AFL Cairns - 2012 Season

Interesting to see Chris Adams putting in for a clearance to the Lions.. Should make for interesting banter on here soon enough. 3 clubs in 2 years is a bit much isn't it?

What happen to the Goldfields league in Kalgoorlie where he went to play ??
Chris you have my phone number

Don't listen to any of them undies, give it to them! Haha it's all funny stuff.

Now, tell us your story undies...[/quot
It's been quite good not having to read Undies drivel. I have more than enjoyed reading a more intelligent comment from time to time.

Saints deserve to be red hot favs thats for sure but its only half way through the season,injuries happen and like you said and what i have said several times is the the flag favourite has got knocked off a bit over the last few years so maybe thats why Saints are trying to play it down. Fair enough too.
Yes Lachrilly I would have to agree. Saints are red hot favourites for the flag this year.

Tips for this week -
Norths to beat the Cutters in a tight one
Port to get over Centrals
Hawks to account for the Lions (but only just)

Have heard that the story at Centrals runs very deep and could dismantle the club as it is. I hope for the sake of football that they can sort it out in a timely manner.

Tigers will win comfortably
Hawks will beat Lions, even if my just
Port will beat Centrals
And as much as you try to dress it up into an interesting competition, we all know that the tussle is for second place. Saints have too much of a budget for any other team to overcome.

Tamba, it is untrue that anything can happen in footy... For example, Lions will never beat Saints this season, and nor will anybody else. Go on Saint, get your back up and call me what you will. What I am, is someone telling it how it is.
Of course they have too much of a budget Dontargue, they don't pay their players. :p

I see The Cairns Saints are offering footballers money and a Job in the mines down in the papers in Country Victoria. As i would been keen to give it a go, are any other clubs doing this aswell? Not keen to go to a side that looks so set for a flag, but maybe top 4.

Why would Saints offer a job to people that will see them miss every second week or so of footy. We already have 1 player that does this. If this is true and i doubt it is its seems like a pretty silly idea. Plus the clearance window ends in the next 10 days or so doesnt it so if thats the plan they better hurry up and get it sorted

What paper would that be, friend??

I doubt it very much myself, but for the sake of me getting kicked in the duds again:(

Scan & put up the add or leave it alone :rolleyes:

I have had fun over the previous 3 years on the subject NOW even I'm tired of it :eek:

Souths nail biter 5 points

Port home crowd will get them thru , I do like their 200 club luncheon great tucker

Hawks just or their season may just collapse :oops:

Haha Guessing you are busy trying to doctor up a newspaper article now as this is a load of sh"t. Why would a club that is on top of 1s and 2s with plenty of players try to recruit players that will be 1-2 weeks on 1-2 weeks off mid season??? Nice try Deano but maybe other clubs need to stop trying to make excuses like 'they must pay their players' , 'they get free rent' etc and try and build a club culture like the saints and then one day their own club might be as successful. Look at other clubs... Souths last yr, Centrals this yr and Hawks this yr.. they struggle to get a coach so appoint duds and it all falls apart.
Saints are very lucky to have great people who have built the culture that saints have... Well done to Nth Cairns and Port who are getting netball games/teams, developing jnrs and building a club culture not sooking about money.

Haha Guessing you are busy trying to doctor up a newspaper article now as this is a load of sh"t. Why would a club that is on top of 1s and 2s with plenty of players try to recruit players that will be 1-2 weeks on 1-2 weeks off mid season??? Nice try Deano but maybe other clubs need to stop trying to make excuses like 'they must pay their players' , 'they get free rent' etc and try and build a club culture like the saints and then one day their own club might be as successful. Look at other clubs... Souths last yr, Centrals this yr and Hawks this yr.. they struggle to get a coach so appoint duds and it all falls apart.
Saints are very lucky to have great people who have built the culture that saints have... Well done to Nth Cairns and Port who are getting netball games/teams, developing jnrs and building a club culture not sooking about money.

Souths are also starting down this road, the only one which will ensure lasting success rather than fleeting. Rather than sooking about money, they're learning and taking on what's working at Saints. As a Saints person, I'd want nothing more than every club to be heading down that road to ensure a stable, healthy competition. Nobody likes it when a team that wins two flags struggles to field a reserves the year after.

Gee I want to tip Lions, with the form hole Hawks have found themselves in. Hawks will either bounce back and win by 10 goals or it will be close and the Hawks are done and dusted. Both teams might have late-season inclusions for the game. I think Adams as a player would be just what Lions need. Given what's happened at Centrals, you could hardly blame him for leaving before the season started. I'm going to tip Hawks but hope the Lions get over the line.

Port will flog Centrals and really get the season rolling. Fingers crossed Centrals field a reserves team.

Norths v Souths I think will be a ripper of a game. Norths will get over the line, but only just. Same with the reserves.

The games at Holloways and Norths should be rippers to watch and have really good atmospheres. Hopefully I can get along to one.

Gee poor old Deano copped some unfair abuse pretty quickly!! Wasn't the guy just asking a question?? Won't be too hard to find the ad, just find the name of the paper or website it was on and all can see it. Not that I'm asking you Deano to prove yourself after one enquiry post about our league.

Gee, no wonder it's hard to get players up here if this is how we welcome them!

DrRichardKimble - "Me thinks though doth protest too much!"

It's not good for propsective players who might read the forum to see bullsh!t like that posted and think it might be true.

Just because you start an alter ego to support your point of view, doesn't mean we should let lies stay posted without a response. Any post with lies about Saints will be responded to to dispel lies so that any actual recruits don't believe something that isn't true.

The more other clubs peddle this garbage, the more people will believe it and demand mega bucks off the other clubs. You're all idiots for perpetuating the rumour because it hurts every club except Saints (because everyone gets told the same thing).

EG. If Souths try to recruit a guy just to the club, he might go on the forum for info, think that Saints are paying big bucks and then demand big bucks from Souths, be refused the cash and decide not to come because he thinks he'd be being short-changed.

Perhaps its part of the reason other clubs struggle in recruiting?

Where do I begin?

Saint, settle down.. as I stated with Dr. - protesting too much over very little implies hidden truth. I couldn't give a toot what you're paying, who you're paying and how you pay it!

Secondly, alter ego??? If you would look closely my paranoid friend, the poster Deano has been a member since 2007. Now unless you seriosuly think I started an account back in '07 and waited patiently for 5 years just in the hope of supporting a point of a few anonymous posters on a small forum like is one about a tiny club like Saints, then it's not me pal.

Thirdly, if a player 'demands' anything, then that should be the alarm for any club that this player is a 'shopper'. What said club decides to do following such a revelation is entirely up to them.

Fourthly, idiots? Really? Has it come to this for you Saint?

Personally I think all clubs should have to lodge their budget at the end of each year and it be made public. It will let the bottom clubs know how far they are behind, or what they need to do to combat bigger budgets. And it would put an end to speculation. Personally, and I know it to be of common opinion in the league, no one cares what saints pay, or anyone for that fact. Just the continual defensive position of, 'we don't pay anyone!' makes it a perpetual topic of conversations and banter among all other clubs. Yes I too am tired of it, and wouldn't even bother if I wasn't accused of starting an alter ego 5 years ago.

So, Deano, welcome to the Cairns League. Most clubs are void of such nonsense and we hope you decide to come and join us sometime soon. And bring your friends!

New subject Saint??

Where do I begin?

Saint, settle down.. as I stated with Dr. - protesting too much over very little implies hidden truth. I couldn't give a toot what you're paying, who you're paying and how you pay it!

Secondly, alter ego??? If you would look closely my paranoid friend, the poster Deano has been a member since 2007. Now unless you seriosuly think I started an account back in '07 and waited patiently for 5 years just in the hope of supporting a point of a few anonymous posters on a small forum like is one about a tiny club like Saints, then it's not me pal.

Thirdly, if a player 'demands' anything, then that should be the alarm for any club that this player is a 'shopper'. What said club decides to do following such a revelation is entirely up to them.

Fourthly, idiots? Really? Has it come to this for you Saint?

Personally I think all clubs should have to lodge their budget at the end of each year and it be made public. It will let the bottom clubs know how far they are behind, or what they need to do to combat bigger budgets. And it would put an end to speculation. Personally, and I know it to be of common opinion in the league, no one cares what saints pay, or anyone for that fact. Just the continual defensive position of, 'we don't pay anyone!' makes it a perpetual topic of conversations and banter among all other clubs. Yes I too am tired of it, and wouldn't even bother if I wasn't accused of starting an alter ego 5 years ago.

So, Deano, welcome to the Cairns League. Most clubs are void of such nonsense and we hope you decide to come and join us sometime soon. And bring your friends!

New subject Saint??
If you don't like the subject, why did you start it?
Any member can attend the AGM of any club and see the financials, they're not well held secrets. I'm not sure what membership is at Saints but feel free to join and come to the AGM.

Yes, Idiots. It's what you sound like. (keeping in mind anyone who posts here is probably an idiot. We should all have better things to do).

Never started anything Saint. Was mentioned within another subject, the strength of your club this season and how they are the strongest favorites I have seen in a long while. Was not meant to attract such vehement denial from your clubs supporters.

Now, can you move on? New subject yet? Which is just what you would be hoping for to take the focus off your unbelievably well stocked club and it's outright favoritism for the flag.

Tigers will win comfortably
Hawks will beat Lions, even if my just
Port will beat Centrals
And as much as you try to dress it up into an interesting competition, we all know that the tussle is for second place. Saints have too much of a budget for any other team to overcome.

Tamba, it is untrue that anything can happen in footy... For example, Lions will never beat Saints this season, and nor will anybody else. Go on Saint, get your back up and call me what you will. What I am, is someone telling it how it is.

To imply that the club is only successful due to budget is to overlook the very hard work of the volunteers who run the club and the coaches and players involved. Our club is successful because of that hard work and to represent it any other way is an insult to those people.

Dontargue, since you're a Hawks person, why don't we discuss the biggest story of the year, how the Hawks went from Premiers in 1st and 2nds to a side that is lucky to field a side in the reserves and will be lucky to make the finals in the seniors? The high priced coach is crap and even premiership players have moved to other teams in the comp.

There's not much point trying to pump up the Saints tyres if your team won't even make the finals to do anything about it.

To imply that the club is only successful due to budget is to overlook the very hard work of the volunteers who run the club and the coaches and players involved. Our club is successful because of that hard work and to represent it any other way is an insult to those people.

Dontargue, since you're a Hawks person, why don't we discuss the biggest story of the year, how the Hawks went from Premiers in 1st and 2nds to a side that is lucky to field a side in the reserves and will be lucky to make the finals in the seniors? The high priced coach is crap and even premiership players have moved to other teams in the comp.

There's not much point trying to pump up the Saints tyres if your team won't even make the finals to do anything about it.

We lost 14 players from our Seniors in 2009 after the GF. It hurts

Hawks will bound back just watch them, The pres. is a shrewd man

If you don't like the subject, why did you start it?
Any member can attend the AGM of any club and see the financials, they're not well held secrets. I'm not sure what membership is at Saints but feel free to join and come to the AGM.

Yes, Idiots. It's what you sound like. (keeping in mind anyone who posts here is probably an idiot. We should all have better things to do).

I for one finds this entertaining, it enlightens me after training in the classroom all day plus the paper work involved.
But must admit my Punjabi is getting better from my students. :confused:

AFL Cairns - 2012 Season