Play Nice Admin, Finance, Members, Ratings, Crowds, Policies - Please refer to each sports own boards

Plenty of reference to Australian football in us media over the years, and it was a regular on ESPN for a long time, doesn't stop 99% of Americans going, Australian football, that's rugby right?

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk
Surely the fact that Jarryd Hayne was called a "rugby" player 99% of the time proves the fact that Americans no idea of the difference between the two sports? And this is coming from commentators, journalists, fans, etc. who would understand sports on a grander scale than the average person, if they don't make the distinction, how about the 80% of the society that has nothing more than a passing interest in sport?

And just how do ratings go for their AFl team.

Therefore the point is that the length of a competition in any given area within Australia doesn't have too much to do with whether the ratings are good or not.

The first aussie rules club in Brisbane was formed in 1866.

Going by your argument, Brisbane should have some of the best ratings in the land just because it has one of the oldest clubs in the land.

I think a lot of people think per capita that football is far more popular in Brisbane than in Sydney, which i would have agreed with until quite recently, IMO no matter what the ratings show i think it has become quite close.

At grass roots level which must at some point reflect the interest in the game and therefore ratings Brisbane is way ahead at senior grass roots numbers of teams than Sydney but at junior level Sydney appear to be ahead.

That interest in Sydney however really seems to be in a couple of spots.

However in Brisbane it seems to be more widely spread.

Maybe that impacts on ratings which attempt to interpret interest across the whole of the city.

AFlBrisbaneJuniors1991-2016.png

Even if combine Brisbane and GC and SC juniors, they still come in lower now than Sydney juniors which claims about 13,000.
Are you saying that in 2017 in metro. Sydney, in clubs only, there are now c.13,000 jnr. AF community CLUB regd. nos.? From Sporting Puls estimates? There is now a critical mass of clubs, in pockets as you say, that hopefully female football can "piggyback'off in the next 3 years; & male snr. regd. nos. can also expand on.
Club U19 nos. are still very poor in Syd., cf jnr. club nos. -in a city of 5,000,000.

Any estimate of Syd. 2017 primary school AF regd. nos., playing in a comp? (Info. probably not out yet).
Ditto, secondary school nos.?
Ditto Auskick (club & school)?

The Syd. GPS, CAS etc private schools are now entrenching their AF school nos. (except for the discriminatory dinosaurs).
The Catholic system is also introducing AF in Syd. schools.

Therefore the point is that the length of a competition in any given area within Australia doesn't have too much to do with whether the ratings are good or not.

The first aussie rules club in Brisbane was formed in 1866.

Going by your argument, Brisbane should have some of the best ratings in the land just because it has one of the oldest clubs in the land.

Actually not my argument at all.

The ratings might be acceptable to some, they are by no means good.

Are you saying that in 2017 in metro. Sydney, in clubs only, there are now c.13,000 jnr. AF community CLUB regd. nos.? From Sporting Puls estimates? There is now a critical mass of clubs, in pockets as you say, that hopefully female football can "piggyback'off in the next 3 years; & male snr. regd. nos. can also expand on.
Club U19 nos. are still very poor in Syd., cf jnr. club nos. -in a city of 5,000,000.

Any estimate of Syd. 2017 primary school AF regd. nos., playing in a comp? (Info. probably not out yet).
Ditto, secondary school nos.?
Ditto Auskick (club & school)?

The Syd. GPS, CAS etc private schools are now entrenching their AF school nos. (except for the discriminatory dinosaurs).
The Catholic system is also introducing AF in Syd. schools.

Took it from here. .....

. The AFL Sydney Juniors competition includes over 10,000 participants (7-18 year olds) and has a network of 50 + competing clubs

. A further 3500 children (5-8 years) are also linked with junior club network participating in the NAB Auskick Program

http://aflnswact.com.au/wp-content/...iors-Partnership-Discussion-November-2016.pdf

Independent schools fixture is not out only a gala day.

http://aflsj.com.au/fixtures-results/independent-schools-fixture/

Going on past years there will be extra teams again this year.

Took it from here. .....

. The AFL Sydney Juniors competition includes over 10,000 participants (7-18 year olds) and has a network of 50 + competing clubs

. A further 3500 children (5-8 years) are also linked with junior club network participating in the NAB Auskick Program

http://aflnswact.com.au/wp-content/...iors-Partnership-Discussion-November-2016.pdf

Independent schools fixture is not out only a gala day.

http://aflsj.com.au/fixtures-results/independent-schools-fixture/

Going on past years there will be extra teams again this year.
Good reference. The Syd. 13,000 figure is AF 2016 regd. nos. for clubs, & club Auskick.
It does not include primary & secondary govt. schools, private schools, or non-club Auskick (ie school & community non-club affiliated groups).

There is good growth happening in Syd. at jnr. levels. Only modest growth at senior community AF -which is a conundrum. With the well publicised media articles on RL & RU declining nos. in Syd., it will be interesting to see how much AF will continue to grow in 2017.

Good reference. The Syd. 13,000 figure is AF 2016 regd. nos. for clubs, & club Auskick.
It does not include primary & secondary govt. schools, private schools, or non-club Auskick (ie school & community non-club affiliated groups).

There is good growth happening in Syd. at jnr. levels. Only modest growth at senior community AF -which is a conundrum. With the well publicised media articles on RL & RU declining nos. in Syd., it will be interesting to see how much AF will continue to grow in 2017.

Junior teams are up by 20 or so from 2016 to 2017 in WS to stand at about 145 teams from under 9's to 17's, not sure about harbour juniors, but they had 350 + teams last year.

I made the remark in another post that junior football in Sydney is probably as strong as it has ever been in living memory.

That's very good, considering the timeslot and the fact that they lost by 100 points just the week before. The suns are going nowhere.
Yep put the Tassie crowd to shame.I doubt the AFL would ever re locate a current team to the apple Isle more likely they would pull the games out of Tassie all together.

The NRL havent had easter yet, which may help crowds. From memory easter was a bit earlier in the season last year.

Actually not my argument at all.

The ratings might be acceptable to some, they are by no means good.

Yeh, but the reasoning you gave for you concluding the Brisbane ratings are not good is that the game has been played in Brisbane for over 100 years (which is illogical).

What others and I were pointing out was that the ratings looked pretty good, even sitting along the NRL ratings, which to my mind at least, carries a bit of weight, afterall, it is a rugby league city.

Yeh, but the reasoning you gave for you concluding the Brisbane ratings are not good is that the game has been played in Brisbane for over 100 years (which is illogical).

I firmly believe that if you've had the game in the city for a hundred years, its a city of 2 million plus people, and you are getting ratings like this, then those ratings are poor - regardless of sport.

What others and I were pointing out was that the ratings looked pretty good, even sitting along the NRL ratings, which to my mind at least, carries a bit of weight, afterall, it is a rugby league city.

Lots of things carry weight in your mind Im sure.

I firmly believe that if you've had the game in the city for a hundred years, its a city of 2 million plus people, and you are getting ratings like this, then those ratings are poor - regardless of sport.

Lots of things carry weight in your mind Im sure.

So in your mind it's completely irrelevant that said city is a rugby league city?

Ok then....

Great crowd given the Suns' start to the season, and the fact that it eclipsed the so-called derby crowd from round one.

I reckon that is odd, but the womens game may have impacted, people can only watch so much footy or hang around after being turfed out, i personally think the whole day should have been free entry.

I would love to see an analysis of spending habits by people let in free, wouldn't be surprised to see it all pans out about equal.

If people think they are getting something for nothing they tend to open the wallet more for other things and whatsmore you inherently know nothing is really free anyway, but its the goodwill gesture that is accepted by those turning up.

Is it school holidays in Victoria ?, maybe a stack of families went up to the Goldy, or Hawthorn has a strong QLD fan base, although i didnt see much of the game it didn't seem chockers full of Hawks fans.

I reckon that is odd, but the womens game may have impacted, people can only watch so much footy or hang around after being turfed out, i personally think the whole day should have been free entry.

Could not believe they had a 3 hour gap between games! What the hell is there to do around there? For those who have been, you'll be aware it's in the middle of suburbia and a gold course, with no shops or anything else to do around the entire area!