AFL Cairns - 2011 Season Part 2

Gob Bloth will have a field day with this...

Yep it rain hard down fast it came.. wet very the ground no good cricket to wet ... :D ..;)

Good to see Tigers and now South's get netball clubs... Was great initiative by the Saints few years back to be the first to do this.
Other clubs copying the Saints?? Must not be a bad club after all ;) Although don't think a netball team at Hawks would help poor Plugger jag a wife

I think its a terrific notion, netty clubs and afl clubs need to work together to ensure clubs survive and good way to keep the missus happy while having a beer watching the footy if she is off playing netball. Everyones a winner i reckon! :thumbsu:

Must admit though, the lonely cabinet was filled over at the tiger den all be it a netball premiership, we will take anything ha ha jokes! But jokes aside, the saints girls were very humble in defeat as the mens team were in the footy as my wife said the game was played in very agressive but in good spirit, just as the footy was.

I dont recall a fight in the gf, been a few years since i havent seen a biffo in the last game of the season both in cairns and back in Vic.

heard it raining there pretty hard how footy go with bad rain?

Hey bud, in English please:eek:.

You seem to have some issues with South Cairns Shavedham. Did you want to talk about them? Either that or you have some very unreliable information being fed to you.

As for the coaching jobs at Souths, I had a couple of beers yesterday afternoon with the young Penguin and discussed that very thing. Truth be known, Tamba and myself are currently the front runners to take over the roles. So before you keep shooting off about South Cairns, maybe you might want to check the facts first.:cool:

Can't say I've bad mouthed the club, Flintstone. I've given a couple of rib punches, but, I've said nothing to ugly. Browse back through my posts if you like, love:heart:.

I said to you before the GF and I'll say it again. Choke, choke, choke, choke, choke, choke, choke, choke, choke, choke, choke, choke, choke:eek::eek::eek:

Flintstone, I think it is ironic that your signature reads "you can't handle the truth". I'm pretty sure your hostility towards the Saints stems from some previous discussion about some Cutters' players on field behaviour towards the coach during a game this year. Despite the fact that all events that were reported actually did transpire during the game, the negative feedback turned you into a Saint hating, Manunda bandwagon jumping sycophant who jumps at any chance to denegrade the Saints. Obviously it is you who can't handle the truth, and I hope for Souths sake you can keep those emotions in check if you become co-coach. The last thing your club needs is more bad press, however well deserved it is.

Denial - Not just a river in Egypt.

Flintstone, I think it is ironic that your signature reads "you can't handle the truth". I'm pretty sure your hostility towards the Saints stems from some previous discussion about some Cutters' players on field behaviour towards the coach during a game this year. Despite the fact that all events that were reported actually did transpire during the game, the negative feedback turned you into a Saint hating, Manunda bandwagon jumping sycophant who jumps at any chance to denegrade the Saints. Obviously it is you who can't handle the truth, and I hope for Souths sake you can keep those emotions in check if you become co-coach. The last thing your club needs is more bad press, however well deserved it is.

Just waiting for Flintstones comeback:eek::thumbsu:.

So if lions fold, do norths and Centrals have the most to gain? And will ex lions players still carry their 8 points?

This would be quite complexed as AFL Cairns have invested heaps. Similar to the Port Adelaide scenario we are seeing in the AFL. Does the league let the club fold and sign off on it as a poor investment or does the league reinvest even though the have committed all their money to the cazalys multi million dollar upgrade? The big question...

As i know it, the league hasnt got a lot of flexibility with money as the committment involved from AFL Cairns side of the fence towards the cazalys upgrade is enormous. When external consultants are involved, feasibility studies with our climates in this region can blow out budgets enormously. Interesting times ahead!

I would propose that every player from that club gets an 'open clearance'. Each club in the league can accept 3 players per club for no 'point loading' each player after that will cost the club 8pts with the total club points still capped at its current level. What do others think?

Thats how it was done back in WA where i was last involved as an official.

Each club in the league can accept 3 players per club for no 'point loading' each player after that will cost the club 8pts with the total club points still capped at its current level. What do others think?

eagerreader, I'm not exactly sure how the player allocation would be policed. But, there's no way any player should have no points against their name. Saints (example) could waltz on in and collect the 3 best players at the club, so I don't see that scenario as plausible. Common sence would have each player (or better players) with 3/4/5 points next to their names? What players would want to go to Port with the travel? So Cairns teams may have a win and add depth while PD get no one. Havn't really thought about it in depth, but, wise heads would prevail and work it out.

Sounds good in that light.

That is just how it worked back in the league i was associated in. Worked well and they players split evenly or went to the next level leagues or near by associations.

Would be unfair on the players. If they all wanted to stay together and say play for Port Douglas, they'd be worth too many points.

Plus the team no longer exists so if they ended up being worth points, they don't have the option to stay at their original club, which is the option the points system is trying to encourage.

They should be worth no points. How many of them would make a difference at the end of the season? THe ruckman and one or two others, the rest would be in the twos anyway

I truly hope they stay alive, it's a great area they've got out there, just probably not a large enough catchment to attract player numbers.

Would be unfair on the players. If they all wanted to stay together and say play for Port Douglas, they'd be worth too many points.

Plus the team no longer exists so if they ended up being worth points, they don't have the option to stay at their original club, which is the option the points system is trying to encourage.

They should be worth no points. How many of them would make a difference at the end of the season? THe ruckman and one or two others, the rest would be in the twos anyway

I truly hope they stay alive, it's a great area they've got out there, just probably not a large enough catchment to attract player numbers.

I hope they do also!

Heard a VERY interesting comment about Port Douglas ONLY paying $800 a year in ground expenses and fees that include ground servicing, costs, electricity, water and waste, maintenance and upgrades. Sound hard to believe....... Under their 'classification' thats ALL the club pays, no wonder they can spend a TINY bit more on player recruitment! Have asked a few more questions and hopefully have more of an answer for readers on Monday.

Have a great weekend!

This is what i know and has come from a CAFL Devel Officer....

Lions position in the AFL Cairns Comp for 2012 is currently being reviewed with the financial position of the club being examined by auditors. As i leaked last week, the AGM will be the venue for the club to release financial content of that audit and the clubs position for its members to vote on. However i feel the boat has already left the docks and sailed on this matter.

Tyson Lane will not be a head coach in 2012. Info has come to the surface that for personal reasons, he is not in a position to take a lead spot for the 2012 season 'however' he has not closed the door on an assistant role but unlikely be at hawks due to personal indifferences he has had with the club. Front runners at the cutters and port as lane nearly secured the port job at the start of 2011 season but due to the locality of his business in Cairns, it severely hindered his ability to get up the hill.

On the news front at tigerland, the club is stoked on the drafting of young pete yagarmoor and it has reinforced the club as a 'breeding ground' for good talent, club has reinforced its view on promoting the kids and all at tigerland are very keen to see the young cubs blossum this year with a view of finals footy but by no means are we at watsons considering we are front runners. Saints, Port and Hawks have earnt that position over the years and would deserving take that tag going into round 1 of 2012.

Will tell you now, Tyson Lane, WILL NEVER EVER COACH THE CUTTERS

Saint, I think you'll find that all clubs are helping to make sure the club doesn't go under. All clubs understand that to keep a healthy league another club just can't drop off the face of the earth. League needs to step in and tooth comb the management of the club to make sure the club doesn't fold. RE your ruckmen being the only good player, you honestly think Manunda (example) should be able to just be gifted a player/ruckmen for no points? As I said, certain players should be worth certain points.

Yes, they should. The point of the rule is to stop clubs taking players from their existing clubs. If the existing club doesn't exist any more, there's no purpose.

It's not a rule to even the competition, like a salary cap, it's just to stop raiding of other clubs. If the club doesn't exist, it's not raiding.

At least this way they could all stay together and perhaps get the Lions going again the next year?

Gob Bloth will have a field day with this...

Yep it rain hard down fast it came.. wet very the ground no good cricket to wet ... :D ..;)

Good to see Tigers and now South's get netball clubs... Was great initiative by the Saints few years back to be the first to do this.
Other clubs copying the Saints?? Must not be a bad club after all ;) Although don't think a netball team at Hawks would help poor Plugger jag a wife

Disagree,

there were netball sides in Cairns before Saints JOINED THEIR COMPETITION,

it was formed by WOMEN, not Saints football players who called themselves Saints & aligned themselves with the club as they being players & other locals wife's /girlfriends who wanted to play in a structured strong competition So Saints can not take credit for it.

Next thing is you will be taking credit for starting AFL here in Cairns back in the 50's

gee whiz-------- no other club is that arrogant

Disagree,

it was formed by WOMEN, not Saints football players who called themselves Saints & aligned themselves with the club as they being players & other locals wife's /girlfriends who wanted to play in a structured strong competition So Saints can not take credit for it.

Next thing is you will be taking credit for starting AFL here in Cairns back in the 50's

Tamba I think you'll find he meant they were the 1st football club to join the existing Cairns netball competition, at least thats they way I read it. I might have to borrow your "I HATE SAINTS" goggles and it might read different though. Or has Flinstone got em this weekend:confused::D

The correct point is the football club aligned themselves, didn't join the netball as Women play netball in this comp not men they aligned themselves with Saints using the name/rooms/colours/bar that's all, made up of local & interstate ,females that may have or not Cairns Saints football players as partners or not.

I don't hate Saints, just cannot agree with the conflict of interests that runs through the place.

Hahahaha cmon, Tamba. You hate em, bro. Tamba are you blokes going to name a coach this week (cue the throw away line about you and flintstone coaching)???? What about the high flying Hawkers, Plugg3r??? Both clubs must be close, surely. What's the word out of Port??

You may have a great record over the last few years, but I believe beating Hawks on the big day still elude's you ;)

How ironic that a bloke who doesnt /cant play should keep throwing quips around like he's something special. ***** running around in the twos who cant get a kick, have opinions with far more relevance than you tool. And They wouldve beaten Hawks on the 'big day' in other years, but the Hawks weren't always good enough to get there. Now grab some runners and a headband and make an effort to play next year Brenton, so blokes can vent their frustration with your moronic opinions to your face on the field by laying you out. (Insert homo erotic winking here ;);););););););))

Apposed to you guys saying it to my face anywhere else? I recall playing 6 games this year for Manunda. Didnt see any teams jumping of the bench to take me out then. But we all know you're the tough guys behind the keyboards opposed to me, as I'll actually say what I have said on here to somebodys face :thumbsu:

This post is whats known as a 'cyber punch in the gob'. OMG Plugg3r, just OMG.

Gob_Bluth if you had bothered to read previous pages you would have seen that I indeed said and I quote "Saints are a good strong and talented club and that I expected them to win the GF". So I fail to see how that classes me as a "Sycophant"?? It would appear that you and you and your friend Steven Shavedforeskin are the only ones with issues. :confused::confused::confused:

Never knew that one Flinstone... My apologies. How long has this been the case?

Where does the club look for a coach? Or where do they advertise apart from Cairns? Is the Penguin back at the reigns at Fretwell? To credit the Souths, they do have some great people around the club.

Netball Club has been going for a couple of months.

As for the Penguin he's still around assisting where he can.;)

Disagree,

HAHAHA you tool... I was saying it was great of Saints to have a netball team alinged with the football club. Which was the idea of players wives and GFs who were involved with the football club but playing for other teams in the netball comp.