack the coach and retain all of the older players) The on field leadership may also perpetuate this lack of accountability.

No, we need a change at the coaching staff level, i.e. a big change of direction, and also among some of the senior playing group. We need to retain those senior players with a good work ethic and capable of delivering what they need to on the field to instill these qualities into whoever comes into the club after all this. You can see this in action in a club like Sydney.

For those who are saying that Simmo should get another year, I would counter by saying that his "year" would have started after the Bulldogs, Saints and Cats losses earlier this year (which were on top of an underperforming 2020).

We need to do this smart. Start sounding out available coaches, and if the right one puts their hand up, move Simmo on immediately. Simmo has until that time to show enough improvement (communication with players and game plan, and player's intent on the field) to prove to us that he's better than whoever the alternative is.

Yeah Miguel Sanchez, when he said this is what I say on the podcast and he can provide sound bites if we want and when I talk I sound like an old cobba, he was talking about my writing. Keep up.

Yes clearly I should have inferred from context that when he referred to a podcast and soundbites and then used the phrase “you talk”, he was giving the word “talk” its ordinary meaning which obviously includes “write”.

Someone hasn't heard of syntax. It is obvious to anyone with basic intelligence and working ears that he does not literally sound like an old person.

The tone of his posts on the other hand very much resembles what I described most articularly in the above post 🤠.

Again you have failed to disprove your inability to make basic assumptions and draw the subsequent inference.

Maybe thats more to do with the junior system than it is on recent players. If junior clubs and coaches are not teaching basics like tackling then that is a problem. That they don't score is bad enough, not teaching the basics is even worse.
I still can't believe how poor the kicking ability is these days, that we see numerous players at the highest level who can't hit a target speaks volumes how wrong recruiting has gone. How do you even get drafted if you are not an elite kick?

GWS it’s no different when you get up into the higher levels of junior football either.

I coached players in Melbourne that were in their draft year and playing for Vic Metro and two of them had appalling techniques for set shots at goal.
I spend hours over the season after main training working on their techniques.
One was an All Australia and I could not for the life of me believe that he had already made it all the way up the levels without having the flaws knocked out.

Biggest problem was gettting him to be open to the coaching ...... thought he was God’s Gift ..... got drafted and two seasons latter was cut from the list.
Pity kid had a lot of ability but he just didn’t have the necessary work ethic.

I had a PM conversation with BOND 007 about kicking techniques and how kids can arrive at league Clubs with poor habits and techniques. Bond put it down to junior coaching systems not having adequate time to spend on some of the basics.

I know it can be a difficult balance for the kids juggling school football, Club Football, State footy and that the kids game time is recorded and constantly monitored, to the point at Club level the regional coordinator informed you of how many playing minutes that the kids were allowed to play.
Of course the kids would lie and conveniently forget to tell you before the weekend game that they played four quarters for their school on the Wednesday prior ...... and then wondered why they ended up with OP.

That said it highlights just how important development coaches are at all AFL Clubs ands something West Coast used to do well, unfortunately not so anymore.

Someone hasn't heard of syntax. It is obvious to anyone with basic intelligence and working ears that he does not literally sound like an old person.

The tone of his posts on the other hand very much resembles what I described most articularly in the above post 🤠.

Again you have failed to disprove your inability to make basic assumptions and draw the subsequent inference.

“You obviously haven’t heard of syntax” sounds to me like another way of saying “I didn’t mean what it obviously looked like I meant and it’s up to you to interpret my post in a way that made more logical sense than the way it was written”.

Or “the way it was talked”, I guess, since apparently they’re the same now. 🤷🏼‍♂️

You don't want us to aim for flags?

My slogan would be 'let's all just have some fun out there'.

Well the flags part is redundant , they won one.

As a football club I dont know maybe the football part is the most important thing… its was obvious after the sooks last year that its a distant last.

Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com

You don't want us to aim for flags?

My slogan would be 'let's all just have some fun out there'.
Lots of fun, heaps of fun, enjoy yourself today. North Melbourne put that in and they smacked us about, maybe there’s something to it?

I'm not sure Langdon is an example of anything other that the dearth of options up forward. He's a fairly insignificant cog in our machine. But without Cameron and Rioli all season, and Jones, Ah Chee, Petch and Ryan being alternately injured or substandard there hasn't been a lot of people putting their hand up for that spot.

And you have to move on from Priddis E, it's been four years mate! Also I'm not sure the imminent blossoming of the midfield youth that the anti-Priddite zealots espoused has come to fruition the way it was promised. I'd bring him back as a tackling and midfield coach.

Nup, he's not ex-North Melbourne enough. Ergo, welcome to West Coast former North crab, David Hale. HOORAY!!!

Guys on Adam Simpson’s coaching panel that played at North:
Pratt, Daniel

Guys that didn’t:
Graham, Jaymie
Hickmott, Adrian
Webster, Luke
Nicoski, Mark
Horsley, Kyal
Bell, Gavin.

and it’s up to you to interpret my post in a way that made more logical sense than the way it was written”.
More like it's up to you to employ your prefrontal cortex and draw the logical conclusions, instead of taking everything literally.

Would you like me to spoon feed you in the future?
😃

More like it's up to you to employ your prefrontal cortex and draw the logical conclusions, instead of taking everything literally.

Would you like me to spoon feed you in the future?
😃
No, but I’ve got a couple of suggestions for you that involve a spoon.

Well the flags part is redundant , they won one.

As a football club I dont know maybe the football part is the most important thing… its was obvious after the sooks last year that its a distant last.

Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com
That would be "Family, Friends, Flag" It had an 's' in there for a reason.

I was thinking something along the lines of "Future career prospects, Finances, Footy Trips" going foward.

GWS it’s no different when you get up into the higher levels of junior football either.

I coached players in Melbourne that were in their draft year and playing for Vic Metro and two of them had appalling techniques for set shots at goal.
I spend hours over the season after main training working on their techniques.
One was an All Australia and I could not for the life of me believe that he had already made it all the way up the levels without having the flaws knocked out.

Biggest problem was gettting him to be open to the coaching ...... thought he was God’s Gift ..... got drafted and two seasons latter was cut from the list.
Pity kid had a lot of ability but he just didn’t have the necessary work ethic.

I had a PM conversation with BOND 007 about kicking techniques and how kids can arrive at league Clubs with poor habits and techniques. Bond put it down to junior coaching systems not having adequate time to spend on some of the basics.

I know it can be a difficult balance for the kids juggling school football, Club Football, State footy and that the kids game time is recorded and constantly monitored, to the point at Club level the regional coordinator informed you of how many playing minutes that the kids were allowed to play.
Of course the kids would lie and conveniently forget to tell you before the weekend game that they played four quarters for their school on the Wednesday prior ...... and then wondered why they ended up with OP.

That said it highlights just how important development coaches are at all AFL Clubs ands something West Coast used to do well, unfortunately not so anymore.

For many years I have argued that it is impossible for the modern day player to have better kicking skills than our era. It is simple mathematics.
I went to school, every break I would be kicking a football, after school I would be kicking a football, basically as long as it was light I would be kicking a football. At junior football training we were not coached by just some Dad who wanted to help out, we were coached by local gun players who did nothing but drill in the basic skills of the game to us.
This mean on a weekly basis I probably kicked a footy a minimum of 250-400 times per week.
Now how many times does a kid kick a footy in the modern era, outside of footy training and thats if they attend and even throw in that dad may have a kick with them once a week I reckon they would barely get up to 50 kicks a week. I am talking the majority here, obviously there will be some that do play with the footy a lot.
My nephew is one of them, he is 14 and he is so far more advanced than his team mates and a majority of his own age group simply because he has a father and an Uncle that have taught him how to kick and have kicked it with him so much over his small journey so far.

I have seen the coaches at junior level and while I admire the dads that want to help out a majority of them have no idea about the game, they got their level 1 coaching accreditation which you can get in the bottom of a weeties box and they think they are qualified.

Both Clarkson and Hardwick have said on the couch that once a player is drafted there is nothing they can do to better his skills, they can help with awareness, decision making and set ups but they can't make him a better kick as his feel for kicking is already part of his DNA.

Development coaches at AFL level are not there to teach them kicking, marking and handball skills. it is to develop their footy brand and game plan.
They do a lot right these days thats for sure, you are right the kids get to much thrown on them to early but the parents love it......
They need to find a better balance from the past and into the modern era in my view.

I personally think that he has to go. It hurts to have to tell someone to go, especially since he was a big part of what brought us to the big W in 2018.

The way I see it, it's akin to crappy management causing large turnover in the corporate world. Crappy managers, leading to staff burnout and loss of lots of corporate knowledge, toxic environments in teams. This perpetuates itself until the most of the toxicity is removed and there's only a little of it left that a fresh start, with motivated staff can happen.

There's just too much baggage. The options put forward are:
1) (If we keep the head coach) The same issues around lack of accountability occurs at the coaching staff level, and these expectations are normalised for whatever new recruits come in, or
2) (If we sack the coach and retain all of the older players) The on field leadership may also perpetuate this lack of accountability.

No, we need a change at the coaching staff level, i.e. a big change of direction, and also among some of the senior playing group. We need to retain those senior players with a good work ethic and capable of delivering what they need to on the field to instill these qualities into whoever comes into the club after all this. You can see this in action in a club like Sydney.

For those who are saying that Simmo should get another year, I would counter by saying that his "year" would have started after the Bulldogs, Saints and Cats losses earlier this year (which were on top of an underperforming 2020).

We need to do this smart. Start sounding out available coaches, and if the right one puts their hand up, move Simmo on immediately. Simmo has until that time to show enough improvement (communication with players and game plan, and player's intent on the field) to prove to us that he's better than whoever the alternative is.
Ok, we sack Simmo immediately.

Can you tell us how a 3 year payment of around a million dollars per year, plus paying for a new coach will affect our soft cap?

I'm really interested to know.

For many years I have argued that it is impossible for the modern day player to have better kicking skills than our era. It is simple mathematics.
I went to school, every break I would be kicking a football, after school I would be kicking a football, basically as long as it was light I would be kicking a football. At junior football training we were not coached by just some Dad who wanted to help out, we were coached by local gun players who did nothing but drill in the basic skills of the game to us.
This mean on a weekly basis I probably kicked a footy a minimum of 250-400 times per week.
Now how many times does a kid kick a footy in the modern era, outside of footy training and thats if they attend and even throw in that dad may have a kick with them once a week I reckon they would barely get up to 50 kicks a week. I am talking the majority here, obviously there will be some that do play with the footy a lot.
My nephew is one of them, he is 14 and he is so far more advanced than his team mates and a majority of his own age group simply because he has a father and an Uncle that have taught him how to kick and have kicked it with him so much over his small journey so far.

I have seen the coaches at junior level and while I admire the dads that want to help out a majority of them have no idea about the game, they got their level 1 coaching accreditation which you can get in the bottom of a weeties box and they think they are qualified.

Both Clarkson and Hardwick have said on the couch that once a player is drafted there is nothing they can do to better his skills, they can help with awareness, decision making and set ups but they can't make him a better kick as his feel for kicking is already part of his DNA.

Development coaches at AFL level are not there to teach them kicking, marking and handball skills. it is to develop their footy brand and game plan.
They do a lot right these days thats for sure, you are right the kids get to much thrown on them to early but the parents love it......
They need to find a better balance from the past and into the modern era in my view.
Would you believe that there are athletes within far more professional sports than the AFL that employ private coaches to work on basic skills one on one, indeed it is becoming very common at the highest level in bigger sports because it is not really something that is expected to be required at elite level clubs but it needs to be constantly worked on for many players who naturally aren't for example; elite kicks, they don't really have the time available to focus on these fundamentals while at the club. I know some AFL players are doing this but it is not common.