Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

Let's compare 2010 and this year. We finish bottom in 2010 after missing finals for 3 years in a row. We finished bottom this year after missing finals in 2021, 2022. In 2009 Geelong won the premiership. Geelong won last year too. When we finished bottom in 2010, Collingwood won the premiership and they are likely to win this year. In 2010, Kerr had a serious hamstring injury in round 4 and missed the whole year. This year Ryan missed the whole yeaar due to a hamstring injury suffered in round 3. Only one WCE player (Lecras) made the AA team in 2010. This year another WCE forward (Allen) is the sole West Coast player in the initial squad. A player named Harley was a top 3 pick in 2010. This year another Harley will go top 3 in the draft.

Jon Stewart Reaction GIF

Conclusion: History is repeating and we will make the prelim next year just like we did in 2011. Anyway, if I am proved wrong next year then somebody else has to delete their account.
Love the effort put into this posting.

What happens to todd once nisbett departs?

He takes over as CEO

Duh

Or more likely he gets assessed on his merits in the role he performs. Whether he’s good or bad at his job neither you or I would know

But as I’ve pointed out before ever since it became known he was involved in our recruiting department 2-3 years ago, our recruiting has been quite decent

The thing that annoys me the most about the "Negative Nannies" whinging about Simmo on here is that they fail to see how the man carried himself through all this.
At all times he was measured in his responses never once putting down the club or players.
His calm was admirable.
I reckon what got him over the line was the absolute backing of the players.

The risk vs reward was weighed up by the board on sacking simmo and the reward wasnt sweet enough.

Financial loss, no good replacement and even if there was the list wont go far next year anyway.

Likely wont survive 2024.

Also the vic media are horribly bad, i hope a non vic club gets the granny

The easy option was absolutely to sack Simpson. No one would have blamed the board for saying he'd lost the players or there are limits to 100 point losses. Claim a new era needed q new voice ect.

Like gold coast have done. About 7 times.

There has to be change coming elsewhere in the next few months if they're not pinning it in Simpson

Knights is moving to take over the forward line, isn’t that already known?

Sounds like business as usual, coaches & roles, players shown the door ..... the draft speculation/player managers feeding the journos the footy media on behalf of their clients.
Its the injury issue that I would like explained & a plan to make sure it will not happen again. One year can be bad luck :rolleyes: ....

Ultimately there's more to replacing a coach than just firing the one you have.

look joke GIF

The real question is, who is available that is better placed than Simmo to take us into next season? Who would improve us to the point that we could justify the payout?

I'm no Simmophant. I started the thread questioning some of his decisions in '17. But he's always been a well natured and humble leader who puts the players first. This may be to our detriment sometimes, consider the credits crew, but it did win us a flag so you can understand his hesitancy in going away from this familial approach.

He's a smart guy. He knows changes are needed. Unfortunately he hasn't been in a place to enforce these changes due to perhaps the worst 2 year injury run in recent memory. So the true test will be next year.

I think based on the football we played at the start and the end of the season, there is plenty of cause for optimism under Simpson.

If this doesn't occur, I don't think the bleaters will have to endure for long. He'll fall on his sword for this club - it's just the kind of guy he is.

I hope he's the coach up on the stand as we win our next flag. I genuinely believe he's capable of that, and Hewett-Reid-Ginbey will be key to it (please don't trade Pick 1).

Welcome back Simmo. We love ya.

To the coach - It's been resolved, great, now lets get on with it! Park all the media noise and start proving that you're better than the last two years, that you can swing all those terrible stats around, scores from clearances, scores from stoppages, list management, injury management, fitness, scoreboard results, win-loss ratio etc...no more excuses...an exciting rebuild and a results driven future, for as long as you last!

I like this result because it hopefully means change is coming elsewhere off field. So either Nesbit goes or they overhaul something else like S&C

If we sacked Simmo they would be too conservative to change anything else.

Of course they could just change nothing at all which wouldn’t surprise me, but as long as our (good) young players enjoy playing at WC and don’t ask to be traded, I can live with it for another year

Look at it through clear glasses and enjoy your opportunity.
You have 2 more years of whinging about Simmo to look forward to.

Do you always say others are whinging when they disagree with your opinion? The club has made the call based on money, you know this as does everyone else. Don’t try and sit there on your high horse thinking it was because Simmo is the right coach to rebuild. You sound like a fool doing that.

From what I have heard [from people in Sydney], D.Cox said no and wants to continue with the current Sydney build before moving elsewhere.

Surprised by Cox declaring no interest and a lack of short-listed alternatives available, West Coast decided to stay with Simpson.

Same source also believes D.Pyke will replace Nisbett next year as Eagles CEO.

From what I have heard [from people in Sydney], D.Cox said no and wants to continue with the current Sydney build before moving elsewhere.

Surprised by Cox declaring no interest and a lack of short-listed alternatives available, West Coast decided to stay with Simpson.

Why would Don Pyke want a club CEO's job?
Shades of North fans suggesting Ben Buckley for its CEO job.

If Swans were trash it might have made his decision easier but if you compare where the Swans are at and that Longmire is potentially moving on in a year or two, Coxy could be handing the premiership side keys to someone else. All to go back to where the Swans were years ago.

The thing that annoys me the most about the "Negative Nannies" whinging about Simmo on here is that they fail to see how the man carried himself through all this.
At all times he was measured in his responses never once putting down the club or players.
His calm was admirable.
I reckon what got him over the line was the absolute backing of the players.
That and the cheering for Simmo everytime he was shown on the screen during the crows game didn't hurt either.

Ultimately there's more to replacing a coach than just firing the one you have.

look joke GIF

The real question is, who is available that is better placed than Simmo to take us into next season? Who would improve us to the point that we could justify the payout?

I'm no Simmophant. I started the thread questioning some of his decisions in '17. But he's always been a well natured and humble leader who puts the players first. This may be to our detriment sometimes, consider the credits crew, but it did win us a flag so you can understand his hesitancy in going away from this familial approach.

He's a smart guy. He knows changes are needed. Unfortunately he hasn't been in a place to enforce these changes due to perhaps the worst 2 year injury run in recent memory. So the true test will be next year.

I think based on the football we played at the start and the end of the season, there is plenty of cause for optimism under Simpson.

If this doesn't occur, I don't think the bleaters will have to endure for long. He'll fall on his sword for this club - it's just the kind of guy he is.

I hope he's the coach up on the stand as we win our next flag. I genuinely believe he's capable of that, and Hewett-Reid-Ginbey will be key to it (please don't trade Pick 1).

Welcome back Simmo. We love ya.

You're just saying that because he still gives Petch a game. hahahaha

Good post mate, reckon you are right about the man he is.

Do you always say others are whinging when they disagree with your opinion? The club has made the call based on money, you know this as does everyone else. Don’t try and sit there on your high horse thinking it was because Simmo is the right coach to rebuild. You sound like a fool doing that.
Where does one start.....well, no to the money aspect firstly. I believe the players standing up for him swayed the decision.
Secondly , Why do you always believe that you know what everyone else is thinking as per
"You know this as does everyone else"..
Who died and made you God? Might be time for you to climb down off your high horse and leave us POSITIVE supporters alone.

Where does one start.....well, no to the money aspect firstly. I believe the players standing up for him swayed the decision.
Secondly , Why do you always believe that you know what everyone else is thinking as per
"You know this as does everyone else"..
Who died and made you God? Might be time for you to climb down off your high horse and leave us POSITIVE supporters alone.

Hahaha Positive supporters. Can always rely on you for some humor.

Why would Don Pyke want a club CEO's job?
Shades of North fans suggesting Ben Buckley for its CEO job.
West Coast CEO earns about $1M pa which is the same rate as the most in-demand, premiership-winning coach. Pyke might appreciate the challenge of off field, given he's been coaching for a number of years. West Coast is the most profitable sporting club in the country.

I liked that random article's crystal ball position where it suggested that Pyke would come in as head of football, sort that out and then transition to CEO.

I could live with Nisbett for part or all of 2024 if that's the plan.

Also interesting to note that Fairfax is reporting Langer and Nisbett were steadfast in their backing of Simpson.

West Coast CEO earns about $1M pa which is the same rate as the most in-demand, premiership-winning coach. Pyke might appreciate the challenge of off field, given he's been coaching for a number of years. West Coast is the most profitable sporting club in the country.
So the mighty dollar might bring him back from Rose Bay, cant see it myself.

Do you always say others are fools for disagreeing with you?

The risk vs reward was weighed up by the board on sacking simmo and the reward wasnt sweet enough.

Financial loss, no good replacement and even if there was the list wont go far next year anyway.

Likely wont survive 2024.

Also the vic media are horribly bad, i hope a non vic club gets the granny
Will surely depend on the expectations of the club wouldn't you say?

Five to six wins and a percentage boost should be the target I think.