Preview AFL 1st Preliminary Final - Collingwood v Geelong, MCG, Friday 17 September 7:45PM

I agree that collingwood are very good at applying loads of pressure to the opposition and making them look bad however theirs a few factors that need to be considerd

snip snip

5. one year ago geelong beat the pies by 12 goals, have the pies improved by 12 goals in as many months ? NO

See you were wrong, we have not improved by 12 goals, we have improved by 20 goals !!!

BTW you guys still have an awesome team and will be challenging for falg next year, with or without Ablett.

Good luck in 2011.

Cant speak for our supporters as everyone has a particular side they hate. I never hated the pies until this year when a couple of Collingwood mates said Hawks are sh*t after we beat them in Round 22. They really struggle in admitting they got beaten by a better team. Must have something to do with their bogan upbringing

Just popped over to see how the Geelong board was holding up after the loss, and this is some of the worst tripe I've read. I work with 3 Hawthorn supporters and the only thing they could all do is talk about the 3 point win, had nothing to say about Freo knocking them out, just about the 3 point win. Every team has their idiots, and great supporters, stop believing that Collingwood has nothing but ferals, because my anecdotal evidence proves Hawthorn have the most.

You've got to be kidding. I've got a lot of Collingwood supporting friends and colleagues and all of them said that your round 19 performance was your best performance since round 9, 2008. I'm not saying you can't replicate it on Friday and beat us, but you're kidding yourself if you think you've improved by 4-5 goals since then, because you haven't.

See I was not kidding myself, we had improved by 4-5 goals since R19. The 43 points really flattered you guys. You kick 5 goals when the game was done and dusted. All up we should have won by 60+ points, but I will take 43 points any day of the week. :thumbsu:

Good luck in 20011. :)

This is a moronic statement.

07' Prelim: Cats beat Pies by 4 points. 09' Prelim: Cats beat Pies by 73 points. Are the Pies 13 goals better than the Cats in 10'? No.

The thing I love about this finals series is there has to be at least one EPIC fail. St Kilda or Collingwood must lose.

So it was a "moronic statement" hey ???

"Are the Pies 13 goals better than the Cats in 10'? No."

Actually your right we are not 13 goal better side than the team which played in 2009, we are 20 goal better side. :D

Hi everyone,

Just wondering if anyone has 2 Grand Final tickets for sale?

PM me if you do and great game Pies, bad luck Geelong, wish we could have met your great side in the GF this year.

See you were wrong, we have not improved by 12 goals, we have improved by 20 goals !!!

BTW you guys still have an awesome team and will be challenging for falg next year, with or without Ablett.

Good luck in 2011.

Did you need to post three times? There is a multi-quote button, you know.

Yep you guys have improved tremendously and I think part of the huge disparity also comes from our own slide in quality. I've always though measuring a sides chances by previous margins to be a stupid exercise though and certainly wouldn't have said that before the game.

Don't need to patronize us either. This is the end of our era. We may scrape into top 4 but unless our young guns can step up and we can devise a gameplan that strays away from the norms of the past 4 years, we won't be doing any damage.

For some reason, this hurts more than 2008. I hate this.

Mate, I know it hurts now... but you know what... get over it. Be proud of the recent success...

Heck, it's 100000% more success than I've been able to celebrate in the past 30 years!

selwood could be going through fatigue
as he has no break as an 18-21 yr old, in the toughest position

no soft seconds football

Article by Gazza about the game http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/brutal-result-shatters-our-dream/story-e6frf9ox-1225926028407

I WAS absolutely gutted on Friday night.

Gutted that we had blown a chance to play off for another premiership.

That we were within touching distance of an opportunity that will come along only once in our lifetime, and didn't grab it.

People were trying to read things into my obvious disappointment as I came off the MCG after the prelim final loss, but I was just gutted.

So much work goes into a footy season: the sacrifices, the sweating it out in summer, the meetings, the pain of injuries and rehab, the gut-running when you don't think you've got anything left.

We go through a lot together as a group, the ups and downs - and you don't do it to get knocked out in a prelim.

So, yes, I was shattered as I walked off after losing to Collingwood. But for those who would have looked at the faces of the other Geelong players, so were the rest of the boys. It can be pretty brutal on the emotions at times, football.

My anguish was nothing to do with any decision on my playing future. That's something I'm going to spend some time thinking about now - not that I haven't been rolling it around in my head all year.

There's not a set time frame, or game plan on deciding where I'll play next season, just more time weighing up what's probably going to be the most important decision in my life.

I don't want to write too much about it here, because people love to grab those words and make something out of them that may not be right.

After Friday night's match, when we got back into the rooms, "Bomber" didn't say much to us. We didn't have a team meeting. Nothing needed to be said. We knew the parts of our game we didn't produce. We know that if we play well, our brand of footy succeeds in the big games. But we didn't play well.

Give the Magpies the credit - they were the ones who were up and firing. They just didn't allow us to play the way we wanted to play; they were the better team in the areas that we wanted to dominate, did all the little team things and their pressure was amazing, particularly early on.

I thought there might be a chance the Pies would be pretty nervous, but they came out sharp from the opening bounce. Confidence is incredibly important in footy, and the Pies have got it at the moment.

They are definitely the ones to beat on Saturday.

I guess I really noticed their hunger on Friday night - that's been the challenge for us at various times this season, to make sure our hunger matches the teams that want to knock us off.

To make sure we were hungry every single game. There were times when we didn't show that desire, when we were flirting with our form, and perhaps that's had a bit to do with how we've played in this finals series. It's very hard just to switch it on.

There were plenty of people lining up to say the Geelong era was over. I guess that's understandable, because for the first time since 2006 we won't be in the Grand Final. But there are young players who I reckon can come into the 22, and plenty of good years in most of the guys who played on Friday night.

We were all planning to catch up for a bit of a quiet drink at one of the player's homes yesterday, and no doubt we'll have a catch up again tomorrow before some of the guys head off to the Brownlow. It will be good for us to do something together as a group away from football.

For all the time we spend together, we don't get the chance to do that very often.

One thing I can tell you, the jumper I'll be wearing the next time I run out for a game of footy. It might well be an Australian shirt in the International Rules series in Ireland.

I've knocked it on the head the past few years, but it's something I've always enjoyed watching and would love to have a go at. To represent your country would be great, but also to get to know and play alongside some of the footballers I've admired from other clubs.

It will sting not to be playing next Saturday, but I reckon taking on the Irish might help end the season on an enjoyable note.

Re: Preliminary Final - Geelong v Collingwood

5/6 goals hhmm ..maybe if you can get 10 goals out of the mighty quartet of Dawes/Beames/Cloak/Brown et al in the 15 minutes we played like Sheilas in the third quarter. Not sure how the Pies will respond if we start to kick a few in a row deep in the third or early in the fourth...that's the soft underbelly that has yet to be exposed???
I suppose the best defence against a short run of goals such as this is to be 13 goals in front when it happens. :)

Whoa, I haven't looked in this thread since Friday.

Please don't tell me cats supporters are sooking over the game?

We were smashed.
It doesn't hurt like 08 at all.

Because quite simply we were good enough then, but we aren't now.

Get over it.

I was at the game and it was just one of those days for the cats players. Collingwood are a very good side and when you have the bounce of the ball the way they did, well you just gotta keep your chin up and keep trying. That goal that Lonergan trailled in, unbelievable. I swear Dane Swan was bending down to tie up his laces at one stage, the Collingwood player shanked it straight to him.

Disappointed yes, shattered, no. We were not the favourites for that game, Collingwood were and they won.

To Collingwoods supporters credit, we stayed right to the end and walked out with the crowd still wearing our cats jerseys all the way back to the Casino and never once did we get sledged.

I was at the game and it was just one of those days for the cats players. Collingwood are a very good side and when you have the bounce of the ball the way they did, well you just gotta keep your chin up and keep trying. That goal that Lonergan trailled in, unbelievable. I swear Dane Swan was bending down to tie up his laces at one stage, the Collingwood player shanked it straight to him.

Disappointed yes, shattered, no. We were not the favourites for that game, Collingwood were and they won.

To Collingwoods supporters credit, we stayed right to the end and walked out with the crowd still wearing our cats jerseys all the way back to the Casino and never once did we get sledged.

It certainly seemed that things went the Pies way with that fickle ball.

The current raft of media suggesting the Cats are finished is extremely premature.
Best of luck next year.:thumbsu:

Whoa, I haven't looked in this thread since Friday.

Please don't tell me cats supporters are sooking over the game?

We were smashed.
It doesn't hurt like 08 at all.

Because quite simply we were good enough then, but we aren't now.

Get over it.

You tell em.

ha ha.
What happened mate ?
Did the saints supporters stop taking the bait?

troll.jpg

Ha Ha ;)

Just remember, you are now the hunted in 2011 :)

Preview AFL 1st Preliminary Final - Collingwood v Geelong, MCG, Friday 17 September 7:45PM