Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

I think I could have the % greater than 50. Why is the sack Simpson thread being taken over by fan boys, and way are Fan boys clapping about the worst season in club history? Oh that’s right we won the flag in 2018. Hooray. Looking forward to you all going missing very soon
Give me a better alternative to Simpson that's available right now.

Simpson is a proven coach. The team is in a slump some it is caused by success. This year is particularly bad because players have been unavailable and there has been huge changes every week.

You take Gawn, Melbourne's best 3 mids out for most games and 4 forced changes every week they would be in the bottom 8.

Simpson is a proven coach. The team is in a slump some it is caused by success. This year is particularly bad because players have been unavailable and there has been huge changes every week.

You take Gawn, Melbourne's best 3 mids out for most games and 4 forced changes every week they would be in the bottom 8.

Priddis is a proven player. Time moves on. A slump is 2-3 weeks not 2-3 seasons. Selections, game style, tactics, development, recruiting, strength and conditioning have run the club in to the ground. As to who is better, literally anyone who applies for the job would offer more. The Simpson delusionists grow in number, but they use emotions not facts to defend

Problem with this logic, and it reasonable, is that the outs for Melbourne are beter that any we have on our list. Part of our problem is low quality players.

Don Pyke.

I recall someone on here suggesting Michael Voss as well and that being shot down by the Simmo fanbois. Granted, Voss took over a team that was ripe to push into top 4, but he's still getting it done.

It's very rare for a "proven coach" to be able to go around a second time (with a different list and different game style). The "won flag so will always be able to coach well" is flawed thinking. We already know that of Simmo given his decision making between 2019 - 2021.

The problem isn't the coach, the problem is the quality of players who are now in the prime of their careers who were being groomed to take over from our ageing champs. I don't have to name names, it is pretty obvious who they are although as has been noted on here, it is difficult to get top quality at the end of the first round years on end. The draft does what it is designed to do.

That's absolutely true, but it's the coach as well - those ageing champs just didn't want to dig in the last 3 years. That's the coach.

Priddis is a proven player. Time moves on. A slump is 2-3 weeks not 2-3 seasons. Selections, game style, tactics, development, recruiting, strength and conditioning have run the club in to the ground. As to who is better, literally anyone who applies for the job would offer more. The Simpson delusionists grow in number, but they use emotions not facts to defend
You make some incredibly dumb, sweeping statements.

Guess I'll be applying for the job as I apparently offer more than Simmo..

Didn't want to or weren't able to ? Hate to see what has happened to boots these past few years but he is heart and soul.
Column A, Column B.

It's Simmo's responsibility to recognise his senior players are no longer buying into the game plan and change it. there's also a bit to be said about when you train players for 8 years not to prioritise winning the hard footy, then other teams will have a distinct advantage in this area.....

Maybe Simmo has some mitigation this year, but he has no excuse for what happened in the preceding 3 years.

You make some incredibly dumb, sweeping statements.

Guess I'll be applying for the job as I apparently offer more than Simmo..
I should edit to say anyone bar Miguel, but yes Simpson is a shot duck. Bring in 2 new highly credentialed assistant coaches, start preseason earlier than usual and dish up the usual steaming pile of turd of a game plan combined with a complete lack of player motivation and development. Why you guys thing he can do as complete U turn and sort out the problem he’s got the club into? All he sees is lack of synergy, blokes a lost cause and you’re a simpsonevangelist

For starters, I'm not averse to a new coach and I'm pretty sure the people you think are 'fanbois' hold a similar position.

Right now, he has 2 years to run on his contract. Whilst the past 2 seasons were a disappointment, this year is a complete write off due to factors outside his control.

Now that the club has finally embraced the fact that we need to rebuild, I am happy to give him next season to prove himself, because I simply don't believe that any available (key word there) option would make any other difference right now.

Pretty hard to implement a new game plan when you're making mass, forced changes every week and blokes can't even get a run in the WAFL.

For starters, I'm not averse to a new coach and I'm pretty sure the people you think are 'fanbois' hold a similar position.

Right now, he has 2 years to run on his contract. Whilst the past 2 seasons were a disappointment, this year is a complete write off due to factors outside his control.

Now that the club has finally embraced the fact that we need to rebuild, I am happy to give him next season to prove himself, because I simply don't believe that any available (key word there) option would make any other difference right now.

Pretty hard to implement a new game plan when you're making mass, forced changes every week and blokes can't even get a run in the WAFL.
Good post. More than reasonable. But there are some fanbois out there licking their Peter's Simmo icypoles like they are on pronhub.

I hate to give recognition to it, but tune into the podcast
I agree, everyone should. Good solid laugh, shoot the shit, get your comments on the screen while we sink the boots into the Eagles.

Now back to my initial statement.

Still waiting to hear who exactly has been saying “nah mate she’ll be right, we will contend next year with the status quo”.

Didn't want to or weren't able to ? Hate to see what has happened to boots these past few years but he is heart and soul.
If there weren't able to then that's on the coach for not been able to drop them or spark them he has basically created a culture of your past best is good enough

I hate to give recognition to it, but tune into the podcast
Doubt youve listened to a minute of it, but all the recordings are still available so feel free to go back and find where anyone’s said anything like what you’re saying.

When I said “it’s been a historically bad year, probably going to be a lean few years, so I dunno let’s see if we can’t at least have some fun with it”, what I meant was #Flag2023.

Still waiting to hear who exactly has been saying “nah mate she’ll be right, we will contend next year with the status quo”.
I reckon you might be waiting awhile. I don't get some posters on here who only come here to heap shit on the team. It is good for nothing and produces nothing.
They must enjoy feeding off the negative. Why do they bother supporting, piss off and go support someone on the top of the ladder.

I reckon you might be waiting awhile. I don't get some posters on here who only come here to heap shit on the team. It is good for nothing and produces nothing.
They must enjoy feeding off the negative. Why do they bother supporting, piss off and go support someone on the top of the ladder.

Nah I’m sure The Gambler will be back eventually with episode numbers and minutes and direct quotes.