AFL Cairns - 2011 Season

Bit harsh saying the umpiring was poor Saturday... you can not touch or grab a players jumper after they have marked it and the North players continued to do so.. Also numb 13 and 40 for Norths continually tried to take on more than one tackle and got done for holding the ball when they got caught. From the sidelines looks like the umpiring was poor but to the letter of the law the umpires were correct.

I never said the Umpiring was "poor", I said it was substandard & inconsistent & I stand by that comment. All players & fans want is consistency with the decisions & the Umpires to be in the right spot when they blow the whistle. I would like to say that they made some great decisions on Saturday & I strongly believe in penalising back chat & late/clumsy tackles. Saints weren't "Saints" in this department but were far more disciplined than the Tigers. Overall the Umpires do a great job up here & it is an unappreciated job however they also need to be honest with their pown performances as it can & does affect the outcome of some games. For the record the Umpires had little outcome on Sat's game, Tigers only have themselves to blame & will bounce back hard against Cities.

Saw both games at Cazalys on the weekend and they weren't fun to watch. Cities did look young but it was not pretty at all and they will lose players during the year if the results don't change. It could have been worse, Manunda's kicking at goal was poor.

My love for Tigers died a bit, the display they put on was below par and your right Dr K, how Kane could be happy with it. 50m penalties and blokes just trying to do to much. After all the work they club has done off the field I hope the results are more positive during the year. When will Kane play again?

Interesting to read the comments about the young players of the Tigers and Lions, which is fantastic for the league that they are playing the kids rather than buying in players, I say interesting, because the Hawks had, and thats if the book is correct, 9 players 19 or under, and they had another 2 I believe unavailable, so to me this is a good indicator of where the other teams are heading with youth, most of those Hawks lads have been playing senior grade now for 2-3, some 3-4 years, so hopefully the blooding of youth for the Hawks is starting to reap the benefits for them and will be a leader for other clubs that are now doing the same thing, to which I for one congratulate the clubs that are promoting young locals ahead of expensive imports!!

I agree with you there transfer that youth is the way to go, but look at Norths list in the record, there are only 2 teenagers and a lot of mid to late 20's and 30's. Then on Saints list, Lachy Everett aside, they do not have 1 teenager, not one! The youngest being 23. And almost all from out of town. You have to think they will continue to "not pay" players for a long time to come.

Dunno if the books are accurate, Nths look to be implementing the youth policy, so unsure middle on the call of them, Sth's, i know the pres is keen on the kids idea, given the stars they have paid for,and burnt them, centrals will need to start promoting youth, port give whatever kids that stay a go, cities, I believe will come out of the amalgamation well in a few years, whitey, toby fat, there is a start for them, Saints, well just maybe we could start seeing the 1st 16 yr old assistant coaches in history???

All crap aside, I would like to see more opportunity for our 17-19yr old youth, they play no rep games and get minimal exposure, other than senior footy up here, how can we assist in development of the youth in that age group, i see a rep side heading to melb this weekend, that is good, i thunk under 17's?? so what can we do to get the 17,18,19 yr olds more opportunity to become better, better fitness, coaching, diets, skill work, life experience, etc, dunno, but we need to act, and act quickly or we will lose them from the game if we dont promote them, assist them, give them goals, and get as much help for them as we can??

Whilst the youth policy at most clubs is alive, and good on each club, my firm belief is we need to look further than our coaches and clubs, and ask the league to help us help the local comp, and take these kids on to help the future, without them we will be watching paid imports, leeching the life blood from each club!!!

In Saints defence they haven't had a juinor set up like everyone else to get their kids from. They used to get them from Redlynch but that no longer happens. Now that the club has juniors up and running im sure in a couple of seasons there will be quite a few young players playing senior football. At the moment they have under 14's so no doubt next year they will push for an under 16's then under 18's. The Saints have had success with little youth in the team so no doubt once that youth comes through the system the Saints will continue to be a force.

Love the banter towards the Saints.. Hard to have juniors playing in your seniors when the oldest ones are u/14s.
Big Marshmellow Pyoner was paid on the weekend... Think it was a 30 block of Toohey's he got handed by the president back at the rooms ;)..
Walsh back on the track tonight, Powell back this weekend, Hyde back this weekend and maybe Martin.... Think you other teams have more to worry about then all the so-called paid players.
Also is Saints the only club where their coach is a Major sponsor?

Saints have a good Under 14 side which will no doubt become a good U16 and then U18 side, and by 2015, they will have a good raft of juniors in the seniors. These kinds of things don't happen overnight and with two U12 teams, I'm sure in 10 years' time the team will be mostly made up of ex-juniors. But for the moment, if anybody knows where you can get your hands on some good local senior footballers, I'm sure Saints would be happy to have them come down.

The club is developing a number of rugby players of which most played their first AFL game in the 2s last week and by the end of the year, I would think at least a couple will have played senior games. So that's one way Saints are developing the game while the juniors develop (which they're also doing a great job of).

They're also developing the game by setting the standard and raising the bar without big name or big money recruits from other clubs.

Saints have a good Under 14 side which will no doubt become a good U16 and then U18 side, and by 2015, they will have a good raft of juniors in the seniors. These kinds of things don't happen overnight and with two U12 teams, I'm sure in 10 years' time the team will be mostly made up of ex-juniors. But for the moment, if anybody knows where you can get your hands on some good local senior footballers, I'm sure Saints would be happy to have them come down.

The club is developing a number of rugby players of which most played their first AFL game in the 2s last week and by the end of the year, I would think at least a couple will have played senior games. So that's one way Saints are developing the game while the juniors develop (which they're also doing a great job of).

They're also developing the game by setting the standard and raising the bar without big name or big money recruits from other clubs.

Nice response Saint, and good luck to them, it is good to see they have something happening in the junior area, and also bringing in some guys from alternate sports to have a crack, so good foward planning by the Saints crew.
Granted they have set the bar high, and their standard is the benchmark, and I believe way out in front this year for some more silverware, I just hope the other teams can bridge the gap required to be competitive with the saints, unsure if this weekends game against the Hawks will really be much of an indicator, I would think the Hawks would lose 4-5 to the cricket finals, looked to lose 2 x new recruits to injury Friday, so by the 2nd round, I would think we will know more about the challengers, hopefully the Port NT boys have lobbed, the 5-6 that Centrals are saying are coming have arrived, Tigers will only improve, Sths showed they are on the up, so hopefully not a 3 horse race as commented earlier,

I hope their U12 teams improve then. Oh and I keep forgetting, Saints don't pay their players.

Saw both games at Cazalys on the weekend and they weren't fun to watch. Cities did look young but it was not pretty at all and they will lose players during the year if the results don't change. It could have been worse, Manunda's kicking at goal was poor.

My love for Tigers died a bit, the display they put on was below par and your right Dr K, how Kane could be happy with it. 50m penalties and blokes just trying to do to much. After all the work they club has done off the field I hope the results are more positive during the year. When will Kane play again?

First game of the season mate, I believe goal kicking was the least dominant thing on anyones minds in Round 1. They dominated all around the ground with proficient ball handling and great skills. The points got piled on in the last quarter when everyone just wanted to have a go at the goals. Tell me, is it any different in the AFL during massive scores.

It's true that Hawks have 11 out this week due to cricket, work and injury. So we will see how the younger guys can handle the type of pressure that comes with playing the odds on flag favorites. It can only be a good thing.

Am very interested to see the result of the Port V Souths game. I think that will give some kind of indication of where those two and centrals are. Is there anyone out there willing to pick Cities V Norths?

Without picking margins, because I haven't got the forecast yet and the difference between a scoreline in a torrential downpour and that of a clear day is over 20 goals.

But I'll pick Port in a close one over Souths. I would say Port would edge them out as their new players come together, but the Round 1 miles in the legs for Souths will keep them within striking distance right up to the end of the game.

Norths will have a good win against Cities, they've got plenty of improvement in them from last week. They didnt settle at all Round 1 and will have been working on that and had a good think about things. Norths comfortably all day. Saints backline made the scoreline look a lot worse than it could have for Norths last week. The end scoreline was a bit misleading.

If Manunda have so many out it will be a disappointing first top of the table clash. But given their massive win last week, the Hawks will be up and about for this game no matter who takes the field. I think it will be close for the first two quarters, with the Saints to get away by 5 or 6 goals by the final siren. The redheads at Saints tended to do better as the cloud came over last week, so the twilight game would suit them.

Speaking of Hawks young talent, all have a watch of the young Nathan "Freo" Freebody. Ranked in the Hawks B&F after the slaughter on the weekend, champion young player. Extremely composed and has a good strong football brain.

I'll back him now for the best young talent in the 2011 season. Anyone got a different opinion? Then take it up with my display picture.

First game of the season mate, I believe goal kicking was the least dominant thing on anyones minds in Round 1. They dominated all around the ground with proficient ball handling and great skills. The points got piled on in the last quarter when everyone just wanted to have a go at the goals. Tell me, is it any different in the AFL during massive scores.

Steady on old plugger, not having a crack at Manunda at all. Just saying it was lucky for Lions that this was the case, who doesn't want to sneak forward for a snag roll when things are rosey. I'm guessing the back line were switched up forward to 'be involved' in the game a bit more.

I think Manunda will turn some heads this weekend, won't back them to win as there are so many Saints boys on here. Hawks will be better than what the Saints boys think though.

Hoping the tigers bounce back....

Steady on old plugger, not having a crack at Manunda at all. Just saying it was lucky for Lions that this was the case, who doesn't want to sneak forward for a snag roll when things are rosey. I'm guessing the back line were switched up forward to 'be involved' in the game a bit more.

I think Manunda will turn some heads this weekend, won't back them to win as there are so many Saints boys on here. Hawks will be better than what the Saints boys think though.

Hoping the tigers bounce back....

It's cool mate, and I also believe the Hawks will shock the Saints. The boys have heart and are well drilled, heart wins more games then skill does. ;)

Here's my kiss of death for this week's round -

Port by 4 Goals
Norths by 6 Goals
Saints by 3 Goals

The word out at Trinity Beach is that one of its juniors went to Saints for a sign on fee of $1000 plus $500 per game. Thats $10000py. They say Saints are paying close to $100000 this year in player payments.

But Saints DON'T pay players :eek:

only coaches :D

What is the issue if a player is paid or receives incentives? Are clubs bound to a salary cap?:confused:
Every bush, suburban league has had the same issues for years and will continue for years to come. If a club is cashed up and wants to spend the money on players then so be it, they have not broken any law unless there is a cap in the Cairns comp? Sure no one likes to see sides try to buy a flag but it is a fact of life these days.
As we all know in recent times Cutters and Port tried it and it back fired, Saints do it and have had success.
My opinion is if you have the loot to spend in the first place then as a club you must be doing something right.

Let's move on...

P.s NO i do not have links to Cairns Saints or support them but i do admire their professionalism:thumbsu:

Port - 10 goals +
Saints - 6 goals
Tigers - 5 goals
Centrals - 4 points on the ladder for sitting back and relaxing.:confused:

Probably the stupidest thing I've heard in a long time.

Your mates who talk that rubbish at school should probably stop.

Tamba et al, you need to stop biting every time sombedoy says something stupid like that, it just encourages them.

Club budgets are fairly open documents, I would think 100k would be hard to keep off the books or to be put under miscellaneous. The league probably has a copy of each clubs budget too. Not that they could do anything about it, but it would soon become common knowledge.

They pay performance incentives (to others than the coach and asst coach) per game and they total up to less than $1000 a week, as far as I know.

There is one coach and one asst coach and a reserves coach (who I don't know if he is or isn't paid). The coach is also a major sponsor.

If it were true that they were paying some players that much, the half of the team that I know personally aren't getting paid wouldn't be happy. The other half, I don't know them well enough to say they're not.

This 'argument' is pointless. The only reason Tamba, Flintstone and others buy it is because they're trying hard at their own clubs with money and everything else and are still being beaten by a club which doesn't pay players.

Believe it or not, because at the end of the day all that counts is the scoreboard.

The word out at Trinity Beach is that one of its juniors went to Saints for a sign on fee of $1000 plus $500 per game. Thats $10000py. They say Saints are paying close to $100000 this year in player payments.

Please stop posting this mindless drivel on here, "They say" or "The word" what crap! Cairns Saints Football Club has been run by good people who have never won flags with a big budget. Quality footballers are attracted to the saints because they want to play with a quality team at a quality club. When the other clubs start replicating this in the region I imagine the comp will begin to even out more consistently. The key to the saints is they retain quality people very well and that is what has made the club so successful.

Which do you think is more likely:
a)whoever made that up from Trinity Beach simply made it up himself?
b)A player told his mate that, despite it not being true, just for a laugh?
c)somebody from Trinity Beach was a bit p/o the guy left for no other reason than the quality of the people and so made up that figure
d)there's a player out of the juniors who got a sign on fee of $1000 and $500 per game while the Saints pay $100,000 in player payments per year.

Place those in order of which is more likely.

I think everyone involved at any club in the league knows the Saints don't take in $100k per year. They don't have a home game for the first month of the season and have no pokies or permanent bar.

Even Tamba and Flintstone who choose to believe these fantasies would have to admit that $100k is a ridiculous amount to be spending on players.

Which do you think is more likely:
a)whoever made that up from Trinity Beach simply made it up himself?
b)A player told his mate that, despite it not being true, just for a laugh?
c)somebody from Trinity Beach was a bit p/o the guy left for no other reason than the quality of the people and so made up that figure
d)there's a player out of the juniors who got a sign on fee of $1000 and $500 per game while the Saints pay $100,000 in player payments per year.

Place those in order of which is more likely.

I think everyone involved at any club in the league knows the Saints don't take in $100k per year. They don't have a home game for the first month of the season and have no pokies or permanent bar.

Even Tamba and Flintstone who choose to believe these fantasies would have to admit that $100k is a ridiculous amount to be spending on players.

Have to agree, the 100k statement is ridiculous, would have to think it would be 40k max. (18k for weekly incentives plus coach and ass coach.) And Saints are doing very well to even have this amount, word from the Tigers is that sponsors have been extra difficult to find with the current financial state of Cairns.
Think about it people, if you were a decent player from down south and the money offered was comparative around the league, would you go to a club that has won 10 flags in 20 years?

Probably the stupidest thing I've heard in a long time.

If it were true that they were paying some players that much, the half of the team that I know personally aren't getting paid wouldn't be happy. The other half, I don't know them well enough to say they're not.

This 'argument' is pointless. The only reason Tamba, Flintstone and others buy it is because they're trying hard at their own clubs with money and everything else and are still being beaten by a club which doesn't pay players.

Believe it or not, because at the end of the day all that counts is the scoreboard.

Saint, I think you and many of the Saints are missing the point. It's not the ridiculous comments about 16 year olds getting $500 a game, or even the total amount being paid to the entire playing group which as we know is just rubbish. It's that you guys continue to spruik that you don't pay any players at all, which you repeated again in your comment above. It's bordering embarrassing for you guys as we all know at least a couple of players first spoke to other Cairns clubs and when they called back they would say thanks but Saints have offered me a better deal. No one cares, or at least they shouldn't how much money is involved, but just give up with the whole, "we dont pay players" spiel and people will stop mocking you.