Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

I’m quite surprised Adam has survived.
One of the reason’s that it’s “because of injury’s” to me need clarification from posters here who know footy and clubs better than me.
Who was responsible for the players comming back unfit? Does any of this blame go to Adam?
Once conditioning is lost it’s easy to get injured playing catch up.
Who let these standards slip so badly.
Why do players not turn up so often? Big games like Hurns 300

I think seeing Fitzpatrick spruiking us earlier in the season just had me shaking my head in disbeiief. Most people can only go on what we read in the media.I know a lot of commentators are ********s,esp ES ers but there were far too many rumours swirling about about a divided board.MS there are plenty of people out there with access to inside info so there is not a chance in the world some stuff didn’t leak! Names like Pike and Woosha are getting thrown up.Surely these are the sort of people we want on the board?
EN, have a read of the John Townshend article posted earlier here.
Pretty much the only voice stating Simmo will be retained from the media.
His 'crystal ball' with regards to Don Pyke is also interesting.
Don't share your concern re Fitzpatrick comments, but that's my opinion, get the frustration..but, Chairpersons, part of the job
Daresay Woosha will be on the board before too long, I suspect.

The thing that annoys me the most about the "Negative Nannies" whinging about Simmo on here is that they fail to see how the man carried himself through all this.
At all times he was measured in his responses never once putting down the club or players.
His calm was admirable.
I reckon what got him over the line was the absolute backing of the players.
Or the players back him because they control him, they drive the bus!
Simmo is a puppet for the senior players. (hence the credits in the bank)
Has been since the pandemic/hub days.
(this was an idea put forward in a recent media piece I read, concerning comfort zones for coach and senior players and the whole family mantra. It kinda makes sense in a way. Mr. Nice Guy.)
He is an easy guy to like and certainly has some good qualities.
But I miss that steely resolve of Woosha...

(this was an idea put forward in a recent media piece I read, concerning comfort zones for coach and senior players and the whole family mantra. It kinda makes sense in a way. Mr. Nice Guy.)
Woosha was as successful as Simmo.

And I don't recall Simpson letting his core senior players go completely off the rails on drugs either.

That 'steely' resolve of Woosha didn't extend to off field, unfortunately.

How about...they mutually agree and get on with each other and that is why they had his back.
They did win us a cup together.
That creates a bond.
Unfortunately they couldn't back it up.

Woosha was as successful as Simmo.

And I don't recall Simpson letting his core senior players go completely off the rails on drugs either.

That 'steely' resolve of Woosha didn't extend to off field, unfortunately.
Fair call..I'm still conflicted on Simmo, I wax+wane. A lot of things unexplained and a lot of work ahead and results expected.
How about...they mutually agree and get on with each other and that is why they had his back.
They did win us a cup together.
That creates a bond.
Unfortunately they couldn't back it up.
That's a possibility too...you could drive a truck through "unfortunately they couldn't back it up?"
Just saw this media piece..

“Langer has won the day.”
As he had done so many times at the crease, Justin Langer dug in and refused to be shifted.
His role in the survival of West Coast Eagles AFL coach Adam Simpson was both pivotal and intriguing.
Former WA and Australian cricket coach Langer, now an Eagles board member, is a friend and confidante of Simpson. The pair live close to each other in City Beach and spend considerable time together.
While mateships are common in footy clubs, this particular bond runs a little deeper for Langer and the threat of his mate being removed from his position was also more personal.
The Test cricket great made at least one significant move behind the scenes to save Simpson's job.."

Dunno, just something about the whole decade long tenure for all concerned (board, coaches and players) that feels like a big comfort zone of friends and family and lifestyles, that became too entrenched or enmeshed with the results driven football thing, which became diluted..anyway, speculation like most things at this stage..will we ever get to the bottom of it?

EN, have a read of the John Townshend article posted earlier here.
Pretty much the only voice stating Simmo will be retained from the media.
His 'crystal ball' with regards to Don Pyke is also interesting.
Don't share your concern re Fitzpatrick comments, but that's my opinion, get the frustration..but, Chairpersons, part of the job
Daresay Woosha will be on the board before too long, I suspect.
Where is the Townshend article?

I couldn’t find it. I don’t want to trawl through 100 pages.

Peter Sumich has just dropped a big bucket on Simpson in today’s West.

He disputes the supposed unanimity of the board in the Simpson decision.

Criticises Simpson for not personally attending player exit interviews.

Highly critical of the Langer Simpson close relationship and intimates a conflict of interest for Langer.

Claims a dropping of standards under Simpson.

Past and present players unhappy.

Minimises to some extent the effect of the injury list.

There are a lot of unflattering claims made.

I couldn’t see Simpson and Sumich inviting the other to their bbq’s or sending Christmas cards.

Sumich obviously has his own conflict of interest with Simpson beating him for the job.

I would think there may well be truth in many of Sumich’s criticisms and there are others that are exaggerated.

It does not seem that everyone is relaxed and happy with Simpson’s retention.

I would think he has a few months next year to show that things are turning around or he will be gone.
Much of the performance this year was truly horrible and can’t be sustained or defended.

Fair call..I'm still conflicted on Simmo, I wax+wane. A lot of things unexplained and a lot of work ahead and results expected.

That's a possibility too...you could drive a truck through "unfortunately they couldn't back it up?"

As he had done so many times at the crease, Justin Langer dug in and refused to be shifted.
His role in the survival of West Coast Eagles AFL coach Adam Simpson was both pivotal and intriguing.
Former WA and Australian cricket coach Langer, now an Eagles board member, is a friend and confidante of Simpson. The pair live close to each other in City Beach and spend considerable time together.
While mateships are common in footy clubs, this particular bond runs a little deeper for Langer and the threat of his mate being removed from his position was also more personal.
The Test cricket great made at least one significant move behind the scenes to save Simpson's job.."

Dunno, just something about the whole decade long tenure for all concerned (board, coaches and players) that feels like a big comfort zone of friends and family and lifestyles, that became too entrenched or enmeshed with the results driven football thing, which became diluted..anyway, speculation like most things at this stage..will we ever get to the bottom of it?
Where is the media piece you are referring to?

I'm sure Sumich isn't totally off the mark and there is some truth behind it, but spending so much time about how JL has a conflict of interest because he is friends with Simmo (a stretch for defining conflicts of interest) and then bizarrely claiming it is completely unique in footy is a bit ridiculous, as well as being obviously hypocritical.

I am in the " Don’t believe everything you read" camp but having said that😁 I think Simmo will do a good job blooding new players, see out his 2 years, and move on himself. Then the run towards another cup will begin in earnest. OR...we playfinals next year🤣

I'm sure Sumich isn't totally off the mark and there is some truth behind it, but spending so much time about how JL has a conflict of interest because he is friends with Simmo (a stretch for defining conflicts of interest) and then bizarrely claiming it is completely unique in footy is a bit ridiculous, as well as being obviously hypocritical.
Sumich is bitter and an idiot. Why read garbage?

Say what you like about Suma but he’s an Eagles great ,proven as a player and a coach. Players that stay involved in footy be it coaching or media generally have access to more info than mugs like us. Don’t have to believe everything he says but there has to be some truth in there

Where is the Townshend article?

I couldn’t find it. I don’t want to trawl through 100 pages.

Here you go

Important to note this was written on Monday morning before the decision to retain Simpson was made/became public

Unless someone from the board actually comes out and says Langer turned the tide Twelve Angry Men style we won’t know how much substance there is to the claims

What the Langer saved his mate narrative does do, is provide those who were claiming Simpson was gone a plausible reason for them getting it wrong. Whether or not it’s accurate is secondary

Unless someone from the board actually comes out and says Langer turned the tide Twelve Angry Men style we won’t know how much substance there is to the claims

What the Langer saved his mate narrative does do, is provide those who were claiming Simpson was gone a plausible reason for them getting it wrong. Whether or not it’s accurate is secondary

The vision of being stuck in a hot, sweaty New York jury room with Langer would make anyone give up pretty quickly.

He is. But he's right in questioning the "unanimous" decision of the Board. That part of the Club's media release was the type of bullshit you can smell a mile off.
It's unanimous in the sense that the official vote would have been unanimous. There's rules around this shit and you can't lie.

But I'm sure there were some directors that were privately against the decision or at best conflicted.

It would be a poorly managed board if they came to a decision and didn't vote unanimously.

Peter Sumich has just dropped a big bucket on Simpson in today’s West.

He disputes the supposed unanimity of the board in the Simpson decision.

Criticises Simpson for not personally attending player exit interviews.

Highly critical of the Langer Simpson close relationship and intimates a conflict of interest for Langer.

Claims a dropping of standards under Simpson.

Past and present players unhappy.

Minimises to some extent the effect of the injury list.

There are a lot of unflattering claims made.

I couldn’t see Simpson and Sumich inviting the other to their bbq’s or sending Christmas cards.

Sumich obviously has his own conflict of interest with Simpson beating him for the job.

I would think there may well be truth in many of Sumich’s criticisms and there are others that are exaggerated.

It does not seem that everyone is relaxed and happy with Simpson’s retention.

I would think he has a few months next year to show that things are turning around or he will be gone.
Much of the performance this year was truly horrible and can’t be sustained or defended.

Don't read the West, but if accurate then a fair chunk of what Suma says is hard to argue with (except perhaps his attempt to minimise the injury effect).

Really Suma couldn't go wrong, because it's like highlighting that Scomo was on the nose last Federal election or Albo has made a hash of the Voice thingy.

And he is certainly right in his criticism of Langer/Simpson close relationship, particularly given Langer feels particularly aggrieved about having to walk from a coaching role because of the lack of Board support....... Duh.

And Langer can be a bit self-righteous on his points of view (i.e. demanding paying punters respect the players and lay of the jibes, oh you nasty barmy army folk) and this comes through to pretty much everyone that has dealings with him (and he still has the family car salesman streak in him which can be off putting).

Nevertheless, if the Board (and Langer) is going to do what boards are supposed to do and rigoursly establish an organisation governance framework, require Simmo to provide a very clear player strategic plan of how to return WC as an on field powerhouse, has an agreed set of KPI's for Simmo that he must meet to keep his job and otherwise leaves the day to day coach related operations to Simmo and his merry band of new coaches; then lets sit back and see how it plays out and hopefully enjoy the ride.

Perhaps this will be Suma's last shot across the bow (whilst being richly deserved) and he won't have the need or opportunity to do so again (wishful thinking I suspect).

It's unanimous in the sense that the official vote would have been unanimous. There's rules around this s**t and you can't lie.

But I'm sure there were some directors that were privately against the decision or at best conflicted.

It would be a poorly managed board if they came to a decision and didn't vote unanimously.

Robust debate is good, and everything should be thoroughly questioned and investigated. The last thing we need is a bunch of these on the board

Season 1 Yes GIF by Rick and Morty

It's unanimous in the sense that the official vote would have been unanimous. There's rules around this s**t and you can't lie.

I’d hope that not everyone on the board had the same opinion and that the discussion over Simpson’s future was robust. Thrashing out a big decision like this needs to be be fully tested before finalising a position

Once the decision had been made you then want all board members to be behind it and unanimous in their support. Which seems to be the case