Review Adelaide v Essendon - Rd 18

ROB's been disappointing all year.
Not sure if he is still carrying that back injury but no marking around the ground, no follow up with ground balls has really hurt the team.
Hopefully he can turn his form around.
I wouldn't be against giving him a break for a week or two and give Strachie a go just to see how he goes, I think he deserves it after his performances all year
He is the traditional ruckman and lacks athleticism, but he needs to make up for that in taking grabs at critical times

What's worse than Jake stringer thinking he's awesome but not being very good?

Jake stringer thinking he's awesome and actually being very good.

2. Everything right is leading marking ie presenting.

Playing Tex has hindered Fogarty - both play similar roles . Fog is a victim of circumstance in that his time at the club has coincided with Walkers 2nd half of his career.

mentioning Rowe and McAdam in relation to Tex ''hindering ' them is just word scribble because Tex doesnt play those positions.

I just dont like this panic reaction to a bad game where the club and supporters look backwards and decide yesterdays men will always make it better

This is what a rebuild looks like - suck it up and support the future
Thanks for a very reasonable response.

2) Frampton's "leading marking ie presenting." ie showing up and doing what a KPF is supposed to do, is not enough. He does not finish off, create, or bring teammates into the game.

Thilthorpe is getting much more attention since the Saints game, ie harassed, marked closely (btw, it's amazing to me that the Crows beat the Saints who've gone on a winning run against top sides, wtf?)
More:
--- I don't think of Tex as a security blanket. I'm looking at him based on his form and output this year. I see no use complaining about when he was played, injured in 2018/19, those years are gone.
--- no way has Tex hindered Fogarty's development. Fogarty is lucky to have a leader/mentor like Tex to show him the ropes.
For the first time I'm going to say what I really think of Fogarty (Vader Scorpus ), but it's only my non-expert opinion, probably from an ex-teacher's pov.
I think he's lazy. He behaves like a big-headed, entitled spoiled brat, as if getting drafted then picked to play has been enough. It's not.
He has the body of a man-brick-outhouse, but the behaviours of a selfish and immature 12-year-old. Imo, he lacks the focussed drive that good players have that turn them from "has potential" to "must-select/ game-winner". He's selfish, his second-efforts are weak (almost non-existent) and he's defensively indifferent. When the ball is close he gives it one shot --- if he doesn't get it, he's not interested and might as well not be on the park.
In short, he needs to grow up, but hey, there are plenty of smug, entitled, arrogant and immature 21-year-old man-children who've not kept up with their body's growth (is he an only child? that'd explain a lot). If he wants to know how to behave, he could emulate Thilthorpe who @ now-19 shows no signs of big-headedness and plenty of team spirit.
Having said that, Nicks could turn Fogarty around by appealing to his ego --- Darcy, the Crows need you to show leadership, and selfless humility. The game is not about you. Stop preening and strutting and knuckle down, mate. Channel your energy into your attack on the ball and the player with the ball. You're not God's Gift to Footy, not the chosen one, or the only ONE. You're one of 22. Help your teammates. Drop the big-headed showmanship, the unnecessary dead-ball aggro and the ill-tempered petulance when things don't go your way; you're not Jonathon Brown.

Fogarty's development is on Fogarty, not Tex.

There are plenty of us that concur with you on the massive overreaction and the fact that this is what a rebuild looks like, but on frampton I reckon that you are very nearly on your own. He’s not part of the future and just isn’t AFL standard
Yep.
GreyCrow too, Frampton has had two games back now after being inexplicably re-selected.
I say 'inexplicably' because the Selectors in their stupidity have looked only at his SANFL form (not previous AFL ineptitude) and hoping that would translate into AFL usefulness.
It hasn't.
It won't. Why not?
Because he has demonstrated often enough with PA and now with the Crows that he has not got what it takes at AFL level. This latest 2-game chance is proof (17 touches with zero game-impact --- I'd nearly prefer Fog's 3 touches and two goals, nearly :sneaky: ).
They'd be better off putting AFL games into Cook, Murray and Worrell.

Had a bye three weeks ago so it's not that.

No what it actually is, is having the youngest team in the AFL while simultaneously playing among the fewest players of any team.

We are cooking the guys in our side. Playing guys with obvious injuries (Classic Crows), and not having any management in place to rotate/rest the younger guys

continuity is king at our club. Nicks is a disciple of the same philosophies that Pyke embraced. It's a club thing.

A note here from the AFL website:

"Adelaide only managed 31 forward 50 entries for the match, the fewest by any team in a standard-length match since 2018."

our conversion of entries to scores was down only a few % from from our season average of something like 36%. Too much is made of missing Tex, there's not much difference in forward function with or without him. The problem lies solely around what is happening upfield.

Thanks for a very reasonable response.

2) Frampton's "leading marking ie presenting." ie showing up and doing what a KPF is supposed to do, is not enough. He does not finish off, create, or bring teammates into the game.

Thilthorpe is getting much more attention since the Saints game, ie harassed, marked closely (btw, it's amazing to me that the Crows beat the Saints who've gone on a winning run against top sides, wtf?)
More:
--- I don't think of Tex as a security blanket. I'm looking at him based on his form and output this year. I see no use complaining about when he was played, injured in 2018/19, those years are gone.
--- no way has Tex hindered Fogarty's development. Fogarty is lucky to have a leader/mentor like Tex to show him the ropes.
For the first time I'm going to say what I really think of Fogarty (Vader Scorpus ), but it's only my non-expert opinion, probably from an ex-teacher's pov.
I think he's lazy. He behaves like a big-headed, entitled spoiled brat, as if getting drafted then picked to play has been enough. It's not.
He has the body of a man-brick-outhouse, but the behaviours of a selfish and immature 12-year-old. Imo, he lacks the focussed drive that good players have that turn them from "has potential" to "must-select/ game-winner". He's selfish, his second-efforts are weak (almost non-existent) and he's defensively indifferent. When the ball is close he gives it one shot --- if he doesn't get it, he's not interested and might as well not be on the park.
In short, he needs to grow up, but hey, there are plenty of smug, entitled, arrogant and immature 21-year-old man-children who've not kept up with their body's growth (is he an only child? that'd explain a lot). If he wants to know how to behave, he could emulate Thilthorpe who @ now-19 shows no signs of big-headedness and plenty of team spirit.
Having said that, Nicks could turn Fogarty around by appealing to his ego --- Darcy, the Crows need you to show leadership, and selfless humility. The game is not about you. Stop preening and strutting and knuckle down, mate. Channel your energy into your attack on the ball and the player with the ball. You're not God's Gift to Footy, not the chosen one, or the only ONE. You're one of 22. Help your teammates. Drop the big-headed showmanship, the unnecessary dead-ball aggro and the ill-tempered petulance when things don't go your way; you're not Jonathon Brown.

Fogarty's development is on Fogarty, not Tex.

If you're going to write weird fanfiction can you at least ship some interesting characters?

He was very good early in the season and back to his best, then got the eye injury and now clearly playing with a niggle.

you keep repeating this rubbish. He was crap in the first 2 games, 19 and 20 touches for a full time midfielder is appalling. As is the 17 he got Friday night. He played 1 good one against Suns in round 3 and has been rubbish since. If he's playing with a niggle, why have the last 2 games each been his highest TOG of the year at the time. His average after 10 games was 81%. Last 2 weeks have been 87% and 89%. Strange to spend more time on ground if you're carrying a niggle. He knows he's struggling, so he's spending more time out there trying to get His numbers up. It's shockingly selfish and Nicks needs to put a stop to it.

Like I said, Sloane average around 25 possessions through out his career (even in 2016/17 when he was elite), so he was very good with 20 possessions where 33% of them were clearances in those 2 first games. In case you haven't noticed, he has a hand injury so he has been playing with niggle.

I think Adelaide had about 30% more inexperience then Essendon last night. A midget forward line, an obvious desire to try new things such as holding possession, Frampton back. The loss wasnt even in the top 10 largest margins this season. We are missing half our experienced players, Berg a late out really screwed the structure. Brown out didnt help, then Doedee injury was even worse.

Dont get me wrong, it was bad. But the sky is falling style reaction some have on here is really over the top.

midget forward line? A 2 key forward set up is the norm. That we were intending to go in with 3 talls, all KPF/rucks, was rank stupidity.

That's what really stood out to me last night was how short our team is all over the ground.
We desperately need some more height in the team.
Especially going forward, we are just under sized to take a mark

you don't need height to take a mark, you need separation and decent delivery. There's about 12 contested marks per team each week, across the whole ground. We had 7 last night which was 4 short of our average. We only had 2 marks inside 50 which was 7 down from our average of 9. I'm sure our forwards are capable of separation, I expect the problem lies with delivery and decision making going into the 50. Nicks onky wanting deep entries is a major problem.

Sloane was one of the years most improved players up until he got hurt... was a beast on the inside. He aint quite done yet.

nope, 19 and 20 touches is terrible for a stoppage midfielder not being rotated through other roles. And that's based upon improvement against last season where Sloane was terrible. He's totally done as a midfielder. 89% TOG for 17 disposals totally playing midfield. He needs to pull the pin on this year and let the kids get some exposure to the stoppage rotation.

Like I said, Sloane average around 25 possessions through out his career (even in 2016/17 when he was elite), so he was very good with 20 possessions where 33% of them were clearances in those 2 first games. In case you haven't noticed, he has a hand injury so he has been playing with niggle.

He was good with 20 percent more touches and when he used to regularly kick goals, so he'd be pretty great without those things too- right?

If you're going to write weird fanfiction can you at least ship some interesting characters?
Got a point? Make it.
Disagree with something I said? Fine. Have at it.
Making obtuse cheap shots (what is "weird fanfiction"?) does not encourage reasonable discussion, but my best guess is you're less interested in dialogue than troll-like point-scoring.

Got a point? Make it.
Disagree with something I said? Fine. Have at it.
Making obtuse cheap shots (what is "weird fanfiction"?) does not encourage reasonable discussion, but my best guess is you're less interested in dialogue than troll-like point-scoring.

My point is that if you're going to just post made up tripe at least write something that could be remotely interesting or entertaining.

Never been a goal kicking midfielder but more of a clearance/tackling midfielder.
View attachment 1175399

Stop posting things you can't read. You post something that demonstrates that he now kicks a quarter of the goals that he used to, and think it supports a claim that nothing has changed?

He gets less of it, kicks less goals, lays less tackles, produces less inside 50s, produces less clearances, and scores less goals but hey he's totally just as good.

My point is that if you're going to just post made up tripe at least write something that could be remotely interesting or entertaining.
OK, I see where you're at. Not interested in discussion; only in cheap attacks.
Please move your mouse to hover over my User Name, then slide it down to 'Ignore' and left-click once.
That way, you won't have to read what I post (you don't have to, anyway), or even see them.
I'll reciprocate happily, cheers.

Stop posting things you can't read. You post something that demonstrates that he now kicks a quarter of the goals that he used to, and think it supports a claim that nothing has changed?

He gets less of it, kicks less goals, lays less tackles, produces less inside 50s, produces less clearances, and scores less goals but hey he's totally just as good.
Hence why I said his possession where 33% of them were clearance indicated he was very good in those 2 games at the start of the season as this ratio was similar to 2016/17 when he was elite. I never said he was kicking the same amount of goals in those 2 games as he has never been a goal kicking midfielder.

Review Adelaide v Essendon - Rd 18