Adelaide Crowie's deserting the team in droves...

Are you thick or just ignorant? You stated that it was accurate that sponsorship dollars were up. You then posted links stating that sponsorship numbers were up, not sponsorship dollars. Therefore you have proved squat. Any imbecile can increase sponsorship numbers, it's increasing the dollars that actually makes a difference.

If you genuinely believe that Port has done a good job in this regard, then you are kidding yourself. Aussie ATM was a face saving exercise, hence why it's a one year deal and happened at the last second.

No need to get aggressive. I am neither thick nor ignorant. I'll refer you back to my original post where I never said dollars were up. You see, you have jumped all over me for no reason whatsoever - accusing me of saying things and thinking things I never have or did. The post is below for your reference. Why don't you read it again properly this time (and then you can review our conversation and maybe learn from where you went wrong).

I said we had increased support, and proved it with the link. I'm happy to see that we are 'getting somewhere'.

You have run off at the mouth about dollars (and you're yet to prove that dollars are down anyway - not that I've ever denied this is not a possibility, but I'm still waiting for your linkage).

They don't because the tingles have about 70% of the market in SA. :rolleyes:

How's your club's top 4 / 3rd premiership prediction going? Like the '19th man' campaign and horrible new logo & away jumper... it's a failure. Their feeble attempts to replicate the ideas and concepts of others is looking more sad and pathetic at every turn.

Port's corporate support is up this year - so we are turning around our performance both on and off-field, whilst your club is heading for unfulfilled expectations and it's first ever trading loss :eek:

So, while we're back here, and you're such an expert (lol!), maybe you can explain your club's increasingly precarious financial position? Sekaj and others continue to avoid the subject for some reason. kthx

No need to get aggressive. I am neither thick nor ignorant. I'll refer you back to my original post where I never said dollars were up. You see, you have jumped all over me for no reason whatsoever - accusing me of saying things and thinking things I never have or did. The post is below for your reference. Why don't you read it again properly this time (and then you can review our conversation and maybe learn from where you went wrong).

I said we had increased support, and proved it with the link. I'm happy to see that we are 'getting somewhere'.

You have run off at the mouth about dollars (and you're yet to prove that dollars are down anyway - not that I've ever denied this is not a possibility, but I'm still waiting for your linkage).

So, while we're back here, and you're such an expert (lol!), maybe you can explain your club's increasingly precarious financial position? Sekaj and others continue to avoid the subject for some reason. kthx

We built an asset, with an attached liability. Which means a drop in profits to service the debt.

The profit is essentially moving from the P and L to the Balance Sheet.

We built an asset, with an attached liability. Which means a drop in profits to service the debt.

The profit is essentially moving from the P and L to the Balance Sheet.

Your football generated revenue is shrinking. Did you even read the article?

Ah, the plot thickens. Looking at those figures, and considering everyone of those teams, with the exception of North, has higher crowd figures than Port, it shows that while some teams will have occasional poor turn out - due to weather, the expected quality of the game, other events - Port continually fail to get a crowd.

In fact, they are so bad that even when they play Essendon they can't get a crowd. Port is so shit that people don't even want to see thier own teams play them. If I was Essendon, I'd be asking Port to cover the loss of ticket sales due to their stench driving Essendon supporters away.

Here is the question I pose to you: When will you stop making excusses? Oh, West Lakes is not in the CBD, oh, the population is lower, oh, Melbourne teams get inflated numbers.

"We have 30% share of the market in SA". What, you want a medal? If you're happy with that, good for you, if you're content that the team that is 6-1 consistantly gets better crowds than you lot at 5-2, say so. Tell me, are you happy that your team has less ability to pull a crowd than a side that stuggles to beat a wet paper bag?

So you're saying that Port are responsible for Essendon's home crowd numbers? The same way that West Coast are responsible for the 18,000 that turned out to the North game at the undercover, state of the art city stadium that is Etihad?

As I said before...hypocrite.

And just so you know the reverse Port vs. Essendon fixture at AAMI pulled 28,000 last year....only 1,000 less than what Essendon at home could muster.

I'm not making excuses....in reality things are rarely black and white. Sometimes you actually have to analyse something in just a little bit of detail in order to get the complete picture. You seem quite happy to use 'poor weather, expected quality of the game, other events (whatever that is)" in order to explain things, so why are you so dismissive of popualtion, stadium locality and melbourne v melbourne games when they obviously have an impact on things?

P.S. The Crows are 1-6, not 6-1...I'm sure you like going around saying that the Eagles are 5-2, but that doesn't change reality!

I'm not making excuses....in reality things are rarely black and white. Sometimes you actually have to analyse something in just a little bit of detail in order to get the complete picture. You seem quite happy to use 'poor weather, expected quality of the game, other events (whatever that is)" in order to explain things, so why are you so dismissive of popualtion, stadium locality and melbourne v melbourne games when they obviously have an impact on things?

I thought I'd sace you some time and bold the important points myself this time.

You pull numbers from three games, I show you numbers from three years. "sometimes you actually have to analyse something in just a little bit of detail." Give it a go eh?

Also, I think you do not quiet grasp the meaning of hypocrite. In order to be a hypocrite I would need to apply a set of rules to one thing and not to another. This I am not doing. I am saying that over the past three years less people have seen Port play than any other team in the AFL. With that in mind I think it unwise to take pot shots at the attendance of other teams, or defend the idiots that do. West Coast, this year, are playing shit. As a club, we are not shit. How do I come to that conclusion? More than 23 people from the local retirement village come to watch us play.

You like to give "reasons" for poor attendance, none of which are the result of the team, or so you claim. Yet you deny reason to other clubs, such as Brisbane and Sydney. A touch Hypocritical? Besides this, the other team in the state can get people to turn up when playing shithouse, Port can't get a crowd scoring 200 points a week.

You constantly refer to the Melbourne teams as if it gives your shit team some vindication for shit crowds. Lets list the interstate teams that get bigger crowds than Port:

Brisbane

I would imagain we'll be adding GWS and GC to that list soon too.

Fail club is fail

I thought I'd sace you some time and bold the important points myself this time.

You pull numbers from three games, I show you numbers from three years. "sometimes you actually have to analyse something in just a little bit of detail." Give it a go eh?

Also, I think you do not quiet grasp the meaning of hypocrite. In order to be a hypocrite I would need to apply a set of rules to one thing and not to another. This I am not doing. I am saying that over the past three years less people have seen Port play than any other team in the AFL. With that in mind I think it unwise to take pot shots at the attendance of other teams, or defend the idiots that do. West Coast, this year, are playing shit. As a club, we are not shit. How do I come to that conclusion? More than 23 people from the local retirement village come to watch us play.

You like to give "reasons" for poor attendance, none of which are the result of the team, or so you claim. Yet you deny reason to other clubs, such as Brisbane and Sydney. A touch Hypocritical? Besides this, the other team in the state can get people to turn up when playing shithouse, Port can't get a crowd scoring 200 points a week.

You constantly refer to the Melbourne teams as if it gives your shit team some vindication for shit crowds. Lets list the interstate teams that get bigger crowds than Port:

Brisbane

Fail club is fail

This is the best post on this thread.... highlighted bits and all.
The red bit is spot on.

Anyone disputing any of this is a total idiot.

(Worse than Sydney ...thats bad)

Brisbane

Fail club is fail

You are a hypocrite. Why is Port responsible for Essendon's low home crowd, but then West Coast isn't for North's home crowd? I would say that's applying one set of rules for one thing and not another, wouldn't you? Didn't answer that one before did you.

And why are you slamming my 'excuses' when you are presenting reasons for poor crowds that are even worse (weather, team performance, "other reasons"....WTF is that?!). You didn't answer that one before either.

As for Brisbane and Sydney they both have real challenges in their respective markets, I'm not denying that at all. But they do have very large populations (in comparison to Adelaide) to draw from which helps and anyone denying that is an idiot. Why do you think the expansion teams are in these areas and not poor old Tassie?

And I'm not taking "pots shots" at other clubs, I'm just stating the facts. I haven't said that our crowds are better than any other interstate club, but we would be better than some melbourne clubs if you compare apples with apples. That's all I'm saying. But you can't seem to get that through your thick head because you don't want to compare apples with apples, you're just blindly trolling Port about crowds because you've got nothing else on us at the moment.

Forget 3 years....do 4, 5, 10 if you want! Port's crowds are nowhere near the worst if you take away the "victorian showdowns" that skew the numbers.

Anyone denying that is a dead-set tool.

This is the best post on this thread.... highlighted bits and all.
The red bit is spot on.

Anyone disputing any of this is a total idiot.

(Worse than Sydney ...thats bad)

Read all the posts subi. If you can remove your crow glasses for a moment you'll see that I'm making a valid argument but Senor Vok is just being a hypocritical flog that doesn't like reason.

Have read them all , petal.....;)

I stand by what I said.

You are talking in hypotheticals....the fact that Melbourne teams play Melbourne teams is irrelevant.

How many Cat 1 members go to Port games ...and how many of them are Crows supporters?

Carlton, Essendon,Collingwood all get good turnouts here of Adelaide based supporters.

Fact is , and I didn't realise this, but SYDNEY get better crowds... in Rugby League state.... Brisbane ...a Rugby League state...Freo ...done sweet **** all for however long they been around...all get better crowds.

That's the indictment on your club right there.

Conversely, Crows supporters at Interstate games are pretty good. Last one I went to was the Essendon shoot out last year.... had an argument on here how many Crows fans were there. There were heaps and the crowd was about 40,000.

You are a hypocrite. Why is Port responsible for Essendon's low home crowd, but then West Coast isn't for North's home crowd?
The main reason as an Essendon supporter I did not attend this game was because it was Port. Port are shit, just like their supporters. Shit and a bunch of flogs, wapower, gaypower et al prove that beyond a doubt, why would you be any different?

Now read nothing into the fact I don't live in Victoria, I again state that I did not attend this game due to it being against a shitfull club in Port. I think about attending all games Essendon plays in Melb, but I thought about that one the least. ;)

I stand by what I said.

You are talking in hypotheticals....the fact that Melbourne teams play Melbourne teams is irrelevant.

How many Cat 1 members go to Port games ...and how many of them are Crows supporters?

Carlton, Essendon,Collingwood all get good turnouts here of Adelaide based supporters.

Fact is , and I didn't realise this, but SYDNEY get better crowds... in Rugby League state.... Brisbane ...a Rugby League state...Freo ...done sweet **** all for however long they been around...all get better crowds.

Conversely, Crows supporters at Interstate games are pretty good. Last one I went to was the Essendon shoot out last year.... had an argument on here how many Crows fans were there. There were heaps and the crowd was about 40,000.
To be fair though, don't hold it against Port that they have the smallest seating capacity out of all those Interstate Clubs home grounds...Oh, what? You mean that is not the case? AAMI Stadium has the highest seating capacity out of all the interstate clubs? Are you serious?

;)

The main reason as an Essendon supporter I did not attend this game was because it was Port. Port are shit, just like their supporters. Shit and a bunch of flogs, wapower, gaypower et al prove that beyond a doubt, why would you be any different?

Now read nothing into the fact I don't live in Victoria, I again state that I did not attend this game due to it being against a shitfull club in Port. I think about attending all games Essendon plays in Melb, but I thought about that one the least. ;)

You thought about the Port game the least because we own your arses and you knew you'd be up for another loss! ;) 12 from 13 bitch!

If you don't support your team because you don't like the opposition then you're not much of a supporter in my book.

I stand by what I said.

There is nothing hypothetical about comparing crowd figures minus victorian showdowns. It just gives you a clearer picture.

I thought I asked you to take your crow glasses off for a minute....seems like they're glued to your face! :p

You thought about the Port game the least because we own your arses and you knew you'd be up for another loss! ;) 12 from 13 bitch!

If you don't support your team because you don't like the opposition then you're not much of a supporter in my book.
Lol

I supported them don't you worry, I supported them from the comfort of my lounge room.

I made a point of letting out a big roar every time that little "star" Wobbie Gay got caught with the ball and coughed it up. By half time had the neighbours banging on my door telling me to keep the noise down.;)

Lol

I supported them don't you worry, I supported them from the comfort of my lounge room.

I made a point of letting out a big roar every time that little "star" Wobbie Gay got caught with the ball and coughed it up. By half time had the neighbours banging on my door telling me to keep the noise down.;)

I bet your neighbours didn't hear a peep out of you at full time! ;)

You do know Essendon lost don't you? To a shit club who can't draw a crowd anywhere to boot. I was not happy, what makes you think I was quiet?

Oh so you went the other way! Did the neighbours have to call the cops after you lost your mind then?!!! ;)

I bet your neighbours didn't hear a peep out of you at full time! ;)
Schmucta comes and goes as he pleases. It's normally when he smells Port Adelaide bloody however he's inconspicuous for the rest of the time.. kinda like subaru says about bandwagoners, front runners or soft types.

There is nothing hypothetical about comparing crowd figures minus victorian showdowns. It just gives you a clearer picture.

I thought I asked you to take your crow glasses off for a minute....seems like they're glued to your face! :p

I have ;)...and nowhere in the whole wide world is 17000 better than 31000.

Take out half the games that are played in Melbourne is your theory ...is that right?

We get 11 home games... and you all whinge about the cost of that.
Imagine if you had to cough up the dollars 17 weeks out of 22! You have to also be ABLE to get to all those games... work, races, kids sport, your own sport..are all factors why people don't go. It is too simplistic to just say what you are saying.

I'm not being a smart arse, :) but it is an entirely different scenario, and one that you cannot "minus" certain games to suit your argument.

Cant be bothered reading all the replies since I last posted. Have we all agreed that Port have the worst crowds in the game yet, or are we still crying about ground location and Sydney's population?

The replies started being personal, so I reckon your point was well made and they've ****ed off.:thumbsu:

You are a hypocrite. Why is Port responsible for Essendon's low home crowd, but then West Coast isn't for North's home crowd? I would say that's applying one set of rules for one thing and not another, wouldn't you? Didn't answer that one before did you.

And why are you slamming my 'excuses' when you are presenting reasons for poor crowds that are even worse (weather, team performance, "other reasons"....WTF is that?!). You didn't answer that one before either.

Sure, West Coast was the reason for Norths poor crowd if you want. We've still had 30000 more watch us play so far this season (higher than your average), but I'll wear it on the chin if you'll dry your eyes.

Now, the main differnace that Sydney and Brisbane have reasons, and you have excuses, is because there is another team in Adeliade that manages to draw a crowd. 13000 more than Port so far this season with one win.

You WIN games an no one rocks up.

You want to grab figures for 5-10 years mate, go hard. I'm over it. Worst crowds in the comp, interstate or otherwise.

I leave you with this thought though. Biggest crowd of the year? 40k vs the crows. 2nd biggest crowd? 37 at Subi vs West Coast. Only one other game cracked 30 and that was by a bees dick and thanks to Carlton.

1. Showdown
2. Away game

Yeah mate, you guys can really get bums on seats...

Good to see the Carlton folk prop up Port for their biggest non showdown crowd of the year. As they do most years.

still nothing to say about the tingles financial woes on the horizon?

Interesting that their concerns seem to be escalating. Any ideas what Chapman's so upset about now?

link

it was debatable who had the greater anger: off-field leader, chairman Rob Chapman or on-field leader, coach Neil Craig.

Chapman had sat through a three-hour meeting in Melbourne in which the Crows executive concluded they are to lose every competitive off-field advantage built up at West Lakes when they are shunted to Adelaide Oval in 2014. In esssence, the Adelaide Football Club feels it has been misled - and is about to be cheated - by the Great Stadium Heist.

link

LOL at Port Power supporters quoting Rucci like he has any credibility.

Michelangelo Rucci in 2006 said:
Who knows what can be made of the strapping body Ryan Willits carries

And Williams did not give Josh Carr's No. 9 guernsey to James Ezard for no reason.

2006 was not a premiership season for Port Adelaide. It was a pre-season to a premiership campaign that could take two or three years to fulfil.

You're going to have to do better than linking to a Rucci article if you want to prove a point. At least warn us that it is a Rucci article so we don't have to waste our time clicking through the link.

Adelaide Crowie's deserting the team in droves...