AFL Cairns - 2011 Season

I can't believe how negative you all are about such a huge step forward for Australian Rules Football in Cairns! If you nit pick at the negatives and look for them, then you'll find them. Yet if you focus on the positives and see that the region NEEDS this for footy to improve up here, then it will work.

It will attract many young footballers that haven't made it in other more traditionally strong areas, give them another avenue to make it. The CAFL will need to pay footballers, as you do in such a competition, then the locals will grow to see this team as an acheivable goal then you're away. Don't forget there are only 22 in a team and the remaining that are not picked will filter down through the remaining clubs.

It can happen, should happen, and I have no doubt will happen! And I for one cannot wait!

Agree with up the middle, cant wait aswell... I recall hearing last year that the logistics side of it have held them back, also now with attention to the Richmond V Suns games & relevant Cazaly's building, I can see that they have a fair bit on their plate.. Hope they are still moving ahead with it, havent heard otherwise...

Premiers: Saints/Port
Wooden Spooners: Lions
League Medal: Powell (Saints)
Biggest Improver from 2010: Hawks
Biggest Slider from 2010: Centrals
Goal Kicker: Matt Walsh
Most expensive team: Port
Most under-rated player: Matt Harth
Most over-rated player: Smith (Port)
Most loyal player in the league:
Toughest bloke in the league: Crane (Saints) this bloke is tough as a $2 steak
Biggest Sook in the league: Brent Craighead
Best Young talent: Man Child Everett
Best Coach: Not Viola.. having a go at blokes on the piss for not playing rep footy isn't a great image for the league

Totally agree Dr Kimble!!!

I saw this looser carry on to those players and having been sitting next to a former Crathern Medalist, his wife and kids, it was totally unacceptable! Further proof he isnt the complete package and is not going to get players 'playing for him'. He is constantly abusing players from the sidelines, umpires, abusing his own players and is a terrible role model of the league to be put in as head coach. He isnt the best coach, the best coach out coached him last year in the GF, inspired his team to run rings around a 'team of all stars' and viola is a current day coach who stills continues to impliment a blue print playing a brand of footy that i saw the U12's at Gordonvale using also last Sunday. WAKE UP AFL CAIRNS. Ricter, Griffith, Coatsworth and Seymour are all good young coaches and under the guidance of Hanlon, could develop a need breed of 'respected coaches' and not endorse a emotionally charge and aggressive meat head that has lost the complete respect of much of elite players in the comp.

Norths v hawks tonight. Everyone try get down should be a physical game as it always seems to be between these sides. I agree with these latest comments about Dwayne Bosen being under rated he works so hard and is very physical great player to have on the park as he does not complain or carry on at umpires. Interesting to see this new hawks recruit and decide if he a worthy addition to the flag favourites. $10 says Lucas let's his team down by getting sent of for doing stupid crap............ That's if the hawks are down though........... Sshhh plugger don't say anything. :). Also I just putting this out there and tell me if I'm wrong but do u think Jamie scrymjour is under rated???????

Very good game to watch last night by both sides last night, a great 2nd quarter performance saw the Tigers come back and lead by a goal at the half. Hawks made up the difference and then some to get the win but I don't think they expected to be met with that much resilience from a tigers squad 1/2 full of juniors and without their captain.

High of the game: Tigers getting in front before 1/2 time sent the small crowd on fire

Low of the game: Lukas Ehlich coathangers a tiger junior but runs by flexing his biceps after the kid finally gets up!:eek: get a life! (Didnt get a free kick for it either, Lukas did this rubbish the whole game, I think he was reported but not sure, probably not) He is a good on baller but maybe needs some anger management or a good old fashioned ass kicking or something.

$10 says Lucas let's his team down by getting sent of for doing stupid crap............ That's if the hawks are down though
Spot on, as soon as they were down, he and a few other hawks started looking for the man to get their shots in on instead of the ball, need some discipline over there urgently, this can cost hawks games.

Funny moment of the game: happened off the field, there was a hawks supporter(2s player?) standing above the tigers fans swearing at the ladies and carrying on like an idiot.. Finally 1 of the tigers water runner's heard him, left the field and went up there and shut the bloke up. Cazalys staff can do better in this area, letting people just abuse other fans is not on. A security staff member should be in the grandstand area.

I hate being one of the people that complain about the umpiring but it was noticeably bad last night..anyone else go to the game and pick up something I missed? I was in between the bar and the grandstand for both games..

I saw moneybags martin was the runner for hawks? Wonder why he didnt get a spot! :D

Very good game to watch last night by both sides last night, a great 2nd quarter performance saw the Tigers come back and lead by a goal at the half. Hawks made up the difference and then some to get the win but I don't think they expected to be met with that much resilience from a tigers squad 1/2 full of juniors and without their captain.

High of the game: Tigers getting in front before 1/2 time sent the small crowd on fire

Low of the game: Lukas Ehlich coathangers a tiger junior but runs by flexing his biceps after the kid finally gets up!:eek: get a life! (Didnt get a free kick for it either, Lukas did this rubbish the whole game, I think he was reported but not sure, probably not) He is a good on baller but maybe needs some anger management or a good old fashioned ass kicking or something.

Spot on, as soon as they were down, he and a few other hawks started looking for the man to get their shots in on instead of the ball, need some discipline over there urgently, this can cost hawks games.

Funny moment of the game: happened off the field, there was a hawks supporter(2s player?) standing above the tigers fans swearing at the ladies and carrying on like an idiot.. Finally 1 of the tigers water runner's heard him, left the field and went up there and shut the bloke up. Cazalys staff can do better in this area, letting people just abuse other fans is not on. A security staff member should be in the grandstand area.

I hate being one of the people that complain about the umpiring but it was noticeably bad last night..anyone else go to the game and pick up something I missed? I was in between the bar and the grandstand for both games..

I saw moneybags martin was the runner for hawks? Wonder why he didnt get a spot! :D

It was a very good game, Hawks too good in the end, but definitely had some nervous moments. Their ability when under immense pressure in the 2nd quarter will have been noticed by the other 2 top teams. My lowlight would have to be the umpiring efforts, most definitely both ways. Haven't seen a game with so many late or off the ball high shots. Surely if the umps show a bit of authority ealry in the game (maybe a yellow card) blokes would not be thinking they could get away with it. Yes Lukas was a main offender but a couple of Norths lads weren't much better. Be interesting to hear Hawks boys thoughts on the game? Not the 80 point thumping they had hoped for...
PS pretty sure Glen is injured although he seemed to be moving ok

Haha how did I know we would be the ones blamed for the brawls and the hits. Guess it was a bit hard to see the early shots on a few of our guys when your sitting in the stands with your heads up your asses?

Come on mate seriously, get a clue about what your saying or get off here. Guess you missed the attention your Freebody got when trying to run a tagging role etc. Guess no one also mentioned that the last quarter was null and void after the Tigers had two men down the whole time because they couldn't run with the Hawks any longer.

I just laugh to think how people can think a top two team would both going around sniping people.

Geez settle down mate, ruffle a few feathers last night did we? Must admit, I missed the Freebody incident, but whatever it was worked cos he didn't do too much tagging after that.:thumbsu: like I said no team was worse than the other cos the umps let em get away with too much. Like I also said you were too good in the end, well done. But you didn't get everything your own way like you expected and maybe a couples of weaknesses were exposed:confused:
Rumour at the bar we won't be seeing Mishai Perry again. Any confirmation, denial??

Haha you are a complete idiot, no such thing happened. As well as that you neglected to not hear the abuse been given to the Hawks players from the Norths fans? Back in your box.

Were you in the grandstand with the other 12 hawks supporters??:D

You failed to count the supporters down at the Cazalys end bar as well as in the grandstand ;)

As for Perry, I have no idea.

No, no feathers were ruffled but getting on here and seeing the shit posted did. I noticed nothing was said to anyone in the Hawks Bar, all hugs and kisses for Lukas and Glen was all I saw.

Haha plugger u make me laugh. I support hawks and played there for about 7/8 years but I must not be as passionate as u cause no one on hear can post a comment about the hawks without u sticking up for them. And Im not mocking u for it. It's good to be like that sometimes. But to be honest they are right about our lack of supporters and they are right about Lucas. But not about glen Martin. And I have to say well done to Rowan gray for his good sportsmanship he tried very hard to keep his north tigers team mates in line with words of encouragement but they chose not to listen. To be honest I would almost call that team a PAC of dogs for there attitude and over aggressive attitude. Instead of playing hard for the ball they just wanted to hurt the hawks players. Late hits, high hits and trying to fight is never going to win games. The culture at this club is a Terrible and needs to change from the staff to the players also the supporters. And don't say that as an ex hawks player I would not know well actually I do know because I spent 2 years there. Anyway another win

Hahaha...all you can do is laugh. Had to Post - you certainly are trying. Mate the Norths supporters were average last night, abusive and inciteful. At half time they were nothing short of feral. As for any head high shots, both teams had their culprits, but none more than Bosen and Ehlich. Both need to pull their heads in and play the ball more. Both very good players and disappointing to see both get sucked in to that rubbish. So blaming one team or another is just tit for tat.

Hawks knew all along that this would be a tough tussle. We have a lot of respect for the young Norths effort and intensity. Never did we think that it would be an 80 point drubbing. Although it did get out to 67 points in the last.

As for young Freebody, he tagged Holland for about 15 minutes in the last. In that time Holland sooked to the point of slinging Freebody to the ground a few times. Then when Hawks broke the game open he just ran off with 'cramp' right when Norths needed him to fight for them. Learnt something about young Thomas, he can't handle being tagged.

Good game, both team sound like they had a lot out. Hawks too good in the end.

Hahaha...all you can do is laugh. Had to Post - you certainly are trying. Mate the Norths supporters were average last night, abusive and inciteful. At half time they were nothing short of feral. As for any head high shots, both teams had their culprits, but none more than Bosen and Ehlich. Both need to pull their heads in and play the ball more. Both very good players and disappointing to see both get sucked in to that rubbish. So blaming one team or another is just tit for tat.

Hawks knew all along that this would be a tough tussle. We have a lot of respect for the young Norths effort and intensity. Never did we think that it would be an 80 point drubbing. Although it did get out to 67 points in the last.

As for young Freebody, he tagged Holland for about 15 minutes in the last. In that time Holland sooked to the point of slinging Freebody to the ground a few times. Then when Hawks broke the game open he just ran off with 'cramp' right when Norths needed him to fight for them. Learnt something about young Thomas, he can't handle being tagged.

Good game, both team sound like they had a lot out. Hawks too good in the end.
Thats gold teamwork. I was actually in the grandstand at half time ( when Norths were just in front) crowd was great. Our guys sprayed your blokes and clapped ours while your supporters did the same. I don't think any of it went too far and despite not many there, it created a bit of atmosphere.
As for Freebody tagging Holland in the last, what about the first 3 quarters where he tore you to shreds??

Saints just got over the line against Souths. Saints got off to a good start but after a couple of vital injuries and Souths stepping it up it became very close in the end. The only thing between Souths and a win was their kicking at goal i reckon.
Saints won the reserves by about 80pts and Saints won the legends game easily aswell. A great trurn up to watch the veterans run around with probably the best crowd seen at Griffiths this year.

Saints just got over the line against Souths. Saints got off to a good start but after a couple of vital injuries and Souths stepping it up it became very close in the end. The only thing between Souths and a win was their kicking at goal i reckon.
Saints won the reserves by about 80pts and Saints won the legends game easily aswell. A great trurn up to watch the veterans run around with probably the best crowd seen at Griffiths this year.

I watched a great game of football yesterday between Souths & Saints,
Saints jumped to a 4 goal lead and looked like going on with it but then Souths re-surged in the 2nd qrtr, & we knew we had a game on hand.
Not implying anything but when Poyner went off just before half time with a knee injury, not to return Souths then started to get more out of the centre. It was close Souths lost by 13 points & should have won , they blew it by kicking 22 behinds most were down with the wind & within easy kicking range for the not to be named Shooters

Accolades due where due

The umpiring was very good well done to the 3, Kochie & co :thumbsu:

Thats gold teamwork. I was actually in the grandstand at half time ( when Norths were just in front) crowd was great. Our guys sprayed your blokes and clapped ours while your supporters did the same. I don't think any of it went too far and despite not many there, it created a bit of atmosphere.
As for Freebody tagging Holland in the last, what about the first 3 quarters where he tore you to shreds??

I stand by what i said watsons. They were feral, but they paid theie $6 so I guess they can cheer however they like. Just saying I haven't heard anything like it from any of the other teams supporters.

As for Holland, haha, we never bothered tagging the kid in the first 3 because he is his own worst enemy, he is very predictable and tries to take on the entire team and does it forgetting he has team mates, and 8 out of 10 times gets caught. It's the 2 out of 10 that you choose to see and think he's a hero. He certainly never tore anyone to shreds. In the last we gave young Freo some tagging experience for when we play top sides. He did it well and beat him easily.

To be honest I would almost call that team a PAC of dogs for there attitude and over aggressive attitude. Instead of playing hard for the ball they just wanted to hurt the hawks players.
As opposed to Lukas trying to slip one in everytime he went near a tigers player....especially the younger smaller tiger players. Didn't see him put one on Rowan Gray?? No class that guy at all. Could take a lesson from Willie.

Mate the Norths supporters were average last night, abusive and inciteful. At half time they were nothing short of feral.
Really......get your rose coloured glasses off. There was great passionate barracking from both teams. Our supporters were no better or worse than your boys.

That said, it was an enjoyable game to watch. The young tigers played some exciting footy in the second quarter to take it up to and past the Hawks. However your boys were too big and fit and ran over us in the end. Perhaps next year we can spend the equivilant of a luxury car on players and see how we do ;)

The CAFL needs to do something about the umpires though....They have a duty of care to the players and the CAFL and umpires could find themselves in trouble if a player wants to take it further after a significant injury due to an illegal hit (refer to Brendan Tennicks broken teeth/jaw with no free kick awarded - not that he's the sort of blokoe to take that type of action). All the games are taped.....

As for all hate headed North's way about club culture...when were you last there? I can assure you that the direction that Kane is taking the club is very positive. He and Brett are getting together a group of dedicated volunteers to push the club forward and that includes the girls from netball which is a very big positive for the club.

What are the Hawks going to do when their agreement runs out for cazalys??

And that's my two cents....

Just saying I haven't heard anything like it from any of the other teams supporters.

Been to Port Douglas lately?? It should be expected that supporters barrack passionately and raucously, without stepping over the line.

Good game between hawks and norths Friday night would be a shame to see the mighty hawkers have to leave cazalys doubt it will happen though! Also i see white from port has left again, booth would have the medal in his back pocket you would think now.

Gee the north cairns mob on here were just like their fans on friday nite, actually thought they were a chance! I can tell you they were never even close to being a chance. Hawks controlled 70% plus of the play and if had of kicked straight would have belted them on the scoreboard too. You're talking 36 scoring shots to only 18 - double!

As for tha fans, well I reckon it was good to see a bit of spirit, we could hear them from the terrace. The only problem was, they cheered louder when a north player belted a hawks player than they did when they kicked a goal. Thats a culture issue I guess.

Half thru now
A challenge
let's see who can tip the top
3 medal placings from 6 of
Your own choices for this years Crathern medal

Worth a try ?
As we are starting to guess the winner now all choices must be in by round 18

Low of the game: Lukas Ehlich coathangers a tiger junior but runs by flexing his biceps after the kid finally gets up!:eek: get a life! (Didnt get a free kick for it either, Lukas did this rubbish the whole game, I think he was reported but not sure, probably not). The young fella that Ehlich hit played a good game, he certainly caught my eye from the bar. Once he puts on a few kgs he'll be an exciting prospect