MRP / Trib. AFL 2nd Preliminary Final findings - Kelly and Podsiadly cleared

Re: Podsiadly's bump on Adam Selwood

I would imagine if they cite him for it they will downgrade the charge to a fine.
Thats my take on it anyway.
But then who knows, they might give him 3 weeks too:rolleyes:

Having said that I am putting my bets on no reports from the MRP this week.
The AFL would cop a pretty severe backlash if any player gets rubbed out for any incident over last weekend.

Re: Pods possible Report

Not sure if Jesse is a boy or a girl but whatever gender it is, it needs to be admonished for such muckraking on grand-final eve. The only incident worthy of a mention is the Lee Brown one where he copped Lewis very high and spun him into a cartwheel due to the head-high contact.

"It" has a history of making very poor calls and this one seems to be a directive from the backrooms of the Westpac Centre based on fear factor.

Flog journalism.

http://about.theage.com.au/view_profile.php?intid=1357

The speculation on the Podsiadly 'incident' is what commercial 'news' does as part of its business model. If there is no 'news' manufacture some.

However, the AFL is also a business selling a product. Without knowing just how independent the match revue panel is I would suspect that just as with the poker machine reforms, commercial interests within and beyond the AFL will come into play.

What may be weighed up outside of the MRP will be questions of how the football public's perception of fairness and legitimacy of the AFL 'product' could be compromised by any decisions made in regard to the suspension of a player before a Grand Final especially for an action long deemed as part of the game.

There was nothing in that bump. Just a good solid hit.

Just like Leigh Brown's ripper on Lewis on Friday night, it was just a body clash, where unsurprisingly the smaller man came off 2nd best. It wasn't high, he just had the wind knocked out of him. Can't go around suspending people for that.

Don't worry, this won't even get looked at. I like the J-Pod and it would be the worst MRP decision in history if he can't play on Saturday.

I would imagine if they cite him for it they will downgrade the charge to a fine.
Thats my take on it anyway.
But then who knows, they might give him 3 weeks too:rolleyes:

Having said that I am putting my bets on no reports from the MRP this week.
The AFL would cop a pretty severe backlash if any player gets rubbed out for any incident over last weekend.

You don't get find for rough conduct. You either get suspended, or you don't. That's what I'm getting at.

The article is written by Jessie Hogan who has got about 3 calls right all season.

You Pie flogs are grasping at straws if you think Pods will be suspended for that....signs of desperation in my book. Watch the slo mo....its a good fair hard bump...and acknowledged so by Selwood who advised the medical staff accordingly ( Please note Guerra!! ya germ! )

If you are the champion unit you Pie supporters say you are you should want Geelong at absolute top strength to shut up the naysayers who say you have shot your bolt.

The desperate hope that Geelong will be weakened says plenty.

Which Pie flogs want him suspended?, 95% of Collingwood fans have said he has nothing to worry about/ or should be let go due to there being a GF on the line, there's nothing to worry about.

IT WAS GASTRO, YOU ALL SAW IT! NOBODY CAN PROVE NOTHIN'!

Sheesh.

They could check his undies......:eek:

You don't get find for rough conduct. You either get suspended, or you don't. That's what I'm getting at.

Who knows, perhaps they will make up their own special fine!! :D
In all seriousness though, I get what your saying.

There was nothing in that bump. Just a good solid hit.

Just like Leigh Brown's ripper on Lewis on Friday night, it was just a body clash, where unsurprisingly the smaller man came off 2nd best. It wasn't high, he just had the wind knocked out of him. Can't go around suspending people for that.

Don't worry, this won't even get looked at. I like the J-Pod and it would be the worst MRP decision in history if he can't play on Saturday.

Agree totally, I have now had a look at it in slow mo, frame by frame and it is an absolutley legitamite bump.

What actually happens as with any forecable contact is Selwoods head whips back towards Pods shoulder, so it is actually Selwoods head contacting piods shoulder not vice versa.

faid=s dinkum J. Hogan get a grip and report the facts not just make up sensational garbage, pods will be fine.

As for derm calling Keyy's knee contacting Keer "unsavoury", please Dermie that is your middle name.
Every body has a right to an opinion but it gets my goat when twits like Brereton, who let's face it were snipers, and racists(he explains it otherwise, but ignorance is not an excuse, i was aware it was wrong even in the 80 -90's) make judgement calls that pale into insignificance compared to what they did on a football field.

The more concerning thing is that we even have to discuss incidents like this.

Adrian Anderson and his cohorts have insidiously conspired to dupe the general public into believing that incidental high contact is worthy of a suspension every time.

Pathetic. :thumbsdown:

faid=s dinkum J. Hogan get a grip and report the facts not just make up sensational garbage, pods will be fine.

As for derm calling Keyy's knee contacting Keer "unsavoury", please Dermie that is your middle name.

At least Hogan appears to have a basic grasp of how the points system actually works. Brereton is apparently an expert, but gives the same, "oh he'll get about 200, with 100 knocked off for an early plea" type of verdict we could get from the armchair analysts on here.

Agree totally, I have now had a look at it in slow mo, frame by frame and it is an absolutley legitamite bump.

What actually happens as with any forecable contact is Selwoods head whips back towards Pods shoulder, so it is actually Selwoods head contacting piods shoulder not vice versa.

Every body has a right to an opinion but it gets my goat when twits like Brereton, who let's face it were snipers, and racists(he explains it otherwise, but ignorance is not an excuse, i was aware it was wrong even in the 80 -90's) make judgement calls that pale into insignificance compared to what they did on a football field.

Beautifully put Badger. Brereton and Jesse. Both flogs. Go flog each other.

At the time it happened I cringed.
It is the sort of play they rub players out for.

And we can't afford to lose him.
If he goes and Johnson misses, then we will effectively replace Pods, Johnson, and Menzel with Mooney, Milburn, and Corey.

That my friends is not a recipe for success.

Agree there's nothing in it and nothing will come of it. But the AFL is hyper sensitive to any contact with the head, remote as that contact may be.

Of more interest to me is whether they intended looking at Kel's slide in which he made some contact to the back of a Weagle with a knee as was speculated on in One Week at a Time last night. Minor and purely accidental and doesn't warrant a second look.

I think even in the Pods one he had little choice both going for the ball and protecting himself at the last moment, would be 50-50 chance during the season, highly unlikely to be suspended from a grand final though.

Kelly the same, wanted the ball perhaps could have been a little more careful but nothing to miss a grand final for.

The MRP take into account everyone is moving twice as fast during finals, no need for concern on either case, all previous finals precedents are in our favour in this.

Just seen it for the first time, why are we even discussing this?, he wouldn't have had anything to worry about in the HaA season FFS.

Re: James Kelly

What? All the HS says is "will almost certainly be scrutinised"

The main contact is Pods' hip with Selwood's body, but there is clearly also incidental contact between Pods' arm and Selwood's head. It's just a question of whether the MRP deem it "forceful" enough to book him. You would really hope that common sense prevails and they don't, but who knows with them ...

The main contact is Pods' hip with Selwood's body, but there is clearly also incidental contact between Pods' arm and Selwood's head. It's just a question of whether the MRP deem it "forceful" enough to book him.

The "incidental" contact was forceful enough for Selwood to be taken off & be given a concussion test in the rooms. There has been numerous incidents this year where the player has played on after getting hit high, not having a concussion test & then the player who applied the bump going for forceful contact.

He looked more winded to me, he'll be right, borderline free kick, nothing more.

MRP / Trib. AFL 2nd Preliminary Final findings - Kelly and Podsiadly cleared