scoman
- Sep 19, 2013
- AFL Club
- Brisbane Lions
Birchall? Lol
Yes four time premiership player Grant Birchall. Apparently that makes him twice as good as any Richmond player?
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Birchall? Lol
The same bloke who has played less than 15 games the last 4 years?Yes four time premiership player Grant Birchall. Apparently that makes him twice as good as any Richmond player?
Agree. I actually thought Richmond looked to be just rolling along once they took control on the scoreboard and the game wasn’t played at anywhere near the same intensity as that WC v Geelong game was.Sure it was 2nd v 3rd, but tonight's game wasn't a high standard like e.g. West Coast v Geelong. Lots of water to go under the bridge. 5-6 blokes to return near the end of the season who haven't played much footy and will need to find form right away.
Listening to fagan it was a close game apperantly
Yeah it will be interesting when the time comes.All true. Not sure all those guys would get a game now. Kids awesome!
Probably because they never copped anywhere near as much shit off oppo flogs as we didSydney had an even longer premiership drought than Richmond's 37 years of insipidness. How then did Sydney fans manage to remember how to win with some semblence of grace and class?
If Caddy is available he comes into the team in McIntosh's place easilyYeah it will be interesting when the time comes.
The guarantees would be Prestia, Edwards & Houli for Ross, Stack & the unlucky Egglomesse-smith. Nankervis will be fortunate due to Soldo's recent struggles. Asbury will find it hard to push Balta out & even though McIntosh has his brain fading moments, Caddy on current form will also find it difficult to push him out.
Trying not to get ahead of ourselves as we have Port away on a 4 day break & powerhouses Geelong & WC who we usually struggle against to come.
Most fans try and downplay their sides chances, you know, give the opposition a bit of respect and also cover yourself if you do lose. Richmond fans, behind all the losing I had no idea just how arrogant they were.
Going to have to clean up all the Richmond gunk in this thread, all blowing their loads.
Is that even in the same galaxy as my point? I simply said I am worried about the fact we have to play again in 4 days, when we were already struggling to run out the game tonight after a 4 day recovery and picked up another soft tissue injury.
It is a remark that had 3 tenths of fu** all to do with Richmond. I know that's a hard concept for you to grasp.
Not many have two 4 dayers in a row.
In any case, you proved incapable of following a basic conversation without completely missing the point of what I was saying.
I predicted a 6 goal loss tonight, I wasn't far off. Swing your "hurr durr, where do you think you could beat us then?" micropenis elsewhere.
Sydney had an even longer premiership drought than Richmond's 37 years of insipidness. How then did Sydney fans manage to remember how to win with some semblence of grace and class?
Gabba/Metricon = MCG/Kardinia Park would be a much fairer comparison.
In any case, my irony meter is well calibrated. The criterion was travel, not home ground advantage. If people want to claim that Brisbane travelling to a city an hour away is an unfair advantage to us in terms of travel, you've gotta take a look at Richmonds 2019 season which had 17 games played in two stadia within 6 kilometres of each other.
It doesn't work that way. Rich, Birchall, Lester, Martin and McStay are just as important to Brisbane as Richmond's outs are to them.
Riewoldt ducks into a tackle - high free kick. Riewoldt tackles Lions player high- free kick for holding the ball. Classic Richmond umpiring
Surely Caddy isn't coming back for starters
Ross, Eggmolesse-Smith, Stack, Baker, McIntosh
Hope we play some good footy soon with all these gifts.
We are 5 goals up and I reckon we had two marks 30m out in the first half that for some reason our forwards passed off, plus Lynch missing from 20m out there and Jack Higgins running into goal from 20m out and not making the distance.
Yes, brissy kicked sh*t but geez lynch misses directly in front, jack missed an easy snapshot. Higgo misses. How bout dusty almost goal if he didn't get a finger on it. So many ifs from lions fans and tiger haters. More inside 50's, more scoring shots. 7 goal win and still complain about missed shots and umpiring, not sure why they did win the free kick count 18 to 11
You just had to do it didnt you !!!
Why go and ruin a good story
Just read 10 pages on the Lions Board , Not 1 mention about Charlie "Get away from me grimes" Cameron
Poor fella thought Grimes was playing on him tonight until after the siren broad shook his hand
He's ready to go, training well. they said on the injury report he'll play on Sat. But I guess that still remains to be seen.
Listening to fagan it was a close game apperantly
We beat them when they were closer to full strength than they are now, they may beat us if they play us again but it will be a lot closer than it was tonight.
I can't excuses sore winners but if you're looking for a reason I can give you a couple from our point of view.Sydney had an even longer premiership drought than Richmond's 37 years of insipidness. How then did Sydney fans manage to remember how to win with some semblence of grace and class?
Need a more reliable key forward than what they've got currently, IMO.No, they will be better for this loss. Formidable team. Might not win the flag but looking beyond this carnival season the Lions will be serious threat for some time.
jack is anything but looked after by the umps, that was one of the rare times he got away with oneRiewoldt gets looked after well by the umps. That missed free was a shocker.
what a load of claptrap, the moment we become a power house, it’s the weakest grand final ever played, you only won because of the MCG , the umpires carried you etc etc etc, no credit given how about gracious losers .I can't excuses sore winners but if you're looking for a reason I can give you a couple from our point of view.
A) Sydney have far fewer fans (actual engaged supporters) than Richmond. The majority of footy fans are fine, it's the vocal majority that causes issues. We have a larger base, therefore we have a higher number of flogs.
B) Of the teams that have had an excessive drought, you could make a good argument for Richmond being the largest and most fanatic/rabid, so the response is bound to be louder from us. Not to mention the fact that the other "big 4" teams haven't had as big a drought followed by a period of sustained success as us. We've been spared the flogs of other supporter bases.
C) We have/had been the AFL worlds joke for going on 40 years. Copping it week after week, deservedly so, but at a rate and volume higher than any other team (in my opinion but not complaining at all). A lot of Richmond fans see our flogs as a twisted sort of karma for the years of ridicule.
Again, none of that excuses being a sore winner, but from my (biased) opinion, it's less of a reflection on the whole supporter base than it is an unfortunate example of when the universe says "no more!" and decides to punish you sinners with a flood of Richmond success.
I don't support winning without grace, but I support my Richmond brethren and their choice to finally hit the release valve. We've been through some sh*t.
Poor Charlie his motorbike broke down and RACQ couldn’t find himYou just had to do it didnt you !!!
Why go and ruin a good story
Just read 10 pages on the Lions Board , Not 1 mention about Charlie "Get away from me grimes" Cameron
Poor fella thought Grimes was playing on him tonight until after the siren broad shook his hand
jack is anything but looked after by the umps, that was one of the rare times he got away with one
Lol. No self awareness with this dude. In a normal season Port enjoy the equivalent of at least a 3 game leg up over the Tigers. Much, much more this year. Yet you're still whinging that your pea hearted, plastic franchise of a club needs even more unsporting advantages to compete with the likes of clubs like Richmond.nothing from the commentary on it, #VICBIAS
if that was a port player he would've been executed by well and truly by now.