Recruiting AFL Draft Watch 2023

Humphrey had one massive game, which I think was his first game back from long term injury, where he got a heap of the footy and kicked something like 4 goals 6 from memory. I think was the first or second round of the NAB league after the champs, so it would have been around this time of year.

Nobody is going to completely upturn their draft board after one game though. So while it made everyone sit up and take notice, it wasn't until he'd strung together a couple more games and proved it wasn't a fluke that people started to give him consideration as a top 10 pick.
It wasn't just one game. Earlier in the season he had:

Rd 1: 23 disposals and 3 goals
Rd 3: 20 disposals and 4 goals
Rd 4: 19 disposals and 2 goals
Rd 5: 25 disposals

It was obvious that the big game wasn't a fluke when it happened.

Was talking about this with a mate a couple of hours ago. What’s the point of the academy if you can’t take the players you develop
if you develop them sure.

Likes of JUH, Andrew, Mackenzie make a bit of a mockery of it.

if they're gonna have academies, the clubs should be soft cap investing in them and only then have full access.
and the focus should be areas without programs and pathways readily available, or potential prospects not already playing for established clubs.

Nope nga is/ was a joke. Was created to get kids from different backgrounds who were familiar with afl onto afl lists. It turned into clubs getting free access to kids who were always good enough to get through to the afl on their own Merit. The northern academies hold an important place at the moment, with the hope in 20 or so years they’ll be able to create a state talent pathway with the ever increasing participation rates.

We can remove the rights the northern clubs have to these kids then? AFL can run and fund them (I'm sure they pay for it already)

Getting these kids into the program is the goal, they don't need to play for any particular club?

We can remove the rights the northern clubs have to these kids then? AFL can run and fund them (I'm sure they pay for it already)

Getting these kids into the program is the goal, they don't need to play for any particular club?
But you are not going to have athletes want to join an AFL pathway unless it's tied to a club. Club brands give it credence and an emotional pull.

But most importantly, If you are a talented junior sports person in NSW and QLD, then sports like soccer or Rugby league give you an opportunity to sign wherever you want as an 18yo (even before then in NRL).
If you make academies an AFL based and run system, then as a NSW or QLD talent you are facing a 1 in 9 (11%) chance you stay in your home state through the draft. Remember that NRL is comparable to AFL salary wise.

So if you were 18, would you prefer:
A. to take a lottery ticket of 11% to stay at home and play AFL, or
B. Play rugby league/soccer and have total autonomy of where you start and progress your elite sporting career.

But you are not going to have athletes want to join an AFL pathway unless it's tied to a club. Club brands give it credence and an emotional pull.

But most importantly, If you are a talented junior sports person in NSW and QLD, then sports like soccer or Rugby league give you an opportunity to sign wherever you want as an 18yo (even before then in NRL).
If you make academies an AFL based and run system, then as a NSW or QLD talent you are facing a 1 in 9 (11%) chance you stay in your home state through the draft. Remember that NRL is comparable to AFL salary wise.

So if you were 18, would you prefer:
A. to take a lottery ticket of 11% to stay at home and play AFL, or
B. Play rugby league/soccer and have total autonomy of where you start and progress your elite sporting career.

The hatred of Northern academies really is just a perfect encapsulation of Victorian-centricness at its finest.

It's the leg up these clubs are getting though, would the AFL stop these concessions for the Suns if they have a super dominant season, looking at the talent they continue to bring in, it's coming, and Hardwick gets to coach them, imagine he gets his message across to these guys.

Reckon the Saints deserved some luck in regards to Mackenzie, perhaps it'll warm their Victorian-centric hearts that another club are being helped to end their drought.

So they’re just in an academy to nowhere?
Kids that enter the academy give up their draft rights automatically and in turn get access to great coaching/ facilities and pathway that does not currently exist in those states. Plus they get to play locally for their team, just as most Melbourne kids would rather play for a Victorian side. It would cost the afl way more to set up a talent pathway in both of those states and would just not be viable right now. Plus Gc and gws don’t get a leg up with why father sons like other clubs do.

It's the leg up these clubs are getting though, would the AFL stop these concessions for the Suns if they have a super dominant season, looking at the talent they continue to bring in, it's coming, and Hardwick gets to coach them, imagine he gets his message across to these guys.

Reckon the Saints deserved some luck in regards to Mackenzie, perhaps it'll warm their Victorian-centric hearts that another club are being helped to end their drought.
Come off it leg up. They have one draft where they’re going to get some good talent through their academy and suddenly everyone starts sooking. It’s not like that every year and they don’t get them for free they need points to grab them, they have 1000s go through the academy for 6-7 years of the pathway. So far the only 2 real talents they’ve had come through over 10 years have been Jack bowes and Alex davies and they have not been world beaters.

I think there are some restrictions.
If they had made the top 8 they would have been restricted to 2 academy kids in the top 20, if they had won a final they would have been restricted to one kid (or something like that). Think I heard that on a Cal Twoomey’s podcast when it looked like they might make finals and they said it would actually be bad for them to reach finals this year.

Come off it leg up. They have one draft where they’re going to get some good talent through their academy and suddenly everyone starts sooking. It’s not like that every year and they don’t get them for free they need points to grab them, they have 1000s go through the academy for 6-7 years of the pathway. So far the only 2 real talents they’ve had come through over 10 years have been Jack bowes and Alex davies and they have not been world beaters.

I believe it's a leg up, the Swans have had it the Giants have had it, they'll continue to have it. Development in grassroots is getting better and better, these kids will be coming through more frequently, and for all the points you make these academies should never stop operating as they currently are, but we know the AFL will change the rules if they get to fruitful for these clubs.

I like what Sporno 4 Pyros said above, that's a good mechanism in regards to fairness.

Was talking about this with a mate a couple of hours ago. What’s the point of the academy if you can’t take the players you develop

Problem was clubs started using loopholes and bringing in kids who would have gone through the normal pathways anyway. It was supposed to be for rookie types not top 20 types.

You can not develop the game in NSW and QLD with some sort of generic academy . If you want the kids in the schools playing AFL then they need a local link to the clubs. Mackenzie was a classic example of how the Melbourne clubs found loop holes in the system. In time they will have to even things out a bit but while you are building the game in non footy areas you need the clubs to have their best local players.

All good points and I agree with them, I'm coming from a competition angle, a sporting angle where we should try have a level playing field. The business/growth angle it makes sense I agree.

Can't be perfect i guess, still think outside 20 is reasonable for Vic clubs, but it's not a hill I'd die on.

Even Owens and McInnes should not have been nga

All good points and I agree with them, I'm coming from a competition angle, a sporting angle where we should try have a level playing field. The business/growth angle it makes sense I agree.

Can't be perfect i guess, still think outside 20 is reasonable for Vic clubs, but it's not a hill I'd die on.
I think it will change at some stage but right now while they are pushing new ground in NSW and QLD it is Statas quo. At some stage the rest will get some sort of increased access.

Our tiwi/west arnheim pathway program should be the starting point

Let clubs run programs for kids who need the support and wouldnt otherwise be able to compete. Tip money, support, guidance, mentoring, etc in and the pay-off is access to those who are afl draft worthy.
The ones who arent you've hopefully at least improved their horizons if not afl.

It needs proper boundaries though. Not simpleton rules like one of your parents is french.

Dylan Clarke would have been a passable AFL player if all he had was a better kick, so add better stoppage skills and an aggressive nature and he sounds quite appealing.
Not sure what your point is.
Stevens will not go top 6 pal.
i was trying to describe his game to blokes who watched a couple of carnival games and then make inaccurate statements
for what it’s worth I really like big George

Remember when dodo thought he was being really clever by drafting some guy from our vfl side via the NGA pathway because he had an Indian parent? McNice or someone?
Eh, wasn't a bad idea. Allowed us to sign an extra VFL player.

Having watched the VFL from the weekend I can say a few questions I had on Harley Reid where answered. I wanted to see if his he could push the more mature guys around like he does in the under 18 . He can.

If your the eagles list manager

What picks would you need to trade him taking into account hes said nothing to you yet

His only query is if he can be an up and back midfielder for a full game. Does he need to be? Probably not anyway

He will be given the keys to the number 1 striker role very early on at most clubs

If your the eagles list manager

What picks would you need to trade him taking into account hes said nothing to you yet

His only query is if he can be an up and back midfielder for a full game. Does he need to be? Probably not anyway

He will be given the keys to the number 1 striker role very early on at most clubs
I think they should take him, if the Eagles find the passion to work hard and be elite again he'll feel the power of that club, they're huge and he'll enjoy it.

Recruiting AFL Draft Watch 2023