Autopsy AFL 2023 Grand Final - Pies vs Lions Sat Sept 30th 2:30pm EST (MCG)

Who will win and by how much?

• Pies by a goal or less

Votes: 29 5.9%
  • Lions by a goal or less

Votes: 20 4.1%
  • Pies by 7-20

Votes: 116 23.6%
  • Lions by 7-20

Votes: 216 43.9%
  • Pies by a lot

Votes: 47 9.6%
  • Lions by a lot

Votes: 53 10.8%
  • Draw

Votes: 11 2.2%

Biggest ever comeback in a grand final at 3/4 is 24 points in 1984. They’d want to be a bit closer I’d reckon.
Maybe, but it's all mental. They'll both be knackered at that stage with the heat, in this scenario.
The crowd starts "Coooollingwoood, Coooollingwoood", get a quick goal or two, and tired Lions could try and save it, which won't end well if 20 points up with 15 minutes to go...

Is this the same Brisbane that had to have a second selling of their 17,000-ticket allocation because they could not sell them on the first sitting? Embarrassing.

Embarrassing? Cmon now Southy old boy, we can’t all secure pets memberships!

Mick, can we count on your support on Saturday? After all we’ve been through.

Starting to lean to lions winning now. Reminds me a bit of 2017. They've got daniher, Hipwood and Cameron forward, Neale in the middle and Harris Andrews down back. A bit like Richmond had Riewoldt , dusty and rance. Better players in key positions.

You’re seriously calling out umpiring as a Pies fan?

Tomorrow’s game has the potential to be the most biased umpiring in a GF since the Bulldogs were gifted the cup in 2016, and it won’t be towards the Lions mate 😂
Already setting up a narrative before the game starts. Victim mentality is strong.

Have fun with the umpire watch on BF, should be really fun day.

Lol, you’ve clearly never watched Matt Stevic umpire a Collingwood game…
Considering his rep on the Lions' side of the fence maybe his two biasses/antipathies will cancel eachother out and we will all be hailing him as a great GF umpire!

Oh and speaking omens I just looked out my window and there was a formation of swine flying backwards past my window but not quite sure how to interpret that one...

Great game coming up, Brisbane the most skilled beautiful side this year: their best is the best. Pies the best coached, big injury lists didn't seem to affect performance.

There are outs but not sure if they will hurt too much. McStay missed a heap of games (only played 12 H&A) and we lost only one of those, to Melbourne led by a rampaging Grundy. We lost 4 with him in the team. He's a fine player, straightens us right up and takes contested grabs and we love him, but we have barely lost without him because of the flexibility and depth. Frampton as the third tall covers ruck and the twin tower rotate forward and ruck, we've done it many times effectively.

Adams is a loss but there's coverage in Mitchell, that brilliant Ashcroft (hard to believe a first year player is so influential) is covered by Fletcher coming in and McCluggage/Berry rotating across.

Two midfields absolutely packed with skill. Plenty of hard blokes but hardly any thugs (Zorko and Maynard to be given a dedicated reportcam I guess). Big honest rucks, dynamite defences, weird mishappen forward lines that find ways to win.

Admire and respect this Brisbane side, hope we can match them, and I am absolutely certain we will give it our best. They will need 4 quarters of footy to hold us down, and everyone knows they are capable of it.

#VICBIAS remains in the location of the game. If Brisbane win it will mean more than if we do. Can' rely on the crummy AFL to fix it, too busy circlejerking and rules-tampering. Its the only stain on a brilliant game coming up.

Looking at the Collingwood team sheet, form didn't get selected this week. ;)

Jokes aside our coach goes on about this relentlessly. Players are picked for how they train, and the team we are facing. Form is nothing.
Good post

I think it's interesting that the giants were scoring pretty freely before playing the pies. So what would be the plan from collingwood i am sure. strangle the lions.

Two such close wins did include some luck. But it's not luck they are able to restrict sides well

i wonder what the 29 degrees does - i would think it makes it harder to make the game a slog. always be defensively running. but maybe pies are a bit fitter?

Already setting up a narrative before the game starts. Victim mentality is strong.

Have fun with the umpire watch on BF, should be really fun day.
If Brisbane get a favourable or even a fair run tomorrow then I’ll be the first to say that. However I’ll be very very surprised. The AFL love a “fairytale”.

Collingwood win = gifted.

Lions win = overcoming all odds.

Noice.

Don’t let the confirmation bias get in the way of enjoying the day, impossible I know. 🥲

Collingwood win = gifted.

Lions win = overcoming all odds.

Noice.

Don’t let the confirmation bias get in the way of enjoying the day, impossible I know. 🥲
I actually really like Collingwood with McRae in charge, and will enjoy if they win.

I just don’t want another 2016 style fairytale rammed down my throat, so as long as that doesn’t happen it will be very easy to enjoy the day with a few mates, BBQ and beers flowing. I hope you enjoy the day too.

Hey guys,

In the lead up to the grand final I went around the MCG and the footy fest to see what pies, lions and neutrals thought about Saturday. There’s some funny statements and predictions made, as well as highlights of an MCG tour.

Would mean heaps if I could get any feedback on how I’m doing my interviews as it is something I’d love to do in the future and make a potential career out of.

Well given the Donkeys are in the NRL GF then a Brisbane victory is a bigger incentive for AFL house than Collingwood who’s fans show up no matter what.

The more this week has gone on, the more I think Brisbane win this. Pies will have to try and keep Brisbane below 70 points and with that forward line on a warm day, they should get enough looks at it.

I don't think that Pies forward line is going to be putting up any big scores against a quality defence.
Feel the same. Like most of the week it felt like a coin toss but yesterday and today I just feel Brissie has it in the bag. Could easily be wrong, but I do feel something has to go wrong for Brisbane (stagefright, inaccuracy) to lose, which could happen. Brissie has shown they've got the Pies covered twice, but anything can happen on the day. A lot of what happens on gf day is psychological, and how you perform on the big occasion. Coll should have more experience given 2018 so they have that edge, but will it be enough? Were Geelong an 80 point better side than Sydney last year? Don't think so, but they had confidence and a killer instinct. I do wonder how gassed the Pies will be too after the prelim, much more intense than Brissie's game. Plus the weather.

Maybe I am alone in thinking this, but for all the talk of corporate tickets at grand finals, i feel as though from crowd noise more and more fans of the competing teams have been finding a way to get in to the game. Whether it be the advent of sharing barcodes, being able to transfer money electronically more easily, maybe more actual fans of each side with enough money to spend... it just seems like the noise is a lot bigger and those grand final lulls have decreased?

I think it will mean the pies have a pretty good hold on the crowd tomorrow, maybe 65/35? Can make a difference. We almost seemed shocked by the carlton noise at the gabba amongst everything else

I do think the pies would be mistaken if they try to only strangle the lions. I don't think they will given McRae spoke about the pies being 'stodgy' against the giants. Yes they will try to limit the lions but winning by kicking 8 to 9 goals is tough. The pies kicked 100 points against the lions in round 23 without hill, de goey and daicos. we can be opened up.

It’s 28 degrees, anyone would think they are playing in the mid 40’s up the top end.

All these players are professional athletes who do their preseasons over summer and train almost year round, this kind of heat will zero impact on the result.
Hope you're right

I'm tanked just after walking around the block, it's hot and the pollen count is high

Hey guys,

In the lead up to the grand final I went around the MCG and the footy fest to see what pies, lions and neutrals thought about Saturday. There’s some funny statements and predictions made, as well as highlights of an MCG tour.

Would mean heaps if I could get any feedback on how I’m doing my interviews as it is something I’d love to do in the future and make a potential career out of.

I liked it, good questions, well edited. Seems like you've got a crew, get into doing tik tok and yt shorts.
Keep up the good work.

Autopsy AFL 2023 Grand Final - Pies vs Lions Sat Sept 30th 2:30pm EST (MCG)