Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

We never had the best team in the league. What crack were you smoking that made you believe this?
We were the best team in footy in 2018. Always hard to differentiate best list vs most in form vs best on the day etc.

We were the best team in 2018 and nobody will convince me otherwise. Richmond the only club close, and we thumped them. 3-0 vs Collingwood including 2-0 in Melbourne. Nobody else has a claim in 2018.

However, it does make me laugh how shit our list was at the end of 2017, so old and slow and useless and in dire need of a rebuild, and one flag later we were a dominant force from 2015-2020 and Simmo wasted every minute of it. Social media and BigFooty receipts of our post season 2017 list analysis is always glorious in hindsight when you later see people say we had the best list in footy for the better part of a decade.

We were the best team in footy in 2018. Always hard to differentiate best list vs most in form vs best on the day etc.

We were the best team in 2018 and nobody will convince me otherwise. Richmond the only club close, and we thumped them. 3-0 vs Collingwood including 2-0 in Melbourne. Nobody else has a claim in 2018.

However, it does make me laugh how s**t our list was at the end of 2017, so old and slow and useless and in dire need of a rebuild, and one flag later we were a dominant force from 2015-2020 and Simmo wasted every minute of it. Social media and BigFooty receipts of our post season 2017 list analysis is always glorious in hindsight when you see people say we had the best list in footy for the better part of a decade.

It makes me laugh how dogmatically attached you are to Simpson and the fan boy lifestyle. Go watch the last 25 games over, he’s lost it, eagles have lost it.

Anyway, he’s the bloke most deserving to get the arse, more so than noble or cameron. His turn to walk away

It makes me laugh how dogmatically attached you are to Simpson and the fan boy lifestyle. Go watch the last 25 games over, he’s lost it, eagles have lost it.

Anyway, he’s the bloke most deserving to get the arse, more so than noble or cameron. His turn to walk away
Looking forward to hearing this ad nauseam while we are copping bad losses before you disappear for weeks when we play decent footy once again.

Meme Reaction GIF

The fan boys have delusions of what good footy is. So much spin for the worst season in clubs history. 2 wins for the entire season is shit footy. You like the FIFO workers who don’t see a check for weeks on end then come back to Perth and anything looks great.

The fan boys have delusions of what good footy is. So much spin for the worst season in clubs history. 2 wins for the entire season is s**t footy. You like the FIFO workers who don’t see a check for weeks on end then come back to Perth and anything looks great.
Would love a fan boy to answer me who is Simpson developing in WAFL who currently looks remotely close to C grade key forward, key back, ruck, midfield? This good footy you speak of is going to last a while

It makes me laugh that you joined in 2009, posted consistently for years until the Prelim in 2015, then disappeared like a ghost. Literally not one post. Vanished.

It makes me laugh that for a 1000 post guy, you somehow failed to visit the site a single time between 2015 and Round 6, 2019, the week after we got thumped on Good Friday by Port in the rain. Petch kicked five. I remember that cause I was there as I’m an Eagles fan.

You’ve posted 1000 times, and not one of them came during what would be considered the ‘good’ years of this era. You didn’t pop in to be sad or even gloat post GF 2015. You didn’t pop in during the post siren EF in 2017. You didn’t pop in to celebrate a Premiership in 2018.

Nic Nat after the siren vs GWS? Nah. Shannon Hurn’s maiden AA? Nah. Josh Kennedy Colemans? Nah. Any random week’s changes thread, any draft ideas, hell even any coaching chat? Nah.

Big loss to Port in the rain on an unremarkable round of home and away games in 2019? Suddenly man remembers the login details for that footy website he used to spend hours on!

I could never decide if you were a troll or just miserable, but at this point it doesn’t matter. Look forward to chatting to your next alt account mate, cya later. Podcast’s on at 8pm every Thursday if you want to tune in live 👍

Hansen would have to coach from the bench because he'd probably ping his hammy going up and down the stairs to the box.
We might need to chuck a roof on Optus then, given he’s…y’know…one of society’s best.

Spoke to some Carlton players on the weekend and they where both saying Ash Hansen is the best assistant coach they have been under
in there careers.

Just make me want him as next WCE coach

I think we were going for him last year, but he opted to stay in Melbourne and went to the Blues (after leaving the Dogs). He was a big loss to the Bulldogs.

Definitely one to consider if we are in the look out for a new head coach at some point!

If they’re the best person for the job then so be it, but I’ve always felt a bit uneasy about getting people with club history in.

Woosh obviously absolutely nailed it, but when most of us (myself included) think the Eagles are too insular and too much of a jobs for the boys club, do they need to be an ex player? I’d almost prefer an outsider just to try and shake that up even the slightest bit.

I think it needs organisational change at a higher level, but I’m not holding my breath there, so I’m not really a ‘get the club legend in’ sort of guy.

Broad view strike rate on coaches returning to their old clubs? Voss, Buckley, Woosha, Hird, Roos, Leppitsch, Longmuir. Obviously there’ll be heaps more but that’s a very very mixed bag.

Here’s a list I prepared earlier.

Premiership coaches this century that hadn’t previously played for the club:
  • Leigh Matthews x 3
  • Bomber Thompson x 2
  • Alastair Clarkson x 4
  • Mick Malthouse
  • Chris Scott
  • John Longmire
  • Dimmer Hardwick x 3
  • Simpson himself
  • Simon Goodwin

Premiership coaches that had played for the club:
  • Paul Roos
  • Woosha
  • Bevo (31 whole games)
  • Choco Williams (SANFL only)

I think North's targetting of Simpson is less about the romance of a favourite son and more about leveraging emotion to convince a successful coach to come to them because no one wants the damn job and they know it. Less "it'd be great to have a former captain as coach" and more "wouldn't you like to come back to the club you captained?"

Oh yes, all about the assistants.

Now that reminds me. It is the battle this week, the master vs the apprentice.
Who is the master and who is the apprentice is a matter of conjecture as we well know 🤣

Always two there are, no more no less…. Which one will be destroyed the master or the apprentice…… sorry thought it was the star wars thread..

Anyway someone came out with a stat last night that since 2000 only Geelong and the Eagles haven’t moved a coach on before the end of his tenure….