Preview AFL Round 10 Brisbane Lions V Collingwood

Sorry buddy, but Buchanan was a skunk tonight. Three times into the forward 50 he just kicked it to the opposition. For an experienced player his disposal was very poor.
He still hasn't done anything to change my mind on him. Staker on the other hand will definitely have silenced a few knockers tonight, Travis too. Posting in the 'votes' thread the last few weeks it has been hard to pick 5 shining lights but tonight it was hard to keep it to 5.

In the first and 2nd quarters when the Pies were doing most of the running but not putting it on the scoreboard, I said to my mate that if we can keep the score close and step up in the final quarter we can get a good win. The Lions second half was sensational and worthy of the result. Great performance, great win :footy:

browny is my captain this week. i have faith in my dream!

i have a feeling we'll get up ..although logic defies it, sometimes the heart is greater than the head :rolleyes:

no better time for our boys to play with their heart, and given the occasion (lukes 250th), i bet we will fire with all guns blazing!!!

an upset is on the cards...wishful thinking? perhaps...

Called it early! Blynd_freddie did you end up making him ur SC captain!? haha

we all asked for heart, and lukey led the way. Plenty of heart tonight... VERY VERY HAPPY :D

So people may not care but i am going to post it anyway, as i had a bloody awesome night watching the boys win.

I just moved house and currently have no TV reception (waiting on foxtel.. too many pc's in the room to get a good reception). So instead of going down the pub like the last few weeks I REALLY wanted to just watch this game at home, so i walked down to the local Dick Smiths in the afternoon and purchased a 10m Coxial cable.

I then spent the next hour running the cable out the door and finding a suitable spot for the antenna to get 1HD. I had an elaborate setup where the cable ran out the door and the bunny ears were gaffa taped to the side of the balcony.. all seemed fine and i watched the last half of the geelong v melb game.

Then my flatmate came home with 3 friends to have a drink..... 2 of them being Collingwood supporters... I was now forced to watch the game with a bunch of bogans, and had to keep a close eye on my new antenna. By quarter time I had made it known they were getting kicked out at 3/4 time if they kept up with their bullshit.. that's how bloody bad these blokes were... Apparently Didak is in the top 5 players in the AFL :rolleyes:

By 1/2 time i was quietly confident and these guys were not so cocky for some reason.... I was looking forward to the last half.

Mid way though the third quarter DISASTER STRUCK... My gaffa tapped antenna got knocked over by the wind... I spent the next 15 minutes frantically trying to get it set back up... moving it to a position.. auto tuning the digital... rinse repeat... i just could not get a signal........ Funnily enough the Collingwood supporters were not all that interested in getting the game back on the television!!!!

Just at the end of the 3rd i switched the TV to analog and we watched the rest of the footy like it was the early 90's, lines all over the screen, couldn't even see the ball.. It didn't matter because the mighty lions won the game!!!! The collingwood folk left pretty soon after the final siren, so I felt it was my duty to stand on the balcony and sing the club song as they left the premises.

Maybe im just rambling but was a bloody good night for me!

LMFAO If you want a good laugh go and check out the Collywobbles Board OMFG talk about chucking a Tanty Wow these guys are ****ing hilarious :D:D:D

I don't care if don't win another game this year this win has made my year Best win by far so far this year.

I HATE Collingwood and I love seeing their fans in tears LOL I am a mean bitch lol:eek:

I haven't been able to watch a football game since round 4, so I haven't seen a loss yet this season. Tonight's the first game I'll be watching since then, further hope :D.

Please start watching every week.:thumbsu:

BUCHANAN OUT
SICK OF THIS SPUD
he is killing us with his turnovers

Couldn't agree more, clanger machine.

Rockliff 27 possies - NAB nomination?

He would have to be one of the contenders...fantastic effort by the boy, Voss just has to let him play for the remainder of the year.

The win feels brilliant but most importantly I love the fact that we played with passion and heart.

I know I have been on about it for a while, but we finally won a game that many, including me didn't think we would win and it was due t that passion and heart...you could clearly see it that at the game.

Sorry buddy, but Buchanan was a skunk tonight. Three times into the forward 50 he just kicked it to the opposition. For an experienced player his disposal was very poor.

See above...he is just very poor. I would much rather Selwood play who absolutely bleeds for the club.

Luke Power's game was phenomenal tonight, absolutely inspired, good on the champ, I'm so happy the boys lifted for him.

Credit where credit is due, but Staker was very good and stood very tall for us down back and was a rock. Good on you Staker.:thumbsu:

I usually don't like bagging out one of our own but Buchanan really stank it out in the third quarter.....every time we threatened to wrest momentum our way, there he was turning it over to the Pies.

He was the Turnover King and almost caused irreparable damage to our cause.

If that had been TJ, there would have been calls for him to be banished to the Nundawadding thirds for life!

Reckon if anyone gets a "rest" next week, it would have to be Buchs

If that had been TJ, there would have been calls for him to be banished to the Nundawadding thirds for life!

completely agree... TJ has been "unfairly" scapegoated by voss.

He has been superb and his skills are much needed especially now that drummond is out.

Raines has shown more than buchanan... i wouldn't mind harwood (for his clearance ability) to come in next week for buchs.

Sheldon didn't show much tonight, but it was his first game back. He has a clear head and footy smarts so that's a plus worth persevering with

I usually don't like bagging out one of our own but Buchanan really stank it out in the third quarter.....every time we threatened to wrest momentum our way, there he was turning it over to the Pies.

Turnovers in our attacking 50 can be so damaging. Set rebound plays are put into motion. Would be interesting to see how many of their goals were from halfback rebound plays. In saying that it was his best game for the club so far:eek:

So who was #14 tonight and what did Vossy do with the Staker we'd seen for the past 9 rounds? Holy crap - had the effort and the execution tonight. :thumbsu:

Banfield's tackle on Maxwell in goal square :heart:

Rich's intensity tonight :heart:

Fev's no look over the head gem :heart: Fev's sealer :heart::heart:

Still turned it over way to much going inside forward 50 but confidence the boys should get from this... :thumbsu:

Still turned it over way to much going inside forward 50
but confidence the boys should get from this... :thumbsu:

This, together with the ponderous way we go about our own kick ins are the two parts of our game that personally cause me the the most grief.

I mean , Fev is just about leading the comp goal-kicking but only by way of "manufacturing" goals from the shitty scraps that we feed him week in-week out.

If our on-ballers and midfielders ever learn to present the ball in some reasonable fashion to him, we might actually get to see him get 7 or 8 shots on goal from marks, rather than from reverse bicycle kicks, grubbers from extreme angles in the pocket and other assorted freakish acts.

Ditto, more or less for Browny.....bloody hell... I lose track of the number of duffed kicks delivered to him in the course of any game..... 15 meters wide, 3 meters over his head, 6 meters short....or the favorite one....... the slow, high kick lobbed on top of his head, thereby ensuring at least 3 defenders can saunter back and monster him all at the same time:mad:

One of these days(hopefully, soon) we will deliver a decent supply to Browny and Fev....and God help the opposition....Fev will kick 12, Brown 10 and we'll win by 157 points.

Then there's our kick-ins:

"OK....is everybody ready???"

Pause, delay, think, hesitate, contemplate navel,....oh dear...the opposition have got their zone just right...AGAIN!!!!

Solution?

Attempt high risk 15.3 meter pass to team-mate in deep the right pocket and make the next disposal his problem:rolleyes:

Rant over!

Just on the kick ins: Not only do our players not find space for Ash or whoever to kick to, 90% of our kick ins allways go to the right hand wing or long to a contest..... WTF...mix it up a bit fella's.

so happy with that effort.

I admit it... i tipped collingwood and i didn't go to the game because i cant stand being outnumbered by collingwood supporters. Stupid i know.

But ive been saying for the past few days, i reckon we might just do it. We have to, so we will. AND WE DID. AND HOW.

Great work team. I should tip against them every week if theyre going to play like that. That was hard contensted footy. Heeps of spirit. Heeps of guts. Confidence to do the things that need to be done. Let's hope this is a sign of things to come.

Rockliff 30 possies

Rich 28 possies and 2 goals

I think our youngsters are starting to get use to senior footy!

Did Bartlett do well enough to earn a call up?

I would love to see him in for Sheldon.

Also Black and Rischa 27 possies.

POWER 35 TOUCHES AWSOME 250TH mate!!!

Brown and Fev 4 each Banfield 2!

Staker and McGrath great with 29 and 26 touches!

Buchannan 20 possies did well.

Collier, Patful and Johnstone were all very solid.

Clark and Leuy dominated the clearances for our team I thought. They were great

Polkinghorne went down injured but was good in the first half and Hawksley and Redde also put there body on the line and presented all night! Maguire also very strong as always down back:thumbsu:

A great team effort with Sherman and Sheldon the only ones who to get into the game, however they didn't give up and it was players like them who won us the game not exactly Fev or Brown. In other words to win everyone had to run, tackle and try hard all day and they did!

I was thinking that was the most satisfying win over the past 5-years but how soon we forget that final against the blues last year?

Anyway, even with my lost voice I was still yelling as loud as I could after that win and I can't remember feeling any happier this year. Well done boys!

The desperation really got us over the line. I wonder because it was Luke's 250th they really, really dug that extra deep and would not accept the loss?

The funniest thing, and I sent a text to all Collingwood supporters that I know including one of my Directors so I hope I've got a job come Monday is that imagine all of those woodsmen who've spent their last month's dole cheque on a holiday up to Brisbane and how pissed off they would be? I mean they 'knew' they were having the bye, nobody - including myself - picked us last night and they were expecting a nice old jaunt up to Queensland and we go and do that to them! Gold!

Combination of Power's 250th and the Collingwood rivalry got us up and about for this one. We could have done them by 5 or 6 goals if we didn't butcher half the opportunities we had.

It was painful to watch in parts, but we finally held on to the ball and stopped turning it over. Huge step forward as teams are killing us on the rebound. We work hard to win the ball and then a silly forced kick gives it right back to them. We weren't great at it, and we switched at times when we didn't need to, but it had the desired effect, we were able to do a few small 20-30m kicks through the zone then a big one over the back to the forwards.

*cough*

tips.jpg

Just reading back over the last few pages of the thread and i agree with a bit of the Buchanon bashing. He played well, in that he was amongst it, got his hands on it, but boy did he have some bad turn overs. For me, i don't think its dropable, outside of some bad delivery his game was solid, and after most of our players playing bad the last few weeks, solid is a good improvement.

We've had to make some forced changes the last few weeks with injuries, so i wouldn't want to make too many for next week. Not sure how Polka is, looks like he might miss and i posted in another thread i don't think Sheldon was up to it either. I don't mind Sheldon and i think he is a player that needs senior games to develop, but i just don't think he was ready for a call up just yet.

Would be tempting to maybe chuck Bartlett in for Polka if he doesn't get up to see what happens, but i don't get to see the reserves games and i wouldn't want to rush him in the team either. Especially with the split round coming up, we have a nice rest week not far off, and on the other side of that should be getting near full strength again.

Preview AFL Round 10 Brisbane Lions V Collingwood