Traded Adam Treloar [traded with #26, #33 and #42 to Bulldogs for #14 and 2021 R2]

Who won this trade?

• Collingwood

Votes: 1 6.3%
  • Western Bulldogs

Votes: 15 93.8%

Can someone give me the short story here? Don't want to read through 27 pages. I find it so hard to believe. Surely there are other players you'd rather offload if it is purely a salary issue. He bleeds black and white and would prefer him over a De Goey type who seems content to shop himself around.

afl.com.au
foxsports.com.au
sen.com.au
theage.com.au

Why are you asking forums on the internet to provide a summary of a major piece of sports news when you can just go to a bunch of sites that will give you a rundown?

This is one of the most shameful periods for the Collingwood football club. My heart will always be with them, as it has been for over 30 years, but I wish I could divorce them and move on.

I can take bad off field behaviour from idiots, I can take being unsuccessful, I can take losing grand finals, but I can't take us being cold and heartless and trying to pass ourselves off as sympathetic. I can't really take Eddie McGuire anymore, but what are ya gonna do?

Seriously would need to be some grand "Usual Suspects" style twist to keep me rooting for this team next year. I mean I know you guys always think we're the bad guys, but now I would have to concede we are.

Be patient we have had bad patches before and typically when Collingwood goes through tough times we come out the other side foccused on footy and not the other BS we seem to be more interested in these days. I remember feeling the same way during the Unshaw years, we were badly run, under achieving and problems attracting and retaining players. We simply need a change of administration, Eddie was the guy who got us out of the Unshaw years but he has been there too long, lost focus and now we need to get back to basics.

Sadly it looks like Treloar will be the victim, I am not sold that he is a great player but he has never had an injury free run since he joined us and we enticed him to the club and offered the deal etc. Now we want to cut him and move on. Fair enough there is a business angle to all this but this smells.

A club that gets Treloar and gets his body right could be highly rewarded.

afl.com.au
foxsports.com.au
sen.com.au
theage.com.au

Why are you asking forums on the internet to provide a summary of a major piece of sports news when you can just go to a bunch of sites that will give you a rundown?

Cheers old mate but thought someone might be able to provide more info than what's reported on those websites. Thanks.

Be patient we have had bad patches before and typically when Collingwood goes through tough times we come out the other side foccused on footy and not the other BS we seem to be more interested in these days. I remember feeling the same way during the Unshaw years, we were badly run, under achieving and problems attracting and retaining players. We simply need a change of administration, Eddie was the guy who got us out of the Unshaw years but he has been there too long, lost focus and now we need to get back to basics.

Sadly it looks like Treloar will be the victim, I am not sold that he is a great player but he has never had an injury free run since he joined us and we enticed him to the club and offered the deal etc. Now we want to cut him and move on. Fair enough there is a business angle to all this but this smells.

A club that gets Treloar and gets his body right could be highly rewarded.

We are not talking a patch

We are talking a complete and utter lack of morals

The supporter doesn’t represent the club. I might barrack for Geelong but I’m not exactly responsible for Ablett Sr’s issues etc

To be honest even beyond that. Eagles never dragged a players wife into the situations we had. To me thats just as big of a no go zone as you can have

I cant really understand myself how people cant just be disgusted at that. Its beyond unacceptable and I think to the point where Gil should be standing up and laying down the law. A players wife being dragged into a football trade should not be on

I reckon most victorian clubs would be happy to take Treloar considering his unders for trade value

Clubs don't need to show much interest right now because they know it's going to happen. The longer they hold off the worse his value gets

I'm not sure it's completely got through to Treloar just yet either
All you need is two clubs to be interested and his trade value goes up

To be honest even beyond that. Eagles never dragged a players wife into the situations we had. To me thats just as big of a no go zone as you can have

I cant really understand myself how people cant just be disgusted at that. Its beyond unacceptable and I think to the point where Gil should be standing up and laying down the law. A players wife being dragged into a football trade should not be on

We did not drag her into it the media did. Just like they did when Kelly wanted to come back to Perth because his wife needs family support. Forgot that one did you?

Sorry I meant is there a legit link between Treloar and the dogs.. or is it just because Dunkley is supposedly leaving?
I don't think there's anything substantial.

There was an article suggesting Treloar would be the perfect fit for you guys, given his line-breaking ability from stoppages/out-side run to complement the inside grunt of Libba/Bont/Dunkley/Smith and give support to Macrae.

But nothing solid I think?

Media have already started to back off on the whole ‘shopping Treloar’ rhetoric. If he leaves, it’s to a qld team to be with his partner and daughter. If we trade him to a Vic team I’ll eat my hat. Won’t happen.
You’ll be eating your hat because you don’t understand their salary cap situation and he’s told them if they want him gone he’s going to a vic team.

All you need is two clubs to be interested and his trade value goes up
And for Treloar to be interested in the two clubs.

That’s the problem - he wants to stay in Melbourne, he wants to stay in flag contention. That rules out the non-Vic sides plus Geelong, also Melbourne, Essendon, Carlton, North and Hawthorn. Richmond could not fit him in the cap, so that leaves only the Dogs and Saints, neither of which have shown interest thus far.

If Collingwood are having such a tough time paying Treloar’s salary, then Hawthorn will take him and pay most of his contract if not all of it. Throw in Tom Phillips as well.

Collingwood get: Hawthorn’s 2020 pick 21, 41 and 43
Hawthorn get: Treloar and Phillips

Win/Win!

:drunk::thumbsu:

Traded Adam Treloar [traded with #26, #33 and #42 to Bulldogs for #14 and 2021 R2]