2nds AFC 2022 SANFL Thread

He’s the bloke in charge clearly telling these lads not to bother manning up their opponent and instead just zone off them..

They did it all game and all it resulted in was North players getting it from defense to their forward line pretty much uncontested..

It was evident from the very first quarter.. and he did nothing to change it for the entire game.
He told the players not to bother manning up. Not very wise of him. While you were next to him when he was saying this, did you tell him its not a good tactic.:D

Cant consistently take a contested mark to save himself even against b-grade opposition.

Nor can Gollant.. Gollants gotta stop trying to be mr tough guy and go the football instead..

Hes got the same problem Fog had.. too busy being the tough guy and trying to wrestle and not enough time just attacking the ball.
Disagree. Gollant gets to the ball. He’s just got butter hands. So may times today he could have and should have marked it but didn’t or couldn’t

He told the players not to bother manning up. Not very wise of him. While you were next to him when he was saying this, did you tell him its not a good tactic.:D
well.. he‘s the fxxkin coach isnt he.. and was watching the same game we all were and clearly did nothing to change the way our players were constantly sitting off their opponents.. ALL game!

so it was either a directive straight from him or his an incompetent moron.

all game crows players sat back off their opponent and allowed them uncontested possession after uncontested possession.. if it wasnt a directive and he was actually telling them to do the opposite.. then clearly the players couldnt give a shit about what he says..

well.. he‘s the fxxkin coach isnt he.. and was watching the same game we all were and clearly did nothing to change the way our players were constantly sitting off their opponents.. ALL game!

so it was either a directive straight from him or his an incompetent moron.

all game crows players sat back off their opponent and allowed them uncontested possession after uncontested possession.. if it wasnt a directive and he was actually telling them to do the opposite.. then clearly the players couldnt give a s**t about what he says..
Agree. Couldn't believe the space we gave them all game, especially when they came out of the backline. Not exclusive to our 2NDS. Happens in the AFL. Social distancing?

On SM-A115F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Nope.

I Watch it every week.. the umpiring is always this biased against us..

How many times hve you watched north have half a dozen players all on their own.

Its been all fuxkn day.

Lazy, unaccountable footy from our lads. Couldnt even give a toss about manning up their opponent..

All day north were allowed to just waltz out of defense with uncontested posession after uncontested posession.. all the way into their forward line with their crows opponent jogging alonh 5-10 metres behind them.

And Godden is a s**t coach…
They are not going to sack a coach who has at worst taken the side to the prelim final

Cook was completely invisible. Very disappointing.
Yep. Again. Anyone still reckon he's a wingman?
When he has ball in hand, he can be an x factor.
But he can't read the game. Doesn't have speed or strength. Needs the ball fed to him.
I was hoping he'd be a fp toby green style, but he needs more mongrel and attitude. Make a difference boy.

On moto g(9) play using BigFooty.com mobile app

Who's the commentator there? Good to hear some passion.
who on our list can do this?..

Fog?.. he’s about the closest we’ve seen doing this for a long time.. did it a couple of times this year.. not from as far away from goals as Tariak though.

literally none of our small forwards or mids can do this.

but we’ll probably delist the kid in a couple of weeks.. doesnt apply enough forward pressure.. and applying forward pressure is the only thing you need to do to get a gig as a small forward in Nicksy’s side. kicking actual goals is an afterthought.

Disagree. Gollant gets to the ball. He’s just got butter hands. So may times today he could have and should have marked it but didn’t or couldn’t
Gollants an interesting one. Played most of his football as a runner, wingman type.
We draft him, he grows, now he's playing as a key tall without that extra 10kgs of muscle a key fwd should have.

They are not going to sack a coach who has at worst taken the side to the prelim final
they sacked him as one of the line coaches for our AFL side.. because he was shit.. then 4 weeks later re-employed him to coach our youth in the SANFL!.

Brilliant!.

”look… Sorry mate, you just havent got what it takes to coach at an elite level… but as a consolation prize, you can stick around and coach and develop our youth!”

WTF!..

Gollants an interesting one. Played most of his football as a runner, wingman type.
We draft him, he grows, now he's playing as a key tall without that extra 10kgs of muscle a key fwd should have.

It makes you wonder why we have tried to turn him into a KPF - this was his draft profile:

THE outside midfielder received a late call-up to the Cannons’ program after impressing for his school throughout the year. He is only a lightly-built player at 72kg to go with his 191cm height, but Gollant has great footy IQ as well as fierce defensive pressure. He is not afraid to lay tackles on much bigger bodies as he showed throughout the finals series, with a couple of great running chases. Averaging just 11.7 disposals as a midfielder, he will want to improve that area of his game, as well as adding more scoreboard impact playing as a winger. He runs to the right places and has the nice 191cm size that will attract clubs with some interest particularly peaking late in the season. He does not have the speed that others might have, recording 3.15 seconds on the 20m sprint, but seems to glide rather than burst around the ground. A long-term prospect for a club who might be looking for that taller midfielder with smarts.

STRENGTHS: Game sense, marking/vertical leap, defensive work, size
IMPROVEMENTS: Scoreboard impact, accumulation, speed

Have we missed that tall mid we’ve been craving? 😜

North players all alone.. all ****ing day!!!
This is a malaise seeping down from Nicks & the AFL side --- lazy, unaccountable footy.

Add to that the Nicks special-method of blast/bomb the ball forward.

The SANFL side plays like its senior team.
They have to, because if they're ever selected for AFL, they'll fit right in.

Should we drop McAsey for a top-up next week?
nope..

but we should drop borlase for one.. he literally lost us that game.

I hope his old man was watching that game and rips him a new one for it.. His old man was never ever as soft and pathetic as his son was today.

North players just want it more
I agree but it's more than that.
They run and make space for each other better. Better skills by foot (look at uncontested possessions/marks differences).
They're calmer, look for a teammate and pretty much know they'll have one free against Crows who don't man up.

I agree but it's more than that.
They run and make space for each other better. Better skills by foot (look at uncontested possessions/marks differences).
They're calmer, look for a teammate and pretty much know they'll have one free against Crows who don't man up.
all game all we saw when north had the ball was a north player kick it to a team mate whose crows opponent either was nowhere to be seen or was jogging along 5-10 metres behind him.

how was this in anyway acceptable?..

He’s the bloke in charge clearly telling these lads not to bother manning up their opponent and instead just zone off them..

They did it all game and all it resulted in was North players getting it from defense to their forward line pretty much uncontested..

It was evident from the very first quarter.. and he did nothing to change it for the entire game.
Agree again, entirely.
Ch7 showed the North Coach @ 3/4 time; very calm, composed.
He told his boys to stay calm and control the game, which they'd done all day. They sliced through the lazy Crowzones with overlap, run and careful kicking.
Looked like a lot of over-the-back NA goals, or from spillage to me.

The Crows looked like a (only slightly) weaker version of their AFL side, in style and skill level.
Pedlar looks and plays like a smaller Keays, but has footy skill. Only 18, impresses me.
Also liked Worrell, Taylor, Newchurch and that nuggety bloke with the hipster beard.

Thats two weeks in a row for cook..

Two weeks of lazy garbage.
I can't recall hearing his name called during the game.
McAsey useless.
Borlase, terrible, their 19th man on-field.
Sholl has skills when not under pressure, big woop, but cannot stick a tackle and gets rag-dolled way too easily. Another Atkin.

Yep.
About a half of our AFL side look like skinny/scrawny, underfed boys.
Himmelberg needs to muscle up, too.